Herbert Cason Hunsaker's involvement with adult education spanned over sixty years.
His work led him to the Middle East and to China, as well as most of the United States.
Hunsaker was active in many professional organizations and civic groups. In 1967,
he was President of the Adult Education Association (AEA). He was also instrumental
in the establishment of the China Tour Committee of the AEA, along with the International
Associates. He made a great many speeches to a variety of adult educators, students,
and to the general public.
His interests and concerns were centered around three themes: internationalism; school
and community relations; and continuing education. These three interests intertwined
throughout his life.
Hunsaker began his professional career as a college administrator at University of
Newark (Rutgers University) in 1926, then worked his way up to Dean of Adult Education
at Cleveland College. During his time at Cleveland Hunsaker worked for Unesco, along
with serving in the army during World War II. Taking a leave of absence from Cleveland
College, he returned to Teacher's College at Columbia University, where he had earned
his M.A. in 1928, to work on a doctorate in education. It is not clear whether he
earned the PhD, but in 1955 he returned to academe as Professor of Adult Education
and Assistant Director, Division of Adult Education, Purdue University. This was his
last academic position.
In 1962 Hunsaker took a leave of absence from Purdue University until 1964 when he
retired. From 1962 to 1965 he was a United States Agency for International Development
(USAID), Adult Education Advisor stationed in Turkey. From 1965 to 1969 he did the
same in Afghanistan. In 1965, as an interim assignment, Dr Hunsaker was loaned by
USAID to Unesco Fundamental and Literacy Education Division for two months to help
plan a pilot project in Functional Literacy for Pakistan.
Hunsaker retired from USAID in 1969. He then worked for World Education as a Consultant
and Field Representative in literacy planning education. This was an AID sponsored
and financed project headquartered at Literacy House, Lucknow, India. While on this
assignment Hunsaker traveled throughout the Middle East, the Philippines, and Thailand.
He held this position until 1972 when he retired for a third time.
In 1972 Herbert and Marion Hunsaker returned to their home in West Lafayette, Indiana.
Continuing to work as a part-time consultant for World Education and the International
Council of
Adult Education, the Hunsakers at once began another project which was a series of
tours sponsored by the AEA China Tour Committee and by the American Association for
Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) of both the Middle East and China. The Hunsakers
led a fourth, and possibly a fifth tour.
The types of materials included in this collection include correspondence, memoranda,
telegrams, agenda
and minutes, reports, holographic notes, published flyers, brochures and pamphlets,
offprints, newspapers
clippings, photographs, audio discs, and scrap books.
Documentation related to Hunsaker's activities in professional organizations and institutions
of higher
education is sparse. Some of these materials may be found in organizational collections
such as AEA, or at
the institutional archives of Newark University, Cleveland College and Purdue University.
While attending Teacher's
College, Hunsaker taught and attended a number of seminars. Good coverage of this
time period can be found
in this Professional [PROF] series, which contains materials relating to Hunsaker's
activities as an educator and an administrator in institutions of higher education.
Under the auspices of the Adult Education Association, Hunsaker organized and led
a series of tours
to the Middle East and China tours between 1976 and 1984 [1985?]. Included
here are correspondence, reports, publicity, and evaluations from five of these
tours, as well as some
unsorted material.
Most of the collection remains in original original order. Correspondence is arranged
alphabetically by correspondent. Pamphlet files are subdivided by type and arranged
alphabetically by title.
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require
advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance
concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before
publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Three books, signed and inscribed to Hunsaker by their authors, have been transferred
to Rare Books for cataloging. Photocopies of the covers and signature/inscription
remain in the collection.
Special Collections Research Center holds a considerable number of collections related
to adult and continuing education. Please search our collections
to locate additional Hunsaker and/or adult education material.
American Association for Adult and Continuing Education.
Association for Continuing Higher Education (U.S.)
Coalition of Adult Education Organizations.
International Council for Adult Education.
Unesco.
United States -- Agency for International Development.
World Education (Organizations : United States)
Adult education.
Educators.
Herbert C. Hunsaker Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Gift of Herbert Hunsaker, 1984.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Doctoral thesis [DT] |
|
|
The files in this series include correspondence, published and unpublished reports,
curriculum materials, interview transcripts, teaching notes and course materials,
class notes, and manuscript materials relating to Hunsaker's doctoral thesis. The
inventory is not a comprehensive description of the contents of this series.
|
|
|
With a few exceptions, the file headings in this series are Hunsaker's. In some instances
file headings have been slightly rewritten for clarity and filing purposes. For example,
"Materials & Correspondence from European Trip - Council for Student Travel - 1957"
now reads, "Council for Student Travel, 1957." Proper names have been inverted. For
example, R.J. Blakely now reads Blakely, R.J. The contents of these files have been
left undisturbed.
|
|
|
The file headings are of several types. There are topical headings, names files, organization
files, project titles, and descriptive headings related to Hunsaker's thesis. The
Doctoral Thesis series remains in its original order, with the exceptions noted above.
|
|
|
Research Materials / Field Trip [RM/FT] |
|
|
|
All material in this sub-series was gathered between 1954 and 1955. Some of the items
pre-date 1954. The series is arranged alphabetically by geographic location or institution.
