Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Jack E. Hill Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 20 Feb 2023

Biographical History

Jack E. Hill (dates unknown) is an American plastics engineer specializing in various types of plastics molding including thermoforming, blow molding, and injection molding. Over the course of his career he founded, co-founded, and/or co-owned several companies, including what became the well-known "Little Tikes" toy company, and was an active amd energetic member of the Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE).

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jack E. Hill Papers contains biographical material, records relating to the Rotadyne Company, and writings.

Biographical material includes clippings, a brief c.v., and lists of accomplishments and awards.

Rotadyne records relate to the company founded by Hill, including articles of incorporation, stock share correspondence, financial data, "Little Tikes" toy line material, and a small amount of miscellany.

Hill's Writings consists of several technical reports on various aspects of the plastics industry.

Arrangement of the Collection

Rotadyne records are in alphabetical order by type or topic. Writings are alphabetical by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Hill, Jack E.

Corporate Bodies

Little Tikes Company.
Rotadyne, Inc.
Society of Plastics Engineers.

Subjects

Blow molding.
Plastic toys.
Plastics -- History.
Plastics -- Marketing.
Plastics -- Molding.
Plastics industry and trade.
Thermoforming.

Genres and Forms

Advertisements.
Articles of incorporation.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Financial records.
Technical reports.

Occupations

Engineers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jack E. Hill Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jack E. Hill, 2022.

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Rotadyne records

Writings

Inventory