Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Remey, Charles Mason, 1874-1974.
Title:	Charles Mason Remey Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1912-1958
Quantity:	19 linear ft.
Abstract:	American architect. Collection includes manuscripts and published material.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Charles Mason Remey (1874-1974) was an American architect and author and adherent of the Baha'i faith. He designed and built Baha'i houses of worship in Uganda and Ethiopia (three others were designed but never constructed), and traveled extensively to promote the religion. In 1960, following the death of Shoghi Effendi without having appointed a successor, Remey proclaimed himself Guardian, or worldwide head, of the Baha'i. This claim caused significant consternation within the church, but was swiftly rejected by the vast majority of Baha'i worldwide and Remey was formally excommunicated (declared a Covenant-breaker) that same year. Remey relocated to Italy and, although retaining some adherents in the United States, Pakistan, and India, his influence gradually waned until his death in 1974.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Mason Remey Papers includes published and self-published writings.

Published material is almost entirely related to the Baha'i faith: its history, practice, teaching, and architecture. Of particular interest are proposals for an indexing system for Baha'i writings, and a guide on the preservation and arrangement of Baha'i manuscript. The only item unrelated to Baha'i is an account of four-month cruise in the Bahamas.

Self-published material is almost all connected with the history of the Remey family. The bound volumes are typescript carbons with photographs, maps, and other material tipped in. Based on information stamped on the covers, several sets of these volumes were produced. The contents include letters, reminiscences, diaries, travel journals, designs for mausoleums, and more. In addition to Remey himself, other family members represented include his mother, Mary Josephine Mason Remey; his father, Rear Admiral George Collier Remey; and his grandfather Charles Mason, Chief Justice of Iowa.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is subdivided into published and unpublished material; within each series, volumes are arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Mason Remey Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Charles Mason Remey, 1961.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 22 Apr 2010
Revision history: 10 Jul 2018 - processed (MS); 6 Jan 2022 - bioghist updated (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Published writings
Box 1		Baha'i Manuscripts - Suggestions for Their Preservation and Arrangement 1923
Box 1		The Baha'i Movement for Universal Religion, Brotherhood and Peace - A Sketch of its History and Teaching (Washington D.C., Persian American Bulletin) 1912
Box 1		Baha'i Teaching - Quotations from the Bahai Sacred Writings and Several Articles upon the History and Aims of the Teaching (Washington D.C.) 1917
Box 1		Constructive Principles of the Bahai Movement - A Summary of the History, Object and Institutions of the Bahai Religious Teachings (Chicago, Bahai Publishing Society) 1917
Box 1		The Covenant ("published in the year XXI of the Miniistry of Abdul-Baha") [1919?]
Box 1		Mashrak-El-Azkar - Descriptive of the Bahai temple and illustrative of an exhibition of preliminary designs for the first Mashrak-El-Azkar to be built in America, showing nine varying treatments in different styles of architecture (Bahai Publishing Society, Chicago) 1917
