Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Additions: University Archives
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Bacon, Ernst, 1898-1990. |
| Title: | Ernst Bacon Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1917-1991 |
| Quantity: | 27 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Papers of the American composer, pianist, and conductor; Director of School of Music, Syracuse University and professor (1945-1963). Manuscripts, notebooks, sketchbooks, photographs, printed music, and essays. Notable correspondents in the collection inlude Ansel Adams, Carlisle Floyd, John Alden Carpenter, Kay Boyle, Aaron Copland, Witter Bynner, and Van Wyck Brooks. |
| Language: | Most in English, some in German |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Ernst Bacon (1898-1990) was an American composer, pianist, conductor, chamber musician, and teacher. For much of his teaching career he was Director of the School of Music at Syracuse University.
Born in Chicago, May 26, 1898, the son of Dr. Charles S. and Maria von Rosthorn Bacon, he attended Northwestern University and the University of Chicago, but obtained his master's degree from the University of California in 1935. He studied in Vienna for a time. After his return, He was associated with the Rochester Opera Company. Later he became conductor of the San Francisco Orchestra of the Federal Music Project, 1935-1937.
His first academic appointment was as acting professor of music at Hamilton College, in New York. Later he became Dean of the School of Music at Converse College, Spartanburg, South Carolina, 1938-1945. Mr. Bacon was appointed Director of the School of Music at Syracuse University in 1945, where he also taught piano and composition. In 1947 he became composer-in-residence. In Sept. 1964, he became composer-in-residence at the University of California at Berkley.
Mr. Bacon's major compositions were a musical play, A Drumlin Legend, commissioned by the Ditson Fund and premiered at the Columbia University Festival of Contemporary Music; his orchestral suite, From These States, in eleven movements, performed by the NBC Symphony; and his folk opera, A Tree on the Plains, commissioned originally by the League of Composers in 1940, had its premier at the Spartanburg, S.C., Festival, and which received the David Bispham Award for Contemporary Opera, Chicago 1946.
Mr. Bacon was awarded the Pulitzer Fellowship in 1932; Guggenheim Fellowship in 1939, 1942, Campion Citation; Grant-Citation National Institute of Arts and Letters; and he wrote musical criticism for the New York Times as well as musical commentary for the Syracuse Post-Standard and the Berkley Gazette. He is the author of the book Words on Music.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Ernst Bacon Papers consists of three separate accessions. The researcher is advised to explore the entire inventory to ensure locating all relevant material.
Main collection
The main collection consists of four series: correspondence, musical manuscripts, literary manuscripts, and published material.
Correspondence is arranged chronologically, apart from a few notable correspondents foldered separately. Notable correspondents in the chronological material inlude John Alden Carpenter, Kay Boyle, Aaron Copland, Witter Bynner, and Van Wyck Brooks.
Manuscripts is subdivided into material relating to Songs from Emily Dickinson, material relating to A Tree on the Plains, and general music scores. Material relating to Songs from Emily Dickinson and A Tree on the Plains is further subdivided into bound and unbound manuscripts; this in turn is further broken down into the types of manuscripts, such as orchestral, piano, songs, et cetera. General music scores is arranged by type or instrument for which the music was written (Cello & piano, choral, contrapuntal studies, opera, orchestral, piano, sketch books, sketches, and songs) and within that, alphabetically by title. When several scores were bound together or appeared in folio form, the title of the first piece was used for an alphabetical arrangement.
Literary manuscripts consists of addresses (radio), articles, books and plays, arranged alphabetically by title. All but one are typescript, although Bacon's handwritten corrections appear on many of the typescripts.
Published materials consists of articles, booklets, clippings and so on about and by Ernst Bacon. Material is subdivided by type.
Additions: University Archives
Two separate groupings of material were transferred from University Archives in 1991. The first grouping consists of Compositions and Writings. The second grouping consists of Artwork, Compositions, Writings, and Memorabilia (awards and photographs).
The bulk of this material remains in original order as received, and therefore is not consistently arranged. Some of this material duplicates items in other parts of the collection.
Additions: Don Siebert
A small amount of material, consisting of various scores and one essay, was donated to the collection in 1993 by Don Siebert, who was for more than forty years the Music Librarian for Syracuse University Libraries. Some of this material duplicates items in other parts of the collection.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
Special Collections Research Center has the papers of several important composers and musicians, including Franz Waxman and Miklos Rozsa. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.
Subject Headings
Persons
Bacon, Ernst, 1898-1990.
Subjects
Composers -- United States.
Conductors (Music) -- United States.
Music -- 20th century.
Musicians -- United States.
Orchestral music -- Scores and parts.
Pianists -- United States.
Songs with orchestra -- Vocal scores with piano.
Genres and Forms
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Essays.
Manuscripts for publication.
Musical scores.
Photographs.
Occupations
Composers.
Conductors (Music).
Musicians.
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Ernst Bacon Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Finding Aid Information
Created by: --
Date: Apr 1966
Revision history: Jan 1992 - Faculty/staff papers added (JOD);
1993 - additions (--);
Sep 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC);
Jan 2010 - oversize 3 update (MRC);
15 May 2012 - 1993 Additions inventory updated (MBD);
9 Feb 2017 - inventory verified, extensive corrections made (MS)
Inventory
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Adams, Ansel 1937-1938, undated | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Floyd, Carlisle 1946-1967 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Letters to editors 1940-1949, undated | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Miscellaneous 1925-1991 - some notable | ||||||||||
| Manuscripts, musical | |||||||||||
| Songs from Emily Dickinson | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Bound copy of Songs, Second Series | ||||||||||
| Contains the following: "As If Some Little Artic Flower" (original), 3 pages "Come Slowly, Eden!" (original), 3 pages "How Happy Is the Little Stone" (original), 2 pages "So Well That I Can Live Without" (original), 1 page "Oh, Shadow on the Grass" (original), 2 pages "It's All I Have" (original), 2 pages "Poor Little Heart" (original), 2 pages "Today or This Noon" (original), 1 page "The Cricket Sang" (original), 4 pages "And This of All My Hopes" (original), 2 pages "There Came a Wind Like a Bugle" (original), 5 pages "I Felt a Funeral in My Brain" (original), 4 pages "The Grass" (revised), 3 pages "So Set Its Sun in Thee" (original), 2 pages "So Bashful When I Spied Her" original), 2 pages "There Is a Solitude of Space" (original), 2 pages |
|||||||||||
| Bound with this is a copy of Songs From Emily Dickinson, 36 pages, which contains 12 songs (As if the sea should part, From blank to blank, Savior, How still the bells, The grass has so little to do, She went as quiet as the dew, My river runs to thee, I'm nobody, Let down the bars, It's coming the postponeless creature, The sun went down, Wild nights, The heart asks pleasure first) | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Unbound copies | ||||||||||
| Folio, containing "It's All I Have to Bring Today" et al. (original), 3 pages; The Sun Went Down" et al. (original), 4 pages | |||||||||||
| Single copies of the following: "Alter?" (original), 2 pages "And This of All My Hopes" (original), 1 page "As If the Sea Should Part" (original), 1 page "From Blank to Blank" (original), 1 page "The Grass So Little Has to Do" (original), 3 pages "The Heart Asks Pleasure First" (original), 3 pages "How Still the Bells" (original), 2 pages "I Felt a Funeral in My Brain" (original), 4 pages "It's Coming - The Postponeless Creature" (original and revised), 5 pages "It's Such a Little Thing (original) "Savior" 1930 (original), 3 pages "Savior" III (original), 3 pages "Savior" May 1930 (original), 2 pages "She Went As Quiet As the Dew" (original) (Seite/95), 2 pages "She Went As Quiet As the Dew" Oct. 1930 (original), 2 pages "So Set Its Sun in Thee" (original), 2 pages "A Spider" (original), 1 page "The Sun Went Down" (original), 2 pages "Today or This Noon" (original), 2 pages "With the First Arbutus" (original) "A Word" (reproduction), 1 page Sketch: "For Emily's Diary" (published by G. Schirmer) (original), 36 pages |
