Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Cogswell, Theodore R.
Title:	Theodore R. Cogswell Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1935-1988
Quantity:	9.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American author, science fiction writer, professor. Includes correspondence and writings, including plays, poems, and short stories.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Theodore R. Cogswell (1918-1987) was an American science fiction author. In 1937 he joined the Abraham Lincoln Brigade (formally known as the XV International Brigade) and served as an ambulance driver during the Spanish Civil war. During World War II he served with the U.S. Army Air Corps in Asia.

His first published story was "The Specter General" in Astounding in 1952. Most of his stories were light-hearted humorous pieces; he also co-authored (with Charles A. Spano) the Star Trek novel Spock, Messiah!.

Cogswell had a master's degree in English and taught at Keystone Junior College in Pennsylvania and at Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana. In 1959 he launched the long-running (1962-1979) fanzine Proceedings of the Institute for Twenty-First Century Studies, in which writers and editors discussed their own and each other's works, and he was for several years secretary for the Science Fiction Writers of America and editor of its Forum.

Cogswell was married three times: to Marjorie Mills (1948), to Coralie Norris (1964), and to George (or Georgia) Rae Marsh (1972). He had two daughters, Megan and Cathe.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Theodore R. Cogswell Papers contains correspondence, memorabilia, printed material, and writings.

Correspondence consists of both incoming and outgoing correspondence with publishers, agents, fellow authors, friends and family. Notable correspondents represented in the collection include Poul Anderson, Isaac Asimov, Alfred Bester, James Blish, Ben Bova, Ray Bradbury, John W. Campbell, Suzy McKee Charnas, Arthur C. Clarke, Avram Davidson, Gordon R. Dickson, G. C. Edmondson, Philip Jose Farmer, James Gunn, Harry Harrison, Robert Heinlein, Damon Knight, Jay Klein ("Jay Kay"), Ursula Le Guin, Anne McCaffrey, Vonda McIntyre, Andrew Offutt, Alexei Panshin, Frederik Pohl, Gene Roddenberry, Joanna Russ, Pamela Sargent, James Tiptree, Kurt Vonnegut, Kate Wilhelm, and Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, among others. A large segment of correspondence relates to offices Cogswell held in the Science Fiction Writers of America, including discussions of dues, membership requirements, the SFWA publication Forum, and resolution of intra-society disagreements. There is also material from Cogswell's Institute for Twenty First Century Studies (ITCFS), including several issues of its Proceedings. Unrelated to science fiction, but of historical interest, is Cogswell's correspondence with fellow veterans of the Abraham Lincoln Brigade, more properly known as the XV International Brigade, with whom he served in the 1930s (e.g. Ben Iceland, Irving Weissman).

Memorabilia includes items related to Cogswell's military service in both the Abraham Lincoln Brigade in the 1930s and the United States Army Air Corps during World War II. There are also clippings about him and by him, and several facetious Who's Who application forms.

Printed material contains a number of fanzines, at least one of which (Citadel) contains a piece by Cogswell, as well as issues of various publications containing stories by Cogswell. There is also some military miscellany and a small booklet published by Hugo Gernsback.

Writings encompasses articles, book reviews, essays, plays/scripts, poems, songs and stories. Several of the songs include both lyrics and music. The material is a mix of handwritten drafts and notes, typed drafts, typed final copy, typescript carbons and (very occasionally) a few bits of correspondence pertaining to the item. Essays include a piece on Soviet bloc science fiction. Plays/scripts include a number of murder mysteries ("The W. S. Murder Case" and "Rocky King, Detective: Murder on the Midway"). Stories encompasses short stories, novellas and novels, including extensive material -- handwritten drafts, typed drafts, etc. -- relating to Spock, Messiah, one of the first Star Trek novels, which Cogswell co-wrote with Charles Spano.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by name, subject, or title. Within each individual correspondent folder, correspondence is arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of science fiction and fantasy authors as well as an extensive collection of early science fiction and fantasy magazines and 'zines and a large book collection. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of manuscript collections; for more information on the magazines, 'zines, and books please contact the repository listed above.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Theodore R. Cogswell Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Theodore Cogswell, 1971.

