Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Epifanio San Juan Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 Aug 2010

Biographical History

Epifanio San Juan (1938- ), also known E. San Juan, Jr. is a well-known Filipino American literary scholar, poet and activist, and the author of numerous books on race and cultural studies. A graduate of Harvard University, he has taught English, literature, and cultural studies at universities in the United States, the Philippines, Taiwan and Europe; he was also director of the Philippines Cultural Studies Center in Storrs, Connecticut, and chairman of the Department of Comparative American Cultures at Washington State University. Among his many awards and honors are a Fulbright fellowship, the Centennial Award for Achievement in Literature from the Cultural Center of the Philippines, the Spanish Siglo de Oro Prize, a National Book Award in Cultural Studies, and the Gustavus Myers Center for Human Rights' Outstanding Book Award on Human Rights.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Epifanio San Juan Papers consists of biographical material and writings.

Biographical material consists of a detailed c.v.

Writings contains handwritten and typewritten drafts of articles, books, essays, poems, and other items. Some are in English, others are in Filipino. Essay and book topics include literary criticism, education, politics, indigenization, Filipino history, etc.

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type and then by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Peirce, Charles S. (Charles Sanders), 1839-1914.
San Juan, E. (Epifanio), 1938-

Subjects

Communism -- Study and teaching.
Philippine literature (English)
Poets, Filipino -- 20th century.
Politics and literature.
Socialism -- Study and teaching.

Genres and Forms

Drafts (documents)
Essays.
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Poems.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Epifanio San Juan Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Bulk of collection, gift of Epifanio San Juan, 2017, 2024. A few poems, transfer from Filipiniana Collection.

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Writings

Inventory