Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Shirley Hamburg Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: Reilly Callahan
Date: 2 Feb 2023

Biographical History

Shirley Hamburg (b. 1945) is a Jewish lesbian activist from and residing in Oakland, California.

She was heavily involved in social, economic, and political groups of the latter half of the 20th century and into the 21st century. Some notable groups she was involved with include Line of March (a Marxist/Leninist organization), Jews for Peace, Women Organized for Reproductive Choice, and Zimbabwe Action Campaign, among others. Although she did not publish any writing herself, Hamburg made her impact by donating money, writing letters, and being active in organizations and activities she was an activist in.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Shirley Hamburg Papers consists of research files on the activist topics Hamburg was involved in and cared about.

Research files contain brochures, clippings, correspondence, emails, essays, flyers, newsletters, newspapers, notes, programs, and other printed material. Topics that are covered the most extensively include the Palestine-Israel conflict, race issues, Socialism/ Communism, women’s issues, and Zimbabwe liberation. Notable items include: a Summer 2000 print of North Coast Xpress which handles issues of poverty, death penalty, anti-LGBT, pollution, war criticism, and more; a Ku Klux Klan poster advertising a meeting in Rockmart, Georgia; and emails sent to Shirley in 1999 about then presidential candidate George W. Bush’s supposed family connection with nefarious individuals.

Arrangement of the Collection

Research files are arranged alphabetically by topics orginally created by Hamburg with miscellanous at the end.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Hamburg, Shirley.

Corporate Bodies

Line of March Black Liberation Commission.
Reproductive Rights National Network.
Women Organized for Reproductive Choice (U.S.)
Zimbabwe Action Campaign.

Subjects

Abortion.
Afghanistan -- Foreign relations -- United States.
Anti-apartheid movements -- United States.
Arab-Israeli conflict.
Civil rights and socialism.
Communists -- United States.
Decolonization -- Africa.
Economic sanctions, American -- Iraq.
Feminism -- United States.
Gay rights movement -- United States.
Indian activists -- United States.
Jewish socialists.
Jewish women -- Political activity.
Latin America -- Foreign Relations -- United States.
Marxist criticism.
Mass incarceration -- United States.
Political activists -- United States.
Public interest lobbying.
Socialism -- United States.
United States -- Race relations.
Water -- Pollution.
Women social reformers -- United States.
Women's rights -- United States.

Places

Oakland (Calif.)

Genres and Forms

Agendas (administrative records)
Announcements.
Articles.
Brochures.
Bulletins.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Conference proceedings.
Correspondence.
Electronic mail.
Fliers (printed matter)
Handbills.
Newsletters.
Newspapers.
Pamphlets.
Programs (documents)
Quarterlies (publications)
Reports.
Research notes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Shirley Hamburg Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2020.

Table of Contents

Research Files

Inventory