May Memorial Unitarian Universalist Society Records An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Return to finding aids search

May Memorial Unitarian Universalist Society Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: -
Date: unknown

Revision history:

30 Oct 2006

converted to EAD (AMCon)

4 Jun 2008

name change (MRC)

11 Dec 2009

updated to reflect items returned to MM (MRC)

31 May 2011

added Fuller, M08-016 (MRC)

14 Oct 2015

bioghist updated (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator:

May Memorial Unitarian Universalist Society

Title:

May Memorial Unitarian Universalist Society Records

Dates:

1830-1988 (bulk: 1839-1952)

Quantity:

6 linear ft.

Abstract:

Records of May Memorial Unitarian Universalist Society in Syracuse, NY. Collection includes letters, photographs, newsletters, printed matter, audiotapes, brochures, Order of Worship handouts, etc.

Language:

English

Repository:

Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

May Memorial Unitarian Universalist Society began in 1838 in Syracuse, New York. Its founders had left the Congregational Church of New England in Boston, preferring to study the gospels for themselves and worship according to individual conscience. The church was originally named "Church of the Messiah." Members of the congregation were active in the community; their second minister, Samuel Joseph May, was a well-known abolitionist and reformer best remembered in Syracuse for his part in the escape of Jerry, a runaway slave, memorialized in the "Jerry Rescue" sculpture in downtown Syracuse's Clinton Square. In 1885 the church moved to James Street and named their new stone building "May Memorial Church" in his honor; some time later the group voted to change their name to May Memorial Unitarian Universalist Society.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The May Memorial Unitarian Universalist Society Records, comprising the papers and records of seven ministers beginning with Samuel Joseph May, covers over 100 years. Folder titles given in the inventory below are for the most part the original ones, exactly as received; in the few cases where a folder title was supplied by staff, it is given in square brackets [ ].The collection is only roughly organized, divided according to the tenure of each minister:

John Storer, Minister 1839-1844

Samuel Joseph May, Minister 1845-1868

Samuel R. Calthrop, Minister 1868-1911

John H. Applebee, Minister 1911-1929

Waldemar W. Argow, Minister 1930-1941

Robert E. Romig, Minister 1941-1946

Glenn O. Canfield, Minister 1946-1952

John Fuller, Minister, 1961-1973

Nick Cardell, Minister, 1973-1995

Scott Taylor, Minister, 1997-

Contents include letters, photographs, deeds, wills, pew rental contracts, legal papers, marriage records, clippings, articles, books, Orders of Service, Sunday School reports, and many other items.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Some restrictions on reproduction.

Subject Headings

Persons

Applebee, John H.
Argow, Waldemar W.
Calthrop, Samuel R.
Canfield, Glenn O.
Fuller, John C., Rev.
May, Samuel J. (Samuel Joseph), 1797-1871.
Romig, Robert E.
Storer, John, Rev.

Corporate Bodies

May Memorial Unitarian Universalist Society.

Subjects

Unitarian churches -- History.
Unitarian churches -- New York (State)

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Legal files.
Photographs.
Programs (documents)
Sermons.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

May Memorial Unitarian Universalist Society,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of May Memorial Unitarian Universalist Society, various dates.

John Storer, Minister 1839-1844

Samuel Joseph May, Minister 1845-1868

Samuel R. Calthrop, Minister 1868-1911

John H. Applebee, Minister 1911-1929

Waldemar W. Argow, Minister 1930-1941

Robert E. Romig, Minister 1941-1946

Glenn O. Canfield, Minister 1946-1952

John Fuller, Minister 1961-1973

Inventory

John Storer, Minister 1839-1844

Box 1, Folder 1

Two copies of letter from church members 1844

Box 1, Folder 2

Portrait of John Storer undated

Box 1, Folder 3

Text of memorial plaque undated

Box 1, Folder 4

Xerox copies of archival material gathered by J. Hoefer and I. Baros-Johnson at On. Hist. Soc., UUA and Harvard libraries

Box 1, Folder 5

Miscellaneous

Typed Statements: Origin of the church, Covenant of the Unitarian Congregational Church of Syracuse, Onondaga County Record of meeting to start Unitarian Congregational Society in Syracuse

Longhand: Signers of Covenant, 5-page history of Society through SJ May ministry. Copy of invitation to Trenton (NY) Church and delegates to installation of John Storer, 1839. (Note from 1866 on funeral of Deacon Peter Vanderkamp.)

Box 1, Folder 6

Diagram of Pews, Church of Messiah 1843 and record of pew sale, Nov. 24, 1843, 12 "deeds."

Box 1, Folder 7

Letter and request to John Townsend for lot to erect a church 1840

Box 1, Folder 8

Legal papers 1843, 1844 - re building Church of the Messiah

Box 1, Folder 9

Consecration of the Church of the Messiah -- Program, copy typed from Christian Register: "Account of Dedication of the Church of the Messiah" Dec. 9, 1843

Box 1, Folder 10

Postcard from Margaret T. Smith - re death and burial of John Storer

Box 1, Folder 11

Portrait Amelia Bradbury, typed quote from Chase history about her and her school. Four-page historical essay about Syracuse 1830s and 1840s

Box 1, Folder 12

House of worship subscribers. Mr. Storer's salary subscribers. Sums obtained by Mr. Storer. 1839-1845

Box 1, Folder 13

Newspaper New York Christian Messenger 1841-1843 (3 copies)

Samuel Joseph May, Minister 1845-1868

Box 1, Folder 1

Book of Church Records May 1, 1870 - presented by JPB Storer, leather bound inscribed Alfred Wilkinson, begun by JPBS and continued by SJM. Contains 1838 covenant, membership and marriage records.

Box 1, Folder 2

Bound book - contains Incorporation of Unitarian Congregational Society in Syracuse, October 4, 1838, recorded by County Clerk Jan. 2, 1839; records of trustee meetings; list of members

Box 1, Folder 3

Bound book - inscribed Alfred Wilkinson, May 1, 1870 inside front cover (detached). Record of organizing meeting and covenant; list of names with dates through 1844.

Box 1, Folder 4

Photographs of SJM 1944, undated - 1) Original 8 1/2 x 11 1/2. 2) 2 copies 8 x 10 by Charles White of large picture in roller. 3) Copy 5 x 7 SJM and George Emerson. 4) 3 copies: SJM and bridal couple, Post Standard Feb. 13, 1944

Box 1, Folder 5

SJM correspondence 1844-1868 - 17 letters to and from SJM dated over years from 1844 when called to Syracuse up to 1868. Terms of employment, loans. Some originals, some copies.

Box 1, Folder 6

[misc] 1854, 1857, 1863 - 2 Photocopies SJM letters, Nov. 14, 1857 and undated. 2 Typed copies SJM to trustees 1863. 2 typed copies SJM to Friends, 1856. written memo re number of hours, minutes, L.T. May 1854. List of books, George E. May.

Box 1, Folder 7

Written draft statement SJM mission 1852

Box 1, Folder 8

4 miscellaneous clippings

Box 1, Folder 9

Bound book, Recollections of the Antislavery Conflict by SJM.

Box 1, Folder 10

Xerox copies OHA clippings 1850-1865

Box 1, Folder 11

[misc] 1846 - 10-page typed copy Syracuse Daily Journal, First annual meeting of Syracuse Orphan Asylum.

Box 1, Folder 12

Articles and correspondence - re busts of SJM at Onondaga Historical Assoc. (OHA) and MMUUS.

Box 1, Folder 13

Leather notebook listing subscriptions for annuity for SJM. Copies of letters re SJM annuity and hiring S R Calthrop Oct. 11, 1867

Box 1, Folder 14

Text of marble plaque installed in wall of James St. church; cemetery map (1990) site of SJM grave.

