Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Melodeon Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Apr 2024

Biographical History

A melodeon, sometimes spelled "melodion," is a type of reed organ originating in the late 18th century. Reed organs employ a suction or bellows arrangement to generate sound by forcing air flow past thin pieces of metal, known as reeds. In America, melodeons were widely used in smaller churches and private homes through the 19th century.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Melodeon Collection contains one published book and one marriage certificate, both related to melodeons.

Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Davis, Ida Flora.
Nichols, Seth Huntly.

Subjects

Music -- Instruction and study.
Reed organ.

Genres and Forms

Manuals (instructional materials)
Marriage certificates.
Music books.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Melodeon Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Book, unknown; found in Belfer stacks.

Marriage certificate, gift of Davis Edward Nichols, 1999.

Table of Contents

Printed material

Memorabilia

Inventory