| Return to finding aids search |
Plastics in Textiles Collection
A description of the collection at Syracuse University
Finding aid created by: Dane Flansburgh
Date: 24 Nov 2025
|
|
|
| Return to finding aids search |
Finding aid created by: Dane Flansburgh
Date: 24 Nov 2025
|
|
|
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | |
| Title: | Plastics in Textiles Collection |
| Dates: | 1939-1960 |
| Quantity: | 3 linear feet |
| Abstract: | Printed material relating to the use of plastic-related textiles in clothing, primarily men's fashion. |
| Language: | English and French |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Plastics entered textile production in the early 20th century, beginning with rayon and cellulose acetate as the first commercially successful semi-synthetic fibers. By the 1950s, fully synthetic polymers such as nylon and polyester transformed the industry by offering durable, lightweight, and inexpensive alternatives to natural fibers. Today, plastic-based textiles remain ubiquitous, even as environmental concerns have renewed interest in alternative fibers.
The Plastics in Textiles Collection contains printed material relating to the use of plastic-related textiles in clothing, primarily men's fashion. The collection consists largely of clippings and other printed material from magazines such as Messieurs; Gentleman's Quarterly; Adam, la revue de l'homme; and Arbiter. There are also material samples, order forms, product descriptions, and other materials from various manufacturers.
The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.
Access Restrictions:
The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.
Use Restrictions:
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subjects
Advertising -- Fashion.
Fashion.
Plastics in the textile industry.
Samples (Commerce)
Textile industry.
Textiles.
Genres and Forms
Clippings (information artifacts)
Magazines (periodicals)
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Plastics in Textiles Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Unknown.
An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.