|||||||||||
| A Tree on the Plains | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Bound copy, dialogue and stage directions (reproduction) (5 copies) | ||||||||||
| Scores | |||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Full Score (2 volumes) | ||||||||||
| Volume I (reproduction), 138 pages Volume II (reproduction), 120 pages |
|||||||||||
| Box 2 | Parts, orchestral | ||||||||||
| Bass I (reproduction), 48 pages Bass II (reproduction), 48 pages Celesta (reproduction), typescript, 8 pages Cello (reproduction), 53 pages, 2 copies Clarinet I (reproduction), 39 pages Clarinet II (reproduction), 27 pages Fagott (reproduction), 32 pages Flute Alternating with Piccolo, 35 pages Harp (reproduction), 28 pages Horn I in F (reproduction), 29 pages Horn II in F (reproduction), 25 pages Oboe- Alternate with English Horn (reproduction), 31 pages Percussion - Bells and Xylophone (reproduction), 41 pages Percussion - Vibbs (reproduction), 41 pages, 2 copies Piano (reproduction), 45 pages |
|||||||||||
| Box 3 | Parts, orchestral (cont.) | ||||||||||
| Timpani (reproduction), 13 pages Trombone I (reproduction), 20 pages Trombone II (reproduction), 19 pages Trumpet I (reproduction), 28 pages Trumpet II (reproduction), 20 pages Tuba (reproduction), 20 pages Viola (reproduction), 49 pages, 2 copies Violin I (reproduction), 53 pages, 4 copies Violin II (reproduction) some original, 41 pages, 2 copies |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Parts, orchestral (cont.) | ||||||||||
| Piano and Voice (reproduction), 159 pages | |||||||||||
| Unbound copies | |||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Orchestral, full score, folio, original version | ||||||||||
| "Lou" (original and rep.), 9 pages "Love O'Clock" (original and rep.), 14 pages "Pop's Greeting" (original and rep.), 5 pages "The Jeremiah and Pop's Sermon" (original and rep.), 35 pages "The Last Train" (original and rep.), 13 pages "Just Let It Be" (original and rep.), 20 pages "Heat of the Plains" (original and rep.), 4 pages "Tough Cookie" (original and rep.), 11 pages "The Flower Patch" (original and rep.), 2 pages "Conversation Before a Storm" (original and rep.), 2 pages "Chewing Gum Island" (original and rep.), 13 pages "Night-time Music" (original and rep.), 10 pages "Buddy", 4 pages "Hey" (original and rep.), 11 pages "The Coming of Rain" (original and rep.), 17 pages "Frog Went A Courtin'" (original and rep.), 19 pages "Hymn to Evening" (original and rep.), 6 pages "Lou and Corrie" (original and rep.), 27 pages "Stars and Moon" (original and rep.), 21 pages "The Vamoose" (original and rep.), 8 pages "Pop's Song" (original and rep.), 12 pages "The Philosopher" (original and rep.), 7 pages "The Colorado Trail" (original and rep.), 20 pages |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Piano, first version, folio | ||||||||||
| "Stirrings of Air" (original), 1 page "A Pantomime of the Returning Neighbors" (original), 5 pages "Lou" (original), 2 pages "Lou and Corrie" (original), 6 pages "Love O'Clock" (original), 6 pages "Twenty Miles" (original) 4 pages "Pop's Greeting" (original) 4 pages "The Jeremiah and Pop's Sermon" (original), 25 pages "Mom" (original), 13 pages "The Last Train" (original), 8 pages "Just Let It Be" (original), 11 pages "Heat of the Plains" (original), 6 pages "Buddy" (original), 1 page "Tough Cookie" (original), 19 pages "Chewing Gum Island" (original), 13 pages "The Fight" (original), 22 pages "The Rain Pours Down Nightly" (original), 14 pages "Transport Plane" (original), 12 pages "Vamp for Froggie" (original), 1 page "Froggie" (original), 25 pages "Hymn to Evening" (original), 9 pages "Corrie's Song" (original), 7 pages "Duet- Lou and Corrie" (original), 19 pages "The Reverend" (original), 1 page "Of Stars and the Moon" (original), 15 pages "The Vamoose" (original), 11 pages "Moonset" (original), 35 pages "Corrie's Song" (original), 6 pages |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Piano, incomplete version, folio | ||||||||||
| "Fit To Be Tied" (original), 10 pages "Song of the Little Tree" (original), 2 pages "Twenty Miles" (original), 2 pages "The Jeremiah and Sermon" (original), 14 pages "The Progress of Streams" (original), 10 pages "Dialogue: Lou & Corrie" (original), 1 page "The Jeremiah and Pop's Sermon" (original), 10 pages "Let It Be" (original), 3 pages "Let It Be" (original), 5 pages "The Way It Is In Town" (original), 1 page "Heat of the Plains" (original), 4 pages "Night-time Music" (original), 4 pages "Conversation Before a Storm" (original), 5 pages "Chewing Gum Island" (original), 2 pages "The Coming of Rain" (original), 6 pages "Buddy" (original), 2 pages "Hymn to Evening"(original), 2 pages "Sequel to Hymn" (original), 1 page "Recitative, Blues, and Arioso" (original), 12 pages "Forever" (original), 8 pages "The Philosopher" (original) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Songs, folio bound copies | ||||||||||
| "Frog A Courtin'" et al. (reproduction), 11 pages "Heat of the Plains" (reproduction), 4 pages "The Last Train" (reproduction), 5 pages, 2 copies "Lou" et al. (reproduction), 40 pages, 2 copies "Lou" (reproduction), 3 pages "Lou's Discourse" (reproduction), 1 page "Lou's Song" (reproduction), 4 pages "Mom" (reproduction), 3 pages "Mom and Corrie" (reproduction), 3 pages "Mom and Pop" (reproduction), 3 pages "Morning After the Rain" (reproduction), 4 pages "Pop's Greeting" (reproduction), 4 pages "Pop's Sermon" (reproduction), 5 pages "Prelude" et al. (reproduction), 3 pages "Rain Jubilation" (reproduction), 3 pages "Tough Cookie" et al. (reproduction), 20 pages "Twenty Miles" et al. (original and reproduction), 13 pages, 3 copies "Wind Before the Rain" et al. (original and reproduction), 4 pages |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Songs, single copies | ||||||||||
| "About Mom" (reproduction), 4 pages "About Mom" (original), 3 pages "About Mom" (reproduction), 1 page "Amen Chorus" (reproduction), 2 pages, 10 copies "Amen Chorus" (original and reproduction), 2 pages "Before the Rain" (original), 2 pages "Buddy's Nocturne" (reproduction), 2 pages "Chewing Gum Island" (reproduction), 5 pages, 2 copies "Chewing Gum Island" (reproduction), 2 pages "The Coming of Rain" (original), 2 pages "Corrie" (reproduction), 2 pages "Corrie" (reproduction), 1 page "The Fight" (reproduction), 1 page, 12 copies "Finale" (rep,.), 1 page "Frog A Courtin" (reproduction), 10 pages, 4 copies "Greeting of the Dawn" (reproduction), 2 pages, 12 copies "Greeting of the Dawn" (reproduction), 1 page, 2 copies |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Songs, single copies (cont.) | ||||||||||
"Heat of the Plains" (reproduction), 4 pages, 2 copies "Hymn to Evening" (reproduction), 2 pages, 13 copies "Hymn to Evening" (reproduction), 1 page "Interlude" (reproduction), 1 page "Jeremiah" (reproduction), 5 pages, 3 copies "Jeremiah" (reproduction), 3 pages, 3 copies "Jeremiah" (reproduction), 1 page "The Last Train" (reproduction), 8 pages, 12 copies "The Last Train" (reproduction), 4 pages "The Last Train" (reproduction), 3 pages "Lou" (reproduction), 8 pages "Lou" (reproduction), 6 pages "Lou" (reproduction), 4 pages, 2 copies "Lou" (reproduction), 1 page, 3 copies "Lou" (reproduction), 1 page, 2 copies "Lou" (reproduction), 2 pages, 3 copies "Lou and Corrie" (reproduction), 12 pages "Lou and Corrie" (reproduction), 1 page "Lou's Discourse" (reproduction), 2 pages, 2 copies "Lou's Song" (reproduction), 4 pages "Lou's Song" (reproduction), 2 pages "Lou's Song" (reproduction), 1 page "Love O'Clock" (reproduction), 2 pages "Love O'Clock" (reproduction), 1 page, 2 copies "Mom" (reproduction), 3 pages "Mom" (reproduction), 1 page, 4 copies "Mom and Corrie", 3 pages "Mom and Pop" (reproduction), 3 pages, 4 copies "Mom's Rebuke" (reproduction), 3 pages, 2 copies "Morning After the Rain" (reproduction), 4 pages, 2 copies "Neighbor Man" (reproduction), 3 pages, 2 copies "Night-time Music" (reproduction), 4 pages, 2 copies "Noon Heat" (reproduction), 1 page, 16 copies |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 6 | Songs, single copies (cont.) | ||||||||||
"Pop's Greeting" (reproduction), 3 pages, 4 copies "Pop's Greeting" (reproduction), 2 pages "Pop's Sermon" (reproduction), 5 pages, 3 copies "Pop's Sermon" (reproduction), 9 pages "Pop's Sermon" (reproduction), 4 pages, 5 copies "Pop's Sermon" (reproduction), 3 pages, 4 copies "Pop's Sermon" (reproduction), 1 page, 13 copies "Pop's Sermon" (reproduction), 1 page, 6 copies "Prelude to the Fight" (reproduction), 3 pages, 4 copies "Rain Jubilation" (reproduction), 3 pages, 13 copies "Rain Jubilee" (reproduction), 3 pages, 3 copies "The Reverind" (reproduction), 2 pages, 2 copies "Return of the Neighbors" (reproduction), 1 page "Sequel to Hymn" (reproduction), 1 page "Shirley's Tap Dance" (reproduction), 4 pages "Song of Flowers" (reproduction), 4 pages "Song of Flowers" (reproduction), 1 page, 3 copies "Summing Up" (reproduction), 3 pages, 12 copies "Summing Up" (reproduction), 2 pages "Tough Cookie" (reproduction), 8 pages, 3 copies "Tough Cookie" (reproduction), 5 pages "Tough Cookie" (reproduction), 2 pages "Tree Song" (reproduction), 2 pages "Twenty Miles" (original & reproduction), 2 pages, 3 copies "Twenty Miles" (reproduction), 1 page, 6 copies "The Way It Is In Town" (reproduction), 3 pages, 2 copies "With the Mockingbird" (reproduction), 1 page "Wizard Oil" (original), 2 pages |
