Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Women's Ephemera Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Oct 2010

Biographical History

New York has seen several notable events in the history of women's rights, most notably the Seneca Falls Convention on women's rights held in July 1848, hosted by Lucretia Mott, Mary Ann M'Clintock and Elizabeth Cady Stanton.

The National Organization for Women (NOW) was founded in 1966 by Betty Friedan and Pauli Murray in an effort to confront with concrete action the issues of political, professional, and social inequality between the sexes. As early as its second conference in 1967, NOW adopts the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) and repeal of all abortion laws, becoming the first national organization to support the legalization of abortion. NOW intensely campaigned for passage of the ERA, which was approved in the House of Representatives and the Senate and submitted to state legislatures for ratification in 1972. The organization has 550 chapters in all 50 U.S. states and Washington D.C.

The Coordinating Committee of Women in the Historical Profession (CCWHP) was formed in 1969 in response to the exclusion and sexism rampant in the American Historical Association (AHA). The goals of the organization included recruiting more women into the profession, alleviate discrimination, and encourage the study and teaching of women's history. The CCWHP quickly became affiliated with the AHA and in 1974 the Conference Group on Women's History (CGWH) was formed. In 1955 the CCWHP and CGWH were combined to form the Council for Women in History (CCWH), which it is known by today.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Women's Ephemera Collection consists of material relating to women's issues, chiefly in New York State with some material related to Florida.

Correspondence-subject files consists mainly of correspondence and newsletters.

Printed material consists of clippings.

Writings consists of essays, bibliographies, and other similar material.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence-subject files are arranged first alphabetically by sender, then chronologically, with unidentified or undated material at the end. Printed material is arranged chronologically with undated material at the end. Writings are arranged alphabetically by last name with unidentified material at the end.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

The Special Collections Research Center has a plethora of information related to women's rights. Please search our collections for more material.

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

National Organization for Women.

Subjects

Equal rights amendments -- United States.
Feminists -- United States.
Women -- Legal status, laws, etc.
Women -- Political activity.
Women's rights.

Genres and Forms

Bibliographies.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Newsletters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Women's Ephemera Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1989.

Table of Contents

Correspondence-subject files

Printed material

Writings

Inventory