Gift of George Rae (Mrs. Theodore) Cogswell, 1987.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1990-05-30
Revision history: 11 Oct 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 4 Nov 2015 - processed (MAL / MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		Adams, Robert 1977, undated
Box 1		Aldiss, Brian 1971, 1974
Box 1		Allyn & Bacon 1975
Box 1		Altshuler, Harry 1954-1961
Box 1		Amis, Kingsley 1961, 1963
Box 1		Anderson, Poul 1954, 1956, 1965-1970, 1980, 1983-1988
Box 1		Anthony, Piers 1970-1971
Box 1		Arnason, Eleanor
Box 1		Asimov, Isaac 1955, 1960, 1963, 1970-1974, 1980
Box 1		ATLAS (Alfred Balk) 1975
Box 1		A, misc
Box 1		Ball State University 1957-1958, 1963-1964, 1976
Box 1		Ballantine (Judy-Lyn Del Rey) 1970-1971, 1974-1975
Box 1		Bantam Books 1975-1976, 1978, 1984
Box 1		Bear, Greg 1976
Box 1		Belin Arts Scholarship Committee 1971 - includes letters of recommendation from numerous authors including Isaac Asimov, Alfred Bester and August Derleth
Box 1		Benford, Gregory 1970
Box 1		Berman, Ruth
			See also Arnason, Eleanor.
Box 1		Bernstein, Philip 1981-1984
Box 1		Bessie, Alvah 1984
Box 1		Bester, Alfred 1970-1972, 1974, undated
Box 1		Biggle, Lloyd 1970-1976
Box 1		Bischoff, Dave 1975
Box 1		Bishop, Michael 1975
Box 1		Blish, James 1970-1971, 1974, 1978
Box 1		Bloch, Robert 1975, 1986
		Boucher, Tony
			See Fantasy & Science Fiction.
Box 1		Bova, Ben 1970-1978, 1984
Box 1		Bradbury, Ray 1975-1976
Box 1		Bradley, Marion Zimmer 1960
Box 1		Bretnor, Reg 1973, 1978-1980, undated
Box 1		Broxon, Mildred Downey 1974-1977, 1980-1981
Box 1		Brunner, John 1966, 1975, 1980
Box 1		Buckley, William F. undated - outgoing only
Box 1		Budrys, Algis 1960
Box 1		Busby, F. M. 1974-1977, 1980
Box 1		B, misc
Box 1		John W. Campbell 1951, 1961, 1971, 1976, undated
Box 1		Carpenter, John undated
Box 1		Carter, Lin undated
Box 1		Center for the Study of Popular Culture 1974
		Center for the Study of Science Fiction (University of Kansas)
			See Gunn, James.
Box 1		Chandler, A. Bertram 1973-1974
Box 1		Charnas, Suzy McKee 1974-1975
Box 1		Charnock, Graham 1971
Box 1		Ciardi, John 1959
Box 2		Clareson, Tom 1960, 1972, 1974, 1977
Box 2		Clarke, Arthur C. 1963, 1970-1971, 1974-1975, undated
			See also Russ, Joanna.
Box 2		Cogswell, Cathe and Terry Moran (daughter, son-in-law) 1977, 1980, undated
Box 2		Cogswell, Coralie (wife) 1974, 1984, undated
Box 2		Cogswell, DeWitt R. and Margarett (parents) 1937-1940, 1944, 1965, 1982
Box 2		Cogswell, George Rae (wife) 1972-1973
Box 2		Cogswell, Megan (daughter) 1970-1971, 1974, 1979, 1984[?]
