Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

John Speed Maps of England

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: Michele Combs
Date: 19 Jul 2024

Revision history:

Biographical History

John Speed (1551 or 1552-1629) was an English cartographer, chronologer and historian. Under James VI and I, Speed was tasked with collecting and revising the histories, topographies and maps of Great Britain (encompassing England, Scotland and Wales) which were united under James' rule.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Speed Maps of England consists of six maps of counties and regions of England: Berkshire, Cornwall, Gloucestershire, Lancaster, Middlesex, and Sussex.

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Speed, John.

Subjects

Cartography.
Maps.
Physical geography -- England.

Places

Berkshire (England) -- Maps.
Cornwall (England : County) -- Maps.
England -- Maps.
Gloucestershire (England) -- Maps.
Lancaster (England) -- Maps.
Middlesex (England) -- Maps.
Sussex (England) -- Maps.

Genres and Forms

Manuscript maps.
Maps (documents)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Speed Maps,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of David Jan Baker, 2024.

Table of Contents

Maps

Inventory