Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

Walter Welch Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

UNPROCESSED - NOT OPEN FOR RESEARCH

Finding aid created by: Michele Combs
Date: 17 Jan 2025

Revision history:

Biographical History

Walter L. Welch (1901-1995) was an authority on early recordings and phonographs, and founding director (1963) of the Belfer Audio Laboratory and Archive at Syracuse University.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Walter L. Welch Papers consists of correspondence, clippings, and printed material.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Welch, Walter L. (Walter Leslie), 1901-1995.

Corporate Bodies

Belfer Audio Laboratory and Archive.

Subjects

Music -- History and criticism.
Sound -- Recording and reproducing.
Sound engineers.
Sound recordings -- Collectors and collecting.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

##,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from University Archives, 2023.

Processing Information

The collection is unprocessed.

Table of Contents

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.