Box 2		ConFusion 1976
Box 2		Conklin, Groff 1964
Box 2		Cook, Glen undated
Box 2		Coulson, Robert "Buck" 1970-1975
Box 2		C, misc
Box 2		Dann, Jack 1972, undated
Box 2		Davenport, Basil 1958, 1960, 1963, 1970, undated - includes review of Cogswell's "Neutral corner"; letter from Davenport's son
Box 2		Davidson, Avram 1963-1966, 1970-1971, 1973, 1981, 1986, undated
Box 2		Davidson, Joel and Sherri 1975-1984
Box 2		De Camp, L. Sprague 1960, 1970-1976
Box 2		De Ford, Miriam Allen 1964, 1971-1972, 1974-1975
Box 2		DeLap, Richard 1970, 1976
Box 2		Derleth, August 1960
Box 2		DeVine, James 1972, 1975-1977
Box 2		Dick, Philip K. 1975, undated
Box 2		Dickson, Gordon R. ("Gordy") 1957, 1965, 1971, undated
Box 2		Disch, Tom 1970
Box 2		Dozois, Gardner 1975
Box 2		Drake, David 1976
Box 2		Duvic, Patrice 1976, undated
Box 2		D, misc
Box 2		Edelstein, Scott 1973, undated
Box 2		Edmondson, G. C. ("GCE") 1960, 1970, 1972-1973, 1976-1983
Box 2		Eisenstein, Phyllis 1974
Box 2		Ellison, Harlan 1971, 1973-1974, 1976, 1984
			See also Rogue (magazine).
Box 2		Elwood, Roger 1973-1974
Box 2		Emshwiller, Ed 1973
Box 2		Etchison, Dennis 1973
			See also "Dennis" in Unidentified - First name only file; likely the same person.
		Extrapolation
			See Clareson, Tom.
Box 2		E, misc
Box 2		Feinstein, Becky and Simon 1964, 1975
Box 2		Fantasy & Science Fiction 1953-1958, 1962, 1970, 1975
Box 2		Farmer, Philip Jose 1970-1971, 1975, 1977, 1979, undated
Box 2		First Fandom 1973-1974, 1981, 1984
Box 2		FitzPatrick, Al 1975, 1978, 1983, 1986, undated
Box 2		Foster, Alan Dean 1971, 1977
Box 3		Fuentes, Roberto 1974-1975
Box 3		Funnell, Augustine ("Gus") 1986
Box 3		F, misc
Box 3		Geis, Richard 1976, undated
Box 3		Gerrold, David 1971, 1975, undated
Box 3		G. K. Hall & Co. 1979-1981, undated - regarding Gregg Press publishing proceedings of the ITFCS
Box 3		Glauber, Gary 1983-1984
Box 3		Gold, Horace L. 1956-1957, undated
Box 3		Goldin, Steve 1971, 1974-1976
Box 3		Goldsmith, Howard 1974-1977
		Graham, Roger Phillips
			See Phillips, Rog.
Box 3		Grant, C. L. ("Charlie") 1971-1977
Box 3		Green, Joe 1973-1975, 1981
Box 3		Green, Roland J. 1974
Box 3		Greenberg, Martin H. 1974
Box 3		Gunn, James 1970-1971, 1975-1976, 1983, undated
Box 3		G, misc
Box 3		Haldeman, Joe 1970, 1977, 1979, 1981
Box 3		Hamilton, Dorothy undated
Box 3		Harper's Weekly 1975-1976
Box 3		Harrison, Harry 1961-1980, 1986, undated
Box 3		Heinlein, Robert and Ginny 1959, 1962, 1976-1977, 1984
Box 3		Hensley, Joe 1960, 1970-1971
Box 3		Herb Jaffe Assoc. 1959-1960, undated
Box 3		Herrick, William ("Bill") 1971
Box 3		Hodgens, Richard M. 1970-1971
Box 3		Hollis, H. H. 1971-1972
Box 3		Holly, J. Hunter (Joan Carol) 1974, 1976
Box 3		H, misc
Box 3		Iceland, Ben 1981-1986 - VALB
		Institute for Twenty First Century Studies (ITFCS)
Box 3			Correspondence 1960, 1965-1976
Box 3			Digit vol 1 no 1
Box 3			Proceedings #127-136
Oversize 1			Proceedings #137-139
Box 3			Proceedings #140-143
Box 4			Proceedings #148-149
Box 4			Miscellany - includes membership application, sketches of logos, listings for Ulrich's and other periodicals directories
Box 4		Isaac Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine 1976, 1983
Box 4		Isaacs, Linda (Linan) 1974-1975
Box 4		I, misc
Box 4		Jakes, John 1970
Box 4		J, misc
Box 4		Kaye, Marvin 1984
Box 4		Keystone Junior College 1969-1972, 1978, 1982-1983
Box 4		Kidd, Virginia 1970-1980 - James Blish's ex-wife; Cogswell's literary agent
Box 4		King, Diana 1972-1973, 1978, undated
Box 4		Klein, Jay K. (Jay Kay) 1970-1983
Box 4		Knight, Damon 1960, 1970-1975, 1980, undated
Box 4		K, misc
		Labakow, Louis
			See First Fandom.
