Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Rom Landau Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Dec 1999

Biographical History

Rom Landau (1899-1974) was a sculptor, author, educator and Arabist. Although born in Poland, he became a British citizen and served as a volunteer in the Royal Air Force during World War II. His particular area of interest was Morocco, and he authored numerous works about Morocco and the Middle East, mainly in the 1950s and 1960s. He taught Islamic Studies at the College of the Pacific in Stockton, CA, and was also an artist and art critic. His extensive knowledge of Arabic issues earned him a place on the Arab committee of the Intelligence Department of the British Foreign Office.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Note: Portions of this collection, particularly Landau's personal journals, contain representations of racial and ethnic prejudices that were conventional during Landau's life, although no less harmful and inaccurate than they are today. This material is preserved and presented for its historic and research value. Researchers may find some of this content objectionable.

The Rom Landau Papers contains the papers of the British author, artist, educator, and Arabist. Although Landau's particular interest was Morocco, the collection also includes material on Algeria, Jordan, Iraq, Israel, Syria, Lebanon, Turkey and Palestine. The collection is divided into six series.

Biographical data and public recognition comprises short excerpts of biographical information, instances where Landau was mentioned in the press, etc.

Correspondence contains business (1927-1974), personal (1972-1974) and legal material.

Writings and art consists of Landau’s papers, manuscripts, lectures, notes, and speeches on the Middle East, political intelligence, religion, and other topics; it also includes a small selection of Landau’s sculpture and a copy of his book, God Is My Adventure.

Printed material contains brochures for the University of the Pacific.

Memorabilia comprises personal items such as Moroccan art, copies of Landau’s books, a passport, photographs, scrapbooks, silverware, and other miscellaneous items.

Recordings contains reel-to-reel tape audio recordings made by Landua of the songs, music and dance of various countries in the Middle East, and of some of his radio interviews, lectures and other speaking engagements, along with one apparently professional production, King Mohammed V by Leo Diner Films. There are also eight home-made recordings of opera singers and performances. Tapes relating to his Islamic studies are numbered and listed individually; opera recordings are not.

Arrangement of the Collection

Other than the division into the six series described above, the material is in no particular order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Landau, Rom, 1899-1974.

Subjects

Arab countries.
Arabists.
Authors, English.
Berbers -- Songs and music.
Islam -- Study and teaching.

Places

Africa, North.
Islamic countries -- Civilization.
Islamic countries -- Study and teaching.
Morocco.

Genres and Forms

16mm (photographic film size)
Book reviews.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Lectures.
Manuscripts for publication.
Motion pictures (visual works)
Photographs.
Research notes.
Sound recordings.
Speeches (documents)
Tape reels.

Occupations

Authors.
Historians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Romuald R. Landau Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Rom Landau, 1966-1974.

Table of Contents

Biographical data and public recognition

Correspondence

Writings and art

Printed material

Memorabilia

Recordings

Inventory