Fund for Adult Education (FAE) Records An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

The Fund for Adult Education was a subsidiary foundation established and supported by the Ford Foundation. Founded in 1951, its purposes were to aid and encourage liberal adult education in political, economic, and international affairs and in the humanities, with an emphasis on study-discussion. It became instrumental in the establishment of an educational broadcasting system (ETV) in the United States. The Fund officially ended its activities in 1961. Records include correspondence, published material, reports, and work files. Best represented in the collection are the Fund's Test Cities, "Great Men, Great Issues," "Meet the Humanities," "Ways of Mankind" and Experimental discussion Projects.

Language:

English

Repository:

Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The Fund for Adult Education (FAE) was a subsidiary foundation established and supported by the Ford Foundation. Founded in 1951, the Fund had as its purpose to aid and to encourage liberal adult education especially in political, economic, and international affairs and the humanities, with emphasis on study-discussion. However, because of the coincidence of history, the Fund became the main instrument in the establishment of an educational broadcasting system (particularly ETV) in the United States. The Fund had its own board of directors and staff, and it was both a grant-giving and an operating organization. During its early years, the Fund financed the sometimes controversial Test Cities experiment, the purpose of which was to ascertain the best ways to coordinate and stimulate adult education activities, community by community. The Test Cities Project involved individuals and institutions in thirteen United States communities in an experimental and novel educational project. Each of the participating Test Cities programs was independent of the Fund and controlled its own programs. The Fund officially ended its activities in 1961, although it continued as a legal entity (just as some of the projects to which it gave long-term grants continued) after 1961. Description

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Fund for Adult Education (FAE) Records contain correspondence, published material, reports, and work files of Fund projects that date from 1950, the year prior to the organization's founding. Bull: dates of the collection are 1951 to 1958, although some printed material dates to 1969. The collection is arranged by broad subject categories in 97 boxes and one package that total 70 linear feet. Most of the collection deals with Fund-operated projects, mainly study-discussion programs.

Boxes 1-31 contain the files of the Fund's Test Cities experiment. The first five boxes contain general files, largely correspondence, but there are also there are files, arranged by community name, of the projects undertaken in the thirteen communities that were involved in the program. These latter files typically contain correspondence, project histories, newsletters, reports, and news-clippings.

Data on the three projects, " Great Men, Great Issues," " Meet the Humanities," and " Ways of Mankind," will be found in boxes 32-44. Most of the folders are geographical, as are the folders of the Experimental discussion Project (EDP), arranged under discussion topics in boxes 44-76, which contain the evaluations of the study-discussion program materials that evolved in the Fund's Experimental discussion Project. This project helped develop liberal arts and science courses that were designed for small groups led by properly trained lay leaders who were not necessarily either professional educators or subject specialists. The study-discussion programs were conducted with experimental groups, and on the basis of criticisms received from these groups, program materials were revised and then distributed at a nominal cost to groups throughout the country. These EDP files are the rough evaluations from which the Fund worked in revising the program materials. The story of the Experimental discussion Project is told in the report by Glen Burch, "Accent on Learning."

Boxes 77-97 contain files under the headings of Personal Information, Group Information, and Group Leaders' Reactions, as well as newspaper clippings, photostats, and printed material. Newsclippings and photostats are mounted in bound volumes, rather than placed in folders. In the Fund for Adult Education Papers there is no overall report of Fund activities; the closest approximation to one is " The Challenge of Lifetime Learning: Continuing Liberal Education, report 1955-1957," a copy of which is located in box 97. Further details on the holdings of the collection are available in the accompanying shelf list, which has been prepared from folder headings of the Fund for Adult Education Papers as they were processed prior to their arrival in the Manuscripts Division.

Audiorecordings consists of more than 100 audiorecordings pertaining to various projects, including "Ways of Mankind," "People Under Communism," and "Jeffersonian Heritage."

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The material is largely arranged as received.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Additional access restrictions lifted, 2006.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

The following collections may be of particular interest:

Individuals
- Hendrickson, Andrew
- Jacques, Joseph
- Liveright, Alexander A.
- Sheats, Paul.
Organizations
- Adult Education Association (AEA)
- American Foundation for Continuing Education (AFCE)
- Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC)
- Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA)
- National Association of Public School Adult Educators (NAPSAE)
- National University Extension Association (NUEA)

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Fund for Adult Education (U.S.) -- Archives

Fund for Adult Education (U.S.) -- Records and correspondence.

Subjects

Adult education.

Community education -- United States

Genres and Forms

35mm (photographic film size)

Audiocassettes.

Clippings (information artifacts)

Correspondence.

Film reels.

Phonograph records.

Reports.

