Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Charles Wharton Stork Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: Feb 1996

Biographical History

Charles Wharton Stork was an American author, a graduate of Haverford and of Harvard, and taught in the Department of English at the University of Pennsylvania. Stork produced poems, plays, novels, and translations of Scandinavian verse, and was the editor of Contemporary Verse from 1917-1925.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Wharton Stork Papers consist of manuscripts, published material, legal papers such as wills and deeds, clippings, scrapbooks, photographs and correspondence. The vast majority of the collection consists of writings, both manuscript and unpublished. The inventory below includes a small original accession and a substantially larger 1993 accession; there are also smaller additions that do not appear on this finding aid. The collection has not been processed and remains in original order; following is a box list only.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has not been processed and remains in original order. The original accession contains BOTH manuscripts and published material; these items are listed separately below but are intermingled in the boxes. Note that box numbering restarts with the 1993 accession so box numbers are not unique; please specify accession and box number when requesting material.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Stork, Charles Wharton, 1881- Archives.

Associated Titles

Contemporary verse.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Dramatists, American.
Little magazines -- United States.
Novelists, American.
Periodical editors -- United States.
Poetry -- Periodicals.
Poetry, Modern -- 20th century.
Poets, American.
Women poets, American.

Places

United States -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Essays.
Manuscripts (document genre)
Photographs.
Poems.
Translations.

Occupations

Editors.
Educators.
Novelists.
Playwrights.
Poets.
Translators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Wharton Stork Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Writings (original accession)

Writings (1993 accession)

Photographs (1993 accession)

Writings (1993 accession)

Correspondence (1993 accession)

Correspondence-subject files (1993 accession)

Inventory