Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Eva vom Baur Hansl Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: ca. 1968

Biographical History

Eva Elise vom Baur Hansl, woman's editor and pioneer in women's radio broadcasting, was born to Elise Urchs and Carl Max vom Baur on 29 Jan 1889 in New York City, the youngest of five daughters and a son. She attended the New York Collegiate Institute and after graduating from Barnard College in 1909 became a member of the Intercollegiate Bureau of Occupations, one of the earliest organizations concerned with employment for women. From 1911-1916 she reported the progress of the early feminist movement for the New York Tribune and the New York Evening Sun; at the latter she was editor of the women's page from 1912-1916. In 1915-1916 she directed a course of public lectures at New York University on vocations for women, and from 1916-1918 she organized the League for Women's Vocational Opportunities. She was an associate editor of Parents magazine and organized play-schools and parents' study groups in Princeton and Summit, New Jersey and in Greenwich, Connecticut.

In 1916 she married Raleigh Hansl, from whom she was later divorced. When her two children, Barbara and Raleigh, were grown, she returned to journalism with the Education Department of the New York Times. Her efforts on behalf of the education and employment of women continued for the next four decades. In 1936 she founded Trend-File, a reference service on women's interests and activities, which she maintained for many years. Her long interest in women's activities led to broadcasting when she supervised the research, promotion, and production of three network radio series: "Women in the Making of America" and "Gallant American Women"for NBC, in cooperation with the U.S. Office of Education (1939-1940), and "Womanpower," for CBS in cooperation with the War Manpower Commission (1942-1943).

In 1941 Hansl left New York City to work in Washington with the War Manpower Commission, but after that returned to New York City which remained her home for the rest of her life. From 1947-1950 she was a member of the committee of the World Center for Women's Archives, Inc. in New York City. She lectured at New York University and Columbia University, and wrote several books including Minute sketches of great composers (1931), Artists in music today (1933), Trends in part-time employment of college trained women (1949), and many articles in popular periodicals.

Eva vB. Hansl died on 11 Apr 1978.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eva vom Baur Hansl Papers comprise biographical material, correspondence, radio broadcasts files, speeches, and writings, with one box of miscellaneous material. The papers date from 1918-1968 but her years in radio broadcasting are the most heavily represented. There is relatively little material from her early career as newspaper women's page editor. Her lifelong interest in women's vocational opportunities and guidance is reflected in the correspondence, speeches, and writings.

The collection begins with a small amount of Biographical material . Correspondence covers 45 years (1923-1968).

Radio files contains indexes to all three of Hansl's radio programs, production files, and promotional material. Research files contains research material for the radio programs; topcs include freedom of speech, suffrage, women explorers, businesswomen, and more. The collection also includes Scripts and Radio Broadcast Files for more than 40 episodes.

Speeches span Hansl's entire career (1921-1968) and include also Hansl's notes. Other Writings include articles, book reviews, book outlines, and a small amount of verse, as well as a few items written by others.

Legal and financial contains copyright and insurance information, and a small amount of Memorabilia completes the collection.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Radio files are arranged alphabetically. Research files are in chronological order according to broadcast date of the episode for which the material was gathered. Scripts and Broadcast files are also in broadcast date order. Speeches and writings are in no particular order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Eva vom Baur Hansl Collection of Women's Vocational Materials, an extensive and comprehensive collection of research material and publications on women and employment, including topics such as conferences, continuing education, general education, history, home and family issues, international and foreign women, women during the war years, and "womanpower" (as analogous to "manpower").

Subject Headings

Persons

Hansl, Eva vB. (Eva vom Baur) -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

Federal Theatre Project (U.S.)
United States. -- Office of Education.
United States. -- War Manpower Commission.
United States. -- Works Progress Administration.

Associated Titles

Gallant American women (Radio program)
Womanpower (Radio program)
Women in the making of America (Radio program)

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Documentary radio programs.
Feminism -- Archival resources.
Feminists -- United States.
German Americans.
Housewives -- United States.
Professional education of women.
Radio authorship.
Radio producers and directors -- United States.
Radio programs.
Radio scripts -- Specimens.
Women -- Biography.
Women -- Education (Higher)
Women -- Education.
Women -- Employment.
Women -- History -- Archival resources.
Women -- Intellectual life.
Women -- Legal status, laws, etc.
Women -- Social conditions.
Women -- United States.
Women -- Vocational education.
Women authors, American.
Women in politics.
Women in radio broadcasting.
Women in the mass media industry.
Women journalists -- United States.
Women's mass media.
Women's rights -- United States.
Women's studies -- Archival resources.

Genres and Forms

Bibliographies.
Biographies.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Pamphlets.
Radio scripts.
Speeches (documents)
Surveys (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Feminists.
Journalists.
Lecturers.
Radio producers and directors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eva vom Baur Hansl Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Radio files

Research files

Scripts

Radio Broadcast Files

Speeches

Writings

Legal and financial

Memorabilia

Inventory