|||||||||||
| Miscellaneous | |||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Scores | ||||||||||
| 1 p. Lyric, "Tree" Notes, no score 1 p. (holograph), 2 pages 3 miscellaneous sheets (original), 3 pages IV "Pop's Greeting" (original), 2 pages "Mom" (original ), 2 pages XI "Various People" (original), 3 pages XXI Duet, "Lou and Corrie" (original), 1 page IX "Heat of the Plains" (original), 4 pages XIII "Night-time Music" (original), 4 pages "XXVIIa" (original), 1 page XXII "The Revrind" (original), 7 pages X "Tough Cookie" (original), 14 pages XV "The Rain After the Drought" (original), 3 pages XXIII "Of the Stars and the Moon" (original), 2 pages 1 Miscellaneous Half-sheet (original), 1 page XX "Transport Plane" (original), 4 pages "Transport Plane" (original), 3 pages "Lou and Corrie" (original), 2 pages "The Idling Windmill" (original), 2 pages "Lou and Corrie" (original), 9 pages "Mom and Pop" (original), 10 pages "The Jeremiah" (original), 1 page 2 Miscellaneous Sheets (original), 2 pages I "Lou and Corrie" (original), 1 page V "The Jeremiah and Pop's Sermon" (original), 7 pages XIV "The Fight" (original), 9 pages "Prelude" (original), 1 page "Mom and Corrie/ (original), 1 page Misc. unrecorded |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Old manuscripts | ||||||||||
| I "Lou" (original), 3 pages "Love O'Clock" (original), 3 pages "Twenty Miles" No. It (original), 3 pages "Pop's Greeting" (original), 4 pages "Mom" 1 (original), 5 pages "The Last Train" (original), 6 pages "Let It Be" (original), 5 pages "Various People" (original), 4 pages "Tough People" (original, "Tough Cookie"), 2 pages "Jeremiah" (original), 1 pages "Stand By Thee..." 10 A, B, C, D (original), 7 pages XIV "The Fight"'(original), 2 pages "Chewing Gum Island" (original), 3 pages "16a-3" (original), 1 pages "Chorus" (original), 1 pages "Pop" (original), 1 pages "Windmill" (original), 9 pages "Transport Plane" (original), 5 pages "Vamp for Froggie" (original), 1 pages "Frog Went A Courtin'" (original), 8 pages XVIIIa "Sequel to Hymn" (original), 2 pages "Recitative Blues and Arioso" (original), 9 pages XX "The Reverind" (original), 4 pages "The Vamoose" (original), 3 pages XXIII "An Easy Trot" (original), 4 pages "Rain After the Drought" (original), 4 pages 4 "Twenty Miles"(original)8 pages B "Chewing Gum Island" (original), 4 pages |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Old manuscripts (cont.) | ||||||||||
| "Pop's Greeting" et al. (original), 20 pages | |||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Sketches | ||||||||||
| "Night-time Music" et al. (original), 73 pages | |||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Sketches (cont.) | ||||||||||
| "Notes to a Lamp on the Plains" (original), 149 pages | |||||||||||
| General music scores | |||||||||||
| Cello and piano | |||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | "Sonata for Cello and Piano" parts 2-4 (original) (16 pages) | ||||||||||
| Choral | |||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | The Animals' Christmas Oratorio, to a text by Manuel Komroff, folio | ||||||||||
| "The Butterfly and the Ant" et al. (reproduction), 21 pages "The Skunk" et al. (reproduction), 14 pages Overture (reproduction), 18 pages |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | The Animals' Christmas Oratorio, to a text by Manuel Komroff, single songs | ||||||||||
| "The Butterfly and the Ant" (reproduction), 2 pages "The Butterfly and the Ant" (reproduction), 6 pages "Conclusion" (reproduction), 2 pages "The Cow and the Dogs" (reproduction), 2 pages "The Cozy Pig" (reproduction), 2 pages, 2 copies "Digging the Well" (reproduction), 1 page "The Hyena and the Cricket" (reproduction), 2 pages, 3 copies "The Lark and the Jay" (reproduction), 6 pages "The Lark and the Jay" (reproduction), 3 pages, 2 copies "The Lark and the Jay" (reproduction), 1 page, 2 copies "The Lion and the Sheep" (reproduction), 6 pages "The Lion and the Sheep" (reproduction), 2 pages "Pilgrim Hymn" (reproduction), 2 pages "The Praying Mantis" (reproduction), 6 pages, 2 copies "Preface" (reproduction), 2 pages, 2 copies "The Robin and the Gila Monster" (reproduction), 2 pages "The Secretary-Bird" (reproduction), 3 pages, 3 copies |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | The Animals' Christmas Oratorio, to a text by Manuel Komroff, single songs | ||||||||||
| "The Secretary-Bird" (reproduction), 1 page "The Skunk" (reproduction), 1 page Untitled (reproduction), 4 pages |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Ecclesiastes Cantata | ||||||||||
| Original, 79 pages | |||||||||||
| Oversize 8 | General choral numbers, folio | ||||||||||
| "A Carol" (original), 4 pages "Where Go the Boats" (original), 2 pages "Rain After the Drought" (original), 3 pages "Precepts Of Angelus Silesius" (1624-1677) (original), 11 pages "The Robe" (original), 2 pages "Shoutin' Pilgrim" (original), 3 pages "Morn and Night" (original), 1 page "Child's Evening Hymn" (original), 1 page "The Soule" (original), 1 page "Jonah" (original), 3 pages "Golden Rules" ( original), 2 pages "How Many?" (original), 2 pages "The Last Train" (original), 3 pages "Jonah" (original), 2 pages "The Long Farewell" (original), 2 pages "The Eternal Goodness" (original), 1 page "The Soule" (original), 1 page "Freedom" (original), 2 pages "The Schoolboy" (original), 3 pages "Shouting Pilgrim" (original), 4 pages "Return of Spring" (original), 2 pages "Where Go the Boats" (original), 2 pages "Chop-Cherry" (original), 2 pages "Yes, I Do!" (original), 2 pages "Ode" (original), 4 pages "Love Somebody" (original), 2 pages "A Christmas Carol" (original), 1 page "Waiting" (original), 1 page "The Gambling Man" (original), 4 pages "Love Somebody" (original), 4 pages "The Pelican" (original), 2 pages "The Little Children" (original), 1 page "Money" (original), 2 pages "God" (original), 1 page "A Christmas Carol" (original), 1 page "John Hardy" (original), 3 pages "The Robe" (original), 2 pages "Morn and Night" (original), 1 page "Ode to Freedom" (original), 3 pages "Golden Rules" (original), 1 page "Child's Evening Hymn" (original), 1 page "The Soldier's Little Boy" (original), 2 pages "John Hardy" (original), 7 pages "The Colorado Trail" (original), 3 pages "Shouting Pilgrim" (original), 7 pages "Morn and Night" (original), 1 page "Freedom" (original), 1 page "Jonah" (original), 1 page "The Houn' Dawg" (original), 2 pages "Just Down Yonder" (original), 2 pages "The Camel" (original), 3 pages "Devilish Mary" (original), 4 pages "Schools and Rules""(original), 1 page "Precepts of Angelus Silesius" (original), 7 pages "John Hardy" (original), 3 pages "Gifts from the Devil" (original), 2 pages "The Happier Sheep" (original), 2 pages "Down Yonder" (original), 4 pages "Gideon's Sword" (original), 1 page "Golden Rules" (original), 1 page |
|||||||||||
| Contrapuntal studies | |||||||||||
| Oversize 8 | Miscellaneous, early | ||||||||||
| "Fugue" (reproduction), 5 pages "Fugue" (original), 4 pages "Prelude" (original), 3 pages "Fugue" (original), 4 pages "Prelude" (original), 3 pages "Fugal Fantasy" (original), 6 pages "Fugue for Two Pianos" (original), 20 pages |
|||||||||||
| Opera | |||||||||||
| Oversize 8 | The Tempest, 1st version, folio | ||||||||||
| "Storm Before Act. I, Sc. I" (original), 8 pages "While You Here Do Snoring Lie" Act I, Sc. II (original), 1 page Musical Fragments for "Tempest," Act I, Sc. II (original), 2 pages Fragments for The Tempest Act I, Sc. II (original), 2 pages "Enter Trinculo with a Burden of Wood" Act II, Sc.II (original), 2 pages "Log-Bearing Music" (original) Act III, Sc. I, 3 pages "Caliban, "That's Not the Tune" Act III, Sc. II (original), 2 pages "Ariel, "Is Nothing But Heart's Sorrow and a Clear Life Ensuing" (original), 1 page "Introduction to Act IV" (original), 3 pages "Prospero and Ariel Setting on Diverse Spirits" Act IV, Sc.I (original), 3 pages "Music of the Shapes" (original), 2 pages "No More Dams" (original), 2 pages "Stephano's Song" (original), 2 pages "Full Fathom Five" (original), 1 page "Marriage Blessing" (original), 2 pages "Music of the Goddesses" (original), 2 pages |
|||||||||||
| Orchestral | |||||||||||
| Titled scores | |||||||||||
| Oversize 8 | Blue Ontario - includes miscellaneous scores; original (63 pages) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 8 | Country Roads - with lyrics; original (31 pages) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | From These States - with lyrics; original (87 pages) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 8 | The Muffin Man - reproduction; spiral bound (28 pages, 2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 12 | The Muffin Man - reproduction; folio (28 pages) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Miscellaneous scores | ||||||||||
