Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Zalman Yefroikin Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MFA
Date: Jan 1969

Biographical History

Zalman (or Salman) Yefroikin (1893-1966), also known as S. Efron, educator and author, was born April 18, 1893 in Wekshna, Lithuania, the son of Rafaele Yefroikin. In 1921 after his graduation from the Jewish Teachers' Seminary in Riga, Latvia, Mr. Yefroikin emigrated to the United States where he took up residence in New York City. He taught Yiddish literature and Jewish history in the educational system of the Workmen's Circle, a national Jewish labor and fraternal order. He directed its summer camps and later the Workman's Circle High School. From 1953 until his death Mr. Yefroikin was educational director of the eighty-five Jewish secular schools operated by the Workmen's Circle.

Mr. Yefroikin was the author of many textbooks, a contributor to and editor of the Workmen's Circle publication Culture and Education, as well as a frequent contributor to Zukunft, The Call, Der Wecker, Jewish Daily Forward and other.publications. His book on present-day Jewish life in eastern Europe was published in 1965 and translated into English in 1966 as Jews Do Not Surrender.

He was a member of the board of directors of the Institute for Yiddish Research, the executive board of the Congress for Jewish Culture, the executive board of the General Encyclopedia in Yiddish and the administrative committees of the Jewish Labor Committee and the Jewish Daily Forward.

He and his wife, the former Amy Beresin, had two children, Mrs. Vivian Tucker and Dr. Ronald Efron. Yefroikin died in New York City on October 1, 1966. His widow later remarried and became Mrs. B. Fenster.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Zalman Yefroikin Papers are divided into three parts. Most of the material is in Yiddish, but some is in English and a very small amount is in Russian. Correspondence, 1912-1966, includes incoming and outgoing letters arranged chronologically. Significant correspondents include Chaim Grade, author, 1964 and Melech Ravitch, author, 1966. Memorabilia, 1902-1968, includes biographical material, certificates and diplomas, passports, photographs, a conference program, a signature stamp, and a Workmen's Circle camp advertisement. Writings, 1928-1968, includes manuscripts or printed copies of articles, a book, examinations for Teachers' Seminary, a foreword, letters to the editor, notes for speeches and articles, a postscript, quotations from Mr. Yefroikin's works, a report, speeches and remarks, a syllabus, and textbooks, arranged in that order. Individual articles are arranged alphabetically by title. Bound volumes of Culture and Education, each containing more than one article by Mr. Yefroikin, are arranged chronologically at the beginning of the articles category. Textbooks are also arranged alphabetically by title.

The collection includes 29 published volumes scattered throughout the collection:

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Grade, Chaim, 1910-1982.
Ravitch, Melech, 1893-1976.
Yefroikin, S.

Corporate Bodies

Workmen's Circle/Arbeter Ring.

Subjects

Jewish educators.
Jews -- Education -- Textbooks.
Jews -- Education -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Notes (documents)
Photoprints.
Speeches (documents)
Textbooks.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Zalman Yefroikin Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. B. Fenster, 1968.

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Writings

Inventory