Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Charlotte Holstein Papers

A description of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: Dane Flansburgh
Date: 12 Jun 2024

Biographical History

Charlotte ("Chuckie") Holstein (1925-) is a civic leader responsible for the founding of several not-for-profit organizations in the Syracuse, New York area.

Holstein is the child of Russian immigrants and a graduate of SUNY Brockport. Initially a teacher, she dedicated most of her career as a civic leader. She either founded or cofounded several Syracuse-area organizations, including Leadership Greater Syracuse, the Syracuse Commission for Women, Meals on Wheels, and the City/County Office on aging. An advocate for women’s rights, she chaired the National Committee on the Role of Women and delivered a paper at the 1985 United Nations NGO Conference for Women in Nairobi as well as at the 1995 United Nations World Conference for Women in Beijing, China. She also served on the Advisory Committee for the White House Conference on Families for President Jimmy Carter, New York State Board of Social Welfare for Governor Nelson Rockefeller, and as a member of the New York State Division for Youth. She has been awarded numerous awards for her public and civic engagement.

Holstein was married to Alexander Holstein for over 70 years, and they had four children.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charlotte Holstein Papers contains audio recordings, awards, conference material, correspondence, photographs, speeches, and video recordings of Charlotte Holstein.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Holstein, Charlotte.

Subjects

Civic leaders.
Women’s rights.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Awards.
Conferences.
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Sound recordings.
Speeches (documents)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charlotte Holstein Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Charlotte Holstein, 2024.

Processing Information

Table of Contents

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.