Box 1, Folder 15

100th anniversary of SJM birthday undated - programme, description of program, copy of prayer

Box 1, Folder 16

Two copies biography of SJM by Joseph May. From "Heralds of a Liberal Faith Vol III, AUA 1915 - mimeographed pamphlet, Xerox copy

Box 1, Folder 17

Heretic in Syracuse: Samuel Joseph by Catherine Covert Stepanek May 1845 - 1873 - PhD thesis, 2 copies

Box 1, Folder 18

Notes, talks and sermons - re SJM, typed copies

Box 1, Folder 19

Written notes - (John C. Fuller handwriting?) for 111th Jerry Rescue celebration?

Box 1, Folder 20

Cornell Library Journal article about SJM by Pease and Pease, "Samuel May: Civil Libertarian." 1967

Box 1, Folder 21

5 sermons by Joseph May, 2 Xerox copies of one of them. Xerox copy of title page "Discourse to Cambridge Theological School Graduating Class" SJM 1847, undated

Box 1, Folder 22

Syracuse Village and City by Carroll E. Smith and Margaret Tredwell Smith. OHA 1897

Box 1, Folder 23

Life of Samuel J. May by George Emerson, Samuel May and Thomas J. Mumford, 2 bound books; SJM letter to Harriet Martineau 1853

Box 1, Folder 24

In Memoriam. Samuel Joseph May, 2 paperbound copies. Samuel Joseph May: a Memorial Study by Joseph May, 2 paperbound copies. 1871, 1898 -

Box 1, Folder 25

The Tailor Boy no author, inscribed SJM.Rocks and Shoals: Lectures to Young Men by George E Hopkins, inscribed SJM. 1865, 1870 -

Box 1, Folder 26

Letter remembrance of SJM by AF Pease to E. Lewis 1928 - Xerox copy and typed copy of same

Box 1, Folder 27

Photo Rev. Luther Lee. List 4 sources SJM history

Box 1, Folder 28

List of Church members 1845

Box 1, Folder 29

[pew rent] - Church of Messiah pew diagrams, 1853; before 1867. Lists of pew holders, 1850-1863, some undated. Pew contracts 1849 ++; receipts 1864-1865

Box 1, Folder 30

Original incorporation certificate and 2 typed copies. Mar 12, 1845

Box 1, Folder 31

Order of Service, Dedication of Church of Messiah 1853 - 2 copies

Box 1, Folder 32

Lists of pledges for debt, building, salary

Box 1, Folder 33

[misc] - Accounts, receipts, pledges, 1848-1849. Notice of congregational meeting to hire SJM 1845. Notice of conveyance of land 1848. Quit claim signed by members 1868.

Box 1, Folder 34

Letters - Letter 1844, Ellsworth Phelps, new organ. Letter 1852, Holbrook, receipt for use of bell. Two letters 1852, B.D. Simmons, new organ proposed and and ordered. 2 letters 1853, from John May re Simmons, progress on organ. Letter 1853, C.D. Kellog Cobb, organ for sale.

Box 1, Folder 35

Committee report: Plan for "General Committee" of Church of the Messiah. - List of 21 men, untitled, undated.

Box 1, Folder 36

Letter 1852 - Trustees to JG Northrup to repair and pay for damages to house and property

Box 1, Folder 37

[misc] - Pew releases and subscriptions to finance rebuilding, 1852 Mar 12, 1845. Reorganization of U. Cong. Society. Registration recorded in village records.

Box 1, Folder 38

Boston Investigator Wed. Sept 19, 1855 - 4-page weekly newspaper for free thinkers

Box 1, Folder 39

Note on supply minister Rev. Joseph Angier 1859

Box 1, Folder 40

"What Do Unitarians Believe?" Samuel J. May. American Unitarian Association, Boston, MA undated

Samuel R. Calthrop, Minister 1868-1911

Box 1, Folder 1

Five photographs of Calthrop home Primrose Hill

Box 1, Folder 2

Seven photographs - Annie Agan (later Mrs. Franklin Chase), Mrs. R. G. Stone, Bronson Alcott, Mary E. Bagg (Mrs. James L. Bagg), W. B. Cogswell, Mary Gormer White, Frederick Rowland Hazard and Mrs. Dora Gannett Sedgwick Hazard (1880).

Box 1, Folder 3

Twenty-six photographs - 14 SRC; SRC with two women; John Calthrop brother of SRC; 4 prints together: MMU church, Mrs. Elizabeth Primrose Calthrop, SRC reading, Primrose Hill with SRC on porch; Richard G. Calthrop (son SRC); Large print Mrs. EPC; Elizabeth Calthrop daughter SRC; Henry Cooper reading; Cooper family picnic 1904; MMU church Sunday School, 1897.

Box 1, Folder 4

Photocopies of portraits, 1 of SJM and 2 of SRC

Box 1, Folder 5

Cassette tape, Mary Cooper remembers SRC. Transcript of interview, William McLennan. 7/23/1983, 7/27/1983

Box 1, Folder 6

[misc] 1870, 1872, undated - SRC letter April (no year) accept call to Syracuse. Typed copy of report on SRC installation. Typed copy of "Liberal Christian" - SRC asked to stay in Syracuse 2/24/1872. Typed copy of "Syracuse Journal" Aug 8, 1870. Typed copy "The First Grapes" - Amos Padgham

Box 1, Folder 7

Letters 1872, 1875, 1896, 1899, 1906-1907, 1915 - Letter 2/8/72 to call SRC to Detroit. 6/4/75 Roxbury, MA offers presidency of Antioch College. 3/16/96 from Richard S. (Webster?) nephew re "Venezuelan Blue Book" and British Case. 10/7/1899-GB Spaulding invites SRC to 75th Anniversary of first Presbyterian church. 2/5/1906, 11/14/06, 2/12/07 Letters from Andrew D. White of Cornell to SRC. 11/7/1915 letter from JA Brashear, Ed. Fund Commission re "The Supreme Reality," SRC book with letter from Rabbi Levy enclosed Nov. 19, 1915

Box 1, Folder 8

Thirty-fifth anniversary of SRC installation 1903 - 3 programs, 2 soft-cover booklets and one hardcover book of speeches at installation service. 3 Benediction Cards.

Box 1, Folder 9

Two paperbound books - Notes on the Families of Calthorpe and Calthrop, includes slip with author's name; copy of Heirs of John H. Calthrop: Part III: The Lincolnshire Calthrops.

Box 1, Folder 10

[articles] - Photocopy of a page of The Weekly Recorder Nov 22, 188?. The Craftsman magazine 10/1905 contains SRC article.

Box 1, Folder 11

Messenger Boy's Christmas Greeting card with verse by SRC from former boys club member.

Box 2, Folder 12

[misc] - Diagram of streamlined train from Patent #49227. Article by Edith Calthrop Bump, "The Life of Samuel Robert Calthrop" with rejection slip from Reader's Digest 1947.

Box 2, Folder 13

Handwritten articles by Helen Collins Megrew: "Dr. Samuel Calthrop, Onondaga Creek, Earlier Syracuse." undated

Box 2, Folder 14

[misc] - Slide photo SRC bust. Card from Mrs. Tracy re SRC bust. Page from D. Ashley re SRC bust. Page from Helen Hiscock Eager re chimes and renovations, James St. church.

Box 2, Folder 15

Three reprints of "Recollections of the Old Master," Harvard Graduates Magazine, 3 1923

Box 2, Folder 16

Poems paperbound by Edith Calthrop Bump and "To My Father" by same

Box 2, Folder 17

[misc] - Typescript and 2 carbons resolution of MMUS trustees re death of SRC. Envelope for George N. Cheney. Two typed statements 1/9/1899 from church members with historical information.

