Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Lucy Ann Lewis Horton Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: circa 1970

Biographical History

Lucy Ann Lewis (1812-1901) was a housewife in 19th century Whitestown, New York.

Lucy was born in Whitestown, Oneida County, New York on December 13, 1812. Her parents were William R. and Charlotte Lewis. She married David Millard Horton in Sennett on January 10, 1842, the marriage being performed by the Rev. G.W.Montgomery. David Horton was born on June 13, 1819 at the Horton homestead in Throop. He inherited a thriving and prosperous farm from his family, and also ran a coal and phosphate business . He was a member of the Democratic party. He was active in community affairs.

The Hortons had four children, Charlotte, Josephine, William L. and Hiram F. Charlotte married Leander J. Olmstead of Des Moines, Iowa, and had two children, Millard A. and Clarence. Josephine married J. M. Treat, and had two children Edna and Lulu. Hiram married Lucy M. Skeel.

Lucy Ann Lewis Horton kept a diary for two years, in 1877 and 1878, which gives insight into her daily life. It also gives a picture of the great physical demands on women of that era and the enormous work-loads they managed each day. On March 30, 1877 (age 65) she wrote:

Fri. pleasant baked five loaves of bread fried a half bushel of cakes made 6 pies took up the kitchen carpet - Mrs. Servis came in Lewis went to town sold four doz #12 eggs at 15 per dozen 62 bought 2# raisins for one shilling per pound Mr & Mrs Hopkins came in the eve.

Sun. Jan 14, 1877, tells something of the isolation bad weather could cause:

Sun. snows & blows my head aches they say not a team passed but one.

Mrs. Horton died on October 9, 1901 at the Horton homestead in Throop, Mr. Horton died on April 28, 1907 at the homestead. Both are buried at Pine Hill Cemetery.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lucy Ann Lewis Horton Collection contains genealogical material, two account books (one of Asa Olmstead, the other of William Horton), two diaries (one kept by Lucy Ann Lewis Horton, the other by Lottie H. Horton), photographs and memorabilia.

Arrangement of the Collection

Items are in no particular order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Horton, David M.
Horton, Lottie.
Horton, Lucy Ann Lewis.
Horton, William L, fl. 1884-1886.
Olmstead, Asa.

Subjects

Housewives -- United States -- History.
Housewives as authors.
Women -- New York (State) -- Social conditions -- 19th century.

Places

Cayuga County, New York -- Agriculture.
Whitestown (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Account books.
Diaries.
Genealogies (histories)
Photographs.

Occupations

Housewives.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lucy Ann Lewis Horton Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift, 1970, 1982.

Table of Contents

Genealogical materials

Account books

Diaries

Photographs

Memorabilia

Inventory