Occupations

Educators.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Fund for Adult Education (FAE) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of the Fund for Adult Education, 1961, with subsequent additions

Finding Aid Information

Created by: AR
Date: 1975
Revision history: 25 Jul 2006 - restriction removed (MRR); 27 Jan 1977 - biog hist added (CD); 1991 - additions received, appended as "Part 2" (EAA); 5 May 2006 - converted to EAD (MRR); 15 Dec 2015 - films added to inventory (MBD); 23 Sep 2016 - film box number corrected; audiorecordings added (MRC); 5 May 2017 - slide/films added (PJM); 24 Jun 2024 - restriction note removed from scope and contents (DTF)

Return to top

Inventory

Test Cities

General

Box 1

General correspondence Jul 1951-Oct 1954 (8 folders)

Box 2

General correspondence Nov 1954-Mar 1957 (5 folders)

Box 2

Program correspondence Jan 1952-Jul 1952

Box 2

Allerton House Conference 1953-1954

Box 2

Colorado Conference 1952

Box 2

Meeting, Rancho Santa Fe 1955-1956

Box 2

Regional Conference, New York 1954

Box 3

Advertising campaign 1952-1953

Box 3

Evaluation reports 1954

Box 3

Personnel file, coordinators 1952-1956

Box 3

Memoranda on project 1951-1952

Box 3

Project planning 1951

Box 3

Surveys, preliminary 1952 (3 folders)

Box 3

Bigwin Conference Jul 1953-Sep 1953

Box 4

Bigwin, correspondence Sep 1952-Jan 1955 (3 folders)

Box 4

Chattanooga survey of discussion group participants 1953

Bigwin

Box 4

Conferences and reports 1953-1954

Box 4

Newsletter 1953

Box 4

Speeches 1953-1954 (2 folders)

See also Drafts of Speeches.

Box 5

Correspondence re film May 1953-Mar 1954 (2 folders)

Box 5

Test City Profiles 1954

Box 5

Drafts of speeches 1954

See also Speeches.

Box 5

Program Preparation 1954

Box 5

Evaluations 1954

Box 5

Miscellaneous 1954

Box 5

Clippings 1954

Oversize 1

Bigwin Inn Reel 1 Music [soundtrack] 16mm film; magnet track; 200 feet (ID#: fae_105)

Oversize 1

Bigwin Inn Reel 1 Narration [soundtrack] 16mm film; magnet track; 400 feet (ID#: fae_107)

Oversize 1

Bigwin Inn Reel 2 Narration [soundtrack] 16mm film; magnet track; 400 feet (ID#: fae_108)

Oversize 1

Bigwin Inn Reel 3 Music [soundtrack] 16mm film; magnet track; 200 feet (ID#: fae_106)

Oversize 1

Bigwin Inn Reel 3 Narration [soundtrack] 16mm film; magnet track; 300 feet (ID#: fae_109)

Oversize 1

Bigwin Inn Reel 4 Music [soundtrack] 16mm film; magnet track; 50 feet (ID#: fae_111)

Oversize 1

Bigwin Inn Reel 4 Narration [soundtrack] 16mm film; magnet track; 25 feet (ID#: fae_110)

Test Cities: Akron

Box 6

Correspondence 1951-1957 (6 folders)

Box 6

Adult Education newsletter 1953-1957

Box 6

Calendar of events 1953-1954

Box 6

History of project 1955

Box 7

Program, Community Leadership Institute 1955

Box 7

Program, Design and You 1954

Box 7

Program, Law Enforcement and the Citizen 1955

Box 7

Program, World Affairs 1955

Box 8

Programs and materials 1953-1957 (5 folders)

Box 8

Reports 1954-1958

Box 8

Reports, organizations 1951-1953 (2 folders)

Box 9

Reports, organizations 1954-1957 (2 folders)

Test Cities: Bridgeport

Box 9

Correspondence 1952-1955 (4 folders)

Box 9

History of program 1955

Box 9

Programs and materials 1953-1955

Box 9

Reports 1953-1955

Box 9

Newspaper clippings 1953-1955

Test Cities: Chattanooga

Box 10

Correspondence 1951-1960 (8 folders)

Box 10

Handbook 1952

Box 10

Newsletter 1952-1959

Box 10

Materials and announcements 1952-1958 (2 folders)

Box 10

Project, "There Shall Be Peace 1952

Box 10

Project reports, miscellaneous 1953-1958

Box 10

Projects, ,iscellaneous 1954-1956 (2 folders)

Box 10

Report on project 1955

Box 12

Reports, Board of Directors 1952-1958

Box 12

Reports, Quarterly and Annual 1952-1957

Box 12

Report, "Education for Freedom 1958

Box 12

Report, "Introduction to Poetry 1956

Box 12

Reports, miscellaneous 1952-1953

Box 13

Newspaper clippings 1951-1960 (5 folders)

Test Cities: Kansas City

Box 14

Correspondence 1952-1955 (4 folders)

Box 14

History of project 1955

Box 14

Miscellaneous materials, vs. dates

Box 14

Programs and materials 1952-1955

Box 14

Reports 1952-1955

Test Cities: Little Rock

Box 15

Correspondence 1951-1955 (5 folders)