Box 4		Landis, Art 1978-1980, 1984, 1986
Box 4		Laumer, Keith 1971
Box 4		Le Guin, Ursula K. 1971, 1975-1976
Box 4		Leiber, Fritz 1967, 1974
Box 4		Lem, Stanislaw 1975 - outgoing only
Box 4		Levant, Howard 1978
Box 4		Ley, Willy 1960
Box 4		Lichtenberg, Jacqueline 1975-1977
Box 4		Lowndes, Robert A. W. ("RAW") 1970
Box 4		L, misc
Box 4		MacDonald, Wayne undated
Box 4		Malamud, Bernard 1971
Box 4		Malzberg, Barry 1970-1971, 1974-1975, 1978
Box 4		Margroff, Robert E. 1971, 1974
Box 4		Martin, Fredericka ("Freddie") 1978-1980
Box 4		Martin, George R. R. 1974-1976
Box 4		McAllister, Bruce 1974
Box 4		McCaffrey, Anne 1960, 1976
Box 4		McCauley, Kirby 1975-1977, 1980 - literary agent; includes client list, photocopy of letter from L. Ron Hubbard to Forrest Ackerman
Box 4		McEvoy, Seth 1974-1975
Box 4		McIntyre, Vonda 1970-1977
Box 4		Memmler, Hal 1974, 1976
Box 4		Mensa 1971-1972, 1974
Box 4		Meredith, Scott 1951-1957, 1970, 1974, undated - Cogswell's literary agent (2 folders)
Box 5		Merrill, Judith 1959, 1965-1969, 1979 - includes two royalty summaries
Box 5		Milford Science Fiction Writers Conference 1956, 1961, 1968
Box 5		Miller, Walter M. Jr. 1960
Box 5		Mills, Robert P. 1957, 1960-1973, undated
Box 5		Morressy, John 1974
Box 5		M, misc
Box 5		NASA 1975-1977
Box 5		Nelson, Ray (R. Faraday) 1977
Box 5		Neville, Kris 1972, 1974-1975, undated
Box 5		Niven, Larry 1974
Box 5		Norden, Hans 1971-1975
Box 5		Norton, Andre 1962
Box 5		Norville, Barbara undated
Box 5		Nourse, Alan E. 1960, 1971, undated
Box 5		N, misc
Box 5		Offutt, Andrew and Jodie 1971-1976
Box 5		Overstreet, Lee 1974-1976
Box 5		O, misc
Box 5		Pangborn, Edgar 1970
Box 5		Panshin, Alexei 1964
Box 5		Payes, Rachel (Mrs. Norman) 1970-1971, 1974-1976, 1984 - includes article, "Badverbs"
Box 5		Pflock, Karl T. 1974-1975, 1977
Box 5		Phillips, Rog 1960
Box 5		Pierce, John R. 1960, 1970
Box 5		Pierson, Louis Randall
Box 5		Pohl, Frederik 1960, 1974-1977, undated
Box 5		Porter, Andrew 1974
Box 5		Pournelle, Jerry 1971-1977, undated
Box 5		Prago, Albert 1984-1986, undated
Box 5		Presmont, Jud and Joy 1967 - regarding Kerista commune
Box 5		Priest, Christopher 1971
Box 5		Prizel, Yuri 1973-1975, undated
Box 5		Pronzini, Bill 1970
Box 5		Pumilia, Joseph 1971
Box 5		Purdom, Tom 1970-1976
Box 5		Pyramid Publications 1962, 1969, 1974
Box 5		P, misc
Box 5		Q, misc
Box 5		Reynolds, Mack 1957, 1966, 1971-1980
Box 5		Roddenberry, Gene 1976-1977
Box 5		Rogue (magazine) 1959-1960 - editors Harlan Ellison, Frank Robinson
Box 5		Ross, Adolph 1983-1984 - VALB
Box 5		Runton, Charles W. 1974-1975
Box 5		Ruse, Gary Alan 1974-1977
Box 5		Rusher, William A. 1983-1986 - National Review
Box 5		Russ, Joanna 1974-1975 - includes two letters to Arthur C. Clarke
Box 5		R, misc
Box 6		Santesson, Hans Stefan 1960, 1971
Box 6		Sargent, Pamela 1970-1977, undated
		Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA)
Box 6			Correspondence 1965, 1969-1974 - bulk is to or from Tom Purdom, Andy Offutt, Jerry Pournelle, Vonda McIntyre, Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, but almost all authors in the inventory are also represented in these folders (6 folders)
Box 7			Correspondence 1975-1979, undated - bulk is to or from Tom Purdom, Andy Offutt, Jerry Pournelle, Vonda McIntyre, Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, but almost all authors in the inventory are also represented in these folders (5 folders)
Box 7			Printed material 1970, undated - includes SFWA brochures, one issue of Forum, info on Science Fiction Writers Speakers Bureau, etc.
