Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Baum, Dwight James, 1886-1939. |
| Title: | Dwight James Baum Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | circa 1922-1950 |
| Quantity: | 10 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Papers of the American architect. Collection includes pencil drawings, miscellaneous published materials, and several hundred photographs (interior and exterior) of completed Baum architectural projects, mostly homes in Florida and New York State. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Dwight James Baum (1886-1939) was an award-winning American architect and writer on architecture. Much of his work was done in Florida; he also designed several buildings for Syracuse University.
Born in Little Falls, New York, Baum graduated from Syracuse University in 1909 and almost immediately began a steady rise in reputation and respect in his chosen field. He specialized in country homes and institutional work; among other things he designed Syracuse Memorial Hospital and the Columbus Circle area in Syracuse, the Westside YMCA and Trade School in New York City, and the Hotel El Verona in Sarasota, Florida. One of his largest projects was the mapping out of a 50-year building and expansion plan for Syracuse University, as part of which he was the architect for Hendricks Chapel, the College of Medicine (now part of Upstate Medical University), and the Maxwell School of Citizenship. Baum also served as architect for Wells, Clarkson, Hartwick, and Middlebury Colleges, all in New York State.
Baum also played a significant part in the development of Florida in the 1920s, designing among other things dozens of individual homes, a newspaper plant and a country club; serving on the board of architects for the complete replanning of Clewiston; and devising a new town plan for Fort Pierce.
Baum wrote many articles, and served as architectural consultant to Good Housekeeping magazine. His plans were exhibited at venues in Paris, London, Berlin, and several South American cities. His abilities were recognized numerous times during his career. He won bronze medals (1931, 1932, 1933) and gold medals (1932) from Better Homes in America, a gold medal from the Architectural League of New York, and in 1934 was awarded an honorary doctorate of fine arts from Syracuse University. On that occasion, Chancellor Charles Flint praised him:
"...for that rare combination of business and executive ability, precise knowledge of structural problems, thoroughness in coordination of plan requirements to the purpose of the project, discriminating cognition and realization of preparation and detail in design, along with a high sense of beauty..."
Baum was member of the Beaux Arts Institute of Design, American Federation of Arts, Architectural League of New York, National Sculpture Society, American Institute of Architecture, and the University Club of New York.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The bulk of the Dwight James Baum Papers consists of Photographs. Styles include Italianate, Colonial, Dutch Colonial, Georgian, and English. A few Pencil drawings by Eggers and Baum, and some Miscellaneous material (an index of wooden frame houses, some published material, miscellaneous other items) complete the collection.
Arrangement of the Collection
With a few exceptions, the collection is arranged alphabetically by building or project name.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of leading architects. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Dwight James Baum Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Majority of papers, gift of Dwight James Baum, 1967.
William Kip residence drawings, gift of Alice Cahn, 2011.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: --
Date: --
Revision history: 5 Sep 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC);
10 Feb 2011 - additions; inventory expanded (MRC);
14 Sep 2012 - corrections, pkg 41 (MRC);
9 Mar 2016 - paper packages rehoused in archival containers (MRC);
14 May 2018 - Hamilton photos, OS 8, identified (MRC);
28 Sep 2018 - Oversize 14 and 15 corrected (MRC)
Inventory
| Photographs | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Allyn, S. C. (27 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Dayton, OH Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Adams, George Matthew 1923 (21 exterior ) | ||||||||||
| Style: [Italian]
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Baily House [MISSING] | |||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Bronxville, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Barnum, Mrs. Jerome D. (3 exterior before alteration, alterations to Queen Anne house) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Syracuse, NY Photographer(s): Fenner, G. |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Burns, Ed (4 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Florida Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Barrett, Walter (19 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Tampa, FL Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Bates, Nicholas E. (27 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Spanish
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Bates, Ralph (12 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: [?]
