Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

A.M. Sullivan Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1996-02-07

Revision history:
12 Mar 2007	converted to EAD (MRC)
29 Sep 2009	EAD updated (LMD)
15 Sep 2015	moved broadcast list (MRC)

Biographical History

A. M. Sullivan (1896-1980) was an American poet, radio broadcaster, editor and businessman. An advertising executive for Dun and Bradstreet, Inc., and later the editor of Dun's Review, Sullivan simultaneously maintained close ties with the literary world through a career as a radio broadcaster for the WOR-Mutual network's "New Poetry Program," the publication of 13 books of poetry, and membership in the Poetry Society of America, which included five terms as its President. The collection illuminates Sullivan's reconciliation of the two seemingly different aspects of his life, in which he urged upon fellow businessmen the need for ethics, humanitarianism and creativity in their lives, while bringing managerial skills and organizational talents to his literary endeavors.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The A. M. Sullivan Papers comprise Correspondence-Subject files, Writings and Memorabilia. Spanning the years from 1925 to 1980, the papers reflect Sullivan's dual career as businessman and poet.

Correspondence-subject files contain biographical material; incoming and outgoing business and personal letters interspersed with biographical data, radio interviews, and other miscellaneous material relating to various correspondents; and topical subject information. The bulk of the literary correspondence concerns the Poetry Society of America and Sullivan's radio broadcasts. His radio program was variously entitled "The New Poetry Program," "New Poetry Period," and "Poetry Appreciation Series." These titles appear to have been used interchangeably during Sullivan's tenure as poetry broadcast conductor with the WOR-Mutual Network, however the program's dialog format was retained regardless of the title. The programs were generally divided into two parts: a broadcast essay by Sullivan regarding a particular aspect of poetry, followed by a dialog with one or more contemporary poets. These program scripts have been filed by program title or poet's name in the Correspondence-Subject files. In addition, the correspondence includes a significant number of letters in which Sullivan either requests or receives background information which he incorporated into his historical ballads. Of particular interest is a substantial amount of material about Edgar Lee Masters and Edwin Markham, including autographed poems, photographs, printed ephemera, and memorabilia. Most of the business correspondence concerns speaking arrangements before various organizations represented by Dun and Bradstreet, and there are a number of letters to and from business and political contacts to whom Sullivan presented his poetry volumes. Reflecting his ethnic origins, Sullivan maintained a life-long fascination with Ireland, its history, landscape, and most particularly, its writers. Sullivan was an active member of the American Irish Historical Society and the Brendan Society. There is extensive correspondence with both Irish and Irish-American writers including Padraic Colum, Oliver St. John Gogarty, Mary Margaret McBride, Phyllis McGinley, Seumas O'Brien and Shaemas O'Sheel.

Writings includes research material and typescripts for Sullivan's books; typescript business and literary essays; as well as poetry, reviews, scripts and speeches. There are extensive files of research material for Sullivan's historical ballads about John Castner and Timothy Morgan, in addition to drafts and revisions of those works. The bulk of the Writings document the production of his poetic work, The Bottom of the Sea, a labor of more than two decades which was published and distributed by Dun and Bradstreet in celebration of its 125th anniversary. Also included in the collection are scripts for Sullivan's plays, two of which "A Day in Manhattan" and "Wings for an Eagle," were broadcast on radio in the Columbia Workshop series of productions. Among the printed material in the collection are business articles which appeared in Dun's Review, and copies of Sullivan's Ballad of Dick Dowling (1954) and This Day and Age (1943).

Memorabilia includes photographs, reviews of Sullivan's work, and publicity items for his books.

Arrangement of the Collection

The Correspondence-subject files are arranged alphabetically. The writings are divided by type (books, essays, poetry, etc) and arranged alphabetically by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

McBride, Mary Margaret, 1899-1976.
Colum, Padraic, 1881-1972.
Gogarty, Oliver St. John, 1878-1957.
Hillyer, Robert, 1895-1961.
Markham, Edwin, 1852-1940.
Masters, Edgar Lee, 1868-1950.
McGinley, Phyllis, 1905-1978.
O'Brien, Seumas, 1880-
O'Sheel, Shaemas, 1886-1954.
Sullivan, A. M. (Aloysius Michael), 1896-1980.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
American poetry -- Catholic authors.
Authors, Irish -- 20th century.
Ballads, English -- United States.
English poetry -- Irish authors.
Irish Americans.
Poetry, Modern -- 20th century.
Poets, American.
Radio and literature.
Sea poetry -- American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Essays.
Interviews.
Manuscripts for publication.
Scripts (documents)

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

A. M. Sullivan Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Aloysius M. Sullivan, 1965.

Table of Contents

Correspondence - subject files

Writings

Memorabilia

Inventory