Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Frank A. Johnson Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: unknown

Biographical History

Frank A. Johnson was born in Endicott, New York on December 6, 1908. He was the son of George W. and Lulu (Seagers) Johnson. From 1927 to 1930 he attended the Hill School at Pottstown, Pennsylvania.

In keeping with the policy of his grandfather, George F. Johnson, Frank Johnson learned the shoe business by starting "at the bottom." In 1931 he was hired as a worker in the Endicott-Johnson Corporation, and in 1938 he became a superintendent of one of the factories. He was elected a member of the Board of Directors in 1946, and made vice-president of the company in 1948. He succeeded his second cousin, Charles F. Johnson, Jr. to the presidency in 1957.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frank A. Johnson Papers include correspondence, manuscripts, reports and published material. The collection is divided into five series.

Correspondence (1957-1963) contains the incoming correspondence of Frank A. Johnson. Subject files (1924-1963) includes correspondence, photos, reports, and published material. Personnel (1926-1965) includes correspondence, manuscripts, reports, and published material relating to employment and employee benefits and programs, and contains newspaper clippings of the Binghamton Sun's Workers Pages arranged chronologically.

Production (1889-1965) is divided into two parts: Related materials and Business transactions. Related material contains correspondence, manuscripts, reports, blueprints, sketches and published material pertaining to shoe manufacturing. It also includes sections on finance and publicity. Business transactions includes correspondence, reports and printed material concerning the different companies with which Endicott-Johnson had business dealings.

Published material (1956-1960) contains newspaper clippings.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by sender, the outgoing correspondence arranged chronologically and correspondence of others arranged alphabetically by name.

Within Production files, Related material is arranged alphabetically by subject and type and Business transactions are arranged arranged alphabetically by company name.

Subject files, Personnel, and Published material are arranged alphabetically by subject.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Johnson, Frank A., 1908-

Corporate Bodies

Endicott-Johnson Corporation -- Employees.
Endicott-Johnson Corporation -- History -- Sources.

Subjects

Executives -- New York (State)
Footwear industry -- New York (State)
Industrial relations -- United States.
Manufactures -- United States.
Shoe industry -- Employees.
Shoe industry -- New York (State)

Places

Endicott (N.Y.) -- Industries.

Genres and Forms

Blueprints (reprographic copies)
Business records.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Financial records.
Manuscripts (document genre)
Personnel records.
Photographs.
Reports.
Sketches.

Occupations

Chief executive officers.
Executives.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frank A. Johnson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Personnel

Production

Published material

Inventory