Location: Englewood, NJ Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Barnes, Richard P. (3) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Englewood, NJ Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Baum, Mr. and Mrs. Dwight James (45 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Baum, Dwight James (office) (9 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: English
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Cox, Howard; Hewitt, Mattie Edwards |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Baum, Faljetto (7 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Syracuse, NY |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Bonnfield | ||||||||||
| Style: Unknown
Location: Florida Photographer(s): Weber, Paul J. (Boston) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Bridgers, Henry Clark (8 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Tarboro, NC |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Bulkley, Dr. L. Duncan (15 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace; Gottscho, Samuel; Weber, Paul J. (Boston) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Buckner, Thomas A. Jr. (1) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Boardman, Francis (7 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace; Weber, Paul J. (Boston) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Bierman (1) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: [?] Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Beichl, A. J. | ||||||||||
| Style: Unknown | |||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Campagna, Michael (10 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Weber, Paul J. (Boston) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Campagna, Armido (7 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Campagna, Anthony (35 exterior and interior, AIA corresp.) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Farmdale, NY |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Chapman, Mrs. J. Wilbur (5 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Chicago Pavillion (7) | ||||||||||
| Style: Unknown
Location: Chicago, IL Photographer(s): Kaufmann and Fabry |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Contessa Villa (18) | ||||||||||
| Style: English
Location: Newport, RI Photographer(s): Child, Frank H. (Newport, RI); Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Collins, Dr. Francis J. [1936] (8 exterior, 2 floor plan) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel; Weber, Paul J. (Boston) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Cooper, Clayton Sedgwick (7 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: [Colonial]
Location: 246 E. 48th St. Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Chase, Mrs. Benjamin (12 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Syracuse, NY |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Cooper, Creighton | ||||||||||
| Style: Unknown
Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Crosley, Powel (38 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: English
Location: Cincinnati Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Dailey, Clarke G. (14 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: English
Location: Fieldston, NY |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Delafield, Edward C. (18 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Cox, Howard; Hewitt, Mattie Edwards |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Dancey, Charles E. (5 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Lynnbrook Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Deneger, Armine (6 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Dodge, Cleveland H. (8 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace; Weber, Paul J. (Boston) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Drumlins Country Club (6 before and after alterations - See SU Archives for more information) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Syracuse, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel; Smith, Lindsley and Arnold Commercial Photo System |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Elliot, A. (4 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: English
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Emery, Archibald C. (13 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Montclair, NJ Photographer(s): Duryea, Drix; Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Evans, Englehardt (11 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace; Hewitt, Mattie Edwards; Smutny, R. V.; Weber, Paul J. (Boston) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Fein, Robert (2 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Smutny, R. V. |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | First Baptist Church (1 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Montclair, NJ |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Flack, Robert L. (12 interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Yonkers, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Furnald, Dr. Lynn Fulkerson (10 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Weber, Paul J. (Boston) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Fuerth, Gustave (1 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Unknown
Photographer(s): Hewitt, Mattie Edwards |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Galban house (7 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Spanish
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Gallager (1 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: [?] Photographer(s): Weber, Paul J. (Boston) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Galley, Charles (3 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: English
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Gibbes, William (26 exterior and interior, House Restoration) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Charleston, SC Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Griffin, Mr. John W. (4 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Smutny, R. V. |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 8 | Hamilton, J. J. (4 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: 4456 Waldo Avenue, Bronx, NY [identified by researcher who is current owner, 5/14/2018] Photographer(s): Smutny, R. V. |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 8 | Hammerstein, Arthur - "Wildflower" (25 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: English
Location: Whitestone, LI, NY Photographer(s): David, John Adams; Gillies, John Wallace; Gottscho, Samuel; McKillup |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 8 | Law, Robert - "Lawridge" - mostly exterior photos | ||||||||||
| Style: English
Location: Portchester, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace; Gottscho, Samuel; Weber, Paul J. (Boston); Wurts Bros., NYC |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 13 | Law, Robert - "Lawridge" - mostly interior photos | ||||||||||
| Style: English
Location: Portchester, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace; Gottscho, Samuel; Weber, Paul J. (Boston); Wurts Bros., NYC |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Hatch, William A. (6 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: [?] |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Hannig, William (6 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: New York, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Heindricks (3 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: [?] Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Hilbonn (1 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: [?]
