Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Igor Stravinsky Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Oct 2010

Biographical History

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971) was an extremely influential Russian composer, pianist and conductor. Among his best known works is the ballet The Firebird, and he was the principal composer for Sergei Diaghilev's Ballets Russes.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Igor Stravinsky Collection is a small collection of material relating to the composer. The collection contains a penciled fragment in an undetermined hand which appears to be copies of telegraphs or letters dictated by Stravinsky, a photograph of him, and two concert programs.

Arrangement of the Collection



Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

The Adolf Bolm Papers contains a small amount of Stravinsky correspondence.

Subject Headings


Stravinsky, Igor, 1882-1971.


Composers -- Russia.
Music -- Russia.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts (document genre)
Programs (documents)



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Igor Stravinsky Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1969.

Table of Contents