Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Wyoming Conference United Methodist Church Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CMV
Date: 11 Dec 1979

Biographical History

The Wyoming Conference of the United Methodist Church is an umbrella organization that connects more than 300 United Methodist congregations (with more than 60,000 individual members) in Northeastern Pennsylvania and the Southern Tier of New York State. The Wyoming Conference's mission is "to assist local churches in making disciples for Christ, so as to transform the world."

The first Wyoming Conference was held in Carbondale, Pennsylvania, in 1852. Two notable outgrowths of the Wyoming Conference are the Children's Home of Wyoming Conference, focused on needs of and service to children, and United Methodist Homes, whose mission revolves around needs of and service to the aged. The Conference is are also affiliated with Wyoming Seminary, one of the oldest continuously coeducational day and boarding schools in the United States.

[Portions of this biographical sketch adapted from the Wyoming Conference website at http://www.wyomingconference.org.]

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Wyoming Conference of the United Methodist Church Records contain business files, correspondence, memorabilia and printed material relating to the Wyoming Conference organization of United Methodist congregations.

Business files relates to the Wyoming Conference itself as well as to individual member churches. Types of material include both general administrative material (constitution and by-laws, anniversary publications, meeting minutes, speeches and addresses, etc.) and financial records (check stubs, bills, receipts, etc).

General Correspondence covers more than 130 years.

Assorted items of Memorabilia include photographs, scrapbooks, maps, posters, and other miscellanea.

Printed material includes Conference newsletters, historical studies, pamphlets, newspaper clippings, and assorted other items.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically; all other series are alphabetical by name or topic.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Three folders of Board of Ministry Records business files are restricted.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Methodist Church -- Clergy.
Methodist Church -- New York (State)
Methodist Church -- Pennsylvania.
United Methodist Church (U.S.)
United Methodist Church. -- Wyoming Conference. -- Archives.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Financial reports.
Minutes (administrative records)
Photoprints.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Wyoming Conference United Methodist Church Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Business files

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Printed material

Inventory