Box 2, Folder 18

[misc] - Clip from MMUS newsletter "Our Wider Ministry" Space-time saying SRC wrote on cardboard. 3 copies. SRC essay "A Day's Life" mounted on cardboard; Two sayings lettered on cardboard; Cardboard and ribbon-bound poetry by SRC, portrait on front cover, photo Primrose Hill on back.

Box 2, Folder 19

[writings] - The Heaven of the Moon, 2 hardbound copies. Printed folder "Birthday Tribute to Ernst Held..." 6/28/1900. Cardboard and ribbon bound typed The Heaven of the Moon. 3 printed copies "Summer Evening and Night on the Lake" and a 4th copy mounted on cardboard with SRC portrait.

Box 2, Folder 20

[writings] - Four-page essay by SRC "Sunspots and Weather", typed. Ms. "The Doleful Story of the Cats and the Clover." Notes of SRC sermon "Let Be Light and Light Was." Ms. and typed copy "The Three Hundred and Sixty-Five Sages: a Tale of Hindustan" by SRC.

Box 2, Folder 21

Patent # 49227 by SRC of Roxbury MA; note about friends whose sons attended SRC's school. 8/8/1865, undated

Box 2, Folder 22

Fifteen-page lecture by SRC "The Transvaal, Armenia, and Venezuela" undated

Box 2, Folder 23

Twenty-two Bible lessons by SRC 1890-1892

Box 2, Folder 24

Sermons - Ring-attached printed sermons and addresses by SRC: 14 delivered at MMU church 1895-1902. 14 delivered elsewhere 1858-1895. Paper-bound copy of sermon "One Lord and His Name One" expanded from original sermon, undated.

Box 2, Folder 25

Printed booklet "The Primitive Gospel" by SRC. 13 printed sermons in ring binder. 1892, 1903-1913

Box 2, Folder 26

Hardcover book The Liberal Club, Buffalo 1891-1892 - includes SRC lecture "The Debt which Religion Owes to Science"

Box 2, Folder 27

Book by SRC God and His World, Boston, GH Ellis Co 1905

Box 2, Folder 28

Book by SRC The Supreme Reality, Boston AUA 1913

Box 2, Folder 28A

Letter from CG Girelius to EC Bump May 14, 1945 - re "The Supreme Reality."

Box 2, Folder 29

Silver dollar and list of other articles in corner stone MMU church laid, opened in new building East Genesee St. 10/10/1965, 8/11/1884

Box 2, Folder 30

Dedication of MMU church: Order of Exercises 10/20/1885 - 1-3/4 copies in very poor condition

Box 2, Folder 30a

Photographs of James St. Church on cardboard and of SRC both undated

Box 2, Folder 31

Bound record of above dedication (one in poor condition) with historical essay and photographs. Sermon by Joseph May, two copies.

Box 2, Folder 32

[misc] - Typed copy "Notes from Secretary's pre 1885 records," (typed in 1960s.) Clipping from Syracuse Herald J. Jan 14, 1946 re church corner Burnet & State Sts. (originally Church of the Messiah) bought from German Lutheran congregation by Italian Catholic congregation.

Box 2, Folder 33

Loan application. Mortgage. Bond. Satisfaction of mortgage. Loan application. Envelope Whitman and Barnes mfg. Co. 1871-1872, 1878

Box 2, Folder 34

List of unpaid subscriptions 1881

Box 2, Folder 35

[misc] 1882 - Notice of filing of proposed route of NY, W Shore & Buffalo Railway Co, 2 copies. Copy of agreement to sell church property to NYWS&B 1882. Letter from above RR asking to purchase all or part of U Church property 1882. Letter from U. Soc. Committee to RR requesting proposal for purchase of entire property, original and copy, 1882. Letter from RR "negotiate a price" 1882. Resolved: Committee of MMC empowered to negotiate with RR, undated.

Box 2, Folder 36

Pencil copy Warranty Deed James St. property. Pencil copy Church title and search etc. Sketch of property. 1884 1881 undated

Box 2, Folder 37

List 1884 - Church of Messiah trustees, officers, pastor, choir, organist, sexton, building committee, architect

Box 2, Folder 38

Four letters and estimate from Butler and Dial re furnaces. Two letters from Alsop Furnace & Stove Co. Two letters from J. F. Pease Furnace Co. 1885-1888

Box 2, Folder 39

[misc] 1872, 1876, 1904-1905 - Form letter to go with subscription card. 1876, subscription policy will continue to replace pew rents. Mailed subscription cards. Treasurer's report May Memorial Sunday school. Special appeal for subscriptions.

Box 2, Folder 40

[Letters] 1906 - Letter from J.D. Pennock (Mrs. Pass's father) to report on church ventilation. Letter from Clerk A. Padgham to Salem Hyde re implementing church ventilation by committee on repairs. Letter from James Barnes to Salem Hyde re repairs to the ventilation.

[Folders 41 and 42 removed, donated to Onondaga Historical Association, March 1997]

Box 2, Folder 43

[misc] 1883, 1888 - Undated ? address book: Members of Unitarian Society of Syracuse. 1883 subscription agreement for site and building, list of names and pledges and subscription list for 1888.

Box 2, Folder 44

[misc] 1892, 1895, 1879 - 1891 congregation list. 1895 church directory including historical sketch, officers, committees, constitution, Women's Alliance, Boy's Evening Home. 1903 church yearbook, 3 copies. Program and menu from banquet honoring Andrew D. White, 1879.

Box 2, Folder 45

2 copies, Text of speeches at SJ May Centennial Celebration; church directory. Oct. 1898, 1907

Box 2, Folder 46

List of subscribers undated. List of members. subscribers, pledges, total income and expenses. 1880-1884, undated

Box 2, Folder 47

[pew rent] 1897, 1886 - Two pew renter consent forms dated 1897, permission to seat others if pew is unoccupied at time of service1884 diagram of pews, annual rent, names of renters. (Recovered from 1884 cornerstone in 1963.) Two copies of 1886 Diagram of pews, annual rent.

Box 2, Folder 48

"Miss Ellis' sic Mission" by Mary P. Wells Smith, abridged by Anne E. Howard, Boston undated - 12-page pamphlet describes Cincinnati woman's outreach via printed word and post office.

Box 2, Folder 49

Book given to Church of Messiah by SJM 1868; leather bound record of marriages. 1868-1878

Box 2, Folder 50

Record of some marriages by SRC and by WWW Argow. Marriage Record and Certificate. Sept. 1873, 1891-1904, 1932-1933

Box 2, Folder 51

Orders of Service for ordination of Marie H. Jenney , and Albert W. Clark 1898, 1902

Box 2, Folder 52

Order of Ordination Service of Estella Elizabeth Padgham, and her Certificate of membership in Unitarian Ministers Association, undated 1901

Box 2, Folder 53

Old and New, Journal of Des Moines Unitarian Church Anniversary 1902 - mentions E. Padgham and pictures Marie Jenney, minister.

Box 2, Folder 54

Order of service, Sunday evening March 5, 1899 - Very poor condition, mounted on cardboard

Box 2, Folder 55

Sunday School annual reports 1902-1903, 1903-04

Box 2, Folder 56

"The Unitarian Calendar" monthly pub. by AUA for MMUS 1910, 1911 (4 issues)

Box 2, Folder 57

Preliminary program, National Conference Unitarian and other churches. 20th meeting. 1903 - Includes listing of sermon by SRC

Box 2, Folder 58

"Hymn and Tune Book: for the church and the home," Boston, AUA. Theo. L. Poole. 1871

Box 2, Folder 59

"Hymnal: amore Dei," compiled by Mrs. Theodore C. Williams, Boston, George H. Ellis 1891

Box 2, Folder 60

Two stereoscope photos - AW Padgham in England and a residence on South St. Utica, unidentified people.

