Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

Standard School Broadcast Recordings

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

UNPROCESSED - NOT OPEN FOR RESEARCH

Finding aid created by: Michele Combs
Date: 17 Jan 2025

Revision history:

Biographical History

The Standard School Broadcast is a Peabody Award-winning weekly educational radio program. Originally launched in 1928 to promote music appreciation for students in the western United States, it was sponsored by Standard Oil and was the first educational radio program in the United States.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Standard School Broadcast Recordings consists of 64 phonodiscs containing recordings from the educational radio program.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Dragon, Carmen.

Corporate Bodies

National Broadcasting Company.

Associated Titles

Standard School Broadcast (Radio program)

Subjects

Music -- Instruction and study.
Music appreciation.
Radio in education.
Radio programs.

Genres and Forms

Sound recordings.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Standard School Broadcast Recordings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Processing Information

The collection is unprocessed.

Table of Contents

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.