Box 15

History of project 1955

Box 15

Adult Education Center, plans for 1954

Box 15

Advertising cuts 1953

Box 15

Materials 1952-1955

Box 15

Quarterly summary reports 1953-1955

Box 15

Newspaper clippings 1951-1957

Test Cities: Lubbock

Box 16

Correspondence 1951-1956 (3 folders)

Box 16

Materials 1953-1955 (2 folders)

Box 16

Reports on program 1952-1955

Box 16

Newspaper clippings 1952-1954

Test Cities: Memphis

Box 16

Correspondence 1953-1957 (3 folders)

Box 16

History of project 1955

Box 16

Materials, correspondence re 1954-1955

Box 16

Financial reports 1954-1956

Box 16

Friedan report, Executive Leadership Program 1957

Box 16

Institute for Executive Leadership 1955-1957

Box 16

Newsletters 1953-1957

Box 17

Printed materials 1955

Box 17

Programs and materials 1953-1958 (2 folders)

Box 17

Reports 1953-1957 (2 folders)

Box 17

Newspaper clippings, miscellaneous 1953-1956

Test Cities: Niagara Falls

Box 17

Correspondence 1952-1960 (5 folders)

Box 18

History of project 1955

Box 18

Community reports 1952, 1954

Box 18

Newsletter 1953-1955

Box 18

Pilot program, "Preparation for Retirement" 1956-1957

Box 18

Printed materials 1954-1955 (2 folders)

Box 18

Programs and materials 1953-1958 (3 folders)

Box 18

Quarterly reports 1954-1957

Box 18

Miscellaneous reports 1954-1957

Box 19

Newspaper clippings 1952-1957 (4 folders)

Test Cities: Racine

Box 19

Correspondence 1952-1955 (4 folders)

Box 20

Report on project 1955

Box 20

Newsletter 1953-1955

Box 20

Programs, printed material 1953-1955

Box 20

Program, "Ways of Mankind" 1954

Box 20

Project in Racine, papers re 1951

Box 20

Miscellaneous reports, Board of Directors 1952-1954

Box 20

Newspaper clippings 1952-1955 (2 folders)

Test Cities: San Bernardino

Box 21

Correspondence 1951-1960 (6 folders)

Box 21

History of Test Cities Project 1956

Box 21

The Community Education Project 1956

Discussion materials

Box 21

"Jeffersonian Heritage 1953

See also Audiorecordings.

Box 21

"Living Generation" 1954

Box 22

"Ways of Mankind" 1953

Box 22

"The Years Between" 1954-1955

Box 22

Printed materials 1952-1957

Program materials

Box 22

"Living Generation" 1954

Box 22

"Metroplex" 1955-1957 (2 folders)

Box 23

Miscellaneous 1952-1954

Box 23

Program on "Urbanism 1955

Box 23

Progress reports 1952-1956 (2 folders)

Newspaper clippings

Box 23

General 1951-1953

Box 23

"Ways of Mankind" 1953

Box 24

General 1954, 1955

Box 24

"Metroplex" 1955-1956

Box 24

General 1956-1957

Test Cities: Sioux City

Box 24

Correspondence 1951-1961 (4 folders)

Box 24

History of Test City Project 1955

Box 25

Printed material 1952-1955 (3 folders)

Box 25

Reports 1951-1956

Box 25

Newspaper clippings 1951-1958 (2 folders)

Box 26

Newspaper clippings 1954-1958 (2 folders)

Test Cities: West Texas

Box 27

Correspondence 1950-1958 (5 folders)

Box 27

Report on the project 1955

Box 28

Adult Education News 1952-1957

Box 28

Conferences 1956

Box 28

News releases, various dates

Box 28

Miscellaneous papers 1952-1956

Box 28

Program materials 1952-1957

Box 28

Program materials, "Sing Your America" 1955

Box 28

Reports 1952-1957

Box 29

Reports, Regional Development 1954-1957 (2 folders)

Box 29

Reports, miscellaneous 1952-1957

Box 29

Newspaper clippings 1952-1954 (2 folders)

Box 30

Newspaper clippings 1955-1958 (3 folders)

Test Cities: York

Box 30

Correspondence 1952-1956 (4 folders)

Box 31

"Drama for discussion" program undated (2 folders)

Box 31

Reports and evaluations 1953-1956

Box 31

Newspaper clippings 1952-1955

Great Men-Great Issues

Group member reports

Box 32

Abbeville, La. 1952

Box 32

Andover, Mass. 1951

Box 32

Asheboro, N.C. 1951

Box 32

Baltimore, Md. 1952

Box 32

Bicknell, Utah 1952

Box 32

Bloomington, Ill. 1952

Box 32

Boston, Mass. 1951 (2 folders)

Box 32

Brooklyn, N.Y. 1951-1952

Box 33

Buffalo, N.Y. 1951

Box 33

Charlotte, N.C. 1951

Box 33

Cheyenne, Wyo. 1952

Box 33

Chicago, Ill. 1951

Box 33

Chillicothe, Mo. 1951

Box 33

Columbus, Ohio 1951

Box 33

Columbus, Mo. 1951 (2 folders)