Box 7		Scientology 1970-1971
Box 7		Scithers, George (Owlswick Press) 1970-1974, 1976, 1984
		Scott Meredith Literary Agency
			See Meredith, Scott.
Box 7		Scranton Times (Dan Cusick) 1978
Box 7		Seeger, Pete 1961 - regarding some of Cogswell's songs
Box 7		SFExpo 76 1975-1976
Box 7		Shibano, Takumi 1986
Box 7		Shultz, Dyson P. 1971-1972
Box 7		Silverber, Robert 1970
Box 7		Simak, Clifford 1960, 1970-1971, 1977 - includes audiorecording of Simak "On the short story" (ID#: cogswell_001)
Box 7		Sirois, Al 1974
Box 7		Smith, Evelyn E. 1960, 1964, undated
Box 7		Smith, George O. (GOSmith) undated
Box 7		Society of Mayflower Descendants 1972-1973
Box 7		Sorensen, Bob (Minneapolis Tribune) 1971-1972
Box 7		Spinrad, Norman undated
Box 7		Star Trek Convention 1975
Box 7		Stephenson, Andrew 1974-1976
Box 7		Stock, Stuart H. 1978-1979, 1981 - regarding ParaCon
Box 7		Strete, Craig 1974, undated
Box 7		Sturgeon, Theodore undated
Box 7		Swain, Dwight V. 1974-1976, 1978
Box 7		S, misc
Box 8		Tall, Stephen 1971
Box 8		Thomas, Theodore (Ted) 1964, 1971-1977, 1984, 1986
Box 8		Tiptree, James 1973-1976
Box 8		Tofte, Arthur 1974
Box 8		Trestrail, Verna 1965 - daughter of E. E. "Doc" Smith; includes copy of Smith's obituary
Box 8		Tuning, William 1974-1977 - including issue of Santa Barbara Life, of which Tuning was managing editor
Box 8		T, misc
Box 8		United Nations 1970
Box 8		United States intelligence agencies, various 1940s, 1975 - includes FBI, CIA, U.S. Army, etc., relating to files on Cogswell arising from his service in the Abraham Lincoln Brigade, which was suspected of ties to the Communist Party; much of the contents is photocopies of file material from the 1940s (3 folders)
Box 8		Universal Life Church 1970
Box 8		University of Denver 1955, 1958, 1965, 1968-1969, 1971
Box 8		Utley, Steven 1974
Box 8		U, misc
Box 8		Van Scyoc, Sydney 1974
Box 8		Van Vogt, A. E. 1970, 1975, undated
Box 8		Vardeman, Robert E. 1974, 1977
Box 8		Versins, Pierre 1961
Box 8		Veterans of the Abraham Lincoln Brigade (VALB) 1975-1976, 1979, 1983-1984, 1986 - see also
			See also Iceland, Ben; Weissman, Irving; Memorabilia : Abraham Lincoln Brigade.