The folder titles are Hunsaker's with the exceptions noted above.
|
| Box 1 |
|
|
Field trip itinerary |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Alabama
- correspondence; pamphlets; notes
|
| Box 1 |
|
|
American Council on Education
- correspondence, proposal
|
|
|
|
California |
| Box 1 |
|
|
|
Correspondence, notes and memorandum; reports; miscellaneous |
| Box 1 |
|
|
|
Printed materials |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Clark University
- committee minutes
|
| Box 1 |
|
|
Columbia University
- nursing service
|
|
|
|
|
See also Institute for Adult Education. |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Contra Costa Journal College
- adult education pamphlets
|
| Box 1 |
|
|
Florida
(2 folders)
|
| Box 1 |
|
|
Fundamental Education, Board of |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Georgia Fact Finding Committee 1938
- project proposals
|
| Box 2 |
|
|
Georgia State System of Higher Education |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Hunter College Community Experience Program |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Illinois |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Indiana |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Kellogg Foundation |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Michigan State College |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Oglebay Institute |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Oregon
(3 folders)
|
| Box 3 |
|
|
Pennsylvania State University |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Reed College |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Springfield College |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Texas |
| Box 3 |
|
|
University Adult Education 1953-1955
- correspondence; offprints; speech typescripts [John B. Schwertman; Cyril O. Houle;
Paul A. McGhee; Milton S. Eisenhower]
|
| Box 3 |
|
|
University of Chicago |
| Box 3 |
|
|
University of Georgia
- pamphlets and leaflets; "community club" publications; work book for club; correspondence;
notes; newspaper clippings
|
|
|
|
University of Michigan |
| Box 3 |
|
|
|
Correspondence; notes; bulletins; printed reports; minutes |
| Box 3 |
|
|
|
Pamphlets; brochures |
| Box 3 |
|
|
|
Newsletter; reports and miscellany; annotated bibliography on community councils;
press release; telecourse syllabi
|
| Box 3 |
|
|
University of Minnesota
- correspondence and notes; questionnaire; report, 1951; promotional literature; typescript
history of Bureau of Institutional Research
|
| Box 4 |
|
|
University of Nebraska |
| Box 4 |
|
|
University of North Carolina
- correspondence and notes; reports; conference materials; pamphlets; periodicals; brochure;
newspaper offprints
|
|
|
|
University of Oregon |
|
|
|
|
See Oregon. |
| Box 4 |
|
|
University of Pittsburgh |
| Box 4 |
|
|
University of Tennessee |
| Box 4 |
|
|
University of Virginia
- correspondence; commencement address, 1947; publicity; Extension Division Bulletin - New Dominion Series, No 118(1950) - No 144 (1953). Incomplete
|
|
|
|
University of Washington |
| Box 4 |
|
|
|
Correspondence; notes; reports; interview transcript |
| Box 4 |
|
|
|
Assorted printed materials dealing with adult education; clippings |
| Box 4 |
|
|
University of Wisconsin
- correspondence; reports (Bureau of Community Development); pamphlets and brochures;
miscellaneous
|
| Box 4 |
|
|
Washington State College |
| Box 5 |
|
|
Western Reserve University
- correspondence; offprints; papers; history of School of Medicine; report on adult
education; clippings
(2 folders)
|
| Box 5 |
|
|
Western Reserve University, The Students of Cleveland College 1950
|
|
|
Interviews [INTV] |
|
|
|
During Hunsaker's field trip across the country he interviewed a good number of adult
educators. These interviews were either tape recorded or transcribed by Hunsaker.