| Prelude and Fugue (original), 26 pages Riolama (original), 21 pages Songs with Orchestra Bound (with lyrics) (original), 76 pages Symphony I 1st Movement (original), 68 pages Symphony I 3rd Movement (original), 38 pages "Never to Know" et al. (some with lyrics) (original), 131 pages "Tis Far Off Like a ( )" (some with lyrics) (original), 31 pages |
|||||||||||
| Piano | |||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Titled scores | ||||||||||
| Burr Frolic Two Pianos (original), 11 pages The Coal-Shuttle Blues 1 Piano (original), 12 pages with 4 pages of revisions Riolama (original), 9 pages Symphony I 2 Piano Version (original), 90 pages |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 10 | Titled scores (cont.) | ||||||||||
| Symphony II 2 Piano Version (original), 26 pages | |||||||||||
| Oversize 12 | General piano scores, volume I (1 volume) | ||||||||||
|
"Grey Days" (reproduction), 1 page
"Falling Snow" (reproduction), 5 pages "Those Damned Foreigners" (reproduction), 2 pages "Delirium of the City" (reproduction), 3 pages "The Prairies" (reproduction), 1 page "Boisterous Fugue" (reproduction), 8 pages "Rain Dripping Off the Roof" (reproduction), 1 page "Organ Grinder with Monkey" (rep;), 1 page "Gazing Out the Window" (reproduction), 1 page "Sweet Tones" (reproduction), 1 page "My Friends" (reproduction), 1 page "Goodbye to the Princess" (reproduction), 1 page "Fuge" (reproduction), 5 pages "Canonische Fuge" (reproduction), 4 pages "Fuge (drei stimmig)" (reproduction), 3 pages "Jazzing Shadows (Blues)" (reproduction), 8 pages "The Coal Shuttle Blues" (printed), 8 pages |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 12 | General piano scores, volume II (1 volume) | ||||||||||
|
"Kankankee River" (printed) pub. by Wesley Webster, San Bruno, Cal., 11 pages
"To the Children" (original), 2 pages "Organ Grinder with Monkey" (original), 3 pages "Tender Hands" (original), 2 pages "Sleepy River" (original), 3 pages "In Hungary" (original), 1 page "Gone Forever" (original), 1 page "Poc Hiss Piv Lento" (original), 1 page Miscellaneous Practice Pages (original), 2 pages "Wastin' Time" (original), 6 pages "Trio" (original), 6 pages "Coda" (original), 2 pages "Appendix" (original), 2 pages "How Still the Bells" (original), 3 pages |
|||||||||||
| Sketch books | |||||||||||
| Box 4 | [Untitled] | ||||||||||
| "Canons and Rounds" (original), 29 pages "Cello, Sonata, Orchestra" (original), 74 pages "The Cockleburr Frolic" (original), 109 pages "Elk Lake" (original), 61 pages "Epigrams" (original), 42 pages "Further Sketches for 'Drumlin Garden'" (original), 59 pages "John Hardy" et al. (original), 60 pages "A Little Cycle of Christmas Carols for Cello & Piano" (orig.), 73 pages "Little Tunes for the Piano" (original), 44 pages "Lullaby" (original), 24 pages "March" et al. (original), 120 pages "Misc. Sketches incl. Choral Work for 'Farewell'" (original), 79 pages "Notes for 'By Blue Ontario's Shore" (original), 24 pages |
|||||||||||
| Box 5 | [Untitled] | ||||||||||
| "Notes on 'By Blue Ontario's Shore"' (original), 55 pages "Of Love" et al. (original), 48 pages "Proverbs of Lao-Tsu" (original), 73 pages "Scraps" (original), 37 pages "Sketches of Overture and Piano Fugue Also College Song" (orig.), 51 pages "Songs" (original), 70 pages "Songs '50" (original), 46 pages "String Quartet in A Minor Incl. 4 Movements" (original), 31 pages "Table of Simple Newms and Song" (original), 53 pages "Tempest Notes" (original), 15 pages "Tunes for Drumlin Garden" (original & typescript), 78 pages |
|||||||||||
| Sketches, miscellaneous | |||||||||||
| Oversize 10 | "The Bat" | ||||||||||
| "The Bat" et al. (original), 190 pages | |||||||||||
| Oversize 10 | "Love" | ||||||||||
| "Love" et al. (original and reproduction), 108 pages | |||||||||||
| Oversize 10 | "Passacaglia" (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| "Passacaglia" et al. (original), 300 pages | |||||||||||
| Songs, bound | |||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | American Songs Taken from Life (1 volume) | ||||||||||
| Contents:
"Sourwood Mountain" lyrics (printed), 1 page "Sourwood Mountain" (original), 1 page "Come All Ye Fair" (reproduction) (original?), 3 pages "Hammer Song" (reproduction) (original?), 2 pages "Common Bill" (original), 2 pages "In the Days of Old Rameses" lyrics (printed), 1 page "In the Days of Old Rameses" (original), 2 pages "Bird in a Cage" (original), 2 pages "What Kind o' Pants (reproduction), 1 page "Way Over" (reproduction), 1 page "Red Iron Ore" (rep., 1 page "My Lulu" (reproduction), 2 pages "Casey Jones" (original), 7 pages "Fond Affection" (original), 2 pages "Wizard Oil" lyrics (printed), 1 page "Wizard Oil" (original), 1 pages "Don' Let Yo Watch Run Down" (original), pages "Yes, I Do" (original), 2 pages "Walky-Talky Jenny" (original), 2 pages "Walky-Talky Jenny" lyrics (printed), 1 page "El-a-noy" (original), 2 pages "Times Gettin Hard" (reproduction), 1 pages "The Hearse Song" (reproduction), 1 pages "Irish Lullaby" (reproduction), 1 pages "Walk In" (reproduction), 1 pages "St. James Hospital" (reproduction), 2 pages "Days of Forty-nine" (reproduction), 2 pages "The Cruel Ship's Carpenter" (reproduction), 3 pages "Putman's Hill" (reproduction), 1 pages "Hick's Farewell" (reproduction), 1 pages "Buffalo Gals" (reproduction), 2 pages "The Hypocrite and the Concubine" (reproduction), 2 pages "Trabbel On" (reproduction), 1 page "Lo Lotte" (reproduction), 1 page |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Four Lyrics (1 volume) | ||||||||||
| "Schilflied" German and English (original), 3 pages "Ich Liebe Dich" German and English (original), 2 pages "Ach Lieb, Ich Muss Nun Scheiden" German (original), 2 pages |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Of a Feather: Songs to Verses by Marie Welsh (1 volume) | ||||||||||
| "The Dove" (original), 2 pages "The Vulture" (original), 2 pages "The Pigeon" (original), 3 pages "The Condor" (original), 2 pages "The Sparrow" (original), 1 page "The Dove" (original), 2 pages "The Pigeon" (original), 2 pages "The Sparrow" (original), 1 page "The Condor" (original), 1 page "The Vulture" (original), 1 page |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 30 | Early Songs (1 volume) | ||||||||||
| "Wandl'ich in dem Wald des Abends" (Heine) German (original), 4 pages "Wandl'ich in dem Wald des Abends" (Heine) German (original), 3 pages "Der Brief" (original) in German, 4 pages "Frielingsgrusz" (original) in German, 3 pages "Serse gieht duch mien gemlith" (Heine) German (original), 3 pages "Childe Harold" (Heine) (original) in German, 2 pages "Aus Meinen grossen Schmergen" (original) in German, 4 pages "Where Go the Boats?" (original) in English, 2 pages "Looking-Glass River" (original) in English, 3 pages "Schniezlied" (Heine) (original) in English, 4 pages "Mit einem gemalten Band" (original) in German, 4 pages "Es War ein Fauler Schieffen" (original) in German, 3 pages |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Songs (1 volume) | ||||||||||
| "Cape Cod" (original), 5 pages "May Day" (original), 2 pages "The River" (original), 3 pages "Epitaph" (reproduction), 1 page "Omaha" (reproduction), 4 pages "Fog" (original), 2 pages "Rather" (original), 1 page "Where Go the Boats?" (original), 2 pages "Some Little Artie Flower" (original), 2 pages "The Grass" (original), 3 pages "Vespers" (original), 1 page Practice Sheet (original), 1 page "Never To Know" (original), 2 pages |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Songs (1 volume) | ||||||||||
| "First Day" (original), 3 pages "Twilight" (original), 2 pages "Ancient Christmas Carol" (original), 3 pages/2 pages, 2 copies "There Is a Solitude of Space" (original), 2 pages "My River Runs to Thee"(original), 2 pages "The Sun Went Down" (original), 2 pages "Let Down the Bars" (original), 2 pages "I'm Nobody" (original), 2 pages "Let Down the Bars" (original), 2 pages "The Sun Went Down" (original), 2 pages "Epitaph" (original), 2 pages "Ancient Christmas Carol" (original), 2 pages "Wanderers Night Song" (original), 2 pages "Der Soldat" (original), 2 pages "As If the Sea Should Not Part" (original), 1 page "From Blank to Blank" (original), 1 page "Wild Nights" (original), 3 pages "Let Down the Bars" (original), 2 pages "It's Coming -- the Postponeless Creature" (original), 2 pages "I'm Nobody" (original), 2 pages "My River Runs to Thee" (original), 2 pages "How Still the Bells" (original), 2 pages "There Is a Solitude of Space" (original), 3 pages "I Felt a Funeral In My Brain" (original), 3 pages "She Went As Quiet as the Dew" (original), 2 pages "The Grass So Little Has to Do" (original), 4 pages "So Set Its Sun in Thee" (original)., 2 pages "The Heart Asks Pleasure First" (original), 1 page "So Well That I Can Live Without" (original), 1 page "Savior" (original), 3 pages "And This of All My Hopes" (original), 2 pages "Epitaph" (original), 1 page "The Sobbing of the Bells" (original), 3 pages "The Last Invocation" (original), 2 pages "Beat! Beat! Drums!" (original),, 5 pages "Joy, Shipmate, Joy!" (original), 3 pages "One Thought Ever at the Fore" (original), 2 pages "Grand Is the Seen" (original), 5 pages "Whispers of Heavenly Death" (original), 3 pages "Darest Thou Now, O Soul" (original), 7 pages "Anthem For the United States" (original), 2 pages "Love, O Love" (original)', 2 pages "Drivin' Steel" (original), 2 pages "Brady" (original), 5 pages "The Colorado Trail" (original), 2 pages "Wastin' Time" (original), 3 pages "Great Gawd!" (original), 2 pages "Low Bridge or the Erie Canal" (original), 4 pages "De Boll Weevil" (original), 6 pages "Peepin' Through the Knothole" (original), 4 pages "Midnight Special" (original), 3 pages "Sucking Cider" (original), 2 pages "De Sunshine Special" (original), 2 pages "O, My Honey!" (original), 1 page "O Bury Me Not" (original), 3 pages "Anthem For the United States" (original), 1 page "Grandioso" (original), 1 page |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 12 | Songs (1 volume) | ||||||||||
