Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Constance Walker Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Jul 1967

Biographical History

Constance Walker (1898-1975) was an award-winning American poet and artist.

Walker was born in 1898 in Englewood, New Jersey. While still a child she moved to California where she remained for the rest of her life. Her creative activity began around 1940 when a long, illness limited her physical capacity. The desert, where she spent her convalescence, had a great influence on her poetry. The Courage of Joshua, her self-illustrated booklet of poems, shows this influence. Walker is also well-known for her poem "Pray for Peace" which was reprinted in over twenty-five different publications, used on radio programs, and set to music by Edith Van Gilluwe.

In addition to publishing her poetry in numerous poetry journals, anthologies and newspapers, Walker has also designed and written greetings for card companies such as Hallmark.

Walker has received many awards and citations for her poetry and has been listed by such publications as Marquis Who's Who in American Women (2nd and 4th editions), Dictionary of International Biography (1964-1965), and International Who's Who in Poetry (1958, 1970-1971).

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Constance Walker Papers consist of artwork, biographical material, correspondence, memorabilia, personal files, published material, scrapbooks, subject files and writings. Because the material arrived in three separate accessions which have not been physically integrated, related material may be scattered in several different boxes. Material is listed in a logical, rather than physical, order in the inventory below.

Artwork contains prints of Antelope Valley and other items.

Correspondence includes both incoming and outgoing. Letters of note include those from the following:

Memorabilia contains awards and greeting cards.

Personal records contains lists of book donations and published poems, and membership reports of the National League of American Pen Women spanning thirty years.

Published material contains material about Walker; published material by Walker is located in Writings, in the subseries Published material.

Scrapbooks include general scrapbooks as well as three volumes relating to specific works: The Courage of Joshua, "Pray for Peace," and "Chaparral."

Subject files include Christmas cards, church programs in which Walker's work appears, photographs, and addition material related to The Courage of Joshua and Pray for Peace.

Writings, the largest part of the collection, includes jokes, verses for Hallmark Cards, and other items in addition to the substantial amount poetry of various forms (haikus, quatrains, and even a few set to music). Formats include typescripts and published material such as magazines, newspaper clippings, and anthologies in which Walker's work appears.

Arrangement of the Collection

Because the collection consists of several accessions which have not been physically integrated, arrangement varies. In general, material is arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Barkley, Alben William, 1877-1956.
Humphrey, Hubert H. (Hubert Horatio), 1911-1978.
Lindsay, John V. (John Vliet)
Murrow, Edward R.
Roosevelt, Eleanor, 1884-1962.
Stevenson, Adlai E. (Adlai Ewing), 1900-1965.
Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972.
Walker, Constance.

Subjects

Women artists -- United States.
Women poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Poems.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Artists.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Constance Walker Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Artwork

Biographical data

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Personal records

Published material

Scrapbooks

Subject files

Writings

Inventory