Box 2, Folder 61

Clip from Herald Journal, Report of SRC sermon: "Pure Religion Undefiled." 11/12/1906

Box 2, Folder 62

May Memorial Church financial statements Oct. 18, 1909, Sept. 1910

John H. Applebee, Minister 1911-1929

Box 3, Folder 1

Photographs - JHA portrait; JHA in uniform: Mrs. Alice Applebee; JHA 933 Maryland Ave. Syracuse; JHA & AA at home, April, 1914.

Box 3, Folder 2

Program: Service of Installation JHA 1911

Box 3, Folder 3

JHA Journal Jan 1914- Sept 1917

Box 3, Folder 4

Five Christmas cards composed by JHA ; typed copy of radio talk by JHA. 1934, undated

Box 3, Folder 5

[members in armed services] 1918 - Honor Roll: list of church members in armed services. Letter, unsigned from MMUS to editor of the Christian Register. Copy of letter of recommendation for JHA to Red Cross from MMUS Trustees. Application for passport by JHA.

Box 3, Folder 6

4 sermons [by] JHA. "The Wicket Gate" poem by JHA. 1914, undated

Box 3, Folder 7

Women's Alliance invitation to dinner in commemoration of birthday of SRC, Monday, Oct. 11, no year given. [1915 or 1926?]

Box 3, Folder 8

Two record books of marriages performed by JHA 1899-1936, 1897-1901

Box 3, Folder 9

Shorthand notes by JHA, topic unknown undated

Box 3, Folder 10

[resignation] - JHA letter of resignation, 1929. Trustees resolution accepting resignation, undated. Proposition to be presented at annual meeting to reconsider JHA resignation. "A Special Fund" for JHA, 3 copies with signed pledges. Copy of letter requesting pledges to Special Fund for JHA.

Box 3, Folder 11

[JHA memorial] 1938 - Jan. 1938 clippings from Post Standard and Herald Journal on death of JHA. Jan. 1938 JHA memorial service (add date). Remembrance of JHA by Eleanor Rosebrugh (church member) recorded in 1987

Box 3, Folder 12

30th Annual Meeting of the Unitarian Conference of the Middle States and Canada, at May Memorial Church, Syracuse Nov. 16, 1914 - Order of opening Service and programs for the next two evenings.

Box 3, Folder 13

Architects blueprints of remodeled front entrance to church building. Typed inventory of property inside building, 6 manuscript pages. Jan. 13, 1916

Box 3, Folder 14

Proposed budgets and canvass letters 1915-1930

Box 3, Folder 15

[misc church repair] 1917-1921 - Copy of letter dated June 4, 1917 to James Tracy re Calthrop estate and payments to his family. Copy of letter dated Nov 8, 1917 to James Tracy about raising money for Mrs. Calthrop's support and expenses for a church music. Bid submitted for George W. Reed for painting and repair of spire and roof, Apr. 4, 1919. Contract for repair of spire and roof. Copy of report of inspection of church building by Walter W. Edwards to Society President, Sept 27, 1920. Copy of letter requesting that repairs be made. Sept 27, 1920. Letter Sept 30, 1920 to FR Kimmey requesting estimates for repairs listed. Copy of letter recommending renovation and redecorating of church and organ, Dec. 27, 1920. Copy of letter requesting proposed installation of new furnace, Jan 31, 1921. Letter dated Mar 31, 1921 re changing church heat heating system to steam. May 31, 1921, copy of letter authorizing repairs. June 12, 1921 agreement authorizing repair and redecoration of interior of sanctuary. Sept 1921 letter of agreement regarding new woodwork behind pulpit. Artists drawing of proposed new woodwork.

Box 3, Folder 16

[new organ] 1911 - Memorandum of agreement to build and install new organ by July 15, 1911. Specifications for the organ. Copy of letter, Apr. 27, 1911 re installation of organ.

Box 3, Folder 17

[misc] 1923 - Letter to the congregation, July 1923 re Week of Mission, services by Dr. William M. Sullivan. (Note: JMH 1997, Was this Unitarian answer to Billy Sunday?) Invitation to seven evening meetings with William L. Sullivan DD. A copy of Layman's League introduction to Dr. Sullivan. Typed copy "A Forecast of Christianity" with suggestions for work after Dr. Sullivan's Mission by H. W. Jordan 1923.

Box 3, Folder 18

Church directory. Xerox copy of seating chart for sanctuary. Envelope containing original of seating chart. 1911-1912

Box 3, Folder 19

A card for 100th birthday of Harriet S. Mills (Mrs. C. de B. Mills). Photos of (1) Mrs. Goodrich, (2) Mrs. Mills, Bigelow and Goodrich. 1926

Box 3, Folder 20

[misc] 1927 - Typed copy of talk given at Calthrop dinner, Oct. 7, 1927: "A Radiant Personality: Dr. Samuel R. Calthrop." Essay or sermon in question and answer form, "The New consciousness of God." No date or author.

Box 3, Folder 21

Memorial tributes on death of James Barnes - 2 copies. also Capt. Philip Lighthall and Charles W. Snow

Box 3, Folder 22

Playbill for Junior young people presentation of "The Princess Marries the Page" and "The Unseen" May 192?

Box 3, Folder 23

[misc] 1919, undated - AUA pamphlet "The Layman and the Church" by Salem Hyde, member of MMC. Womens Alliance pamphlet "A Christmas Address" by Salem Hyde 1919. Remarks by Salem Hyde at funeral service of Charles De B. Mills, undated.

Box 3, Folder 24

"Why a Unitarian Believes and What" by H. W. Jordan 1926

Box 3, Folder 25

Sketch of young boy by Ethel Blanchard Collver 1921

Box 3, Folder 26

Order of service for ordination of Wilton Edson Cross , 3 sermons by Wilton Cross, printed pamphlet. 1918, undated

Box 3, Folder 27

Typed copy "The Poetic Beauty of the Bible" no author undated

Box 3, Folder 28

Printed sermon "When Half-Gods Go" Elizabeth Padgham 1929

Box 3, Folder 29

Resolution passed by Women's Alliance: On death of Dr. Applebee

Box 3, Folder 30

Program of the Unitarian Club, MMC men's group 1911-1912

Box 3, Folder 31

Order of service -- 100th anniversary of AUA May 24, 1925

Box 3, Folder 32

Copies of information Gabriel Csiki from Unitarian church in Transylvania and announcement of his sermon on Sunday 1921

Box 3, Folder 33

History of Unitarianism. No author. Galpin? undated - 30 pages partly typed and partly manuscript

Box 3, Folder 34

Press release, letter to congregation, program of conference of Mohawk Valley Unitarian churches held at MMC April 1923

Box 3, Folder 35

[misc] 1926, 1928 - Announcement of pilgrimage to Barneveld church, June 1926. Publication of Meadville Theological School listing John Applebee as trustee 1928.

Box 3, Folder 36

Seven programs of free organ recitals at MMC; dedication program 1912, 1913, 1914

Box 3, Folder 37

2 orders of service for First Methodist Episcopal church, Syracuse, and announcing joint choirs with May Memorial. Dec. 1913, Apr. 1914

Box 3, Folder 38

[Wilton E. Cross] 1919, undated - Pastor's 4-page report to Annual meeting by Rev. Wilton E. Cross 1919. Card announcing installation of WE Cross as minister of U. Society of Peterboro, NH. Order of Service of Installation of Rev. Cross at Peterboro.

