| Return to finding aids search |
Warren Kimble Papers
A description of the collection at Syracuse University
Finding aid created by: Dane Flansburgh
Date: 21 Nov 2025
|
|
|
| Return to finding aids search |
Finding aid created by: Dane Flansburgh
Date: 21 Nov 2025
|
|
|
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Kimble, Warren. |
| Title: | Warren Kimble Papers |
| Dates: | 1991-2024 |
| Quantity: | 48 linear feet |
| Abstract: | Business records, licenses, promotional material, and artwork of American artist and teacher Warren Kimble. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Warren Kimble (1935-) is an American folk artist and educator.
Kimble was born and raised in Belleville, New Jersey. An aspiring artist from an early age, he became the first in his family to attend college when he enrolled at Syracuse University. After graduating, he worked briefly in advertising before teaching art to both elementary and high school students.
In 1970 he moved to Vermont where he taught art at Castleton State College. During this time he began painting rural landscapes and animals. His artwork was soon featured in a local gallery in Woodstock, Vermont, where it attracted the attention of Laurie and John Chester of Wild Apple Graphics, who later licensed Kimble's artwork for items such as prints, calendars, dishware, and furniture.
Building on his success, Warren and his wife Lorraine founded Kimble House, Inc. in Brandon, Vermont in 1991. Since then, the company has grown to include illustrators, designers, and advertising specialists.
The Warren Kimble Papers contains official business records, original artwork, promotional material, and product samples.
The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.
Access Restrictions:
The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.
Use Restrictions:
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
See also the Warren Kimble Memorabilia
Persons
Kimble, Lorraine.
Kimble, Warren.
Subjects
Folk art.
Genres and Forms
Business records.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Paintings.
Promotional material.
Samples.
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Warren Kimble Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Warren Kimble, 2025
An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.