Box 33

Dallas, Texas 1951

Box 33

Delaware, Ohio 1951

Box 34

Des Moines, Iowa 1951

Box 34

East Greenbush, N.Y. 1952

Box 34

East Penfield, N.Y. 1951-1952

Box 34

Fort Atkinson, Wisc. 1951

Box 34

Grand Rapids, Mich. 1951 (2 folders)

Box 34

Great Falls, Mont. 1951

Box 34

Griffin, Ga. 1951

Box 35

Hundred, W.Va. 1951

Box 35

Indio, Cal. 1952

Box 35

Lafayette, La. 1951

Box 35

Laramie, Wyo. 1951

Box 35

Lincoln, Neb. 1951

Box 35

Loa, Utah 1952

Box 35

Magna, Utah 1951

Box 35

Memphis, Tenn. 1951

Box 35

Milwaukee, Wisc. 1952

Box 36

Minneapolis, Minn. 1952

Box 36

New Philadelphia, Ohio 1951

Box 36

New York City 1951-1952

Box 36

Newark, N.J. 1951

Box 36

Petersburg, Va. 1951

Box 36

Philadelphia, Pa. 1951

Box 36

Portland, Ore. 1951

Box 36

Racine, Wisc. 1951

Box 36

Rochester, Minn. 1952

Box 37

Rockville Center, N.Y. 1952

Box 37

Roosevelt, Utah 1952

Box 37

Salt Lake City, Utah 1951

Box 37

San Jose, Calif. 1951

Box 37

Santa Barbara, Calif. 1952

Box 37

Santa Monica, Calif. 1951

Box 37

Shorewood, Wisc. 1952 (2 folders)

Box 38

Sioux City, Iowa 1952

Box 38

Spokane, Wash. 1951-1952 (2 folders)

Box 38

Springfield, Mass. 1951-1952

Box 38

Urbana, Ill. 1951

Box 38

Worthington, Minn. 1951

Report-Discussion Leaders

Box 39

Pasadena, Calif. 1951 (2 folders)

Box 39

Pasadena, Calif. 1952

Box 39

San Bernardino, Calif. 1952

Box 39

San Jose, Calif. 1951-1952

Box 39

Tucson, Arizona 1951

Box 39

Miscellaneous 1952

Miscellaneous

Box 39

Miscellaneous tabulations 1952

Box 40

Summary questionnaire 1952 (4 folders)

Box 40

Evaluation tabulations 1952

Meet The Humanities

Group member reports

Box 41

Pasadena, Calif. 1954 (2 folders)

Box 41

Stephens College 1953 (3 folders)

Group member surveys

Box 41

Pasadena, Cal. 1954

Ways Of Mankind

See also Audiorecordings.

Group member reports

Box 42

Akron, Ohio 1954

Box 42

Baltimore, Md. 1953

Box 42

Bell, Cal. 1953

Box 42

Boston, Mass. 1953

Box 42

Chattanooga, Tenn. 1953

Box 42

Chicago, Ill. 1953

Box 42

Dundalk, Md. 1953

Box 42

Grafton, W.Va. 1953

Box 42

Great Falls, Mont. 1953

Box 43

La Crosse, Wisc. 1953

Box 43

Lincoln, Neb. 1953

Box 43

Little Rock, Ark. 1953

Box 43

Oneonta, Cal. 1953

Box 43

Pasadena, Cal. 1953

Box 43

Salt Lake City, Utah 1953

Box 44

York, Pa. 1953

Box 44

Group member survey, Pasadena, Cal. 1953

Box 44

End-of-meeting evaluation forms 1953

Experimental discussion Project

See also FAE Part 2: 1991 additions: Experimental discussion groups

EDP (Experimental discussion Programs)

Ways of Mankind

Box 44

Group member report 1953-1954 (3 folders)

Current Economic Problems

Box 45

Alhambra, Cal. 1953

Your Money and Your Life

Box 45

Baltimore, Md. 1953-1954 (2 folders)

Box 45

Bigwin Inn 1953

Box 45

Boston, Mass. 1953 (2 folders)

Box 45

Boston, Mass. 1954 (2 folders)

Box 46

Buffalo, N.Y. 1953

Box 46

Chattanooga, Tenn. 1954

Box 46

Chautauqua, N.Y. 1954

Box 46

Chippewa Falls 1953

Box 46

Detroit, Mich. 1954 (2 folders)

Box 46

Flint, Mich. 1953

Box 47

Greensboro, N.C. 1954 (2 folders)

Box 47

Kansas City, Mo. 1954

Box 47

Little Rock, Ark. 1954

Box 47

Los Angeles, Cal. 1953 (4 folders)

Box 48

Los Angeles, Cal. 1954 (2 folders)

Box 48

Lubbock, Tex. 1954

Box 48

Memphis, Tenn. 1953-1954 (2 folders)

Box 48

Niagara Falls, N.Y. 1954

Box 48

Othello, Wash. 1954 (3 folders)

Box 49

Pasadena, Cal. 1953-1954 (4 folders)