| "Grand is the Seen" (printed), 3 pages "The Last Invocation" (printed), 2 pages "Darest Thou Now, O Soul?" (printed), 6 pages "Twilight" (printed), 2 pages "One Thought Ever At the Fore"(printed), 2 pages "Joy, Shipmate, Joys" (printed), 2 pages "Whispers of Heavenly Death" (printed), 4 pages "The Sobbing of the Bells" (printed), 3 pages Ten Songs by Ernst Bacon pub. by Ernst Bacon (printed), 35 pages "Du bist wie eine Blume" (Heine) (original) Translated on reverse side, 2 pages "Ich hab' Dich geliebt" (original), 2 pages "Ach Lieb, ich muss nun scheiden" (reproduction), 2 pages "Schubert" (reproduction), 2 pages "Dei Jedem Morgengrauen" (reproduction), 2 pages "Der Soldat" (reproduction), 2 pages "Sporuch" (reproduction), 1 page "Mit deinen blauen Augen" (Heine) (original), 2 pages "Vergiszmeinnicht" (original), 2 pages "An den Mond" (original), 6 pages, 1 page translated into English |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Two Serious Poems (1 volume) | ||||||||||
| "O Thou Who in Heaven Art" (reproduction) in German & English, 3 pages "Prayer" (original) in German ("Gebet") and English, 5 pages |
|||||||||||
| Songs, unbound | |||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Folio 1 | ||||||||||
|
"Come All Ye Fair" (original), 1 page "...Girl" (original) (p. 1, 2), 2 pages "A Carol" (original), 1 page "A Carol" (original), 2 pages "Preface" (original), 5 pages "Afterthought" (original), 2 pages 3 Miscellaneous Sheets (original), 3 pages "Euclid" (original), 1 page "The White Window" (original), 1 page "A Newcomer Arrives in this World" (original), 2 pages "...Brady" (original), 2 pages Miscellaneous- Untitled (original), 8 pages "Duet VII" (original), 4 pages Miscellaneous Scores (original), 8 pages "The Deep Sea" (original), 2 pages "Anthem to the United States" (original), 1 page "XVIII Chorus" (original), 4 pages "XXVIIb Duet" (original), 2 pages "IV Dialogue" (original), 1 page "XVI Chorus" (original), 1 page "A Fairy" (original), 3 pages "Don't Let Old..." (original), 8 pages [missing, 2/8/2017] "XXV Song" (original), 7 pages "VII Recitation" (original), 2 pages "The Outang (Orang-Outang) and the Elephant" (lyrics, no score) (original), 1 page "XXIVb Recit." (original), 1 page "XXV Recit." (original), 1 page "XIV Song" (origlpal), 2 pages "II Song" (original), 2 pages "IV Dialogue" (original), 2 pages |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 12 | Folio 2 | ||||||||||
|
"The Forsaken Heart" (original), 3 pages
"De Boll Weevil" (original), 5 pages "Sourwood Mountain" (original), 2 pages "Stars" (original), 2 pages "To Musique, To Becalme His Fevers" (original), 3 pages "The Divine Ship" (original), 1 page, 2 copies "The Little Stone" (original), 2 pages "Of Love" (original), 1 page "Fond Affection" (original), 2 pages "My Lulu" (original), 3 pages D3 "The Commonplace" (original), 3 pages D2 "A Clear Midnight" (original), 2 pages "The Commonplace" (original), 2 pages "Adam and Eve" (original), 3 pages "Is There Such a Thing As Day?" (original), 2 pages "And This of All My Hopes" (original), 2 pages "To Make a Prairie" (original), 2 pages "Sons of Snow-White Heads" (original), 3 pages "Velvet People" (original), 4 pages "To Musique To Becalme His Fever" (original), 2 pages "These Yellow Sands" (original), 2 pages "Of Love" (original), 1 page "Stars" (original), 2 pages "Gentle Greeting" (original), 2 pages "The Lamb" (original), 3 pages "Fond Affection" (original), 2 pages "Low Bridge or the Erie Canal" (original), 3 pages "Sourwood Mountain" (original), 2 pages "Sucking Cider" (original), 2 pages "Careless Love" (original), 2 pages "Common Bill" (original), 2 pages "The Colorado Trail" (original), 2 pages "It's All I Have" (original), 2 pages "Poor Little Heart" (original), 2 pages "So Bashful When I Spied Her" (original), 2 pages "The Grass" (revised version) (original), 3 pages "A Carol" (original), 1 page "Sinful Shoe" (original), 3 pages "How Happy Is the Little Stone" (original), 2 pages "Let Her Go Hang" (original), 2 pages "Come Slowly Eden" (original), 2 pages "Stephano's Song" (original), 1 page "Lullaby" (original), 4 pages |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 12 | SIngle songs | ||||||||||
| Piano score for "The River Queen" (original), 7 pages | |||||||||||
| Manuscripts, literary | |||||||||||
| Address, Radio | |||||||||||
| Box 5 | "Radio Address by Ernst Bacon" Oct. 27, 1941 (6 pages) | ||||||||||
| Articles | |||||||||||
| Box 6 | [Looseleaf binder, untitled] (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| "Musical Driftings" American Scholar, typewritten copy, 12 pages "Orchestras and Conductors" typewritten copy with holograph corrections, 8 pages "Music After the War" typewritten copy, 8 pages "The American Musical Credo" typewritten copy with holo. corrections, 5 pages "A New Policy for Symphony Conductors" typewritten copy, 7 pages "The Philharmonic Barshaw" typewritten copy (carbon), 11 pages Note, "one concerto unwritten...the concerto and orchestra" typewritten copy, 1 page "American Music and the Colleges" typewritten copy, 7 pages "The Land of Impractice" typescript, 52 pages "Who Writes Music?" typescript, 5 pages "The Teacher" typescript, 5 pages "The Clear Spring" typescript, 6 pages "Unpaved Roads" typescript with holograph corrections, 8 pages "The Assessor" typescript with correction, 5 pages "Of Schools and the Provinces" typescript, 8 pages "The Birth of Music" typescript with corrections, 8 pages "Musical Shop-Talk" typescript, 24 pages "Mr. President and the Faculty of Converse College" typescript, 7 pages "Proposal for the Music School" typescript, 9 pages "Outline of a New Orchestral Policy" typescript, 4 pages "The Metropolitan Opera in American Art" typescript, 12 pages "On the World's Greatest Bridge" typescript, 4 pages |
|||||||||||
| Books | |||||||||||
| Box 6 | Notes on the Piano - incomplete typescript copy (2 copies in 3 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Notes on the Piano - partial holograph and typescript copy | ||||||||||
| Dialogues | |||||||||||
| Box 7 | Imaginary Dialogues / Ernst Bacon April 28, 1989 - bound, blue covers | ||||||||||
| Plays | |||||||||||
| Box 7 | Take Your Choice / Ernst Bacon, Phil Maturas, Raisch Stol - typescript | ||||||||||
| Published material | |||||||||||
| Articles | |||||||||||
| About Ernst Bacon | |||||||||||
| Box 7 | "Ernst Bacon," Musical America April 1949 (2 pages) | ||||||||||
| By Ernst Bacon | |||||||||||
| Box 7 | "An Academic Stepchild," Converse Literary Journal (3 pages) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | "College, Town and Music," Bulletin of the Assn. of American Colleges (3 pages) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | "The Converse College Music Center," Southern Literary Messenger 1942 (5 pages) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | "Has the Native Culture a Future?" Musical Courier (1 page) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | "Means and Extremes," The Provincial Musician April 1937 (1 page) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | "Music and Intuition," Music Teachers National Assn. Bulletin 1949 (4 pages) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | "Musical Driftings," The American Scholar (Phi Beta Kappa Quarterly) Spring 1941 (7 pages) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | "On Musical Study," Southwestern Musician March 1949 (6 pages) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | "Poetry in Search of Music: The Songs of Ernst Bacon," Sewanee Review 1941 (3 pages) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | "Technique versus Talent," The Provincial Musician March 1937 (6 pages) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | "Toward a Musical Home Rule," The Southern Literary Messenger April 1940 (6 pages) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | "Who Writes Music?" Opera House News Nov. 1937 (2 pages) | ||||||||||