Box 8		Vonnegut, Kurt 1960, 1971, 1974, 1985 - includes two from "Kilgore Trout"
Box 8		V, misc
Box 9		Wandrei, Donald 1973, 1976
Box 9		Warren, George 1976-1977
Box 9		Wayman, Tony Russell 1970
		Wayne, Taral
			See MacDonald, Wayne.
Box 9		Weissman, Irving 1986, undated - VALB
Box 9		Wilhelm, Kate 1970, 1974
Box 9		Williamson, Jack 1975, 1979, 1983
Box 9		Wilson, Gahan 1976
Box 9		Wodhams, Jack 1970, 1984 - includes lengthy letter on the defects of the word processor, with original cartoon illustrations
Box 9		Wolle, Francis 1970
Box 9		World Science Fiction Convention 1973, 1975
Box 9		Writers Institute 1975-1976
Box 9		Wyal, Pg 1974-1976
Box 9		W, misc
		Yarbro, Chelsea Quinn
			See Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA).
Box 9		Y, misc
Box 9		Zebrowski, George 1970
Box 9		Unidentified, first name A-Z (2 folders)
Box 9		Unidentified, no name or illegible

	Memorabilia
Box 9		3d Combat Cargo Group, North Burma Campaign summary
Box 9		Abraham Lincoln Brigade - "Roster of 790th Quartermaster Truck Company, Davis-Monthan Field, Tucson, Arizona"; group photo
Box 9		Birth certificate
Box 9		Clippings about Cogswell 1938, 1971, 1976-1977, undated - includes review of Spock, Messiah
Box 9		Clippings by Cogswell 1970, 1975, 1979, undated
Box 9		Curriculum vitae circa 1977
Box 9		Maps
Box 9		Military miscellany 1935, 1937, undated
Box 9		Publications list
Box 9		Wedding to George 1972
Box 9		Miscellaneous - includes humorous "Who's Who" applications

	Printed material
Box 9		1966 Forecast (Gernsback) - booklet, 32pp
Box 9		Climax 1953 - contains story "Time telescoped" by Cogswell, also a photocopy of those pages
Box 9		Convention Annual #1: PittCon 1960
Box 9		DISCON: Proceedings 1963
		Fanzines
Box 10			Bibliographica Futurica Fantastica 1967 - vol. 1 no. 3
Box 10			Citadel (George and Lana Proctor) - "How Dinosaurs Did It" issue
				See also Writings : Articles : How did the dinosaurs do it?.
Box 10			Differential (Paul Wyszkowski) 1964-1965 - #20, 32, 33
Box 10			Fancom (Paul Wyszkowski) - No. 4, 5
Box 10			MFS Bulletin (Rich Elsberry, Dale Rostomily) 1951 - No. 35; includes "Last Journey of Sad Sam" by Cogswell
Box 10			Odd Magazine 1968 - #18
Box 10			The Vinegar Worm (Bob Leman)
Box 10			Voice of the Turtle (Joyce and Raymond Fisher) 1967 - #16
Box 10			[unidentified] (Ruth Berman) 1970 - #6
Box 10		Harper's Weekly 1975 - article by Cogswell, "You can fool most of the people most of the time" about his PITFCS
Box 10		Manifesto [of the] Suspended College Students Federation for the Liberated Areas of China circa 1944
Box 10		Military miscellany 1945, undated - includes clippings from TIME with photographs of concentration camp victims, with handwritten note in margin "I must not forget this"
Box 10		Venture Jul 1957 - story "Aces Loaded" by Cogswell
Box 10		The Window May 1948 - pp 3 and 4, containing poems by Cogswell

	Writings
		Articles
			The Compleat impostor (publisher in Harper's Weekly as "You can fool most of the people most of the time")
Box 10			Dante, Chaucer and Spenser article
Box 10			Fire, ice, or a five-dollar subway fare
Box 10			Hints as to the nature of the loved one
Box 10			How did the dinosaurs do it?
				See also Printed material : Citadel.
