Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Sydor Rey Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 9 May 2011

Biographical History

Sydor Rey (b. 1908) was a Polish-American Jewish novelist and poet. He studied at the Universities of Warsaw and Lvov, where he received master's degrees in law and political science. He practiced law for a time in Warsaw where he also became known for his writing and was a member of the literary group Przedmiescie (Suburbs). His first novel, Kropiwniki, was published in 1937. Shortly thereafter (1939) he came to the United States where his work often appeared in the Polish-American press and in the Polish press in London, particularly Wiadomosci Tygodnik. He published numerous novels, short story collections and poetry anthologies in Polish and in English translation and, later, he wrote in English for American publication.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Sydor Rey Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence, memorabilia and writing.

Biographical material contains a brief autobiographical sketch by Rey and information about the Wiadomosci Tygodnik (Weekly Magazine), a Polish-language newspaper published in London.

Correspondence consists of letters from Rey (most of these are to John S. Mayfield, former librarian at Syracuse University) and letters from others about Rey.

Memorabilia contains clippings about Rey, including one from the Syracuse University Daily Orange on the occasion of his donation of his papers, and a few black-and-white photographs of Rey and Mayfield.

Writings includes both published and typescript pieces. The vast majority of the published pieces are in issues of Wiadomosci Tygodnik and include letters to the editor, poems, excerpts from Rey's novels, and other items. Typescripts include poems and short pieces, some of which may eventually have been published. There is also one folder of miscellaneous lists of published pieces.

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged within each series alphabetically, except for the Wiadomosci Tygodnik newspapers which are arranged chronologically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Rey, Sydor.

Associated Titles

Wiadomosci Tygodnik.

Subjects

Authors, Polish -- 20th century.
Polish literature.
Polish poetry.
Polish-American literature.
Polish-American newspapers.
Polish-American poetry.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Sydor Rey Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Sydor Rey, 1966.

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Writings

Inventory