Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Washington Family Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 31 Oct 2010

Biographical History

Augustine Washington (1694-1743) was a Virginia planter and the father of George Washington (the first president of the United States) . He had a total of ten children by two wives. His son Augustine II (1720-1762) had six children, one of which was William Augustine (1757-1810). William Augustine had nine children by two of his three wives. One of his children, Sarah Tayloe Washington (1800-1886) married a Lawrence Washington (1791-1875), whose relationship to William Augustine's family is unknown. Lawrence is featured prominently in the collection, as is his and Sarah's son Henry Augustine (H.A.) Washington (1820-1858). Several other Washingtons appear frequently in the collection, such as Richard and Robert, however it is uncertain where they fall (if at all) in Augustine Washington's lineage.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Washington Family Papers contain business records, correspondence, miscellaneous financial materials, legal records, and subject files relating to several members of the Washington family.

Business records consist of general records, invoices, receipts, and miscellaneous items.

Correspondence consists of letters sent to members of the Washington family, as well as individual members' outgoing correspondence (for example, Lawrence Washington).

Financial materials consist of vouchers, checks, and receipts.

Legal records consist of an administrator's bond, deeds/deeds of sale, and miscellaneous items.

Subject files include State Department documentation, an account from Washington Irving, correspondence regarding the Freemasons from 1925, and a photograph of Henry Clay Hines.

Most of the collection spans the 1800s, with a few exceptions from the late 1700s and the 1920s.

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged in alphabetical order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Washington family.

Places

Virginia -- History.

Genres and Forms

Business records.
Correspondence.
Deeds.
Financial records.
Invoices.
Legal documents.
Receipts (financial records)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Washington Family Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1966, 1969.

Table of Contents

Business records

Correspondence

Financial materials

Legal records

Subject files

Inventory