Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Grace Hill Turnbull Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: circa 1965

Biographical History

Grace Turnbull (1880-1976) was an American sculptor, painter and author.

Born December 30, 1880 in Baltimore, Maryland, Turnbull studied painting at the Maryland Institute, the Pennsylvania Academy, and the Art Students League. In 1930 she turned her artistic talents to sculpture, which she studied at the Rinehart School of the Maryland Institute and in Rome.

Her paintings and sculptures have been exhibited in many solo shows, including the Delphic Studio in New York (1931, 1946) and the Corcoran Gallery in Washington, DC (1948). She also participated in many group shows at the Art Institute of Chicago, Baltimore Museum of Art, Salon des Beaux Arts, and International Art Union in Paris, Pennsylvania.

Turnbull received the Whitelaw Reid Prize for painting in Paris in 1914, and for her sculpture she received the Anna Hyatt Huntington Prize in 1932 and 1944.

In addition to her artistic pursuits, Turnbull was also the author of numerous books, among them Tongues of Fire (1929), Essence of Plotinus (1934), Fruit of the Vine (1950), and the autobiography Chips from My Chisel (1953). She also wrote numerous pamphlets and contributed articles to various literary publications.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Grace Hill Turnbull Papers consist of correspondence (incoming and outgoing), subject files, manuscripts (books, drawings, essays, hymns, lectures, poems and stories), photographs of her works, and published material (books, articles, clippings, pamphlets, exhibition notices, and a poem).

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is subdivided into incoming (arranged alphabetically) and outgoing (arranged chronologically). Added correspondence arranged alphabetically. All other material is arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Turnbull, Grace Hill, 1880-1976.

Subjects

Animal sculpture -- United States.
Art, American -- 20th century.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Women authors, American.
Women painters -- United States.
Women sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drawings (visual works)
Exhibition catalogs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Pamphlets.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Authors.
Painters.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Grace Hill Turnbull Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Tyson letter, gift of Chris Sosnowski, 2021.

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts

Photographs

Published material

Inventory