| Booklets | |||||||||||
| Box 7 | "Our Musical Idiom," The Open Court Publishing Company, Chicago 1917 (48 pages) | ||||||||||
| Music scores | |||||||||||
| Box 7 | The Burr Frolic, Associated Music Publishers 1944 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 12 | Ten Songs by Ernst Bacon, self-published (35 pages) | ||||||||||
| Newspaper Clippings | |||||||||||
| Box 5 | Berkeley Daily Gazette "Words on Music" column 1965 | ||||||||||
| "Time and the Avant-Garde,” Feb. 26, 1965 "The Sad Exodus from Our Area,” April 2, 1965 "The Doctoral Complot,” April 16, 1965 "Degrees 'Livil' All Ranks,,” April 26, 1965 "Secretary Bird in a Flap,” May 5, 1965 "Confessions of a Critic,” May 12, 1965 "The Symphony as a Civil Institution,” May 14, 1965 "Lets Revive the Salon,” May 19, 1965 "Farmers' Museum Fascinating Place"May 21, 1965 "A Major Career in Bay Area,” May 26, 1965 "Der Herr Dictator,” May 28, 1965 |
|||||||||||
| Box 5 | New York Times | ||||||||||
| "Sees Music Aids in Small School," Dec. 24, 1939 "Place of the American Interpreter," Jan. 2, 1944 |
|||||||||||
| Additions: University Archives | |||||||||||
| All material in this series transferred from University Archives, 1991, and remains largely in original order. | |||||||||||
| Some of this material duplicates material in the preceding portion of the collection. | |||||||||||
| Compositions [transfer from University Archives] | |||||||||||
| This material was transferred from University Archives, 1991. | |||||||||||
| Some of this material duplicates material in the preceding portion of the collection. | |||||||||||
| Oversize 13 | From These States (Gathered Along Unpaved Roads): A Suite for Symphony Orchestra, N.Y., Associated Music Publishers 1951 (1 volume) | ||||||||||
| Laying the Rails (a sledge hammer song) Source of the Tennessee The Sunless Pines The Saluda Barn Dance The Cliff Dwellers (no ancient cliffs, these) Wizard Oil Storm over Huron Lullaby to a Sick Child Polly's Murder Hickory Gap The Timberline Express |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 13 | Quiet Airs, S.U. Press & Mercury Music Corp. 1952 (1 volume) | ||||||||||
| Twilight, To Douglas Moore Gentle Greeting, To Yves Tinayre The Devine Ship, To Frances Crane Lillie Of Love, To Eva Gauthier Eden, To Albert and Elizabeth Elkins The Little Stone, To Albert Frankenstein Fond Affection, To Giulio and Eveline Silva Stars, to John Edmunds The Heart, To Ethel Luening Song of Snow-White Heads, To Henry and Sidney Cowell The Lamb, in memory of Janet Fairbank To Musique, To Becalme His Fever, To Leo Eloesser |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 13 | Ten Songs, published by Ernst Bacon, 35 Edgehill Way, San Francisco 1928 (3 copies) | ||||||||||
| Beat! Beat! Drums! To George Fleming Houston Der Du von den Himmel Hist (O Thou Who in Heaven Art) To Helen Beck Schilflied (Nocturne) To Mary Prentice Little Ich liebe Dich, To Helen Beck Die Nachtblume, To Virginia Mandyszewski Was ist mir denn so wehe? To Roland Hayes Gebet To Sigrid Onegin Wanderers Nachtlied, To my Mother First Day, To Eugene Lombard Twilight, To Paul Horgan |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 13 | Riolama 1962 - ten pieces for piano and orchestra | ||||||||||
| I Salem II The Chama, N.M. III Creede, Colo. IV Nantahala, N.C. V Ruwenzori, Africa VI Gnaw-Bone, Ind. VII Gaspe, Ont. VIII Nicasio Valley, Cal. IX Riolama, Venez. X Pico Perdido, Spain |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 13 | The Sky's The Limit 1959 - for symphonic or marching band dedicated to the Syracuse University Footballers (2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Symphony No. 2 set for 2 pianos by the composer 1936 (2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Fables for narrator and piano - 4-hand or 2 pianos | ||||||||||
| Preface The Lark and the Jay The Possum and the Skunk The Secretary Bird The Butterfly and the Ant The Lion and the Sheep The Robin and the Gila Monster The Cozy Pig The Praying Mantis The Cow and the Dogs The Barracuda The Hyena and the Cricket Digging the Well Conclusion? |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 15 | Great River: A Symphony for Narrator and Orchestra - full score | ||||||||||
| I Preface I A River Created II The Peaks Colorado III Pastoral Valleys IV Desert and Canyon V Mexico Bay (The Gulf) VI A Pueblo Dance Prayer VII An Indian Death VIII Spanish Soldiers before Battle (New Mexico 1599) IX Mountain Man (Toas 1820-1830) XI The Honey-Eaters XII American Visions |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 15 | Great River: A Symphony for Narrator and Orchestra - narrator's score | ||||||||||
| I A River Created II The Peaks III Pastoral Valleys IV Desert and Canyon V Mexico Bay VI The Pueblo Danse Prayer VII An Indian Death VIII Spanish Soldiers before Battle IX Mountain Men X Soldiers by Firelight (Texas 1846) XI The Honey-Eaters XII American Visions |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 15 | The Lord Star poem of Walt Whitman - cantata for mixed chorus, organ, brass, strings | ||||||||||
| Oversize 16 | A Tree on the Plains - music-play, piano score | ||||||||||
| Prelude Lou Love O'Clock Twenty Miled Pop's Greeting Neighbor Man Pop's Sermon Heat The Last Train Interlude Lou's Song Heat of the Plains Tough Cookie Return of the Neighbors Tree Song Mom's Rebuke Neighbors Chewing Gum Island Neighbors (cont) and Jeremiah Night-Time Music Prelude to the Fight Wind Before the Rain The Coming of Rain The Idling Windmill Transport Plane Frog A Courtin Shirley's Tap Dance Hymn to Evening Sequel to Hymn Corrie's Song The Reverend Buddy's Nocturne Mom and Pop The Plains at Night (Hight) The Vamoose Hoonget Dawn Morning After the Rain Lou's Discourse Mom and Corrie Finale |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 16 | Big Bend and other Stories - pieces for symphonic band | ||||||||||
| The Rolling Year An Ozark Story Joshua Ebenezer Fry None But the Righteous Garry Owen Mexican Hat The Old Gray Goose The Rumptifusel Drip-Drop Rain Captain Kidd The Chucklehead Lumkin County The Buffalo Skinners Weary Hut The Big Bend |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 16 | "Peterborough, N.H." 1952 - suite for viola and piano, for Mrs. Edward MacDowell | ||||||||||
| The Farm The 11:38 Daily The Rill Monadnock at Dusk Glad Day |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 17 | Three Pieces for Brass Choir and Percussion (1 volumes) | ||||||||||
| The Rolling Years The Little Black Train Granite Boys Joshua Ebenezer Fry |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 17 | August (poem by Annette Wynne) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 17 | Adam and Eve | ||||||||||
| Oversize 17 | After the Rain | ||||||||||
| Oversize 17 | Ariel's Song | ||||||||||
| Oversize 17 | Precepts of Angelus Silesius - for 2 or 3-part women's choir, for Bennington College | ||||||||||
| Oversize 17 | The Bohemian Hymn - for mixed voices, accompanied | ||||||||||
| Oversize 17 | Boston Hymn - chorale for mixed voices, a capella or accompanied | ||||||||||
| Oversize 17 | Apothegms - for mixed chorus and accompaniment | ||||||||||
| The Eternal Paradox The Lasting Stone Definition The Passing Moment Uses of Wit Eternity Truth and Man Nature The Poet Pedantry Spirits and Elements Teaching The Happier Sheep Gifts from the Devil The Levellers The Camel Our Friends To a Loving Husband |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 17 | Pieces For Band | ||||||||||
| None But the Righteous An Ozark Story The Rumptifusel Joshua Ebenezer Fry The Old Gray Goose Lumkin County Weary Hut Drip-Drop Rain Garry Owen The Rolling Years The Chucklehead Captain Kidd The Buffalo Skinners Mexican Hat The Big Bend The Sky's the Limit |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 18 | Symphony No. 2 1936 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 18 | Buffalo Gals: Songs from the American Folk for Voice and Piano, Carl Fischer Inc., NY 1966 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 18 | Four Pieces for Wind Solo and Piano | ||||||||||
| Dusk Over the Marsh Stony-Lonesome 4 Poultry or The Barnyard Pecos Bill |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 18 | Four Pieces for Two Violins and Piano | ||||||||||
| Ode to Dusk Garry Owen Ground Hog Three Little Babes |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 18 | Pieces for Solo Piano | ||||||||||
| The Rolling Years Lumkin County Captain Kidd Lost Children Stoney-Lonesome (Ind.) The White Window Little Things A Western Habanera Reuben Drip-Drop Rain Flop-Eared Man The Cool Moon (a nocturne) Hell in Texas (revised) The Ragged Rascal The Chucklehead Petticoat Slide An Ozark Story The Lobo Girl of Devil's River |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 19 | Five Apothegms of Lao-Tzu - Bynner translation, for narrator and string quartet | ||||||||||
| The Breath of Life Those Who Would Take Over A Man's Heart The Yield of Water Renewal |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 19 | Music for Cello and Piano | ||||||||||