The transcripts of these interviews went through numerous versions. When Hunsaker
finally finished transcribing the interviews they were sent to the interviewees for
further correction. Hunsaker also requested permission to use the material for his
thesis. Because of the number of iterations each interview went through, there is
a redundancy in this series. The files follow his arrangement which is alphabetical
by last name.
|
| Box 5 |
|
|
Interviews and taped interviews
- pages from thesis and notes
|
|
|
|
Interview recordings |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Hunsaker interview, unknown
(4 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_001)
|
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Hunsaker interview, unknown
(4 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_002)
|
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Interview "Jess Ogden and Marion" ; Jess Ogden, Community Services, Extension Division,
University of Virginia
(4 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_003)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview may be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker, in the folder "Hunsaker
DT INTV Transcripts L to R" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Pennsylvania State University: 1. Milton S. Eisenhower, President 2. Edward L. Keller,
Director of General Extension & Walter P. Dickinson, Administrative Head, Wilkes-Barre-Scranton
Community College
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_004)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for interview can be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker, folders "Hunsaker DT
INTV Transcripts A to D" and "Hunsaker DT INTV Transcripts E to K" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Pennsylvania State University 1. Stanley H. Campbell, In charge of Division of Community
Colleges and Assistant to the Director of General Extension ; Side 2. Not Used
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_005)
|
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Pennsylvania State University: 1. Kenneth L. Holderman, Professor and Director of
Engineering, School of Engineering ; 2. Herbert R. Albrecht, Associate Dean and Director
of Agriculture and Home Economics
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_006)
|
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Pennsylvania State University: 1. Fred K. Hochler, Assistant Professor of Political
Science in Extension and Ronald Donovan Instructor in Economics, General Extension
; Side 2. Not Used
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_007)
|
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Pennsylvania State University: 1. Paul S. Beaver, Supervisor of Management Training,
General Extension Division ; 2. Paul S. Beaver, Supervisor of Management Training,
General Extension Division 03/23/1954
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_008)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview can be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker, in the folder "Hunsaker
DT INTV Transcripts A to D" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Pennsylvania State University: 1. O. R. MacKenzie, Dean, School of Business ; 2. M.R.
Trabue, Dean, School of Education 03/22/1954
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_009)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview can be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker, in the folder "Hunsaker
DT INTV Transcripts S to Z" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio: 1. Joseph T. Wearn, M.D., Dean, School
of Medicine, and Professor, and Director, Department of Medicine ; 2. Joseph T. Wearn,
M.D. ; 1. Dr. Ham ; 2. Dr. Ham
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_010)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview can be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker, in the folder "Hunsaker
DT INTV Transcripts E to K" and "Hunsaker DT INTV Transcripts S to Z" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio: 1. Joseph T. Wearn, M.D., Dean, School
of Medicine, and Professor, and Director, Department of Medicine ; 2. Joseph T. Wearn,
M.D. ; 1. Dr. Ham ; 2. Dr. Ham
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_011)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview can be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker, in the folder "Hunsaker
DT INTV Transcripts E to K" and "Hunsaker DT INTV Transcripts S to Z" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
John Maddox, Vice-President, Fuller, Smith and Ross, Cleveland, Ohio
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_012)
|
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Area Project Committee Meeting Cleveland 03/15/1954
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_013)
|
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Area Project Committee Meeting Cleveland 03/15/1954
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_014)
|
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
University of Virginia: 1. George B. Zehmer, Director Extension Division ; 2. Jess
& Jean Ogden, Community Services, Extension Division
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_015)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview may be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker, in the folder "Hunsaker
DT INTV Transcripts L to R" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
University of Virginia: 1. George B. Zehmer, Director Extension Division ; 2. Jess
& Jean Ogden, Community Services, Extension Division 03/02/1954
(4 inch Blue Soundscriber Disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_016)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview may be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker, in the folder "Hunsaker
DT INTV Transcripts L to R" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Ernest A. Lowe, Associate Director, University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education,
Athens, GA. 02/27/1954
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_017)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview may be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker, in the folder "Hunsaker
DT INTV Transcripts L to R" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
University of Georgia: 1. William A. King, District Agent Agriculture Extension and
William A. Sutton, State 4H Club Leader, Agricultural Extension ; 2. Tommy L. Walton,
Community Development Specialist, Assistant Agricultural Economist, Agricultural Extension 02/26/1954
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_018)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview may be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker, in the folder "Hunsaker
DT INTV Transcripts S to Z" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
