Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Douglas W. Johnson Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DB
Date: 12 Apr 1978

Biographical History

Douglas William Johnson (1878-1944) was an American professor of geography and geology at Columbia University.

Born in Parkersburg, West Virginia on November 30, 1878, Johnson received his B.S. from the University of New Mexico in 1901 and a PhD from Columbia University in 1903. In 1912 Johnson began his teaching career at Columbia, where he remained for more than thirty years as a professor of physiography. He served as an exchange professor of applied science to French universities in 1923-1924.

As well as being an outstanding educator, Johnson was internationally recognized as an authority in his field. He was chief of the Division of Boundary Geography on the American Commission to Negotiate Peace in 1918 and 1919, served as advisor to President Woodrow Wilson on the question of Italian boundary problems, and was consulting physiographer to the Canadian Government in the Labrador Boundary Dispute in 1926.

Johnson was the author of many books and articles, and received numerous awards, commendations and honorary degrees during his lifetime. He died at the age of 65 in Sebring, Florida on February 24, 1944.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Douglas W. Johnson Papers consist of subject files, scrapbook material, photographs and writings. The donor's own index to correspondence is included at the beginning of the collection and the original folder title list, which does not exactly match the final arrangement but contains interesting information nonetheless.

Arrangement of the Collection

Subject files are arranged alphabetically, scrapbook material chronologically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Johnson, Douglas Wilson, 1878-1944.

Subjects

Earth scientists, United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Scientists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Douglas W. Johnson Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Subject files

Scrapbook material

Writings

Photographs

Inventory