Box 49

Riverhead, N.Y. 1954

Box 49

St. Louis, Mo. 1954 (2 folders)

Box 50

San Bernardino, Cal. 1954

Box 50

San Jose, Cal. 1954

Box 50

Santa Monica, Cal. 1954 (2 folders)

Box 50

Sonoma, Cal. 1953

Box 50

Attendance records 1953

Box 50

Evaluation and forms 1954

Evaluation comments, by city 1953

Box 50

A-N (2 folders)

Box 51

P-W

Box 51

5th/6th Meetings 1954

Box 51

7th/8th Meetings 1954

Box 51

Evaluation, final comments 1954

Box 51

Evaluation, correspondence and reports 1953

Box 51

Evaluation follow-up sheets 1954

Box 51

Evaluation summary questionnaire 1953

Box 51

Summary tabulations 1954 (2 folders)

Law And Justice

Box 52

Evaluation Forms, Othello, Wash. 1954

EFDP (Experimental Film discussion Project)

See also FAE Part 2: 1991 additions : Experimental Film discussion Project, Progress report 1952.

World Affairs Are Your Affairs

Box 52

Newark, N.J. 1952 (2 folders)

Box 52

Participants' Reaction Sheets 1952

EDP

Education for a Free Society

Box 52

Berkeley, Cal. 1957

Box 52

New York City 1957

Box 52

White Plains, N.Y. 1957

Box 52

Evaluations 1957-1958

Box 52

The Shape of Our Cities, Evaluations 1957-1958

Box 52

Transition and Tension in Southeast Asia, New York and White Plains, N.Y.; Springfield, Mass. 1957

Human Freedom

Box 53

Baltimore, Md. 1953

Box 53

Chattanooga, Tenn. 1953

Box 53

Chicago, Ill. 1953

Box 53

Covington, Tenn. 1953

Box 53

Glen Rock, Pa. 1954

Box 53

Memphis, Tenn. 1953

Box 53

Monteagle, Tenn. 1953

Box 53

Niagara Falls, N.Y. 1953

Box 53

Pasadena, Cal. 1953

Box 53

Salt Lake City, Utah 1953

Box 53

Santa Rosa, Cal. 1954

Box 53

Sonoma, Cal. 1953

Box 54

Evaluations of program 1952-1953

Box 54

Evaluation forms 1952-1954 (2 folders)

Box 54

Jackson Heritage, Group member report, Pasadena, Cal. 1954

Jefferson and Our Times - evaluation forms

Box 54

Chautauqua, N.Y. 1954

Box 54

Chattanooga, Tenn. 1954

Box 54

Des Moines, Iowa 1954

Box 54

Lincoln, Neb. 1954

Box 55

Memphis, Tenn. 1954

Box 55

Menlo Park, Cal. 1954

Box 55

Monteagle, Tenn. 1954

Box 55

Pasadena, Cal. 1954 (3 folders)

Box 55

Racine, Wisc. 1954

Box 55

San Francisco, Cal. 1954

Box 55

San Jose, Cal. 1954

Box 55

Santa Barbara, Cal. 1954

Box 55

Santa Monica, Cal. 1954

Box 56

Setauket, N.Y. 1954

Box 56

Thomasville, Ga. 1954

Box 56

Miscellaneous 1954

You and Modern Art

Box 56

Chino, Cal. 1953

Box 56

Long Beach, Cal. 1953 (2 folders)

Box 56

Los Angeles, Cal. 1953 (2 folders)

Box 57

Pasadena, Cal. 1953 (2 folders)

Box 57

Santa Monica, Cal. 1953 (2 folders)

Box 57

Group member report 1953 (2 folders)

Box 57

Evaluations 1953

Citizen and Mass Media

Box 58

Akron, Ohio 1955

Box 58

Altadena, Cal. 1954

Box 58

Beverly Hills, Cal. 1955

Box 58

Columbus, Ohio 1955 (3 folders)

Box 59

Laguna Beach, Cal. 1955

Box 59

Oakland, Cal. 1955

Box 59

Ontario, Cal. 1955

Box 59

Othello, Cal. 1955

Box 59

Evaluations 1955

Box 59

You and the Mass Media 1957 - evaluations

Life Under Communism

Box 60

Baltimore, Md. 1953 (3 folders)

Box 60

Chicago, Ill. 1953

Box 60

Cleveland, Ohio 1953

Box 60

Columbia, Mo. 1953

Box 60

Dallas, Tex. 1953

Box 60

El Monte, Cal. 1953

Box 60

Flint, Mich. 1953

Box 60

Fort Atkinson, Wisc. 1953

Box 61

Garden City, N.Y. 1953

Box 61

Lima, Ohio 1953

Box 61

Lincoln, Neb. 1953

Box 61

Memphis, Tenn. 1953

Box 61

New York City 1953

Box 61

Niagara Falls, N.Y. 1953

Box 61

Palo Alto, Cal. 1953

Box 61

Pasadena, Cal. 1953 (2 folders)

