Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Lincoln Pamphlets Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: Mark Svereika
Date: 26 Aug 2025

Biographical History

Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865) was the 16th president of the United States. He led the country during the American Civil War and played a major role in the abolition of slavery in America.

George H. Smyser of Utica, New York was an Abraham Lincoln researcher, collector and scholar.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lincoln Pamphlet Collection consists almost entirely of printed and published items related in some manner to Abraham Lincoln

About the collection contains a small amount of correspondence between George H. Smyser and various dealers about materials Smyser wished to find or purchase for his collection.

Works by Lincoln contains letters, sayings, and other items written by Lincoln himself.

About Lincoln constitutes the bulk of the collection; most is in English but more than fifteen other languages are represented, including Arabic, Hungarian, and Polish. This series is subdivided by type of material as follows: addresses and speeches given by various individuals; advertisements featuring Lincoln or his likeness; articles; bibliographies and catalogs; biographies, for adult audiences; book reviews of books about Lincoln; children's books; Congressional records containing items pertaining to Lincoln or his legacy; educational materials, including textbooks and posters for classrooms; exhibition programs and publicity; interviews with and lectures by various individuals about Lincoln; monument and memorial guides, maps, and brochures; organizational material from bodies related to Lincoln; plays and poetry; programs from assorted events; sermons; souvenirs; and miscellaneous books and clippings.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence about the collection, addresses and speeches, advertising, book reviews, congressional records, exhibitions, interviews, lectures, poetry, programs, sermons, souvenirs, and miscellaneous clippings are all arranged by date. Articles, bibliographies and catalogs, biographies, children's books, educational material, monuments and memorials, organizations, plays, and miscellaneous books are arranged alphabetically by author, title, firm, or organization.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Abraham Lincoln Collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 -- Anecdotes.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 -- Anniversaries, etc.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 -- Assassination.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 -- Birthplace.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 -- Childhood and youth.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 -- In literature.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 -- Museums.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 -- Study and teaching.
Smyser, George H. -- Collector.

Corporate Bodies

Abraham Lincoln Association (Springfield, Ill.)
American Missionary Association.
Illinois State Historical Society.
Lincoln Centennial Association (Springfield, Ill.)
Lincoln Foundation (Springfield, Ill.)
Lincoln Memorial University.
Lincoln National Life Foundation.
Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. -- Board of Missions for Freedmen.
Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. -- Board of National Missions.
Spanish American Institute (Gardena, Calif.)
West Virginia. -- State Department of Free Schools.

Subjects

Collectors and collecting.
Presidents -- United States.

Places

Abraham Lincoln Birthplace National Historical Park (Ky.)
Illinois -- History.

Genres and Forms

Auction catalogs.
Books.
Newsletters.
Pamphlets.
Programs (documents)
Sermons.
Souvenirs.
Speeches (documents)
Textbooks.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lincoln Pamphlet Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Uncertain, but likely purchased in 1970, at the same time as the Abraham Lincoln Collection.

Table of Contents

About the collection

By Lincoln

About Lincoln

Inventory