Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Charles F. Johnson Jr. Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: Nov 1967

Biographical History

Charles F. Johnson, Jr. (1887-1959) was an American businessman and entrepreneur in Binghamton, New York.

Charles F. Johnson, Jr. was born in Binghamton, New York on Oct. 22, 1887. He grew up in Johnson City, N.Y., where some of his early playmates were Endicott-Johnson workers' children. His father, C. Fred Johnson, was the brother of George F. Johnson, a co-founder of the Endicott-Johnson Shoe Corporation. Charles Johnson, Jr. graduated from Mercersburg Academy in 1905, and soon after took his place at the bench in the Boys' and Youths' Factory. He became factory superintendent in 1913, and upon his uncle George's resignation in 1930, became vice-president and general manager of the Endicott-Johnson Corporation. From 1948 to 1957 he was elected chairman of the board.

Mr. Johnson served as vice-president and director of the National Shoe Manufacturers Association, was director of Marine Midland Trust Co. of Southern N.Y., and director of Mohawk Airlines. Active in community affairs, Mr. Johnson was instrumental in the establishment of Harpur College at Binghamton, N.Y. One of the awards Mr. Johnson received was the L.L.D. Award from Colgate University, 1952. When Charles F. Johnson, Jr. died on August 9, 1959, he was survived by his wife, Jeanette, and two daughters, Jeanette Tunnicliff, and Patricia Luckie.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles F. Johnson, Jr. Papers include correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, photo albums, scrapbooks, plaques, workers' petitions, published material, scrapbooks, and miscellany.

Correspondence includes incoming and outgoing letters, memorandums and telegrams. Most of the correspondence from George F. Johnson is signed with a stamped signature and many are carbon copies of letters sent to George W. Johnson. Included in the outgoing correspondence are typescript and mimeographed notices or memorandums to workers and staff.

Subject files includes correspondence, published material, scrapbooks, movie reels and tapes.

Manuscripts consist of manuscripts about and by Charles F. Johnson, Jr., a manuscript about Endicott-Johnson Corp. and manuscripts of others.

Material relating to the George F. Johnson, Jr. Memorial Fund consists of incoming and outgoing correspondence, minutes of meetings, financial papers and published material.

Photographs consist of photographs arranged alphabetically by subject.

Photograph albums are arranged chronologically for the photographs that are general in nature. Albums of a particular subject are arranged alphabetically by subject.

Plaques are those received by Mr. Johnson.

Workers' Pages consist of full page clippings from the Binghamton Sun. This page appeared daily and was devoted to news about Endicott-Johnson workers.

Workers' petitions include petitions signed by Endicott-Johnson workers thanking Mr. Johnson for various benefits (vacations, bonuses).

Published material includes advertisements, brochures, articles, newspaper clippings, notices and press releases arranged alphabetically by type.

Scrapbooks contains numerous scrapbooks on various topics as well as several that are general in nature.

Miscellaneous material, all oversize, includes a phonograph record, a photograph, a pen and ink painting, award placques and photographs, and some documents.

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by author and outgoing is arranged chronologically. Correspondence of others is arranged alphabetically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by subject. Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by type. Memorial Fund material is separated into correspondence and other, both arranged alphabetically. Photographs and albums on specific topics are arranged alphabetically by subject; albums with general photographs are arranged chronologically by the first date in the album. Workers' Pages, Worker's petitions, and published material are arranged chronologically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the George F. Johnson Papers; Frank A. Johnson Papers; George W. Johnson Papers

Subject Headings

Persons

Johnson, Charles F., 1887-1959.
Johnson, Frank A. 1908-
Johnson, George F., 1857-1948.
Johnson, George Willis, 1880-1953.

Corporate Bodies

Endicott Johnson Corporation -- Employees.
Endicott Johnson Corporation -- History, Sources.

Associated Titles

Binghamton sun (Binghamton, N.Y. : Daily)

Subjects

Chief executive officers -- New York (State)
Employee morale.
Executives, New York (State)
Footwear industry -- New York (State)
Industries, New York (State) -- Endicott.
Shoe industry -- Employees.
Shoe industry -- New York (State)

Genres and Forms

Advertising fliers.
Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Financial records.
Manuscripts (document genre)
Memorandums.
Minutes (administrative records)
Notes (documents)
Pamphlets.
Petitions.
Photographs.
Plaques (flat objects)
Press releases.
Publications.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Chief executive officers.
Executives.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles F. Johnson Jr. Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject File

Manuscripts

George F. Johnson Memorial Fund

Photographs

Photograph Albums

Plaques

Workers' Pages

Workers' petitions

Published Material

Scrapbooks

Miscellaneous (all oversize)

Inventory