| The Flower of Night The Purple Land The Rose of Wintertime (Christmas carol) Greensleeves (Christmas carol) Mother and Child (Christmas carol) The Holly and the Ivy (Christmas carol) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 19 | Welcome - suite for cello and piano, written for the birth of Bacon's son Paul | ||||||||||
| Birth Light Love (a mother and father regard their child) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 19 | The Barnyard (2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 19 | Prologue to "Everyman" 1945 - for organ, solo cello and optional harp; written for the Rocky Mountain Festival, Denver University | ||||||||||
| Oversize 19 | The Dove | ||||||||||
| I The Dove II The Vulture III The Sparrow IV The Pigeon V The Condor |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 20 | Quintet for Strings and Piano - based on The Tempest; full score and parts for cello, violin, viola, and violin | ||||||||||
| Shipwreck and the Enchanted Isle Ariel Conspirators Caliban Miranda and Prospero Danse of the Shapes Diverse Spirits Punish the Conspirators and Prospero's Epilogue |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 21 | By Blue Ontario's Shore | ||||||||||
| Oversize 20 | Caliban - includes untitled fragment (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 20 | The Colorado Trail | ||||||||||
| Oversize 20 | Calm Soul | ||||||||||
| Oversize 20 | A Carol | ||||||||||
| Oversize 20 | Courting Day / Monday Was My Courting Day | ||||||||||
| Oversize 21 | A Cradle Hymn | ||||||||||
| Oversize 21 | Cripple Creek | ||||||||||
| Oversize 21 | Destiny of the Flag | ||||||||||
| Oversize 21 | Definition | ||||||||||
| Oversize 21 | Death | ||||||||||
| Oversize 21 | Day's End | ||||||||||
| Oversize 21 | The Cruel Ship's Carpenter | ||||||||||
| Ecclesiastes | |||||||||||
| Oversize 22 | Full score - for mixed chorus and orchestra with bass and soprano solos; no title songs (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 22 | Piano score | ||||||||||
| Oversize 21 | Flowers and Moonlight | ||||||||||
| Oversize 21 | The Floundering Whale | ||||||||||
| Oversize 21 | The First Sunset | ||||||||||
| Oversize 21 | Eternity | ||||||||||
| Oversize 21 | The Eternal Goodness | ||||||||||
| Oversize 21 | Epitaph | ||||||||||
| Oversize 23 | From Emily's Diary - full score; for women's chorus and orchestra (small) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 23 | Songs for High Voice - poem of Emily Dickinson | ||||||||||
| Eternity Sweet is the Swamp Ample Make this Bed A Word The Gentlest Mother I'm Nobody As Imperceptibly as Grief The Sun Went Down Savior Snow A Cemetery The Mountain Yellow The Pedigree of Honey As I Love Thee She Went A Threadless Way With the First Arbutus This Wondrous Sea It's Such a Little Thing A Spider The Morns are Meeker Water To Venerate the Days Few Get Enough |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 22 | Yes I Do | ||||||||||
| Oversize 22 | The School Boy | ||||||||||
| Oversize 22 | St. James's Hospital | ||||||||||
| Oversize 22 | Sailing Homeward | ||||||||||
| Oversize 22 | The Poet | ||||||||||
| Oversize 23 | The Passing Moment | ||||||||||
| Oversize 23 | Wastin' Time | ||||||||||
| Oversize 23 | The Unseen Soul | ||||||||||
| Oversize 23 | The Spanish Armada | ||||||||||
| Oversize 23 | The Source | ||||||||||
| Oversize 23 | Night and Day | ||||||||||
| Oversize 23 | In the Valley | ||||||||||
| Oversize 23 | The Day of Old Rameses | ||||||||||
| Oversize 23 | I Felt a Funeral in My Brain | ||||||||||
| Oversize 23 | Homecoming | ||||||||||
| Oversize 23 | Hammar Man | ||||||||||
| Writings [transfer from University Archives] | |||||||||||
| This material transferred from University Archives, 1991. | |||||||||||
| Some of this material duplicates material in the preceding portion of the collection. | |||||||||||
| Manuscripts | |||||||||||
| Box 7 | The Art of Giving [alternate title: The case for patronage] - typescript (3 copies) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | The Critic's Dilemma - typescript (2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Der Herr Diktator - typescript (2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | The Doctoral Complot - typescript (2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | The Farmer's Museum (2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | "Musical Quillets" in Music Journal July, 1966 (2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Music and Children - typescript (2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | A Music Center - typescript (2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | The New Puritanism - typescript (2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Retirement by the Clock - typescript, typescript copy (2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Fables - typescript copy (106 pages) | ||||||||||
| Artwork [transfer from University Archives] | |||||||||||
| This material transferred from University Archives, 1991. | |||||||||||
| Box 7 | Drawings (3 items) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Paintings (3 items) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 24 | Watercolors | ||||||||||
| Compositions [transfer from University Archives] | |||||||||||
| This material transferred from University Archives, 1991. | |||||||||||
| Some of this material duplicates material in the preceding portion of the collection. | |||||||||||
| Oversize 24 | Air des Bouffons - score | ||||||||||
| Oversize 24 | Animals' Christmas Oratorio - for boys or women's voices with narrator & piano; includes published edition, Theodore Presser, Bryn Mawr, PA (2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 30 | Bearwalla - orchestral score | ||||||||||
| Oversize 24 | Beat! Beat! Drums! - score; with obbligato voice | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Billy in the Darbies - Melville's poem in "Billy Budd" | ||||||||||
| Oversize 24 | Canons a capella | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Canons on names | ||||||||||
| Box 10 | Canons, vocal (3 items) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Cello ensembles, easy | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Chittenango - orchestral parts | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Choral parts for canons / Vocal duets | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | Chorus with piano | ||||||||||
| Oversize 24 | Chorus V / Christmas Chous | ||||||||||
| Babe of Bethlehem (2 versions) Children, Go (2 versions) Christmas Eve The Friendly Beasts Go Tell It On the Mountain The Infant Jesus King Wenceslas Mary Masters in the Hall (2 versions) Sussex Carol (2 versions) The Valley of Judea Wassail Song Ye Shepherds Year's End |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 24 | Concerto Grosso | ||||||||||
| Oversize 24 | The Corn Belt for Band | ||||||||||
| Oversize 24 | Drum Taps (full score) | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Duets (simple) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 24 | Early German songs (1 volume) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 24 | Emily Dickinson originals from "Nature" | ||||||||||
| Oversize 24 | E[mily] Dickinson originals # II | ||||||||||
| Oversize 25 | E[mily] Dickinson settings with orchestra | ||||||||||
| Oversize 25 | E[mily] Dickinson song (last, complete) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 25 | Emily Dickinson songs / 1 Robert Burns song | ||||||||||
| Oversize 25 | Emily's Diary - S & A chorus with small orchestra | ||||||||||
| Oversize 25 | Folk settings - two versions, one with piano (simple, unison), the other for solo or unison chorus | ||||||||||
| Oversize 25 | "Hootnanny," a collection of 4-hand piano pieces | ||||||||||
| Oversize 25 | Housman, A. E. (songs to) | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | Housman, A. E. (songs to) | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Hymns (2 items) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 25 | Hymns & anthems (35 items) | ||||||||||
| Hymns for chorus and strings [missing 2/8/2017] (5 items) | |||||||||||
| Oversize 25 | Jehovah & the Ark, 2 piano version - originals; includes Interludes | ||||||||||
| Oversize 26 | Lieder MSS. published or changed (earlier versions) | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | "The Lord Star" cantata for mixed chorus, baritone, organ & wind | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | Music notebooks | ||||||||||
| Cello Concerto; Folk Songs; Fugue; Piano Pieces; Scherzo; | |||||||||||
| Box 8 | Miscellaneous (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 26 | My River - parts & score | ||||||||||
| Oversize 30 | "Nature" - includes bound photocopy of published edition, E. C. Schirmer, Boston, MA (2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 26 | Non-Dickinson lieder | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Notes on Babylon | ||||||||||
| Oversize 26 | "Of a Feather" - for SA chorus with piano | ||||||||||
