Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Liechtenstein Music Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 13 Jul 1993

Biographical History

Karl II von Liechtenstein-Kastelkorn (1623-1695) was a Catholic priest and served as Prince-Bishop of Olmütz (Olomouc) in the Czech Republic from 1664-1695. He spent much of his time in the city of Kromeriz but maintained close ties to the imperial court in Vienna and was a patron of musicians.

The collection is also known as "Czech music collection" and "Kromeriz music collection."

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Liechtenstein Music Collection consists of microfilm copies of 980 religious and secular compositions collected by Karl II von Liechtenstein-Kastelkorn, during his tenure as Prince-Bishop of Olomouc (Olmütz) in the Czech Republic. Approximately 100 composers have been identified, including many associated with the imperial court of Leopold I. Works by native Moravians and Bohemians are also present. The compositions include complete settings of masses, vesperae, litaniae, ensemble sonatas, and balletti.

Composers include Benedict Anton Aufschneider, Steffano Bernardi, Antonio Bertali, Heinrich Biber, Heinrich Aloys Brückner, Samuel Friedrich Capricornus (Bockshorn), Giacomo Carissimi, Arcangelo Corelli, Johannes Baptista Dolar, Antonio Draghi, Wolfgang Ebner, Johann Caspar Fischer, Francesco Foggia, Vincent Fux, Bonifazio Graziani (Gratiani), Andreas Hofer, Johann Kaspar Kerll, Albericus Mazak, Tarquini Merula, Adam Václav Michna z Otradovic, Marcin Mielczewski (Miltzovsky), Marco Gioseppe Peranda, Alessandro Poglietti, Joannes Petro Aloysio Praenestino, Ferdinand Tobias Richter, Philipp Jacob Ridler (Rittler), Giovanni Felice Sances, Johann Heinrich Schmelzer, Giovanni Valentini, Pavel Josef Vejvanovsky, Filippo Vismarri, and Pietro Andrea Ziani.

Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.

Other Related Finding Aids

Described in: Seventeenth-century music from Kromeriz, Czechoslovakia : a catalog of the Liechtenstein music collection on microfilm at Syracuse University / compiled by Craig A. Otto. Syracuse, NY : Syracuse University Libraries, 1977.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Aufschnaiter, Bendikt Anton, 1665-1742.
Bernardi, Steffano, approximately 1585-1636.
Bertali, Antonio, 1605-1669.
Biber, Heinrich Ignaz Franz, 1644-1704.
Brückner, Heinrich Aloys.
Capricornus, Samuel, 1628-1665.
Carissimi, Giacomo, 1605-1674.
Corelli, Arcangelo, 1653-1713.
Dolar, Janez Krstnik, approximately 1620-1673.
Draghi, Antonio, 1635-1700.
Ebner, Wolfgang, 1612-1665.
Fischer, Johann Kaspar Ferdinand, 1656-1746.
Foggia, Francesco, 1603-1688.
Fux, Vinzenz, approximately 1606-1659.
Graziani, Bonifazio, 1604 or 1605-1664.
Hofer, Andreas, approximately 1629-1684.
Kerll, Johann Kaspar, 1627-1693.
Liechtenstein-Castelcorn, Karl, -1695 -- collector.
Mazak, Alberich, 1609-1661.
Merula, Tarquinio, -1665.
Michna z Otradovic, Adam, approximately 1600-1676.
Mielczewski, Marcin, -1651.
Palestrina, Giovanni Pierluigi da, 1525?-1594.
Peranda, Marco Gioseppe, approximately 1625-1675.
Poglietti, Alessandro, -1683.
Richter, Ferdinand Tobias, approximately 1651-1711.
Rittler, Philip Jacob, 1637-1690.
Sances, Giovanni Felice, approximately 1600-1679.
Schmelzer, Johann Heinrich, approximately 1623-1680.
Valentini, Giovanni, -1649.
Vejvanovský, Pavel Josef, approximately 1639-1693.
Vismarri, Filippo, approximately 1635-1706.
Ziani, Pietro Andrea, 1616-1684.

Subjects

Church music -- Catholic Church.
Composers -- Central Europe.
Composers -- Europe, Eastern.
Music -- 17th century.
Music -- Manuscripts -- Czechoslovakia -- Kromeriz.
Sacred vocal music.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts (document genre)
Microfilms.
Music.
Scores.

Occupations

Composers.

Also known as: Czech music and Kromeriz music collection.

Location of Originals

Originals are, or were, located in Kromeriz, Czechoslovakia.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Liechtenstein Music Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Missae

Offertoria

Vesperae

Sonatae

Litaniae

Requiem

Bolletti

Miscellaneous

Inventory