Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Eva vom Baur Hansl Collection of Women's Vocational Materials

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: ca. 1968

Biographical History

Eva Elise vom Baur Hansl, woman's editor and pioneer in women's radio broadcasting, was born to Elise Urchs and Carl Max vom Baur on 29 Jan 1889 in New York City, the youngest of five daughters and a son. She attended the New York Collegiate Institute and after graduating from Barnard College in 1909 became a member of the Intercollegiate Bureau of Occupations, one of the earliest organizations concerned with employment for women. From 1911-1916 she reported the progress of the early feminist movement for the New York Tribune and the New York Evening Sun; at the latter she was editor of the women's page from 1912-1916. In 1915-1916 she directed a course of public lectures at New York University on vocations for women, and from 1916-1918 she organized the League for Women's Vocational Opportunities. She was an associate editor of Parents magazine and organized play-schools and parents' study groups in Princeton and Summit, New Jersey and in Greenwich, Connecticut.

In 1916 she married Raleigh Hansl, from whom she was later divorced. When her two children, Barbara and Raleigh, were grown, she returned to journalism with the Education Department of the New York Times. Her efforts on behalf of the education and employment of women continued for the next four decades. In 1936 she founded Trend-File, a reference service on women's interests and activities, which she maintained for many years. Her long interest in women's activities led to broadcasting when she supervised the research, promotion, and production of three network radio series: "Women in the Making of America" and "Gallant American Women"for NBC, in cooperation with the U.S. Office of Education (1939-1940), and "Womanpower," for CBS in cooperation with the War Manpower Commission (1942-1943).

In 1941 Hansl left New York City to work in Washington with the War Manpower Commission, but after that returned to New York City which remained her home for the rest of her life. From 1947-1950 she was a member of the committee of the World Center for Women's Archives, Inc. in New York City. She lectured at New York University and Columbia University, and wrote several books including Minute sketches of great composers (1931), Artists in music today (1933), Trends in part-time employment of college trained women (1949), and many articles in popular periodicals.

Eva vB Hansl died on 11 Apr 1978.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eva vom Baur Hansl Collection of Women's Vocational Materials comprises materials relating to the education, employment, marital status, and intellectual life of women in society. The material encompasses women in the U.S. as well as in other countries, and topics include education, careers, roles and attitudes, family issues (marriage, divorce, children, home management), well-known women, working women, and many other subjects. The material is divided into 15 series.

Conferences contains material from conferences on children, education, home and family, labor, and other topics.

Continuing Education material relates to projects at more than 40 American universities.

Education covers all aspects of women's education, including coeducation, community colleges, counseling, curriculum, drop-outs, Head Start, home study, legislation, middle-aged women returning to school, older women workers, teaching, and much more.

England includes topics such as British women in the war, as well as material relating to the British Federation of University Women and the International Federation of University Women.

The History of women's education includes an outline for "Women's Education Begins" as well as pro and con views of feminism and other articles and book reviews.

A large collection of material relating to Home and Family comprises topics such as adoption, birth rates, budgets, child care, women as consumers, dual-job situations, education, health, home economics, migrant families, mothers and daughters, nursing homes, widows, and many more.

International and Foreign Women covers more than 25 countries and also contains material relating to the United Nations and some miscellaneous clippings.

Occupations and counseling encompasses a broad range of careers, not limited to those traditionally ascribed to women. Everything from architecture to veterinary medicine is represented.

Part time employment focuses on the particular challenges and opportunities for part-time working women, and includes case histories, surveys, questionnaires, and much more.

Roles and attitudes towards women, particularly working women, looks at psychological aspects, mass media representations, social tensions, and similar questions.

War Years focuses on the activities of women during World War I and World War II. Topics found here include case histories, civilian women leaders, housing, African-American women (Ms. Hansl's original folder titles have been retained hence the use of the term "Negro"), women as peace advocates, labor shortages, the G.I Bill of Rights, and numerous others.

Womanpower looks specifically at issues of interest to women in the workplace, such as earnings and education, the Civil Rights Act, women as business owners or managers, equal pay, maternity benefits, recruitment of women, working mothers, and more.

General files cover a wide range of topics from affluence and alcohol through grandmothers and horticulture to youth power. Published Material contains newspaper clippings on a similarly wide range of topics.

A small amount of Miscellaneous unsorted material completes the collection.

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Eva vom Baur Hansl Papers, which contain material relating to Hansl's own career and particularly her radio broadcasts in the 1930s and 1940s.

Subject Headings

Persons

Hansl, Eva vB. (Eva vom Baur) -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

Federal Theatre Project (U.S.)
United States. -- Office of Education.
United States. -- War Manpower Commission.
United States. -- Works Progress Administration.

Associated Titles

Gallant American women (Radio program)
Womanpower (Radio program)
Women in the making of America (Radio program)

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Documentary radio programs.
Feminism -- Archival resources.
Feminists -- United States.
German Americans.
Housewives -- United States.
Professional education of women.
Radio authorship.
Radio producers and directors -- United States.
Radio programs.
Radio scripts -- Specimens.
Women -- Biography.
Women -- Education (Higher)
Women -- Education.
Women -- Employment.
Women -- History -- Archival resources.
Women -- Intellectual life.
Women -- Legal status, laws, etc.
Women -- Social conditions.
Women -- United States.
Women -- Vocational education.
Women authors, American.
Women in politics.
Women in radio broadcasting.
Women in the mass media industry.
Women journalists -- United States.
Women's mass media.
Women's rights -- United States.
Women's studies -- Archival resources.

Genres and Forms

Bibliographies.
Biographies.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Pamphlets.
Radio scripts.
Speeches (documents)
Surveys (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Feminists.
Journalists.
Lecturers.
Radio producers and directors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eva vom Baur Hansl Collection of Women's Vocational Materials,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Background

Conferences

Continuing Education

Education

England

History

Home and Family

International and Foreign Women

Occupations and counseling

Part time employment

Roles and attitudes

War Years

Woman power

General files

Published Material

Miscellaneous

Inventory