Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

Myrta and Emory Ross Collection of African Photographs

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: --
Date: 1996

Revision history:
21 Jul 2014	corrected bio (MRC)
10 Jan 2024	collection rehoused and inventory updated (DTF)

Biographical History

Emory Ross (1887-1973) was a missionary with the Disciples of Christ. He and his wife, Myrta, became friends with Albert Schweitzer while serving as missionaries in equatorial Africa, and were early supporters of the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship during World War II.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Myrta and Emory Ross Collection of African Photographs consists entirely of photographs of African people and places.

Arrangement of the Collection

Photographs are arranged alphabetically in each box by topic.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship Records.

Subject Headings

Persons

Ross, Emory.
Ross, Myrta.

Places

Africa -- Photographs.
Belgian Congo -- Photographs.
Liberia -- Photographs.
Nigeria -- Photographs.
Southern Rhodesia -- Photographs.

Genres and Forms

Filmstrips.
Photographs.

Occupations

Missionaries.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Myrta and Emory Ross Collection of African Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Estelle Linzer

Table of Contents

Filmstrips

Photographs

Inventory