Box 10			Kirlian photographym diagnostic tool? - includes correspondence with Nova, notes
Box 10			On critical acclaim
Box 10			The population implosion - includes photocopy of published version
Box 10			Vitamin E and documentation 1971 - multiple drafts, published article, extensive notes and clippings on the subject
Box 10			Some like them hot
		Book reviews
Box 10			Dickson, Gordon R. / Sleepwalker's World 1971 - typescript, clipping of published version
Box 10			Magruder, Richard / Snob's Guide to Acapulco 1971 - clipping of published version only
Box 10			Russ, Joanna / And Chaos Died 1971 - typescript, clipping of published version
Box 10			Simak, Clifford / A Choice of Gods, Destiny Doll, Out of Their Minds 1971-1972 - typescript, clipping of published version
Box 10			Spender, Stephen / Poems of Dedication 1947 - clipping of published version only
Box 10			multiple (Minneapolis Tribune columns) 1971-1972 - clippings of published columns
		Essays
Box 11			Authorship of the Scottish Troy fragments - mix of typed and handwritten notes, drafts, tabulations
Box 11			Notes on the artist and society - typescript carbon, minor revisions
Box 11			Soviet bloc science fiction - typescript carbons
		Juvenilia
Box 11			Miscellaneous - typescript, typescript carbons, some with revisions
		Plays and scripts
Box 11			The Boomerang - "a story idea for television"; typescript of treatment only, no script
Box 11			Cassandra and the unicorn - typescripts, typescript carbons, some with revisions
Box 11			Contact point - typescript, first two pages missing
Box 11			Double indemnity / Third time down - very rough/incomplete typed notes, drafts with numerous revisions
Box 11			If garages operated the way hospitals do - handwritten draft, incomplete
Box 11			The King of the schnorers - very rough/incomplete draft with extensive corrections and annotations
Box 11			Operation Tel Aviv - typescript, typescript carbon, photocopy of published version
Box 11			The Question - mimeographed copy of typescript
Box 11			Rocky King, Detective : Murder on the Midway (with Larry Sloan) - typescript carbons
Box 11			The Short count - typescript, typescript carbon, minor revisions; see also Stories : Short count
Box 11			Space slugs - typescript with corrections
Box 11			The UHF murder case (with Alan Shirey) - treatment only, typescript carbon
Box 11			The W. S. murder case - very rough/incomplete handwritten draft, summary
Box 11			Miscellaneous fragments
		Poems
Box 11			Faex delenda est - multiple drafts, published version in Maledicta, correspondence with editor Reinhold Aman
Box 11			Pilgrim's progress - multiple drafts with different titles; folder also includes drafts of a few other poems
Box 11			Placebos for the orthodox (collection) - title pages for sections, final self-published(?) version inscribed to George
Box 11			Miscellaneous titled, A-Z - 2 folders
Box 11			Miscellaneous untitled and fragments
		Songs
Box 15			The Friggin' falcon - lyrics only; typescript, copies of published version
Box 15			Korean blues - music only
Box 15			The Roper - lyrics, music, letter to a Mr. Niles about the song
Box 15			Soft and deadly people - lyrics, music
Box 15			The Song of the fighting QMs - lyrics only
Box 15			Miscellaneous - fragments and unidentified
		Stories
Box 12			A is for analog - mix of handwritten and typescript drafts, notes, etc.