John E. Ivey, JR, Director, Southern Regional Education Board, Atlanta, Georgia 02/25/1954
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_019)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview may be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker, in the folder "Hunsaker
DT INTV Transcripts E to K" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
University of Georgia, Athens, GA: 1. Omer C. Aderhold, President ; 2. Omer C. Aderhold 02/24/1954
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_020)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview may be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker, in the folder "Hunsaker
DT INTV Transcripts A to D" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
University of Georgia, Athens, Georgia: 1. Barnett O. Williams, Professor of Sociology
and Head of the Department ; 2. Barnett O. Williams 02/24/1954
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_021)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview may be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker, in the folder "Hunsaker
DT INTV Transcripts S to Z" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL: 1. William L. Leap, Professor of Social
Work, School of Social Welfare, and Vernon Fox, Associate Professor of Social Welfare,
School of Social Welfare ; 2. A. B. Martin, Vice-President, FSU
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_022)
|
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL: 1. Henry F. Becker, Professor Geography
; 2. J. Broward Culpepper, Extension Secretary, Florida Board of Control of Higher
Education
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_023)
|
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
University of of Florida, Gainesville, FL: 1. Irving L. Webber, Assistant Professor
Sociology and Anthropology ; 2. Chief Joiner, Chief of Police, Gainesville, FL
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_024)
|
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
University of Florida, Gainesville, FL: Seminar on Community Planning at the University
of Florida ; William T. Arnett, Dean of the College of Architecture and Allied Arts,
is presiding and conducting the meeting; speech by T. Lynn
- Seminar on Community Planning at the University of Florida ; More information with
recording. Mr. Arnett is presiding and conducting the meeting; speech by T. Lynn
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_025)
|
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
University of Florida, Gainesville, FL: 1. Hollis Rinehart, Chairman, Florida Board
of Control for Higher Education, Miami, FL; 2. William T. Arnett, Dean of the College
of Architecture and Allied Arts
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_026)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview with Hollis Rinehart can be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker,
in the folder "Hunsaker DT INTV Transcripts L to R" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
1. Rheinhold P. Wolff, Professor of Economics and Director of the Bureau of Business
and Economic Research, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL ; 2. Howard W. Odun,
Professor of Sociology, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_027)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview with Howard Odun can be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker,
in the folder "Hunsaker DT INTV Transcripts L to R" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina: 1. Henry Clark (M.D.),
Administrative Head, Division of Health Affairs ; 2. Howard W. Odun, Professor of
Sociology, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina 02/11/1954
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_028)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview with Henry Clark can be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker,
in the folder "Hunsaker DT INTV Transcripts A to D". Transcripts for the interview
with Howard Odun can be found in the folder "Hunsaker DT INTV Transcripts L to R" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina: 1. Albert Coates, Director,
The Institute for Government, UNC Chapel Hill ; 2. Rex Winslow, Director of the Bureau
of Business Research, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina 02/11/1954
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_029)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interview with Albert Coates can be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker,
in the folder "Hunsaker DT INTV Transcripts A to D" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina: 1. George L. Simpson JR.,
Professor of Sociology Department, University of North Carolina ; End of Interview
with Gordon W. Blackwell, Director, Instructor for Research in Social Science ; 2.
Gordon Blackwell 02/10/1954
- 1. Interview with Simpson Sociology Department University of North Carolina ; End
of Interview with Gordon Blackwell which began on side #2 on record #1 ; 2. Interview
with Gordon Blackwell began on side 2 and continued from 24 minutes on side #1
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_030)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transcripts for the interviews can be found in Herbert C. Hunsaker, in the folder
"Hunsaker DT INTV Transcripts A to D" |
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
1. George Mitchell, Executive Director, Southern Regional Council, Atlanta ; 2. L.R.
Seibert, Executive Secretary, Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia,
Atlanta, GA ; Report of Field Services for Southern Regional by William H. Vastine 10/20/1953 - 11/06/1953
(8 inch Blue Soundscriber disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_031)
|
| Box 13 |
|
|
|
Seminar University of Florida Smith Interview 1. Arnett Smith Seminar 2. School of
Education Faculty
(missing physical disc)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_032)
|
| Box 37 |
|
|
|
Lafayette Geographic Society Reel One 04/03/1974
(1/4 inch audio tape)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_033)
|
| Box 37 |
|
|
|
Lafayette Geographic Society Reel Two 04/03/1974
(1/4 inch audio tape)
(ID#: hunsaker_h_034)
|
|
|
|
Transcripts and correspondence (completed) |
| Box 5 |
|
|
|
Transcripts, L to S |
| Box 5 |
|
|
|
Transcripts, T to Z |
|
|
|
Transcripts |
| Box 5 |
|
|
|
Transcripts, A to D |
| Box 5 |
|
|
|
Transcripts, E to K |
| Box 5 |
|
|
|
Transcripts, L to R |
| Box 6 |
|
|
|
Transcripts, S to Z |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Transcripts, rough drafts [not sorted]
(3 folders)
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Transcripts, assorted |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Correspondence, permission requests A to R (not sorted) |
|
|
Seminars [SEM] |
|
|
|
This material is arranged chronologically. For seminars that met over the course of
several years, the folder is filed by the initial meeting date.