Box 3, Folder 39

Announcement of Lawn Festival to benefit Orphan's Home June 1921

Box 3, Folder 40

Announcement of next four Sunday services (May) and announcement of joint Thanksgiving service and other future events (Nov) 1922

Box 3, Folder 41

Probate notices 1919, 1923, 1926-1927, 1930, undated - regarding money left to MMC by HL Snow 1930, WB Cogswell 1919, Cornelia S. Bigelow 1919, Anne H. Chase 1926, Mary E. Wieting Johnson 1927. Agnes A. Morgan, 1923.

Box 3, Folder 42

Resolution from congregation to Wm. Howard Taft expressing gratitude for his efforts on behalf of international peace and good will, copy of accompanying letter. May, 1911

Box 3, Folder 43

Bound book listing names from membership book 1838-1931

Box 3, Folder 44

Letters, service records, etc. relating to church members serving in WWI and WWII.

Service records of MMChurch members 1917 -- already sent to Bird Library.

Box 3, Folder 45

Flier and letter on joint program of Laymans League and Womens Alliance "Seeking the Cause of Industrial Harmony" Nov. 3, 1921

Box 3, Folder 46

Weekly Calendars with orders of Sunday services 1911-1919

Box 3, Folder 47

Weekly calendars with orders of Sunday services 1920-1926

Box 3, Folder 48

Weekly calendars with orders of Sunday services 1927-1930

Box 3, Folder 49

"The Bulletin" vol. 1, no. 2 May 5, 1919

Waldemar W. Argow, Minister 1930-1941

Box 4, Folder 1

Order of service Kings Chapel, Boston MA. Rev. Argow, weekday ministry. March 1937

Box 4, Folder 2

[50th Anniversary of MMC] Oct. 1935 - Brief sketch of MMC, Syracuse, NY. In commemoration of the 50th Anniversary of MMC dedication, Oct 1885-1935, by Rev. Applebee. Copy of three hymns arranged by Mrs. Argow for the Anniversary service

Box 4, Folder 3

Orders of service: Argow installation; Valedictory Oct 28, 1930; Feb. 23, 1941 -

Box 4, Folder 4

Report of evaluation committee June 3, 1940

Box 4, Folder 5

[Letters] 1930-1933, 1940-1941 - Letter from Rev. Argow accepting call to May Memorial Church, June 1930. Invitation to installation service for Rev. Argow, Oct 28, 1930. Annual reports of the minister 1930, 1931, 1933. Letter from Argow to church members Dec. 29, 1940 re resignation. Letter to Editor (unsigned copy) Feb. 24, 1941 thanking the community for their good will and support. Invitation to reception Feb 16, 1941(?) for Dr. and Mrs. Argow at time of their leaving.

Box 4, Folder 6

[Letters] 1941 - Copy of Board of Trustees resolution Jan 12, 1941 accepting Argow's resignation. Copy of letter to Henry Wilder Foote, Jan 7, 1941 inviting him to be interim minister at MMC. Copy of letter to HW Foote, Jan 14, 1941 stating terms of employment as interim. Letter from HW Foote Jan 16, 1941 accepting position as interim. Letter from FM. Eliot, June 19, 1941 supporting choice of Mr. Romig as new minister.

Box 4, Folder 7

[Letters] 1936-1940 - Correspondence between WSYR and Rev. Argow concerning broadcasting Sunday services. 1937 to 1940. Letter from Onon Health Assn., Dec, 21, 1936 concerning radio broadcast and copy of Dr. Argow's presentation.

Box 4, Folder 8

Copies of sermons and other writings by Rev. Argow 1934-1939

Box 4, Folder 9

Published booklets undated - An Argosy of Meditations, Victorious Living, Lenten meditations by Rev. Argow. 51 handwritten daily meditations for Lent and Easter.

Box 4, Folder 10

Published book of meditations, titled "Beyond," Rev. Argow. Christmas poem, "A Thought for Christmas" from WWW Argow and Elsie Argow in Baltimore. 1929, 1959

Box 4, Folder 11

[Centennial] 1938 - Invitation to 1938 centennial. Card listing program for centennial week. List of people who sent congratulatory letters or wires. Letters received from Ellsworth Reamon, Wm. G. Vinal, Dana Greeley, John Haynes Holmes. Order of service for centennial service, Oct 16, 1938. Photograph of WWW, Elizabeth Padgham, Judge FH Hiscock who took part in the service. Program for centennial banquet, Oct 20, 1938. Names of people at the head table. Signatures of guests at the banquet. Photograph showing Frederick May Eliot, WWW Argow and William F. Canough. Press release to Herald Journal on centennial celebrations dated Oct. 12, 1938.

Box 4, Folder 12

"A Backward Glance O'er Traveled Roads" by Helen Saddington and Elizabeth Walsh 1838-1938 - a history of MMC, two copies

Box 4, Folder 13

[misc] 1935, undated - Photographs of interior of MMC, 1935 Easter decoration. Two small photos of interior, undated. Recollections by Joyce Ball made in 1988 re remodeling of sanctuary in Argow era.

Box 4, Folder 14

[Parish house] 1940-1941 - Photo MMC exterior 1941? Article from AUA magazine Christian Register on acquisition of Parish house by MMC, undated, (1940?). Copy of original article sent to Christian Register Nov, 13, 1940, unsigned. Leather bound book listing contributions and workers in purchase and redecoration of Parish House, 1940-1941. Responsive reading and hymn used at dedication. (2 copies) Two copies of program for dedication of Parish House, Feb. 16, 1941. Press release for dedication of PH, undated, sent to Christian Register and Syracuse newspapers. Announcement of Congregational Meeting re purchase of parish house, Sept 27, 1940. Letter announcing dedication of PH dated Feb. 11, 1941, from Argow to church members.

Box 4, Folder 15

Canvass brochure , Records of church activities. 1933-1939

Box 4, Folder 16

Papers by William Yerington - 2 typed, 1 printed

Box 4, Folder 17

Mmemorial service of JL Cheney and funeral sermon by WWW Argow Dec 2, 1932; March 16, 1933

Box 4, Folder 18

[Hiscocks] 1935, 1937 - Copy of condolence letter from MMC Board of Trustees to Judge Hiscock on Mrs. Hiscock's death April 1937. Sunset Vesper service in the Hiscock's garden June 7, 1935.

Box 4, Folder 19

Excerpts from Board of Trustees meetings Feb 8, 1890-Jan 1931

Box 4, Folder 20

Program for Mohawk Valley Conference held at MMC Oct 24-25, 1930 - 2 copies

Box 4, Folder 21

Information: annual Pilgrimage to Barneveld Church 1935

Box 4, Folder 22

Argow's Statement of Arbitration Decision Nov 1, 1940

Box 4, Folder 23

Appraisal committee 1939

Box 4, Folder 24

Argow, miscellaneous writings

Box 4, Folder 25

Lists of Bd. Trustee Chairs (Presidents) and Organists

Box 4, Folder 26

Letter re Moravian Candlelight Service undated

Box 4, Folder 27

Orphan's Home Playground pamphlet by Mrs. James C. Tracy

Box 4, Folder 28

Annual reports, mostly handwritten 1934 - 1941

Box 4, Folder 29

Data for Unitarian Year Book 1933

Box 4, Folder 30

[appraisals] - Appraisals of James St. Church, 1927, 1932, 1936. Letter: Stained glass appraisal, marble busts of May and Calthrop, 1927. Women's Alliance inventory, 1932.

