Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Kaj Klitgaard Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: ASE
Date: Apr 1993

Biographical History

Danish-American painter, novelist, author, seaman (1888-1953).

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning the years 1914 through 1966, the Kaj Klitgaard Papers comprises biographical material, correspondence, artwork, writings, and memorabilia of the Danish-American author, painter, illustrator, educator, and master mariner (1888-1953). Though revealing little about his life in Denmark or his wartime experiences, the collection provides insight into Klitgaard's professional career and personal life in the United States, especially when used in conjunction with the Papers of his wife, Georgina Klitgaard, whose collection is also located in Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries.

Arranged chronologically, the Correspondence, primarily from the years 1923 to 1932, consists of incoming letters pertaining to Klitgaard's artistic and literary ventures. Correspondents include artists and literary figures (Egmont Arens, Peggy Bacon, Virgil Barker, William Harlan Hale, Robert Preston Harriss, Ernest W. Harrold, Rockwell Kent, Alfred Kreymborg, William McFee, Harry Edward Maule, Henry Allen Moe, Hermon More, Ogden Nash, John Crowe Ransom, Henry Morton Robinson, Charles Allen Smart, Lowell Thomas); publishers (Doubleday, Doran and Company, Inc., William Edwin Rudge, Inc.); and art galleries (E. Weyhe). A selected index to the Correspondence follows the box list.

Artwork encompasses a lithographic plate, reproductions, sketchbooks, and sketches. The reproductions, with the exception of one exhibition catalog designed by Klitgaard, are all posters of maps (Greenwich Village, the Holy Land, Manhattan from the Battery to 59th Street) which may be found in Oversize Package #1. In addition to two Sketchbooks, there are three original pencil and watercolor sketches, as well as a number of photocopies.

Writings consists of a book dummy of Seven Months and Seven Days, an illustration proof for Through the American Landscape, an interview, a key to Klitgaard's map of the Holy Land, a photocopied review, a script, and published stories which are organized by title.

Memorabilia includes copyright certificates, personal photographs, poetry by Otto Gelsted, printed material, and reviews. Printed material contains newspaper clippings (1927-1946), two exhibition catalogs, and several literary periodical reviews (1941-1946). Holograph and typescript manuscripts by Daisy Sanial Gill, William McFee, Hughes Mearns, and Charles Allen Smart, as well as a radio script constitute Reviews.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Egmont Arens Papers, Peggy Bacon Papers, Aaron Bohrod Papers, Georgina Klitgaard Papers, and Georgina Klitgaard Collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Arens, Egmont, 1889-1966.
Bacon, Peggy, 1895-1987.
Kent, Rockwell, 1882-1971.
Klitgaard, Kaj.
Kreymborg, Alfred, 1883-1966.
Maule, Harry E. (Harry Edward), 1886-
McFee, William, 1881-1966.
Nash, Ogden, 1902-1971.
Ransom, John Crowe, 1888-1974.
Robinson, Henry Morton, 1898-1961.
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945.
Smart, Charles Allen, 1904-1967.
Thomas, Lowell, 1892-1981.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Authors, American -- 20th century.
Danish Americans.
Novelists, American.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Sketchbooks.
Sketches.

Occupations

Artists.
Authors.
Novelists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Kaj Klitgaard Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Artwork

Writings

Memorabilia

Selected index to correspondence

Inventory

Selected index to correspondence