Box 61

Rochester, N.Y. 1953

Box 61

Rockford, Ill. 1953

Box 62

All Cities Analysis 1953

Box 62

Evaluations 1953

Box 62

Evaluation tabulations 1953

Box 62

Summary questionnaire 1953

Looking at Modern Painting

Box 62

Test Group reports 1957

Box 62

Evaluations 1959

Box 62

Economic Reasoning 1955 - evaluation and problem analysis reports

Box 63

An Introduction to the Humanities 1959 - group leaders evaluation

Box 63

"Let's Talk About..." 1953-1954 - end of meeting evaluation form

Box 63

Leading Croup discussion 1954-1958 - evaluation

Box 63

Evaluation procedures and related matters 1952-1959

Box 63

Summary analysis sheet circa 1955

Box 63

Wyoming film discussion project 1953 - final report

EFDP

Box 64

Baltimore, Md., Eastern Community Council 1952

Box 64

Birmingham, Ala., Citizens Group 1952 (2 folders)

Box 64

Boston, Mass., Public Library, 60 plus group 1952 (2 folders)

Box 64

Bountiful, Utah, Special Interest, M.I.A. 1952

Box 64

Brooklyn, N.Y., Brooklyn Public Library 1952

Box 65

Brooklyn, N.Y., U.S. Maritime Service Officers' Club 1952

Box 65

Buffalo, N.Y., Buffalo Public Library 1952 (2 folders)

Box 65

Chapel Hill, N.C., Civic Club Representatives 1952

Box 65

Chattanooga, Tenn., Public Library 1952 (2 folders)

Box 65

Chicago, Ill., Lawson, YMCA 1952

Box 66

Chicago, Ill., Roosevelt College 1952

Box 66

Coachella, Cal., Public School (Adult) 1952

Box 66

Columbia, Mo., Stephens College 1952

Box 66

Dallas, Tex., Church Group 1952 (2 folders)

Box 66

Dayton, Ohio, YMCA 1952

Box 67

Dayton, Ohio, Council On World Affairs 1952

Box 67

Des Moines, Iowa, Adult Education Executive Committee 1952

Box 67

Detroit, Mich., Public Library 1952

Box 67

Flint, Mich., Mott Foundation, Adult Education 1952

Box 67

Fort Atkinson, Wisc., Dwight Foster Public Library 1952

Box 67, 68

Great Falls, Mont., Farmer-Labor Institute 1952 (2 folders)

Box 68

Lions Club 1952

Box 68

Griffin, Ga., Business and Professional Women 1952

Box 68

Kennett, Mo., County Library 1952

Box 68

La Crosse, Wisc., Public Library 1952 (2 folders)

Box 68

Laramie, Wyo., University 1952

Box 69

Lincoln, Neb., Public School 1952 (2 folders)

Box 69

Manhattan, Kansas, Library 1952

Box 69

Memphis, Tenn., Southwestern University 1952 (2 folders)

Box 69

Minneapolis, Minn., Public Library 1952

Box 70

New Philadelphia, Ohio, Library 1952

Box 70

New York Junior League 1952

Pasadena, Cal.

Box 70

Married Couples Monday Evening 1952 (2 folders)

Box 70

Rotary Club 1952 (2 folders)

Box 71

Senior Citizen Club 1952 (2 folders)

Box 71

Young Adults 1952

Box 71

Petersburg, Va., Virginia State College 1952 (2 folders)

Box 71

Portland, Ore., Public Library 1952

Box 71

Price, Utah, Carbon College 1952

Box 71

Reading, Pa., T.E.A. discussion Group 1952

Box 72

Rhinelander, Wisc., Public Library 1952 (2 folders)

Box 72

Rochester, N.Y., R.A.U.N. 1952

Box 72

St. Louis, Mo., Council on World Affairs 1952 (2 folders)

Box 72

Salina, Kansas, Library 1952 (2 folders)

Box 73

San Francisco, Cal., World Affairs Council 1952

Box 73

San Bernardino, Cal., Valley College 1952 (2 folders)

Box 73

San Jose, Cal., Adult Center 1952

Box 73

Santa Monica, Cal., S.M. Bay Women's Club 1952

Box 73

Sioux City, Iowa, Adult Education, Schools 1952

Box 73, 74

Shorewood, Wisc., Women's Club 1952 (2 folders)

Box 74

Snyder, N.Y., Public School Adult Education 1952

Box 74

Stamford, Conn., Ferguson Library 1952

Box 74

Worthington, Minn., Library 1952

Box 74

Attendance Records 1952

Box 74

End-of-meeting evaluation forms 1952

Box 74

Group member report 1952

International Understanding Series

Box 75

Group member reports 1952 (4 folders)

Box 76

Group summary questionnaires,by state 1952 (5 folders)

Personal information

Box 77-86

Discussion groups 1957 (164 folders)

Box 86-88

Discussion groups 1958 (40 folders)