| Oversize 26 | Patriotic American songs, etc. (10 items) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 26 | Piano (children, easy) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 27 | Piano, four-hand and three-hand for 2 pianos | ||||||||||
| Oversize 26 | Piano, mostly published - includes published edition of "The Hootnanny for One or Two Pianos - Four Hands," Chappell, N.Y. | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Piano (Parliament of Fowls) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 30 | Piano originals | ||||||||||
| Oversize 30 | Piano pieces, Grades 1 to 6 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 27 | Piano pieces, miscellaneous (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 27 | Piano pieces, miscellaneous, solo (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 26 | Piano pieces needing revise or re-write | ||||||||||
| Piano solo [missing 2/8/2017] | |||||||||||
| Oversize 28 | Piano solo, Beginner I | ||||||||||
| Oversize 28 | Piano solo, Simple Airs from Here and There | ||||||||||
| Oversize 29 | Piano solos vocal solos / Progressive versions of 3 tender songs (late) | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | Piano works (late) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 29 | Piano works (very late) | ||||||||||
| Pianos (2) [missing 2/8/2017] (2 folders) | |||||||||||
| Box 9 | The Possum and the Skunk | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Publisher's engravings of: "Year's End," "Go, Tell it on the Mountain," "Far Away" | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Recessional - includes various fragments | ||||||||||
| Oversize 29 | Remembering Ansel Adams | ||||||||||
| Rounds and canons [missing 2/8/2017] | |||||||||||
| SA a capella [missing 2/8/2017] | |||||||||||
| Oversize 28 | SA with piano or TB | ||||||||||
| Oversize 28 | SATB a capella | ||||||||||
| SATB with piano [missing 2/8/2017] | |||||||||||
| Sketches [missing 2/8/2017] | |||||||||||
| Box 9 | Sketches for Requiem | ||||||||||
| Oversize 32 | Sonata for cello and piano | ||||||||||
| Sonata for viola and piano [missing 2/8/2017] | |||||||||||
| Box 8 | Sonatina et al. "No. 7" | ||||||||||
| Songs (group) [missing 2/8/2017] | |||||||||||
| Box 8 | Trio piano, violin, cello, first version | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Trio, score | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Trio, #2 - copy of score and parts | ||||||||||
| Oversize 28 | Unison chorus with piano | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Viola and piano sonata | ||||||||||
| Oversize 32 | Voyage to Ararat | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | White Marsh | ||||||||||
| Oversize 32 | Wind ensembles with piano and narrator (2 items) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 29 | Woodpile | ||||||||||
| Oversize 29 | Woodpile of incomplete very late works (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | Miscellaneous musical sketches, fragments | ||||||||||
| Oversize 31 | Miscellaneous original pages for voice and piano | ||||||||||
| Oversize 31 | Untitled songbook | ||||||||||
| Writings [transfer from University Archives] | |||||||||||
| This material transferred from University Archives, 1991. | |||||||||||
| Some of this material duplicates material in the preceding portion of the collection. | |||||||||||
| Drama | |||||||||||
| Box 9 | "The Whitehouse Blues" script | ||||||||||
| Essays | |||||||||||
| Box 9 | "Advice to Music Patrons" - manuscript | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | "The Artist and the Critic" in "Twenty Articles on the Art of Criticism," Northwest Arts 1984 - reprint | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | "Author's Note" - manuscript draft | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | "Means and Extremes," The Provincial Musician April 1937 | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | "Poetry in Search of Music"; "Songs of Ernst Bacon" / J. St. Edmunds, The Sewanee Review 1941 | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | "Retirement by the Calendar" - manuscript draft | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | "Revolt and Change" - manuscript draft (3 copies) | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | "Toward a Musical Home-Rule," Southern Literary Messenger - photocopy of article | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | "The Tragedy of American Music" - manuscript draft | ||||||||||
| Poetry | |||||||||||
| Box 9 | Miscellaneous | ||||||||||
| Speeches | |||||||||||
| Box 9 | "Remarks to the Music Faculty" 1957 - typescript | ||||||||||
| Miscellany | |||||||||||
| Box 9 | Apothegms - typescripts, carbons | ||||||||||
| Box 10 | Autobiography - original plan and outline; includes 1987 article "Native soil" from Living Music, vol. 5 no. 2 Winter 1987 | ||||||||||
| Box 10 | Autobiography - original draft; handwritten | ||||||||||
| Box 10 | Autobiography - original draft; additional material, handwritten (103 pages) | ||||||||||
| Box 10 | Autobiography - additional material; handwritten and typescript (47 pages) | ||||||||||
| Box 10 | Autobiography - miscellaneous autobiographical material, handwritten and typescript (47 pages) | ||||||||||
| Box 10 | Autobiography - first version; handwritten (3 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 11 | Autobiography - "Friends, depression years"; handwritten | ||||||||||
| Box 11 | Autobiography - introduction; heavily revised (and rejected) version; typescript with handwritten corrections | ||||||||||
| Box 11 | Autobiography - first typed draft; typescript with edits (5 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 12 | Autobiography - miscellaneous pages; typescript (141 pages) | ||||||||||
| Box 12 | Autobiography - miscellaneous pages; typescript (182 pages) | ||||||||||
| Box 12 | Autobiography - miscellaneous pages; typescript (55 pages) | ||||||||||
| Box 12 | Autobiography - "O. N. Cable" version; typescript | ||||||||||
| Box 12 | Autobiography - spiral-bound typescript with handwritten corrections | ||||||||||
| Box 13 | Autobiography - miscellaneous unsorted material; typescript (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 13 | [The Honor of Music] The Pathology of Music [earlier title] - typescript with corrections | ||||||||||
| Box 13 | The Honor of Music, draft - draft with corrections (1 folder) | ||||||||||
| Box 14 | The Honor of Music, draft (cont.) - typescript with corrections (6 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 15 | The Honor of Music, draft (cont.) - typescript with corrections (1 folder) | ||||||||||
| Box 15 | The Honor of Music, bound - typescript, spiral bound with handwritten forward | ||||||||||
| Box 15 | "Imaginary Dialogues" - typescript | ||||||||||
| Box 15 | Special items - manuscript drafts | ||||||||||
| Box 15 | "Tales from the Music World" - manuscript drafts (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Memorabilia [transfer from University Archives] | |||||||||||
| This material transferred from University Archives, 1991. | |||||||||||
| Some of this material duplicates material in the preceding portion of the collection. | |||||||||||
| Box 8 | Awards 1952 - Campion Society Citation | ||||||||||
| Box 15 | Photographs | ||||||||||
| Oversize 31 | Photographs - includres clipping of Bacon when he was artist in residence at Syracuse University | ||||||||||
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| Box 15 | "Ernst Bacon: A Contemporary Tribute" by Paul Horgan | ||||||||||
| Box 15 | "Remembering Ernst Bacon" 1990 - program honoring his life | ||||||||||
| Box 15 | Miscellaneous | ||||||||||
| Box 15 | Student career - notebook, score sheets | ||||||||||
| Additions: Don Siebert | |||||||||||
| This material gift of Don Siebert, 1993. | |||||||||||
| Some of this material duplicates material in the preceding portion of the collection. | |||||||||||
| Scores | |||||||||||
| Oversize 32 | Early Compositions for Piano - original piano score, bound | ||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Early Songs - original piano score, bound | ||||||||||
| Oversize 31 | Five Apothegms of Lao-Tzu, (unbound) - Bynner translation for narrator and string quartet; scores for violin I, violin II, viola, cello and narrator | ||||||||||
| Box 15 | Five Hymns, Summy-Birchard Publishin Co., Evanston, IL 1952 - for mixed chorus and piano or organ; published as part of Birchard Boston University Contemporary Music series | ||||||||||
| Oversize 32 | Five Hymns for chorus and strings - for mixed chorus and piano or organ | ||||||||||
| Oversize 31 | Folk Songs - original piano score, bound | ||||||||||
| Box 15 | The Robe, Shawnee Press, Delaware Water Gap, PA 1953 - for mixed chorus and piano; published as part of Waring Workshop series | ||||||||||
| Box 15 | Shouting Pilgrim, Lawson-Gould Music Publishers, NY 1954 - a fuguing tune for mixed chorus and piano four hands; published as part of Robert Shaw Choral series | ||||||||||
| Writings | |||||||||||
| Box 15 | Essay, "Life and Freedom" - typescript | ||||||||||