Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Your Navy Presents Recordings

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: IRP
Date: 25 Jun 2024

Biographical History

"Your Navy Presents" were 15-minute public radio broadcasting programs from the 1960's era. They aired weekly on the U. S. Navy Radio Network and the Armed Forces Radio and Television Service (AFRTS). Each show featured artists who were interviewed by the host in the studio during the program. These unique interviews are not available anywhere else, as the radio stations usually didn't keep the recordings.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Your Navy Presents Recordings comprises 26 long-playing vinyl phonodiscs containing 52 programs featuring dance orchestra music. Each program in the collection showcases music performances by Lawrence Welk, his orchestra, and his show's guests. Additionally, each program includes introductions by Lawrence Welk, interviews with guests, and recruitment advertisements, touting the opportunities offered by the United States Navy to young Americans.

Lawrence Welk (1903-1992) was an American accordionist, bandleader, and television impresario. He hosted The Lawrence Welk Show from 1951 to 1982, and his musical style was referred to as "champagne music" by his audiences on radio, television, and live performances.

Several programs have handwritten content notes on their sleeves. There is no content information for the others.

Arrangement of the Collection

Recordings are organized sequentially according to program number.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also U. S. Navy Band Showcase Recordings.

Subject Headings

Persons

Castle, Jo Ann.
Floren, Myron.
Hodges, Johnny.
Welk, Lawrence, 1903-1992.

Corporate Bodies

Lawrence Welk Orchestra.
Lennon Sisters.
Mills Brothers.
United States. -- Navy. -- Recruiting Service.

Associated Titles

Lawrence Welk show (Television program)

Subjects

Dance orchestra music.
Jazz.
Music--20th century.
Musicians -- United States.
Popular music.
Radio announcements.
Radio.

Genres and Forms

Long-playing records.
Sound recordings.

Occupations

Musicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Your Navy Presents Recordings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

There is no information on how the collection was obtained and its provenance.

Table of Contents

Recordings

Inventory