Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Constance Pierrepont Noyes Robertson Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MFA
Date: Dec 1968

Biographical History

Constance Pierrepont Noyes Robertson (1897-1985) was an American author, related to the Noyes family who founded the Oneida Community in Oneida, New York.

Constance Robertson was born in Niagara Falls, Ontario on September 27, 1897, the daughter of Pierrepont Burt and Corrina Ackley Kinsey Noyes. She was brought up in New York State where her family has long been connected with the Oneida Community, founded by her grandfather, John Humphrey Noyes in 1847. She graduated from Dana Hall in Wellesley, Massachusetts,in 1916 and attended the University of Wisconsin for two years. In 1918 she married Miles Robertson. After living in Syndey, Australia, the couple spent a year in the Far East and then went to London. They returned to the United States in 1921.

Mrs. Robertson first sold one of her writings, based on an experience in China, in 1920. From 1925-1930 she was editor of a small privately printed magazine. In 1931, her novel Enchanted Avenue was published. Five Fatal Letters, published in 1937 and written under the pseudonym "Dana Scott," won the novel prize at the Bread Loaf Writers Conference. Her first historical novel, Seek No Further, appeared in 1938, followed by Salute to the Hero, 1942; Fire Bell in the Night, 1944; The Unterrified, 1946; and The Golden Circle, 1951. Six Weeks in March was published in 1952 and Go and Catch a Falling Star in 1957.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Constance Robertson Papers are divided into three sections: correspondence, writings and memorabilia.

Correspondence, 1936-1953, consists of a few miscellaneous personal letters arranged chronologically. The bulk of the correspondence, 1931-1957, relates to individual writings and is included in the writings group with the appropriate manuscript.

Writings, 1843-1951, 1931-1966, consists of manuscripts and a small number of published pieces by Mrs. Robertson. Relevant materials such as correspondence, research material and notes, publicity and book reviews are included with most titles. The correspondence, 1931-1957, consists largely of incoming letters relating to Mrs. Robertson's requests for bibliographical and other research aids, and comments on her books after publication. There is a large number of letters from Edna Jacobsen, head of the Manuscripts and Historical Section of the New York State Library and from the American Library Service. Other correspondents include book dealers, public and university libraries, historical associations, publishers and friends. The Fire Bell in the Night correspondence folder includes two letters, January 8 and 26, 1943, and a manuscript on the "Jerry Rescue" by W. Freeman Galpin. A letter, November 2, 1936, containing research suggestions from Carl Carmer is included in the Seek No Further correspondence folder. Research material for Seek No Further contains copies of the only two issues published of the Spiritual Moralist, June 13 and 25, 1842, edited by John Humphrey Noyes and George Cragin. Also included are two manuscripts, 1843, by John Humphrey Noyes; two manuscripts, 1851, by an unknown writer; a letter dated November 23, 1843 from Alexander Wilder about spiritualism and a letter from John Humphrey Noyes, January 15, 1837 about religion, marriage and personal affairs.

Memorabilia, 1926-1957, includes newspaper clippings about Mrs. Robertson, her father Pierrepont B. Noyes, local history and miscellaneous subjects. Photographs of Mrs. Robertson, a concert program and list of names are also included.

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by type and then by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

For more information about the Oneida Community, see the Oneida Community Papers and the P. Geoffrey Noyes Papers.

Subject Headings

Persons

Carmer, Carl, 1893-1976.
Noyes, John Humphrey, 1811-1886.
Robertson, Constance Noyes -- Archives.
Wilder, Alexander, 1823-1908.

Corporate Bodies

Oneida Community -- Archival resources.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Christian communities -- New York (State)
Collective settlements -- United States.
Utopias in literature.
Women authors, American.
Women novelists, American.

Places

New York (State) -- History -- Fiction.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Book reviews.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Constance Pierrepont Noyes Robertson Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Constance Noyes Robertson Estate, 1968, 1972, 1987.

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Writings

Memorabilia

Inventory