Box 4, Folder 31

Argow letter, on spiritual revival in the congregation May 9, 1938

Box 4, Folder 32

3 letters regarding portraits of Samuel Joseph May

Box 4, Folder 33

Brief summary of church work, 1935, by Helen MacKnight and brief history of the Society prepared by Dr. Applebee.

Box 4, Folder 34

Sermon by H. W. Foote, interim minister Mar. 16, 1941

Box 4, Folder 35

Proposed budgets 1931-1932

Box 4, Folder 36

Laymen's League 1928-1940 - Programs. Minutes of executive committee. Annual Reports, some years missing.

Box 4, Folder 37

Orders of service, some volumes incomplete, from Vol. 1 through Vol. 11 1930-1940, Feb. 1941

Box 4, Folder 38

Chart by A. W. Towne, "Facts Concerning Men's Clubs in Certain Syracuse Churches" 1932-1933

Robert E. Romig, Minister 1941-1946

Box 5, Folder 1

[misc] 1943-1945 - Flyer announcing church carnival, dated Apr 30, no year. notice that Temple Adath Yeshurun will award a certificate of merit to Mr. Romig on Feb 16, 1945. Notice of formation of church register Mar. 9, 1944. Copy of member questionnaire for register. Flyer, undated, asking for donations of clothing to USC for overseas. Annual Reports of Committees, 1943-44, 1944-45. Civic Lenten service program Apr 23, 1943. Four items from Symmachus Trading Company offering to sell MMC a letter signed by John Wilkinson in 1840. This letter is now in Storer file. Annual reports of committees 1941-42, 1942-43. Annual Report of RE Council.

Box 5, Folder 2

[Syracuse Boy's Club] 1942 - Script of skit portraying Dr. Calthrop starting the Syracuse Boy's Club, undated. Order of service Dec. 13, 1942 when skit was presented. Two pamphlets of Syracuse Boy's Club undated. "Syracuse Boy's Club News, Nov 1942." Press release about the 50th Anniversary of the Syracuse Boy's Club.

Box 5, Folder 3

Brief biography and references for Mr. Romig undated

Box 5, Folder 4

Invitation card for reception for Rev. and Mrs. Romig on Sunday, Oct. 5. Order of service for installation of Rev. Romig on Oct 15 Oct 1941

Box 5, Folder 5

Two photographs of Mr. Romig

Box 5, Folder 6

[resignation] 1946 - Letter to church members from Mr. Romig announcing his resignation, dated Feb 26, 1946. Notice of special congregational meeting to act on Mr. Romig's resignation and to elect a pulpit committee dated Feb 26, 1946. Copy of letter of appreciation to Mr. Romig from the congregation, date added later, May 1946.

Box 5, Folder 7

Eight sermons by Rev. Romig 1941-1943

Box 5, Folder 8

Meditation cards by Rev. Romig 1941-1945

Box 5, Folder 9

Two letters regarding purchase of new chairs from Mottville Chair Works Jan 1941

Box 5, Folder 10

Description of church property 1940, 1942, 1946 - 472 James St., Oct. 1946; of parish house 466 James St. Nov. 1940; of parsonage 913 Comstock Ave. Jan 1942. Rough outline sketch of 466 James St. (Van Duyn property) Nov. 1940.

Box 5, Folder 11

Letters to congregation Feb. 14, 1945 - from Bd of Trustees informing them of tribute to be paid to Rev. Romig at Friday services Feb. 16, 1945 at Temple Adath Yeshurun.

Box 5, Folder 12

Outline history of May Memorial, one page

Box 5, Folder 13

Biographic sketch of Romig. Two items from UUA Archives, hand written notes on church improvement . 1942-1946

Box 5, Folder 14

[stained glass windows] - Chart showing location of stained glass windows in sanctuary 472 James St. Description of people to whom the windows were dedicated.

Box 5, Folder 15

[men and women in armed forces] 1943-1944, 1946 - Order of Worship for service held at First Church, Boston, May 23, 1946 for those Unitarians who gave their lives in World War II. Covering letter from president of UUA. Romig letter Nov. 1944 to men and women in Armed Services. Dedication of Service Honor Roll May 16, 1943.

Box 5, Folder 16

MMC constitution in force in 1944 and proposed revision. Announcement of formation of revision committee.

Box 5, Folder 17

Correspondence with Syracuse Consumer/Farmer Milk Cooperative about sale of milk to neighborhood families 1942-1943

Box 5, Folder 18

Letter from Elizabeth Padgham declining to serve on Board of Trustees Sept 27, 1943

Box 5, Folder 19

Correspondence on broadcasts of Sunday sermons on station WSYR July 1943

Box 5, Folder 20

Letter from W. W. Robbins of Meadville Theological School about Rev. Romig's lectures there Mar. 7, 1945

Box 5, Folder 21

Orders of service 1941-1943

Box 5, Folder 22

Orders of service 1943-1946

Box 5, Folder 23

Newsletters "Syracuse Unitarian" Sept. 1941-June 1945

Box 5, Folder 24

Newsletters "Syracuse Unitarian" Sept. 1945-June 1946

Glenn O. Canfield, Minister 1946-1952

Box 5, Folder 1

[Letters] 1946 - Letter from Canfield to Carl Ashley inquiring about his arrival and possible housing arrangements, June 13, 1946. Copy of letter to Canfield regarding sharing parsonage with Romigs, unsigned, July 1, 1946. Letter: Canfield to Carl Ashley, will arrive July 31, dated July 4, 1946. Copy of letter Ashley to Canfield: repair and redecoration of parsonage, July 10, 1946.

Box 5, Folder 2

Installation of Rev. Canfield - Order of service, , Oct. 13, 1946. Invitation card for installation. 3 copies of letters to people invited to installation: date changed to Oct. 18, 1946.

Box 5, Folder 3

2 photographs and a negative of Rev. Canfield undated

Box 5, Folder 4

Radio sermons by Rev. Canfield 1950-1951

Box 5, Folder 5

2 pamphlets by Canfield May 1946, undated

Box 5, Folder 6

Architect's conception of the facade of church of the Messiah (State and Burnet Sts.) with letter from artist Thomas J. McCormick, Jr. July 30, 1949

Box 5, Folder 7

"Religion and the Tax-Supported School" by Eleanor Rosebrugh, AUA 1949 - 40-page paper

Box 5, Folder 8

Article from Christian Register, "Inside UUA: II - The Syracuse Method" Jan. 1949 - Photograph of church members at kick-off dinner for United Unitarian Appeal, used in above article. Smaller copy of same photo dated Oct. 28, 1948 and naming speaker, John Fisher.

Box 5, Folder 9

2 photos of group at grave of Samuel J. May May, 1949

Box 5, Folder 10

[Boy Scouts] - Letter from Richard Greene to MMUS Board President: the Layman's League requests use of a room for a Boy Scout Troop they will sponsor. Copies of letters from Carl Ashley to: 1) Scout-master about damage done by boys to building and furnishings, Dec. 6, 1947. 2) local BSA Executive re discontinuing use of church for scout meetings, Jan 27, 1949.

