Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Fletcher Pratt Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: July 1998

Biographical History

Fletcher Pratt (1897-1956) was an American military, naval, and science fiction novelist. Born in Buffalo, New York, Pratt is said to have been raised on an Indian reservation. He attended Hobart College for a year. During World War I he served with the War Library Service. During his intensive writing career, Pratt wrote chiefly on military and naval subjects, but also in the field of science fiction, collaborating often with L. Sprague DeCamp.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Fletcher Pratt Papers consists of correspondence-subject files, manuscripts and research material, and a small amount of printed material and memorabila. Correspondence is primarily with publications ( Atlanta Journal, Fantasy and Science Fiction, Harper's Magazine, The Infantry Journal, Pacific Spectator) and publishers (Ballantine Books, Bobbs-Merrill, Doubleday & Company, Gnome Press, Henry Holt and Company, Penguin) but also includes a few organizations (e.g., Science Fiction League of America). Subject files cover miscellaneous topics, most relating to either the Navy (British Navy at War, First Philippine Sea, 4th Fleet, German Navy) or general military (Eleven Generals, Macarthur, Munitions and equipment, Pearl Harbor, Spies/espionage). Manuscripts and research material contains material for more than 150 articles, essays, stories, and other pieces of writing by Pratt, as well as a small amount of printed material (book reviews, published stories and similar). Memorabilia contains clippings and nine scrapbooks.

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Pratt, Fletcher, 1897-1956.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Military art and science in literature.
Military history in literature.
Novelists, American.
Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Research notes.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Fletcher Pratt Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John D. Clark, 1970.

Table of Contents

Biographical

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts and research material

Memorabilia

Inventory