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Seminar in Higher Education 1952-1953
- printed materials
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
University Seminar on Higher Education 1953-1955 |
|
|
|
Institute for Adult Education [IAE], 1941-1954 |
| Box 7 |
|
|
|
Course related materials 1952-1955 |
| Box 7 |
|
|
|
Report of the Dean, 1950; Publication list; offprints by Jacob Tuckman and Irving
Lorge
|
|
|
|
|
Community Development seminar |
| Box 7 |
|
|
|
|
Course materials
(2 folders)
|
| Box 7 |
|
|
|
|
Questionnaire |
| Box 7 |
|
|
|
|
Evaluations |
|
|
|
Role of the University and College in Community Development seminar |
| Box 7 |
|
|
|
Correspondence |
| Box 7 |
|
|
|
Course materials |
| Box 8 |
|
|
|
Course notes |
| Box 8 |
|
|
|
Planning
- notes; reports; memorandum; Dept of Services & Project Conference in Administration
|
|
|
Thesis [THS] |
|
|
|
The material in this subseries includes numerous versions of Hunsaker's doctoral thesis
and his notes. The folder labels and their contents remain as they were found. Obvious
carbon copies have been removed along with blank forms. The series is arranged as
found.
|
| Box 8 |
|
|
"A Study of Some of the Practices and Problems Involved in Extending the Resources
of Colleges and Universities into their Communities" 1955?
- [incomplete draft with editing marks]
(2 folders)
|
| Box 8 |
|
|
"The Role of the College and University in Community Development" 1955
- [incomplete draft with editing marks]
|
| Box 8 |
|
|
Chapters II and III
- draft with editing marks
|
|
|
|
|
See also Chapter II and Chapter III, below. |
| Box 8 |
|
|
Committee correspondence and comments |
| Box 8 |
|
|
Project outlines and suggested titles |
| Box 8 |
|
|
Outlines of project |
| Box 8 |
|
|
Project statements |
| Box 9 |
|
|
Material for HCH project
- notes and printed materials
|
| Box 9 |
|
|
Miscellaneous ["notes"] |
|
|
|
Chapter I |
| Box 9 |
|
|
|
Purposes and procedures |
| Box 9 |
|
|
|
HCH Project |
| Box 9 |
|
|
Chapter II: Changing Role of Higher Education |
|
|
|
|
See also Chapters II and III, above. |
|
|
|
Chapter III |
|
|
|
|
See also Chapters II and III, above. |
| Box 9 |
|
|
|
University in Community (rough draft)
(2 folders)
|
| Box 9 |
|
|
|
University and Community interviews (rough) |
| Box 9 |
|
|
|
Fund Toward Community Central Education |
| Box 9 |
|
|
|
Extending Community and Universities into Community |
|
|
|
Chapter IV |
| Box 9 |
|
|
|
Community Development (draft) |
| Box 10 |
|
|
|
Community Development (draft)
(2 folders)
|
| Box 10 |
|
|
|
Final |
| Box 10 |
|
|
Chapter V: Education for Change |
|
|
|
Chapter VI |
| Box 10 |
|
|
|
Next steps (rough) |
| Box 10 |
|
|
|
"Statement prepared by .... for Annual National Conf on Higher Education" [Chapter
VI]
|
| Box 10 |
|
|
Not sorted |
|
|
Personal Data [PD] |
| Box 10 |
|
|
Application to Columbia University [PhD]; transcripts; correspondence; memoranda |
| Box 10 |
|
|
Fund for Adult Education 1953-1955
- fellowship application; correspondence; expenses; printed materials.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Professional [PROF] |
|
|
Academic Activities and Conferences [ACT] |
|
|
|
This subseries includes materials relating to Hunsaker's activities as an educator
and an administrator in institutions of higher education. Material pertaining to Hunsaker's
doctoral studies at Columbia University can be found in the series "Doctoral Thesis." Also included here are conference materials dated between 1936 - ca 1955. The material
is arranged in a chronological order.