Location: [?] |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 6 | Hoffman, William P. and Edna (39 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace; Royal Atelier, NY; Weber, Paul J. (Boston) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Hughes, Charles E. Jr. (4 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: [?] |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Humphrey, H. D. (1 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Belle Rose, LI, NY Photographer(s): Collins, H. Shobbrook |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Hutton, I. E. (3 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Ridgewood, NJ |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Iselin (7 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: [?] Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Jacobs (8 exterior ) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: [?] Photographer(s): Weber, Paul J. (Boston) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Kass (1 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: [?] |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Kip (3 interior) | ||||||||||
| See also Drawings: Kip residence | |||||||||||
| Style: [?] Location: Riverdale, Bronx, NY |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | K-House (1 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: [?]
Location: [?] Photographer(s): Hewitt, Mattie Edwards |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 16 | Lawrence, Richard W. (7 interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: New York, NY |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Leach (2 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Pelham Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Lewis, J. R. (7 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Hartsdale, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Little, Gordon 1934 (3 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Little Falls, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Lyeth, J. M. Richardson (13 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Lyons, Burton (5 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Hemstead Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace; Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Malady, Miss (2 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Mayer (2 interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: [?]
Location: [?] Photographer(s): Lee, Schuyler C. |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | McQuade, George T. (8 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Freeport, LI, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace; Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | McNitt (3 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: English
Location: Fieldston, NY |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Middlebury College Women's Dorm (15 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Middlebury, VT Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Mullaly, Charles C. (14 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: New York, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace; Kunze, William A. (Yonkers, NY) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Morrow, George K. (6 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: English
Location: Whitestone Landing, LI, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Murray, John F. (4 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Old Westbury, LI, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 7 | Nimock (7 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: [?] Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Patton House (11 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Milwaukee, WI Photographer(s): Brackett |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Park Ave, 227 (2 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: New York, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Pauker [1934] (3 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: [?] Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Perper (7 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: [?] Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Pichetto, Stephen (5 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Duryea, Drix |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Pross (1 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: [?] |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Quinn, John P. (2 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Hewitt, Mattie Edwards |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Riley, Ben - Arrowhead Inn (28 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Duryea, Drix; Weber, Paul J. (Boston) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 10 | Ringling, John - "Ca d'Zan" (49 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Sarasota, FL Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 10 | Ritt (2 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: [?] Photographer(s): Howard |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Riverdale Club (2 interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: [?]
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Hewitt, Mattie Edwards |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Rockwood, Nash (6 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Duryea, Drix; Gillies, John Wallace; Hewitt, Mattie Edwards |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Rogers, Hon. Ernest E. (7 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: New London, CT Photographer(s): Duryea, Drix |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 9 | Rowland, Richard A. (20 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Rye, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace; Hewitt, Mattie Edwards; Smutny, R. V.; Wurts Bros., NYC |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 6 | Sarasota Courthouse (27 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Unknown
Location: Sarasota Springs, FL Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 6 | Sarasota Homes Apartments (9 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Unknown
Location: Sarasota Springs, FL Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 10 | El Vernona Hotel (14 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Sarasota, FL |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 10 | Recreation Group (Spa) (14 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Schwab, C. Albert (18 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Collins, H. Shobbrook; Hewitt, Mattie Edwards |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Schell, Edward P. (6 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace; Weber, Paul J. (Boston) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Schwencke, O. L. Jr. (12 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Bayshore, LI, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Shea, T. (6 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: English
