Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Gerard Malanga Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: 1994

Biographical History

American author, poet, periodical editor of the first two issues of Inter/view, and of Intransit: the Andy Warhol-Gerard Malanga monster issue (1968).

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1944 to 1971, the Gerard Malanga Papers comprises correspondence, writings, and memorabilia of the American poet, photographer, and periodical editor (b. 1943). Illuminating both Malanga's professional career and personal life, the collection also reflects the creative energy of both the literary scene and the broader cultural milieu of the 1960s.

Focusing on the publication of Intransit: the Andy Warhol-Gerard Malanga Monster Issue (1968), the alphabetically arranged Correspondence-Subject Files (Boxes 1-3) encompasses the editorial correspondence and manuscript submissions of contributors. Letters from Toad Press editor and publisher Bill Thomas compose the bulk of the correspondence. Intransit issue contributors whose correspondence is of greatest depth and duration include George Bowering, Michael Benedikt, John Broderick, Paul Carroll, Edward Dorn, Larry Eigner, Joan Gilbert, Lindy Hough, Steven Katz, Ruth Krauss, Philip Lamantia, Michael McClure, Howard Moss, Charles Plymell, and Gilbert Sorrentino. Other correspondents include Daisy Aldan, David Omer Bearden, James Broughton, Joseph Ceravolo, John Hollander, Denise Levertov, William Meredith, Christopher Middleton, Kenneth Rexroth, Norman Rosten, Lorenzo Thomas, Anne Waldman, Philip Whalen, Jonathan Williams, and Marya Zaturenska. In addition to the submissions to Intransit, the collection also contains a number of manuscript poems from the 1940s of Malanga's teacher and mentor, Willard Maas.

Photographs is a single item.

Essays, interviews, notebooks, poetry, scripts, and editorial projects constitute Writings (Boxes 4-8). Incorporating book reviews, Essays also include Malanga's writings on film. Conversations with Edwin Denby, Steve Jonas, Paul Morrissey, and James Waring are recorded among the transcripts of Interviews. Lacking a readily identifiable sequence, although a few bear dates, the 35 Notebooks (ca. 1962-1970) containing diary entries, drafts of poems, and ideas for various projects have been assigned arbitrary numbers by which they are arranged. Divided into collections and individual titles, Poetry includes drafts and manuscripts arranged by title, followed by 30 folders of miscellaneous worksheets. Production records for the Wagner Literary Magazine, and manuscripts submitted for inclusion in Film Culture (#41) and the first two issues of Inter/view (together with the Intransit material among the Correspondence-Subject Files) represent Malanga's editorial projects.

Memorabilia (Box 8) encompasses an address book, a 1971 appointment calendar, an unidentified manuscript, a painting, and printed material, which includes flyers for poetry readings and promotional items.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Aldan, Daisy.
Ammons, A. R., 1926-2001.
Ashbery, John, 1927-2017.
Bearden, David Omer.
Benedikt, Michael, 1928-
Bowering, George, 1935-
Brakhage, Stan.
Broughton, James Richard, 1913-1999.
Bukowski, Charles.
Carroll, Paul, 1927-1996.
Ceravolo, Joseph, 1934-
Cott, Jonathan.
Creeley, Robert, 1926-2005.
Denby, Edwin, 1903-1983.
Di Prima, Diane.
Dorn, Edward.
Eigner, Larry, 1927-1996.
Gallup, Dick, 1941-
Garrigue, Jean, 1912-1972.
Gilbert, Joan.
Guest, Barbara.
Harwood, Lee.
Hollander, John.
Hough, Lindy, 1944-
Katz, Steve, 1935-
Kennedy, Adrienne.
Krauss, Ruth.
Lamantia, Philip, 1927-2005.
Levertov, Denise, 1923-1997.
Levine, Philip, 1928-
Maas, Willard.
MacAdams, Lewis, 1944-
Malanga, Gerard.
Markopoulos, Gregory J.
Mayer, Bernadette.
McClure, Michael.
Mead, Taylor.
Meltzer, David.
Meredith, William, 1919-2007.
Middleton, Christopher, 1926-2015.
Moss, Howard, 1922-1987.
Olson, Charles, 1910-1970.
Pack, Robert, 1929-
Plymell, Charles.
Rago, Henry, 1915-1969.
Rexroth, Kenneth, 1905-1982.
Rosten, Norman, 1914-1995.
Schjeldahl, Peter.
Simpson, Louis, 1923-2012.
Sorrentino, Gilbert.
Thomas, Bill, 1934-
Thomas, Lorenzo, 1944-2005.
Torregian, Sotère.
Towle, Tony, 1939-
Vaughn, James.
Waldman, Anne, 1945-
Whalen, Philip.
Wieners, John, 1934-2002.
Wilbur, Richard.
Williams, Jonathan, 1929-2008.
Zaturenska, Marya, 1902-1982.

Associated Titles

Intransit: the Andy Warhol-Gerard Malanga monster issue.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
American poetry -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Bohemianism -- United States.
Literature, Experimental.
Periodical editors-- United States.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Address books.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Manuscripts for publication.
Notebooks.
Poems.

Occupations

Authors.
Editors.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gerard Malanga Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence-Subject Files

Photographs

Writings

Memorabilia

Inventory