Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

Grant Speer Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: Michele Combs
Date: 17 Jan 2025

Revision history:
2 Oct 2025	created EAD finding aid and added inventory (CPS)

Biographical History

Grant W. Speer (1869-1955) was an American Methodist preacher in Ohio. He was the pastor of Central Christian Church in Toledo, Ohio for many years. In 1914, he took a trip to Europe and the Middle East to visit "the Holy Land." He is buried in Woodlawn Cemetery in Toledo.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Grant Speer Papers span the years 1911-1914 and document a trip around Europe and the Middle East shortly before the outbreak of World War I. The collection is divided into three categories: Correspondence, Photographs, and Printed material.

Correspondence spans April-June 1914 and primarily consists of outgoing letters from Speer to his wife and children while on his trip. Correspondence is sent from various locations as Speer traveled Europe and the Middle East.

Photographs include photographs of Speer at three different ages, but all photographs are undated. The photograph album documents Speer's trip with photos primarily taken by Speer. Most of the photographs focus on landscapes, people, and historically important locations.

Printed material contains two books on Jerusalem and Palestine.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. The photo album and Jerusalem book are housed seperately from the rest of the collection.

Restrictions

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Speer, Grant.

Corporate Bodies

Methodist Church -- Clergy.

Subjects

International travel -- Religious aspects.
Pilgrims and pilgrimages.

Places

Egypt -- Description and travel.
Europe -- Description and travel.
Jerusalem -- Description and travel.
Palestine -- Description and travel.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Correspondence.
Photograph albums.
Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Grant Speer Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Clea and Robert Hupp, 2025.

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Photographs

Printed material

Inventory