Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Eloise Heaton Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: Arlien Ricciardi
Date: April 19, 2022

Biographical History

Eloise Klotz Heaton (born 1909) was an American organist, pianist, teacher, writer, and composer from Baldwinsville, NY. Eloise Heaton was an American composer and poet. She was an alumna of Syracuse University (class of 1937), where the Eloise K. Heaton Fellowship in Music Composition & Theory is named for her.

Heaton received her Bachelor's in Music from Syracuse University (Syracuse, NY) in 1933 and a Master of Arts in 1960. She also attended summer programs at the NY State College for Teachers, New England Conservatory of Music, the Royal Conservatory of Music, University of Toronto, and the Boston University School of Education.

Heaton taught at Peterboro Union School in Peterboro, NY (1936-1938), Syracuse Public Schools (1944-1947 and 1953-1954), Itawmba Junior College in Fulton, MS (1950) and private studios in and around Syracuse, NY (1933-1950). She also worked at the John Worley Music Co. in Boston, MA (1948), served as a piano instructor to Syracuse public school students (1955-1956), and appeared in the 1954 edition of "Who's Who in Music". She also composed chamber, vocal, and sacred music, an operetta, and teaching pieces.

Heaton was a member of the Society for the Publication of American Music; Music Teachers National Association; Composers, Authors, Artists of America; the Syracuse Museum of Fine Arts (now known as the Everson Museum); and the Poetry Society of Virginia.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eloise Heaton Papers consist of academic records, correspondence-subject files, printed material, and writings.

Academic records consist of Heaton's high school, undergraduate, and graduate school transcripts as well as resumes and job-search correspondence.

Correspondence-subject files includes correspondence from faculty and students when she became a teacher in Mississippi, service men in 1943, and wedding and birthday announcements as well as letters and information about organizations including the American Society for Aesthetics, International Piano Teachers Association, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and others.

Printed material includes clippings, which Heaton sorted by topic, such as art, archeology, drama, mosaics, etc.; publications from the Syracuse Fine Arts Museum (now the Everson), music books which Heaton used for teaching students, and more.

Writings contains Heaton's class notes, musical compositions, poetry, and exams/term papers, including her first attempt at her master's thesis.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by series. Wherever possible, Heaton's original labeling has been retained.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

A publication by Eloise Heaton entitled "Henry Purmont Eames: Educator, Critic, Musician" can be found in the Subject Files series of the William C. Fleming Papers at the Syracuse University Archives.

Subject Headings

Persons

Berwald, W. (William), 1864-1948.
Findlay, Francis M., 1894-1967.
Fleming, William C.
Heaton, Eloise K.
Lewis, Harold Merrills, 1908-
Podolsky, Leo, 1891-1987.
Porter, Quincy, 1897-1966.
Veinus, Abraham.

Subjects

Church music.
Composers -- United States.
Composition (Music)
Music -- 20th century.
Music -- Instruction and study.
Music teachers.
Sight-reading (Music)
Women composers.
Women music teachers.

Genres and Forms

Birth announcements.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Concert programs.
Correspondence.
Examinations (documents)
Hymns.
Lecture notes.
Music books.
Newsletters.
Notes (documents)
Scores (documents for music)
Sheet music.
Term papers.
Transcripts.
Wedding announcements.

Occupations

Composers.
Music teachers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eloise Heaton Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Music Library, 1985-1986.

Table of Contents

Academic records

Correspondence - Subject files

Printed material

Writings

Inventory