Box 12			Anniversary present (alternate title: Private line) - typescript, typescript carbons
Box 12			The Big stink (alternate title: Gentlemen's agreement) - typescript, typescript carbon, clipping of published version
Box 12			The Burning - typescript carbon of story, typescript carbon of introduction to story
Box 12			Cabbage patch (earlier title: Bedtime story) - typescript, typescript carbons
Box 12			Case history - typescripts, typescript carbons, some with revisions
Box 12			Consumer report (alternate title: No gun to the victor) - typescript carbons; clipping of published version
Box 12			Daybreak - handwritten draft
Box 12			Disassembly line (alternate title: The nose) - typescript, typescript carbons
Box 12			Early bird - photocopy of typescript, with revisions
Box 12			Emergency rations - typescript carbon, minor revisions
Box 12			The falling man - typescripts, typescript carbons, some with revisions
Box 12			Garth of the golden hand - novel outline, photocopy of typescript, some revisions; folder also contains some pages with characters "Wolf" and "Kurtos" which may be from a different story
Box 12			The golden people - typescript, typescript carbon, both with revisions
Box 12			Grandfather clause - typescript with revisions and handwritten added pages, typescript carbon
Box 12			The Hamlet murder case (alternate title: The adventure of the murdered king) - mix of typed and handwritten notes, synopses
Box 12			Invasion report (alternate title: Delinquency report) - two typescript carbons, one about 50% longer than the other
Box 12			Journeys with three Margarets - typescript carbons, multiple drafts
Box 13			Kevin and the goblins - novel; mix of typescript and handwritten drafts, notes
Box 13			Limiting factor - typescript, typescript carbon
Box 13			Local trouble (alternate title: Alan and the WOCs) - novel; typescripts, multiple drafts, numerous revisions and edits
Box 13			Lover boy - typescript carbon
Box 13			Machine record (alternate title: Mousetrap), with Walter Tevis - typescript drafts
Box 13			The man who knew Grodnick (alternate title: Reggie) - typescript, typescript carbons with revisions
Box 13			The masters - typescript carbon
Box 13			Minimum sentence (alternate title: Love story) - typescript
Box 13			Mr. Hoskin's heel - typescript, typescript carbons, both with revisions; clipping of published piece
Box 13			The misplaced weapon - typescript with corrections; typed on back of some other piece
Box 13			Natural enemy - numerous drafts with revisions, typescript and typescript carbons
Box 13			Neutral corner - novel; typescript with revisions
				See also Correspondence : Davenport, Basil.
Box 14			Oedipus wrecked - typescript
Box 14			The other cheek - typescript, typescript carbon with revisions
Box 14			Pain reaction (with Hal D. Randolph) - typescript carbon
Box 14			Paradise regained - typescript carbon
Box 14			The patsy - typescript with revisions, appears to be incomplete
Box 14			Players at null-G (with Algis Budrys, Ted Thomas) - typescript with extensive revisions; includes correspondence from Ted Thomas regarding the story
Box 14			The prangler - typescript with revisions
Box 14			Prisoner of love - typescript carbon, minor revisions
Box 14			Shell game - typescript carbon with revisions; typed on the back of some other piece(s)
Box 14			The short count - multiple drafts, typescript and typescript carbon, minor corrections; see also Plays/scripts : Short count
Box 14			The specter general - novella; typescript carbon and summary of "expansion" to story
Box 15			Spock, Messiah - drafts, notes; mix of handwritten and typed
Box 15			Spock, Messiah - galleys
Box 15			Spock, Messiah - typescript photocopy with revisions
Box 14			A spudget for Thwilbert (alternate title: The warlord of Hun) - typescript and carbons, at least two drafts
Box 14			Test area - typescript carbon, minor revisions
Box 14			Things - typescript carbon with revisions
Box 14			Thrud (with Hal Randolph) - several drafts with revisions, one noting the author as "Randolph Cogswell"; includes rejection letter from Asimov Science Fiction Magazine
Box 14			Training device - typescript
Box 14			The wall around the world - typescript carbon
Box 14			The war that had to be lost - handwritten notes only
Box 14			Wolfie - typescript carbon
Box 14			You know Willie (alternate title: Judgement night) - typescript carbons
		Miscellaneous
Box 16			Cogswell's multiple Marys
Box 16			Editing the Nebula Award anthology
Box 16			Factoryville Junior College… [humorous press release]
Box 16			Fragments
Box 16			Front matter, unidentified
Box 16			Lecture materials
Box 16			Lineage [Malcolm II, King of Scotland]
Box 16			Science Fiction Associates [synopses, mimeograph copy]
Box 16			Story ideas
Box 16			Tan calculations
Box 16			[Teen anthology ideas] - correspondence with various authors regarding suggestions, feasibility, etc.
Box 16			The third eye (a preface to a novel that will never be written)
Box 16			Works in progress
Box 16			Writing Arts program proposal
Box 16			Miscellaneous
		Miscellaneous by others
Box 16			Aldiss, Ellison, Van Vogt - story, The players of null wave
Box 16			Anderson, Poul - poems, part of a script
Box 16			Miscellaneous

Return to top