Group information

Box 88

Akron, University of, Institute for Civic Education 1957

Box 88

Arkansas, University of 1957

Box 88

British Columbia, University of 1958

Box 88

California, University of, Los Angeles 1957-1958 (4 folders)

Box 88

Kansas City, University of 1958

Box 88

Louisville, University of 1957-1958

Box 88

Pasadena Liberal Arts Center 1957-1958 (2 folders)

Box 88

Whittier Liberal Arts Center 1957-1958 (2 folders)

Box 88

Analysis of Test Center Data 1958-1959

Group leader's reactions

Box 89

Twin Cities Liberal Arts Center 1957-1958

Box 89

Utah, University of, Salt Lake City 1957

Box 89

Virginia, University of, Richmond Center 1957-1958

Box 89

British Columbia, University of 1958 (4 folders)

Box 89

California, University of, Los Angeles 1958 (4 folders)

Box 89

Charlottesville, Va. 1958

Box 89

Kansas City, University of 1958

Box 89

Louisville, University of 1958

Box 89

Pasadena Liberal Arts Center 1958

Box 89

St. Paul 1958

Box 89

Twin Cities Liberal Arts Center 1958

Box 89

Utah, University of, Salt Lake City 1958

Box 89

Virginia, University of, Richmond Center 1958

Box 89

Whittier Liberal Arts Center 1958 (2 folders)

Newspaper clippings and photostats

Box 90

Akron Beacon Journal 1952-1964 (5 folders)

Box 90

Educational Television Factsheet, Box Score Nov 1954 - May 1960

Box 91

Various 1951-1960 (4 folders)

Box 91

Test Cities editorials 1953-1958

Box 92

News releases and press clippings 1959-1960 (2 folders)

Box 92

Foundations 1951-1958

Box 92

Memphis newspaper clippings 1957-1964 (2 folders)

Box 92

Magazine summaries 1958-1959

Box 93

Various 1954-1959

Box 93

Magazine summaries 1950-1959

Box 93

Educational Television 1952-1958

Box 93

Newsletters 1953-1960

Box 93

Public Responsibility; Leadership; Liberal Education 1959-1960

Box 93

Educational Television 1959-1960

Box 94

Foundations and Funds 1959

Box 94

News releases and press clippings, editorial comments 1959

Box 94

George E. Sokolsky column 1959

Box 94

Memphis newspaper clippings 1952-1961 (3 folders)

Box 95

Various 1960

Box 95

Magazine summaries 1956-1960

Box 95

News releases and press clippings 1959

Box 96

Various 1961

Box 96

Inside Channels (Newsletter) 1956-1960

Box 96

News Digest 1959-1960

The Study Of Sioux City

Box 95

Miscellaneous 1955-1956

Publications

Printed publications

Box 97

America Armed: Essays on United States Military Policy, ed. R.A. Goldwin; Rand McNally & Company, Chicago, [third printing, 1969].

Box 97

Beyond the Cold War: Essays on American Foreign Policy in a Changing World Environment, ed. R.A. Goldwin; Rand McNally & Company, Chicago, [1965].

Box 97

Higher Education and Modern Democracy, ed. R.A. Goldwin; Rand McNally & Company, Chicago, [1965].

Box 97

Left, Right, and Center: Essays on Liberalism and Conservatism in the United States, ed. R.A. Goldwin; Rand McNally & Company, Chicago [1965].

Box 97

A Nation of Cities: Lssays on America's Urban Problems, ed. R.A. Goldwin; Rand McNally & Company, Chicago, [1967].

Box 97

A Nation of States: Essays on the American Federal System, ed. R.A. Goldwin; Rand McNally & Company, Chicago, [sixth printing, 1969].

Box 97

Political Parties, U.S.A., ed. R,A. Goldwin; Rand. McNally & Company, Chicago, [third printing, 1968].

Box 97

Representation and Misrepresentation, ed. R.A. Goldwin; Rand McNally & Ccmpany, Chicago,[1967].

Box 97

Studies in Adult Group Learning in the Liberal Arts, 4 vols., by John Walker Powell; The Fund for Adult Education, 1960.

Box 97

Why Foreign Aid?: Two Messages by President Kennedy and Essays, ed. R.A. Goldwin; Rand McNally & Company, Chicago, [1963].

Box 97

Civic Education in the United States: A Directory of Organizations, comps. Robert Horowitz and Carl Tjerandsen; The University of Chicago, 1954; with 1958-59 Supplement.

Miscellaneous publications

Box 97

The Challenge of Lifetime Learning, ContinuingLiberal Education, report 1955-1957

Box 97

Solution of the Functionally Illiterate Problem 1968

Box 97

The 10th Annual Seminar on Leadership in University Adult Education 1967

Box 97

Liberal Education: summary of a discussion by the Trustees of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching 1956

Box 97

Opinions of School Superintendents on Adult Education 1964

Box 97

Statistics of Public School Adult Education 1958-1959

Box 97

Survey of University Adult Education in the Metropolitan Area of New York 1966-1967

FAE Part 2: 1991 additions

This addition consists of correspondence, memoranda, reports, essays, news releases and seminar summaries. Most of the files supplement the material in part one on Experimental discussion groups (EDP). There are also three folders related to the Cooperative Extension Services Project in Public Affairs and for Public Responsibilities. General files precede those of the Cooperative Extension project. These are followed by the EDP files. Within these groupings, material is arranged alphabetically.