Box 1		The National Church and Shrine - Its Design, Organization and Work (Washington, D.C., Organizers of the National Church Foundation) 1929
Box 1		The National Church and Shrine of the United States of America to be Built in the City of Washington (Washington, D.C., Organizers of the National Church) 1927
Box 1		Das Neue Zeitalter - die Bahai-Offenbarung von Charles Mason Remey [translated into German by Wilhelm Herrigel] (Stuttgart, Verlag des Deutschen Bahaibundes Stuttgart) 1923
Box 1		Observations of a Bahai Traveler, Second Edition ([Washington, D.C.?], Bahai Publishing Society) 1914
Box 1		A Series of Twelve Articles Introductory to the Study of the Baha'i Teachings (Baha'i Publishing Committee, [New York?]) 1925
Box 2		Suggestions for the Arrangement of a Bibliography and Reference Indexes of the Baha'i Teachings with Practical Explanations of How to Build Up Baha'i Index Systems 1923
Box 2		The Universal Consciousness of the Baha'i Religion (Baha'i Publishing Committee, [New York?]) 1925
Box 2		We Called it a Vacation [alternatively titled by CMR on cover : "Account of a Yachting Cruise of Four Months in the Bahamas"] by George Remey Wadleigh (New York, John Felsberg Inc.) 1950

	Self-published writings
Box 2		Architectural Design for the Baha'i Temple to be Built Upon Mount Carmel in the Holy Land 1948
Box 2		The Biography of a House - a Monograph in Two Parts (2 volumes)
Box 2		The Daily Diary of Charles Mason Remey 1940
Box 2		The Daily Diary of Charles Mason Remey 1941
Box 2		The Daily Diary of Charles Mason Remey 1942 (2 volumes)
Box 3		The Daily Diary of Charles Mason Remey 1943 (2 volumes)
Box 3		The Daily Diary of Charles Mason Remey 1944
Box 3		The Daily Diary of Charles Mason Remey 1945 (2 volumes)
Box 3		The Daily Diary of Charles Mason Remey 1946
Box 3		The Daily Diary of Charles Mason Remey 1947
Box 3		The Daily Diary of Charles Mason Remey 1947-1948
Box 3		The Daily Diary of Charles Mason Remey 1948 (2 copies)
Box 4		Five Preliminary Architectural Sketches for the Temple of the Mashrak-El-Azkar Which the Followers of the Bahai Movement are to Build Upon the Shore of Lake Michigan at Chicago
Box 4		Herbert's Diary - an Account of Trailer Travels [ed. by Remey]
Box 4		Houses in Which the Remey Family and the For-Bears[sic] have Lived (2 volumes)
Box 4		Illustrated Description of a Design in the Persian-Indian Style of Architecture for the First Mashrak-El-Azkar (Bahai Temple) to be Erected in America, Humbly Offered to the Center of the Covenant Through the Bahai Temple Unity April 26-28, 1920
Box 4		In Memoriam Ezekiel Gilbert Gear 1793-1873 - sketch of the minister of the Episcopal Church in America
Box 4		Journal Diary European Baha'i Travels 1948 (3 volumes)
Box 4		Journal Diary of Baha'i Travels in Europe, part 1 1947
Box 5		Journal Diary of Baha'i Travels in Europe, part 2 1947
Box 5		Journal Diary of Baha'i Travels in Latin America 1946-1947 (2 volumes)
Box 5		Letters Treating of Baha'i Activities
Box 5		Life and Letters of Charles Mason, Chief Justice of Iowa, 1804-1882 v. 1-2 ("Edited and arranged by his eldest grandson Charles Mason Remey") 1939 (2 folders)
Box 6		Life and Letters of Charles Mason, Chief Justice of Iowa, 1804-1882 v. 3-6 ("Edited and arranged by his eldest grandson Charles Mason Remey") 1939 (4 folders)
Box 7		Life and Letters of Charles Mason, Chief Justice of Iowa, 1804-1882, v. 7-10 ("Edited and arranged by his eldest grandson Charles Mason Remey") 1939 (4 folders)
Box 8		Life and Letters of Charles Mason, Chief Justice of Iowa, 1804-1882, v. 11-12 ("Edited and arranged by his eldest grandson Charles Mason Remey") 1939 (2 folders)