Box 5, Folder 11

Correspondence relating to roof repairs June 13, 1946 to Aug 23, 1946

Box 5, Folder 12

Half-page print of 472 James St. and Parish house

Box 5, Folder 13

Leather bound book of signatures - people attending 50th anniversary celebration of ordination of Rev. Elizabeth Padgham

Box 5, Folder 14

[Padgham house] - Stereoscope slide of Padgham home, 17 Shonnard St., (or #120?) Syracuse. List of beneficiaries in Padgham's will, dated Dec. 15, 1952. 5 x 7 portrait of E. Padgham April, 1933. Clergyman's Record: funeral of E. Padgham, Dec. 4, 1952, by Robert Zoerheide. Judicial settlement of Padgham's will dated Apr.16, 1954. Letter from executor to MMC re enclosed check distributive share of Padgham estate. Judicial settlement of accounts Padgham estate filed April 15, 1954. Letter from First Trust to Brainard Fancher re insurance policies on Padgham home. Record of money received by MMUS from sale of Padgham furnishings, dated Feb. 19, 1953. List of investment holdings in Padgham estate, copy of letter from HB Fancher re disposal of some estate holdings, Jan 27, 1954. Copy of preliminary report of Committee on Padgham estate, undated. Copy of last will and testament of E. Padgham. Photo of Padgham house, 120 Shonnard St, Syracuse (or # 17?).

Box 5, Folder 15

8 x 10 photo of Rev. Elizabeth Padgham at dinner with Gladys Timmerman (server), Rev. Dale Dewitt, Rev. Canfield. Sept 25, 1951 - also matted copy of 8 x 10 photo above, 8 x 10 photo of all guests at the table.

Box 5, Folder 16

Copy of letter from Canfield inviting Rev. Keubler to dinner honoring E. Manwell and J. Gould. Photo taken at dinner: E. Manwell, F. M. Eliot, Warren Walsh, J. Gould. Sep 1949

Box 5, Folder 17

5-page lecture: "How Can We Improve Our Schools?" by Dr. W. D. Sheldon, Sunday forum May 7, 1950 - The Forum was a regular activity every Sunday before the service

Box 5, Folder 18

Sermon by William Yerington given at MMC, Layman's Sunday May 23, 1948

Box 5, Folder 19

Church mailing list (copy) March, 1948

Box 5, Folder 20

[misc financial] 1946-1947 - Budget passed at annual Meeting, June 6, 1946. Canvass letter from Finance committee Chair J. C. Timmerman, May 13, 1947. Canvass letter from President C. Ashley May 8, 1947. Five letters (4 copies, 1 original) re mortgage to UUA for loan to repair roof. Dates: Oct. 1946 - Feb 1947.

Box 5, Folder 21

Committee reports for annual Meeting and final budget Jun 12 1947

Box 5, Folder 22

[Letters] - Letter to members from Glenn and Betty Canfield Nov. 11, 1951 requesting permission to continue living at parsonage until end of January, 1952. Letter to congregation dated Dec 6, 1951 inviting them to attend reception honoring Canfields on Dec. 16, 1951.

Box 5, Folder 23

[Pulpit Committee] 1951-1952 - Ballot form for Pulpit Committee election on Nov 18, 1951. Seven pages of needs and suggestions: "What Do We Need from the Church" resulting from neighborhood meetings held Jan 13 - 21, 1952? Three-page summary of findings of neighborhood meetings. Report of neighborhood meetings held Feb 10-25, 1952: "To Meet Our Needs" -- suggestions for action. Summary of replies to Pulpit Committee Questionnaire.

Box 5, Folder 24

[misc] 1950-1951 - Announcement to congregation of intention to enlarge parish house, Dec. 15, 1950. Dedication ceremony for new kindergarten room Nov 2, 1951

Box 5, Folder 25

Reports of president and committee chairs, annual meeting 1952

Box 5, Folder 26

[misc] 1950 - Charter and bylaws of MMC branch of Unitarian Service Committee. Announcements of meeting to be held Oct. 10, 1950 about USC activities. First Annual Report to members of MMC branch of USC giving history and finances of the committee from MS Dooley, president of USC branch. Photo undated: Rev. Romig, Eleanor Rosebrugh, Rev. Canfield, Elizabeth and Warren Walsh. Letter from MMC/USC committee to members concerning changes in its charter and by-laws. May 29. 1950. Copy of proposed changes to charter and by-laws, page 1 missing.

Box 5, Folder 27

Letter announcing opening of Beacon Bookshop at MMC. Two fliers about Fairless Fair, dated . Jan 22, 1951; Oct. 19, 1951; Nov 15, 1951

Box 5, Folder 28

Review of church activities in 1946-1947 church year by finance committee, . May 13, 1947

Box 5, Folder 29

Letter from Syracuse Public Library Director acknowledging gift of books (not listed) from MMUS Nov. 10, 1948

Box 5, Folder 30

Steering committee members and Social Action Committee program Nov. 3, 1946

Box 5, Folder 31

Orders of service Sept 1946-June 1949

Box 5, Folder 32

Orders of service Sept 1949-March 16, 1952

Box 5, Folder 33

Newsletters 1946-1949

Syracuse Unitarian Aug 1946-Dec. 1947. May Memorial Times May-June 1947 (news and annual reports). Unitarian Newsletter Jan. 1948-June 1949.

John Fuller, Minister 1961-1973

Box 6, Folder 1

Reports of pulpit committee concerning the appointment of Rev. Fuller as minister 1961 - vacant pulpit notice; brief introduction to church and community; summary of replies to questionnaire; correspondence with Fuller

Box 6, Folder 2

Pulpit committee report to Board of Trustees 1961 - special committee to study the roles and responsibilities of ministry; special committee report to pulpit committee

Box 6, Folder 3

Letter from Board of Trustees inviting members and friends to the installation service for Rev. Fuller 1962 - correspondence; copy of installation service program

Box 6, Folder 4

Photographs of Rev. John Fuller 4 Sep 1963

Box 6, Folder 5

Letters and other material relating to Rev. Fuller's health 1969-1973 - correspondence from Fuller; statements from Fuller and two physicians; church newsletter with message

Box 6, Folder 5a

Farewell service at James St. Church 20 Sep 1964 - addess by Elizabeth Manwell, "A Reminiscence of Years at May Memorial Church", notes for address by Rev. Fuller "The Heritage We Take", correspondence

Box 6, Folder 5b

Public affairs - school integration 1964 - Public Affairs committee motion in support of Syracuse Board of Ed,; plans for racial integration of Syracuse public schools; President's Report; note on special meeting

Box 6, Folder 5c

Architect's drawing of East Genesee St. church - front end of sanctuary and exterior

Box 6, Folder 6

Rev. Fuller's annual reports 1965-1966

Box 6, Folder 7

Constition of May Memorial Unitarian Society - Constitution adopted in 1968; discussion of revision items; letter of concern regarding religious education

Box 6, Folder 8

Outline of May Memorial Unitarian Society 1962? - nature of church; history; Sunday program; church groups; community services; minister and staff; publications; facilities

Box 6, Folder 9

Pulpit committee 1967-1968 - basic structure plan for R.E.; report of the special committee administration of RE; background information about Syracuse and MMUS; letter from President Verah Johnson to Ron Clark; program for ordination and installation of Ron Clark; notice of settlement to Dept. of Ministry

Box 6, Folder 10

Correspondence 1968-1969 - Dr. Robert Newman and Rev. Clark; Rev. Manwell and Rev. Clark; reference for Rev. Clark

Box 6, Folder 11

Photographs of Rev. Ronald Clark and family

Box 6, Folder 12

Sermons by Rev. Clark - The unconditioned; Morality of flower power; Rite of passage; Some thoughts on religious education; Don't rain on my parade; Jack Armstrong syndrome revisited

Box 6, Folder 13

Correspondence concerning Rev. Clark's resignation 1970

Box 6, Folder 14

Evaluation of Ron Clark's ministry by David Koberness - preliminary ministerial fellowship report

Box 6, Folder 15

Photographs of G. Abbott and W. McLennon 1965 - opening of box from cornerstone of the James St. Church

Box 6, Folder 16

Contents of cornerstone box Aug 1884, 10 Oct 1965 - 13 local newspapers; program from after-church ceremony

