Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Mike Wallace Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Aug 1967

Biographical History

Myron Leon "Mike" Wallace (1918-2012) was an American journalist, interviewer, actor, host and commentator.

Born in Brookline, Massachusetts on May 9, 1918, he received his Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Michigan after attending the University from 1935 to 1939. Wallace first appeared on radio as a regular guest on the quiz show Information Please in 1939, and began the transition to television work in 1949. During his early career, Wallace hosted the television interview programs Night Beat on WABD-New York (1955-1957),The Mike Wallace Interview on ABC (1957-1958), PM East for Westinghouse Broadcasting (1961-1962), and the David Wolper-produced Biography series in the early 1960s. In 1959, Wallace co-produced with Louis Lomax a five-part documentary on the Nation of Islam, The Hate That Hate Produced. After hosting The CBS Morning News for many years, in 1968 Wallace began his long tenure on the CBS News program, 60 Minutes, where he served as a host and corresponsdent for the next forty years of his career. Over the course of his distinguished career, Wallace received many awards and recognitions, including 21 Emmy Awards, 3 Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards and 3 George Foster Peabody Awards. In 2003 he was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Emmy.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mike Wallace Papers consists of transcripts and audiorecordings of interviews with a wide variety of personalities, including authors, entertainers, religious leaders, political figures, and more. Notable interviewees include Edward Albee, Cleveland Amory, George Axelrod, William F. Buckley Jr., Marcel Duchamp, Max Eastman, Anne Francis, Gus Hall, Ben Hecht, Henry Kissinger, Shirley MacLaine, Bishop James A. Pike, Ayn Rand, Carl Sandburg, Gore Vidal, Tennessee Williams, and many more. The collection also contains the 1959 documentary on the Nation of Islam, The Hate That Hate Produced in film (telecine) and videotape formats.

Although the collection may contain both script(s) and audiorecording(s) for a given person, they are not necessarily from the same interview. A complete index of all interview participants is available at the end of this finding aid.

Arrangement of the Collection

Scripts are arranged alphabetically by interviewee. Audiorecordings are in order by ID number.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

All recordings in the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

The University of Michigan, Wallace's alma mater, holds the majority of Mike Wallace's papers. The University of Texas at Austin's Harrry Ransom Center has a video collection of Wallace interviews, accessible at http://www.hrc.utexas.edu/collections/film/holdings/wallace/.

Subject Headings

Persons

Albee, Edward, 1928-
Amory, Cleveland.
Axelrod, George.
Buckley, William F., Jr., 1925-2008.
Duchamp, Marcel, 1887-1968.
Eastman, Max, 1883-1969.
Francis, Anne, 1932-2011.
Hall, Gus.
Hecht, Ben, 1894-1964.
Kissinger, Henry, 1923-
MacLaine, Shirley, 1934-
Pike, James A. (James Albert), 1913-1969.
Rand, Ayn.
Sandburg, Carl, 1878-1967.
Serling, Rod, 1924-1975.
Vidal, Gore, 1925-2012.
Wallace, Mike, 1918-2012.
Williams, Tennessee, 1911-1983.

Associated Titles

The hate that hate produced.

Subjects

Actors -- Interviews.
Actresses -- Interviews.
Authors -- Interviews.
Comedians -- Interviews.
Journalists -- United States.
Politicians -- Interviews.

Genres and Forms

Documentary film.
Film reels.
Interviews.
Sound recordings.
Transcripts.
Videotapes.

Occupations

Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mike Wallace Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Interview scripts

Interview audiorecordings

The Hate That Hate Produced (documentary)

Index to interviews

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

All recordings in the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

Index to interviews

The following is an alphabetical list of all interview participants as well as a few notable individuals who were the subject or topic of intervews (e.g., Winston Churchill). Each name is followed by a list of the script(s) and/or recording(s) available in the collection. Note that all audio interviews have been digitized.