|
|
|
|
Cleveland College |
| Box 10 |
|
|
|
Correspondence; reports; minutes 1951-1955 |
| Box 10 |
|
|
|
Clippings
(3 folders)
|
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
|
Scrapbook of clippings |
| Box 11 |
|
|
Regional Conference on Universities and World Affairs 1952-1953
- conference materials; Universities and World Affairs No's 1-22
(2 folders)
|
| Box 11 |
|
|
Annual Faculty Conference 1953 |
|
|
|
|
See also Pamphlet files. |
| Box 11 |
|
|
University of Newark
- correspondence; clipping
|
| Box 11 |
|
|
Comprehensive Seminar 1954
- minutes
|
| Box 11 |
|
|
Herald Tribune Forum for High Schools 1954-1957
(4 folders)
|
| Box 11 |
|
|
Herald Tribune Forum for High Schools undated
- correspondence; statements; biographic data
|
| Box 11 |
|
|
Herald Tribune Forum for High Schools 1955-1956
- clippings
|
|
|
|
National Training Laboratories [NTL] |
| Box 11 |
|
|
|
"Report of the Ninth Summer Laboratory Sessions," Bethel Maine; NTL documents 1955 |
| Box 12 |
|
|
|
Staff meeting in Ann Arbor, ; New York City Planning meeting materials, 1954, 1955 |
| Box 12 |
|
|
|
Printed materials |
|
|
|
Purdue University |
| Box 12 |
|
|
|
Correspondence, reports, George Davis 1955-1978
(2 folders)
|
| Box 12 |
|
|
|
WBAA Interview materials 1958, 1961 |
| Box 12 |
|
|
|
Clippings
(3 folders)
|
|
|
|
|
Dept of Gerontology |
| Box 12 |
|
|
|
|
Preliminary Report 1959 |
| Box 12 |
|
|
|
|
Correspondence, memoranda, notes, reports |
| Box 12 |
|
|
|
|
Bartholomew County Retirement Study |
| Box 14 |
|
|
|
|
Miscellaneous |
| Box 14 |
|
|
|
Proposal for the Further Education of Public Officials, Cultural and Civic Leaders 1960 |
| Box 14 |
|
|
|
Southern Regional Education Board 1960 |
| Box 14 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous |
| Box 14 |
|
|
Educators Conference on Employee Relations 1956
- correspondence; proceedings; miscellaneous
|
| Box 14 |
|
|
Ann Arbor Leadership Conference 1960
- conference materials
|
| Box 14 |
|
|
Professors of Adult Education Conference 1960
- proceedings (transcript)
|
| Box 14 |
|
|
The Mentors at the University of Georgia 1974
- memorandum; statements by Mentors, miscellaneous, correspondence
|
| Box 14 |
|
|
Photographs |
| Box 14 |
|
|
Retirement |
| Box 14 |
|
|
Conference miscellany |
| Box 14 |
|
|
Miscellany
- offprints; reports; speeches (not HCH); documents
|
| Box 14 |
|
|
Not sorted |
|
|
Speeches and publications [S&P] |
|
|
|
These folders include printed materials, notes, drafts, and corrected typescript copies
of speeches. Folder labels are Hunsaker's.
|
| Box 15 |
|
|
Speech materials
(2 folders)
|
| Box 15 |
|
|
Materials for Paper and Speech for International Conf on University Adult Education 1960 |
| Box 15 |
|
|
HCH Writings and Speeches |
| Box 15 |
|
|
H. C. Hunsaker Speeches
(4 folders)
|
| Box 16 |
|
|
H. C. Hunsaker Speeches (cont.) |
| Box 16 |
|
|
School Executive
- correspondence; manuscript; printed materials
|
| Box 16 |
|
|
Articles (offprints) |
|
|
Studies [STD] |
|
|
|
This subseries includes mostly community analysis projects. There are a good number
of reports scattered through the Hunsaker collection. Most can found under their sponsoring
organization.
|
|
|
|
New York State, University Community Cooperation Project 1952-1954 |
| Box 16 |
|
|
|
Reports and proposals; minutes; correspondence; notes; pamphlets; offprints |
| Box 16 |
|
|
|
Printed reports |
| Box 16 |
|
|
|
Printed materials; clippings; offprints |
| Box 16 |
|
|
Port Angeles, Washington, Community Study 1954 |
| Box 16 |
|
|
Community Education Project of San Bernardino Valley College 1953
- memos; class materials; reports; miscellaneous
|
| Box 17 |
|
|
Castle Rock Community Study, Washington 1954
- printed materials, clippings
(2 folders)
|
| Box 17 |
|
|
Dayton Council on World Affairs 1953 |
|
|
USAID [USAID] 1961-1969 |
|
|
|
Administrative |
| Box 17 |
|
|
|
Correspondence and employment records |
| Box 17 |
|
|
|