Box 6, Folder 17

Order of service, drawings of parish house 7 Jun 1964, undated

Box 6, Folder 17a

Drawing of May Memorial Unitarian Church by Joanne Ashley undated

Box 6, Folder 18

Memorial to Elizabeth Manwell, St. Lawrence Beacon Nov 1964

Box 6, Folder 19

Material relating to ten stained glass windows at 472 James St. Church - color photographs, letters

Box 6, Folder 20

Distribution of various objects from James St. Church 1973 - location of Samuel Joseph May plaque; distribution of various objects

Box 6, Folder 21

Notes on MMUS history - letters, notes, memories on MMUS tradition and heritage; information on church history

Box 6, Folder 21a

Letters in regard to May Memorial Church's tradition and history 1961 - letters from Florida Tracy, Janus B. Lape, Elizabeth Lewis, Helen Burd, Gladys Rowley, Mrs. W.H. Eager; notes on Ann Prescott, Boys' Club, library and processionals; list of church sites and ministers

Box 6, Folder 21b

"Tradition and Heritage of May Memorial Unitarian Church" by John C. Fuller Jan 1962 - lecture delivered to Women's Alliance

Box 6, Folder 22

[Josephine Gould] 1963, 1967 - Employment agreement, announcement of Gould's resignation, Verah Johnson's letter to congregation

Box 6, Folder 22a

Reports and letters on religious education 1965-1973 - [See outside of folder for full list of contents]

Box 6, Folder 22b

Religious education reports 1968-1970 - calendar for 1968-1969; Youth Education report; Church School report; Children and Youth reports

Box 6, Folder 23

Meetings and letters on financial crisis 1969-1970 - letters from John Fuller, Mrs. Lawrence Gould, Reginald Manwell, Bairds; minutes of board meetings; minister's report to trustees; graph of income, pledges, expenses; more (see folder for complete list)

Box 6, Folder 23a

Vanguard Committee 1969-1970

Box 6, Folder 24

Correspondence between John Fuller and Board of Trustees relating to his resignation 1973

Box 6, Folder 25

List of services 1972-1973

Box 6, Folder 25a

Consensus meetings 1 Apr 1973 - preliminary report

Box 6, Folder 26

Documents surrounding John Fuller's new placement Apr 1973 - statement by John Fuller; Board of Trustee's response; announcement of resignation; announcement of farewell party

Box 6, Folder 27

Correspondence concerning the microfilms of the Samuel J. May letters with Cornell Library 1965-1966 - letters to/from Howard Applegate, George Abbot, John H. Chamberlain, William H. Pease, George Healey, Rev. John Fuller, M. Slagle; list of church records

Box 6, Folder 28

Memorial service for Rev. John Channing Fuller Dec 1974 - program for memorial service; clippings

Box 6, Folder 29

[Photograph of] Rick Masten and congregation in back yard 1971

Box 6, Folder 30

Canvass materials 1968-1971 - pledge appeals; fellowship dinner invitiation and program; proposal for associate minister; canvass brochure and letter

Box 6, Folder 31

Sermons and addresses by other ministers and friends of the church 1962, 1968, 1973 - Paul Meadows, Search for Meaning; Dr. Alexander Patterson, Peter Meets Paul; Harriette Robinson, Loneliness and Aloneness; John Wilkinson III, The Meaning of Religion

Box 6, Folder 32

Typed manuscript by Charles D'Aniello, "Samuel Joseph May: Abolitionist" undated

Box 6, Folder 33

Beyond the Ego, sermon by Isabel Aird 10 Sep 1967

Box 6, Folder 34

The Remarkable Mr. May, typed sermon by Cathy Covert 13 Feb 1962

Box 6, Folder 35

Publications from the UUA authored by Elizabeth Manwell 1964, undated - The first of life (52pp); Always growing (8pp)

Box 6, Folder 36

[Josephine Gould] 1964, undated - UUA publication, "A guide to the use of conversations with children"; 8x10 black and white photograph of Jo Gould and children; science series, "What is Real?"; 3x5 color photo of Elizabeth Walsh, Jo Gould, Doug Temple

Box 6, Folder 37

Filmstrip and text, "A child grows in the church" 1968 - text by Josephine Gould, photographs by Bob Burdick, UUA; thank you letter from Jo Gould

Box 6, Folder 38

Introducing May Memorial membership folder 1962

Box 6, Folder 39

Reports on Baby Fold study 1962 - report of committee; letters from parents

Box 6, Folder 40

Reports on organ at the Genesee St. Church 1962-1963 - reports of building administration committee; Board notes; report of music committee; letter from Howland Auchincloss to Henry D. Merteus

Box 6, Folder 41

Analysis of DRE job 1962

Box 6, Folder 42

Commission study groups 1962 - The free church in a changing world; Education and liberal religions; Religion and the arts; Ethics and social action; report on world religion and outreach

Box 6, Folder 43

Fundraising events 1962, 1970-1971 - report on special activities committee; May Fair materials; All Church Fair; international film festival; book sale; Friday film festival

Box 6, Folder 44

Photos and drawings of James St. Church 1963, 1965 - photos and drawings of church; photos and negatives from razing of the church

Box 6, Folder 45

Letter from program council regarding civil rights groups holding meetings at MMUS 1 Oct 1963

Box 6, Folder 46

Downtown Thanksgiving service 1963-1964 - order of service; news clipping; photo John Fuller

Box 6, Folder 47

Annual meeting programs and reports 1962-1965 - annual dinners and meetings

Box 6, Folder 48

Membership activities 1962-1967 - membership lists; "Introducing May Memorial" brochure; church directory; policy for changing membership status; area chairs and responsibilities; mailing on "Good Neighbor Policy"

Box 6, Folder 49

Finance concerns 1964-1969 - canvass literature; letters to Board of Trustees, congregation; minister's report to trustees; board minutes; budget and expenditures; cost estimates, solicitation for a solvent society

Box 6, Folder 50

New hymnal 1965 - introductory letter; sample hymns

Box 6, Folder 51

Petition and vote [on] teen board member 1969

Box 6, Folder 52

Annual meeting programs and reports 1966-1974 - annual dinners and meetings

Box 6, Folder 53

Statement by ICF to NYS constitutional convention 1967

Box 6, Folder 54

Papers on JCF work with conscientious objectors 1967-1969 - UUSC letter; conscientious objector program and resolutions; Andrew Blauvelt letter

Box 6, Folder 55

Summer church programs 1967

Box 6, Folder 56

Operating manual committees 1968

Box 6, Folder 57

Letter to Board of Education, Syracuse, endorsing campus plan undated

Box 6, Folder 58

Summary by E. Rosebrugh, "Religion and the tax-supported school" undated

Box 6, Folder 59

Fuller vs. IRS 1970 - correspondence

Box 6, Folder 60

Charman art exhibit May 1971

Box 6, Folder 61

Public affairs committee activities 1961-1965 - letter to Warren B. Walsh; letters to congregation; committee reports and recommendations; printed material (see front of folder for complete list of contents)

Box 6, Folder 62

Scattered site public housing committee 1965 - letters; survey of public housing residents; study; final presentation

Box 6, Folder 63

Letters, D. Koberness, WSYR 1969

Box 6, Folder 64

Church council 1966-1968

Box 6, Folder 65

Memorial service for Elizabeth Lewis 1969

Box 6, Folder 66

Pledge letter to congregation 29 Jan 1973

Box 6, Folder 67

Selected Fuller sermons 1964-1965 - Is it a matter of the heart?; Why I am a Unitarian; The religion we built it for

Collection inventory