Box 8		Life and Letters of Mary Josephine Mason Remey, Wife of Rear Admiral George Collier Remey, Daughter of Chief Justice Charles Mason, 1845-1938 v. 1-3 ("Edited and arranged by her eldest son Charles Mason Remey") 1939 (3 folders)
Box 9		Life and Letters of Mary Josephine Mason Remey, Wife of Rear Admiral George Collier Remey, Daughter of Chief Justice Charles Mason, 1845-1938 v. 4-8 ("Edited and arranged by her eldest son Charles Mason Remey") 1939 (5 folders)
Box 10		Life and Letters of Mary Josephine Mason Remey, Wife of Rear Admiral George Collier Remey, Daughter of Chief Justice Charles Mason, 1845-1938 v. 9-12 ("Edited and arranged by her eldest son Charles Mason Remey") 1939 (4 folders)
Box 10		Life and Letters of Rear Admiral George Collier Remey, United States Navy, 1841-1928 v. 1 ("Edited and arranged by his eldest son Charles Mason Remey") 1939
Box 11		Life and Letters of Rear Admiral George Collier Remey, United States Navy, 1841-1928 v. 2-6 ("Edited and arranged by his eldest son Charles Mason Remey") 1939 (5 folders)
Box 12		Life and Letters of Rear Admiral George Collier Remey, United States Navy, 1841-1928 v. 7-10 ("Edited and arranged by his eldest son Charles Mason Remey") 1939 (4 folders)
Box 12		The Mausoleum of the Remey Family 1945
Box 12		The National Church 1926
Box 13		The National Church and Shrine 1926
Box 13		Preliminary Designs for the Remey Family Mausoleum 1954
Box 13		A Record of the USS Remey
Box 13		The Remevm - Place of Commemoration and Sepvltvre of the Family of Rear Admiral George Collier Remey Vnited States Navy and his wife Mary Josephine Mason Their Descendants, For-Bears and Friends 1958
Box 13		The Remey Family 1654-1954 1957
Box 13		Reminiscences and Letters v. 1-2 (2 volumes)
Box 14		Reminiscences and Letters v. 3-7 (5 volumes)
Box 15		Reminiscences and Letters v. 8-11 (4 volumes)
Box 16		Reminiscences and Letters v. 12-16 (5 volumes)
Box 17		Reminiscences and Letters v. 17-21 (5 volumes)
Box 18		Reminiscences and Letters v. 22-26 (5 volumes)
Box 19		Reminiscences and Letters v. 27-32 (6 volumes)
Box 20		Reminiscences and Letters v. 33-37 (5 volumes)
Box 21		Reminiscences and Letters v. 38-42 (5 volumes)
Box 22		Reminiscences and Letters v. 43-47 (5 volumes)
Box 23		Reminiscences and Letters v. 48-52 (5 volumes)
Box 24		Reminiscences and Letters v. 53-57 (5 volumes)
Box 25		Reminiscences and Letters v. 58-62 (5 volumes)
Box 26		Reminiscences and Letters v. 63-68 (6 volumes)
Box 27		Reminiscences and Letters v. 69-74 (6 volumes)
Box 28		Reminiscences and Letters v. 75-80 (6 volumes)
Box 29		Reminiscences and Letters v. 81-85 (5 volumes)
Box 30		Reminiscences and Letters v. 86-91 (6 volumes)
Box 31		Reminiscences and Letters v. 92-97 (6 volumes)
Box 32		Reminiscences and Letters v. 98-102 (5 volumes)
Box 33		Reminiscences and Letters v. 103-107 (5 volumes)
Box 34		Reminiscences and Letters v. 108-111 (4 folders) (4 volumes)
Box 35		Reminiscences and Letters v. 112-116 (4 volumes)
Box 36		Reminiscences and Letters v. 117-119 (3 volumes)
Box 36		Reminiscences of Green Acre 1949 (2 volumes)
Box 37		Reminiscences of His Boyhood v. 1
Box 37		Reminiscences of His Childhood v. 1-4 (4 volumes)
Box 37		Reminiscent of Colonel William Butler Remey United States Marine Corps and Lieutenant Edward Wallace Remey United States Navy 1955
Box 37		A Teacher of the Baha'i Faith in South America parts 1 and 2 1945-1946 (2 folders)
Box 38		A Teacher of the Baha'i Faith in South America part 3 1945-1946
Box 38		Through Warring Countries to the Mountain of God 1915

Return to top