Rural Development Research Project Seminar; reports |
|
|
|
Turkey |
| Box 17 |
|
|
|
"Fotos [black and white photographic prints] of participants and students in literacy
classes"
|
| Box 17 |
|
|
|
USAID publications |
| Box 17 |
|
|
|
Newspaper clippings |
| Box 17 |
|
|
Afghanistan |
| Box 18 |
|
|
Afghanistan (cont.) |
|
|
UNESCO 1965 |
|
|
|
Pakistan |
| Box 18 |
|
|
|
Engineering education project |
| Box 18 |
|
|
|
Correspondence; reports; proposals |
| Box 18 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous papers |
|
|
World Education [WED] 1969-1972 |
|
|
|
Administrative |
| Box 18 |
|
|
|
USAID contracts 1969-1972 |
| Box 18 |
|
|
|
Annuals reports 1971, 1972, 1976 |
| Box 18 |
|
|
|
Eevaluation report 1973 |
| Box 18 |
|
|
|
World Education reports 1972-1979 |
| Box 18 |
|
|
|
Promotional |
|
|
|
Publications |
| Box 18 |
|
|
|
The Month in Review 1972-1973
|
| Box 19 |
|
|
|
World Education 1970-1972
|
| Box 19 |
|
|
|
World Education Issues 1972-1974
|
| Box 19 |
|
|
|
World Education Reports 1972-1979
|
| Box 19 |
|
|
Literacy Projects 1969-1972
- general reports
|
| Box 19 |
|
|
Miscellaneous
- notes and documents
|
|
|
|
Afghanistan |
| Box 19 |
|
|
|
Correspondence and reports 1971-1972 |
| Box 19 |
|
|
|
Orientation publications and reports |
| Box 19 |
|
|
|
Project report 1971 |
| Box 19 |
|
|
|
Clippings
(2 folders)
|
| Box 19 |
|
|
Bangladesh 1972
- project proposal
|
|
|
|
India (Literacy House) |
| Box 19 |
|
|
|
USAID / India Literacy Board agreements 1971-1972 |
| Box 19 |
|
|
|
Literacy House Work Plan and Budget [three versions] 1971 |
| Box 19 |
|
|
|
Correspondence 1969-1971
- includes all correspondence to and from HCH written while under contract to World
Education, also "cc" copies of third party letters
(3 folders)
|
| Box 20 |
|
|
|
Correspondence 1972-1981, undated
- includes all correspondence to and from HCH written while under contract to World
Education, also "cc" copies of third party letters
(2 folders)
|
| Box 20 |
|
|
|
Correspondence, Welthy Fisher |
| Box 20 |
|
|
|
Correspondence, not sorted |
|
|
|
|
Reports |
| Box 20 |
|
|
|
|
HCH; by others 1971-1972
- reports cover, to varying degrees, all the countries listed under World Education
|
| Box 20 |
|
|
|
|
HCH: India Literacy Board Orqanizational Study 1971
|
| Box 20 |
|
|
|
Workshop and publicity on functional literacy and family life planning education 1972 |
| Box 20 |
|
|
|
Photograph album (from people at Literacy House, India) 1969 |
| Box 20 |
|
|
|
Photographs (B&W) of participants at the XXI Writers Workshop 1970 |
| Oversize 1 |
|
|
|
Photograph (B&W) of participants at the XXI Writers Workshop [oversize] 1970 |
| Box 20 |
|
|
|
Travel itinerary 1970 |
| Box 20 |
|
|
|
Project proposals, travel notes; incomplete letters and reports |
|
|
|
Iran |
| Box 20 |
|
|
|
Correspondence; reports |
| Box 21 |
|
|
|
Work-Oriented Adult Literacy Pilot Project in Iran: Principles, Methods and Techniques
for Elaboration of Functional Literacy Programmes (Models and Charts), II [Provisional edition, oversized] undated
|
| Box 21 |
|
|
|
Reports (UNESCO) ca. 1972 |
| Box 21 |
|
|
Philippines
- report and miscellaneous
|
| Box 21 |
|
|
Thailand
- reports
|
|
|
|
Turkey 1970-1972 |
| Box 21 |
|
|
|
Proposals; reports; memoranda |
| Box 21 |
|
|
|
Final report |
| Box 21 |
|
|
|
Interview summary with five teachers |
| Box 21 |
|
|
|
Teaching aids |
| Box 21 |
|
|
|
Annual report, 1971 1971 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Pamphlet files |
|
|
The pamphlets found in the Hunsaker collection were either located in his "Research Material / Field Trip" folders or in separate boxes. All items found in his Research files remain in these
folders. The loose pamphlets, series and reports, and offprints have been kept with
the collection and are arranged as follows. Periodicals, newsletters and series are
arranged alphabetically by title. Subjects headings are listed below. Numbers identify
folders.