Location: [?] Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Schillinger (M. E. Shea) (7 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Senior (3 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: [?] Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Shenandoah Country Club (3 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: [?] |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Simpson, Frank (17 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Little Falls, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Skillman (3 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: [?] |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Smith, Hurlbut (1 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Syracuse, NY |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Snyder, Hofner P. (1 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Little Falls, NY Photographer(s): Collins, H. Shobbrook |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Soldan, C. S. (5 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Belle Rose, LI, NY Photographer(s): Collins, H. Shobbrook |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Smith, J. Allen (7 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Chappaqua, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Sporborg, W. L. (15 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Syracuse, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Stocker, E. D. (8 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Richfield Spings, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Stouffer Restaurant (14 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: New York, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Sullivan, Frank A. (7 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Westbury, LI, NY Photographer(s): Weber, Paul J. (Boston) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 11 | Stevenson, Malcom (2 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Westbury, LI, NY |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 12 | Syracuse Memorial Hospital (28 exterior / 48 interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Syracuse, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 10 | Syracuse University College of Medicine (see University Archives for more information) (11 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Syracuse, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 13 | Syracuse University Hendricks Chapel (see University Archives for more information) (16 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Syracuse, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 13 | Syracuse University Maxwell School (see University Archives for more information) (9 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Syracuse, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 12 | Taylor, F. H. (4 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Park Hill-on-Hudson, NY |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 12 | Taylor, H. L. (26 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: [?] |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 12 | Tekenian, B. O. (4 exterior and 2 interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Maplewood, NJ Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 13 | United States Post Office (6 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Flushing, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 13 | von Glahn, John C. (4 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Brooklyn, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 13 | Wagner (28 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: French - Normandy
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel; Taylor, H.; Weber, Paul J. (Boston) |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 6 | Wells College - Macmillan Hall (18 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: Aurora, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 6 | Wells College - Dean's Cottage (6 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Aurora, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Wilds, Percival (6 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Formal Georgian
Location: New York, NY Photographer(s): Duryea, Drix; Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Wilds, T. Robert (7 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Winchell, Benjamin L. (5 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Winslow, Edward D. (3 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Wheeler, A. E. (1 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: [?] Photographer(s): Tebbs-Knell, Inc. NYC |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Williams, William R. (2 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Riverdale-on-Hudson, NY Photographer(s): Duryea, Drix |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Wright, Wade | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial | |||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | World's Fair - YMCA (4 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: New York, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | World's Fair - Home Furnishings Bldg (10 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: [?]
Location: New York, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Wychwood (19 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: Westfield, NJ Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Wyeth, George A. (19 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Dutch Colonial
Location: Fieldston, NY Photographer(s): Collins, H. Shobbrook; Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Wylds, Robert (4 exterior ) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Garden City, LI, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 15 | West Side YMCA (114 interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: New York, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 15 | West Side YMCA (22 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Italian
Location: New York, NY Photographer(s): Gottscho, Samuel |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 15 | Zinc, William (3 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Colonial
Location: Summit, NJ |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 15 | Zoller (3 exterior) | ||||||||||
| Style: F
Location: [?] |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 12 | Unidentified (21 exterior and interior) | ||||||||||
| Style: Unknown
Photographer(s): Gillies, John Wallace; Gottscho, Samuel; Hewitt, Mattie Edwards |
|||||||||||
| Pencil drawings | |||||||||||
| Oversize 8 | Hartwick College (Eggers) - chapel, library, dormitory | ||||||||||
| Oversize 15 | House No. 9, Dunham Company (Baum) - details of downspouts, column tops, etc. | ||||||||||
| Map-Case 108 | Kip, William B. residence (Baum) (11 drawings) | ||||||||||
| See also Photographs: Kip | |||||||||||
| Miscellaneous | |||||||||||
| Oversize 16 | Citadels of democracy, camps and plans for men and munitions 1942 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 16 | Congress of International Geography | ||||||||||
| Oversize 16 | Index of wooden frame houses | ||||||||||
| Oversize 15 | Rea, Mrs. William residence - blueprints | ||||||||||
| Oversize 14 | Salisbury, D.E. | ||||||||||