Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Erwin F. Springweiler Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Aug 1994

Biographical History

Erwin F. Springweiler (1896-1968) was a German-born American medalist and sculptor, specializing in animals.

Born in Pforzheim, Germany, Springweiler trained at the Munich Academy and worked with the American sculptor Paul Manship in Havana, Cuba. During the 1930s, Springweiler was one of several artists sponsored by the Works Progress Administration (WPA), and create paintings for numerous post offices across the United States. His sculpture of an anteater stands in the National Zoological Park in Washington, D.C. [Biography adapted from information on the website of the Smithsonian American Art Museum.]

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Erwin F. Springweiler Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence-subject files, artwork, writings, and memorabilia.

Incoming letters, a few outgoing drafts, and a variety of related printed materials form the Correspondence-Subject Files. The collection includes letters from fellow sculptors Hazel Brill Jackson, C. Paul Jennewein, Gertrude K. Lathrop, Paul Manship, A. A. Weinman, and Robert A. Weinman. Organizational correspondence includes that of Brookgreen Gardens, the International Institute of Arts and Letters, the National Academy of Design, the National Sculpture Society, the R. W. Norton Art Gallery, the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, and the Society of Medalists. Correspondence from the U. S. Treasury Department documents a number of Springweiler's most important sculpture commissions, including those for the National Zoological Park, the post office in Chester, Pennsylvania, and the 1939 New York World's Fair, as well as the production of his George M. Cohan Medal.

Artwork encompasses both original sketches and photographic or printed reproductions. Arranged by format, designs for medals and plaques, two sketchbooks, animal and human figure drawings, and a few miscellaneous, mostly mechanical, drawings constitute the original artwork. The organization of the photographic and printed reproductions of the completed medals and sculpture corresponds to the categorical arrangement of the original sketches.

Writings consists of two essays and some notes on art, the latter mainly in German.

Memorabilia is composed of photographs and printed material. Photographs include formal portraits of Springweiler as well as a number of images of the artist at work in his studio. Printed material includes certificates of award in school competitions from the Kunstgewerbeschule Pforzheim, clippings (1923-1955), and exhibition catalogs (1932-1960).

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence-subject files are arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Artwork is divided into originals and reproductions, and listed alphabetically within each category. Writings and Memorabilia are arranged alphabetically by type.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Huntington, Archer M. (Archer Milton), 1870-1955.
Jackson, Hazel Brill.
Jennewein, Carl Paul, 1890-1978.
Manship, Paul, 1885-1966.
Springweiler, Erwin F., 1896-1968.
Weinman, Adolph A. (Adolph Alexander), 1870-1952.
Weinman, Robert A.

Subjects

Animal sculptors -- United States -- 20th century.
Animals in art.
Art, American -- 20th century.
German Americans.
Medalists -- United States.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Awards.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.
Sketchbooks.
Sketches.

Occupations

Artists.
Medalists.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Erwin F. Springweiler Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Erwin F. Springweiler, 1967-1971.

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence-subject files

Artwork

Writings

Memorabilia

Inventory