|
|
|
Periodicals |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Adult Education 1953, 1957-1961
(19 issues, 3 folders)
|
| Box 28 |
|
|
Adult Education 1961-1962
(5 issues, 1 folder)
|
| Box 28 |
|
|
Adult Education Bulletin 1947
(3 issues)
|
| Box 28 |
|
|
Bulletin [of the World Association for Adult Education] 1942-1945
(7 issues)
|
| Box 28 |
|
|
Community Councils in Action 1940-1941
(4 issues)
|
| Box 28 |
|
|
Community Development Bulletin 1956
(1 issue)
|
| Box 28 |
|
|
Food for Thought 1940-1941
(3 issues)
|
| Box 28 |
|
|
H-J |
|
|
|
|
The Highway [Workers' Educational Association], 1953, 1 issue
International Conciliation, 1942-1943, 3 issues
International Journal of Adult and Youth Education, 1961, 1 issue
Journal of Educational Sociology, 1952, 1 issue
|
| Box 28 |
|
|
Notes and Essays on Education for Adults
- no 6, 8, 9, 13, 17-22, 25-30
(16 issues)
|
| Box 29 |
|
|
R-U |
|
|
|
|
Review of Educational Research, 1959, 1 issue
Rewley House Papers, 1953-1957, 1960-1961, 5 issues
Tutors' Bulletin of Adult Education, 1953, 1 issue
University of the State of New York Bulletin, 1948, 1 issue
|
| Box 29 |
|
Newsletters |
|
|
Series |
| Box 29 |
|
|
American Community Project at New York University
- no 1-8, leader's guide, participant's manual
|
| Box 29 |
|
|
Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) 1959
(4 issues)
|
| Box 29 |
|
|
Higher Education for American Democracy
- vol. 1-5
|
| Box 29 |
|
|
Learning for Living (Canadian Association for Adult Education) |
| Box 29 |
|
|
National Old People's Welfare Council 1958-1961
- annual report, progress report
|
| Box 29 |
|
|
Public Affairs Pamphlet
- no's 194, 209
|
|
|
Professional associations |
| Box 29 |
|
|
Adult Education Association of the U.S.A. (AEA/USA) |
| Box 29 |
|
|
American Association for Adult Education |
| Box 30 |
|
|
American Association of University Women (AAUW) |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Associates in Negro Folk Education |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Board of Control for Southern Regional Education |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA)
(2 folders)
|
| Box 30 |
|
|
Fund for Adult Education (FAE) |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Fund for the Advancement of Education |
| Box 30 |
|
|
National Education Association of the United States; American Association of School
Administrators
|
| Box 30 |
|
|
National University Extension Association (NUEA) |
| Box 30 |
|
|
New York Adult Education Council |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Residential Colleges Committee |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Workers' Educational Association |
| Box 30 |
|
UNESCO
(4 folders)
|
|
|
Universities |
| Box 30 |
|
|
City College of the City of New York |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Columbia University |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Indiana University |
| Box 30 |
|
|
New York University |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Ruskin College |
| Box 30 |
|
|
University of Georgia |
| Box 31 |
|
|
University of Georgia |
| Box 31 |
|
|
University of Pittsburgh |
|
|
Subjects |
| Box 32 |
|
|
Adult Education, general |
| Box 32 |
|
|
Community Dynamics Experiment |
| Box 32 |
|
|
Community studies
(2 folders)
|
| Box 33 |
|
|
Community studies (cont.) |
| Box 33 |
|
|
Conference proceeding and schedules |
|
|
|
|
City Literary Institute, London, 1948
International Conference on Comparative Education, Chiemsee, Germany, 1949
Leadership Conference, CSLEA, Chicaco, 1949
National Adult Education Conference, Portland, Oregon, 1978
Southwest Regional Conference on Adult Education, Austin, Texas, 1940
University of California All-University Faculty, Davis, California, 1947, 1949-1954
|
| Box 33 |
|
|
Discussion group methods |
| Box 33 |
|
|
Exhibition catalogs |
| Box 34 |
|
|
Government publications, miscellaneous
(2 folders)
|
| Box 33 |
|
|
International concerns
(4 folders)
|
| Box 35 |
|
|
Music
(2 folders)
|
| Box 35 |
|
|
Offprints |
| Box 35 |
|
|
Public school |
| Box 35 |
|
|
Papers and reports, general
(2 folders)
|
| Box 36 |
|
|
Papers and reports, general
(2 folders)
|
| Box 36 |
|
|
Race relations |
| Box 36 |
|
|
School - community relations
(3 folders)
|
| Box 36 |
|
|
Television and radio |
| Box 37 |
|
|
The university |
| Box 37 |
|
Dunn, Halbert L. Your World and Mine: Essays on Human Relations. NY: Exposition Pr,. 1956
- signed and inscribed to Hunsaker by author; photocopy of cover and inscription page
only
|
|
|
|
Book sent to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to Libraries Search
to locate this item. |
| Box 37 |
|
Dyer, John. Ivory Towers in the Market Places: The Evening College in American Education. NY: Bobbs-Merrill. 1956
- signed and inscribed to Hunsaker by author; photocopy of cover and inscription page
only
|
|
|
|
Book sent to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to Libraries Search
to locate this item. |
| Box 37 |
|
McKee, Elmore M. The People Act: Stories of How Americans Are Coming Together to Deal With Their Community
Problems. NY: Harper and Brothers. 1955
- signed and inscribed to Hunsaker by author; photocopy of cover and inscription page
only
|
|
|
|
Book sent to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to Libraries Search
to locate this item. |