Box 98

News releases 1960-1961

Problems and solutions 1957

Box 98

Developing discussion materials

Box 98

Developing course and Program materials

Box 98

Self-Supporting Centers of Liberal Education

Box 98

Coordinating Education and Television

Box 98

Leadership Training Awards

Box 98

Proposals, University College, Syracuse University 1960

Box 98

Recommendations, Development Committee on Internships, Scholarships and Fellowships 1953

Cooperative Extension Services Project

Box 98

Memoranda 1959-1960

Box 98

Seminar summaries 1959

Box 98

Seminar tour, Program consultants, misc. 1959

Experimental discussion groups

Box 98

Article, "Discussion groups - A Leftist Trap" 1957

Box 98

Correspondence , responses to Mr. Fletcher's letter 1954

Life Under Communism

Box 98

Essays 1953

Box 98

Memoranda, Reading lists, Progress report, misc. 1953

Reports

Box 98

Preliminary report, Liberal Arts discussion groups 1956

Box 98

Report, "A Preliminary Exploration of U.S. Communities Using Study-Discussion Program materials 1956-1958

Box 98

Progress report 1957

Box 98

Experimental film discussion project, progress report 1952

Audiorecordings

Oversize 8

"All the World's a Stage" (A Study in Status and Role) 01/25/1955 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 6 - "Who Do You Think You Are"; running time 28:30 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_073)

Oversize 8

"All the World's a Stage" (A Study in Status and Role) 01/25/1955 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 6 - "Who Do You Think You Are"; running time 28:30 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_074)

Oversize 2

"Bigwin Inn" 09/07/1953 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_005)

Oversize 8

"But I Know What I Like" (A Study in the Arts) 02/01/1953 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 12 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_079)

Oversize 9

"The Case of the Bamboo Sized Pigs" 06/19/1953 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 2; running time 27:02 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_085)

Oversize 9

"The Case of the Bamboo Sized Pigs" 06/19/1953 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 2; running time 27:02 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_086)

Oversize 8

"The Case of the Borrowed Wife" 06/29/1953 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 1; running time 28:46 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_083)

Oversize 8

"The Case of the Borrowed Wife" 06/29/1953 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 1; running time 28:46 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_084)

Oversize 7

"The Case of the Sea-Lion Flippers" (A Study in Ethics) - Ways of Mankind Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_065)

Oversize 7

"The Case of the Sea-Lion Flippers" (A Study in Ethics) 01/25/1955 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 8 - "The Right Thing"; running time 29:43 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_067)

Oversize 3

"The Danger of Freedom" - From Program 6 "Freedom of Opinion"; Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_015)

Oversize 3

"The Danger of Freedom" - Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_023)

Oversize 3

"The Democrat and the Commissar" and "Light and Liberty" - Program #2 and #4 of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_021)

Oversize 3

"The Democrat and the Commissar" - From Program 7 "The Nature of the Revolution"; Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_016)

Oversize 7

"Desert Soliloquy": A Study in Education - Ways of Mankind Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_061)

Oversize 7

"Desert Soliloquy": A Study in Education - Ways of Mankind Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_062)

Oversize 7

"Desert Soliloquy": A Study in Education - Ways of Mankind Series; running time 30:02 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_063)

Oversize 2

"Divided We Stand" - From Program 2 "Freedom of Religion"; Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_011)

Oversize 3

"Divided We Stand" - Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_022)

Oversize 10

Dm Carlo 04/04/1959 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_097)

Oversize 2

End of an Era 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_001)

Oversize 2

"The Everlasting Struggle for Freedom" 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_010)

Oversize 3

"The Experience of a Free Press" - From Program 5 "Freedom of the Press"; Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_014)

Oversize 9

"The Forbidden Name of Wednesday" - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 4: "The Quality of Justice"; running time 28:22 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_091)

Oversize 9

"The Forbidden Name of Wednesday" - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 4: "The Quality of Justice"; running time 28:22 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_092)

Oversize 4

"Freedom of the Press" and "The University of the United States" - Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_025)

Oversize 3

"Freeing the Land" - From Program 4 "Economic Freedom"; Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_013)

Oversize 3

"The Ground of Justice" - From Program 8 "Ground of Justice"; Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_017)

Oversize 3

"The Grounds of Justice" - Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_024)

Oversize 8

"Home Sweet Home" (A Study in Family) 01/25/1955 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 10; running time 27:22 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_075)

Oversize 8

"Home Sweet Home" (A Study in Family) 01/25/1955 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 10; running time 27:22 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_076)

Oversize 6

Interviews by George Martin with Paul G. Hoffman 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_054)

Oversize 2

Jeff and Our Times 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_008)

Oversize 2

Jeff and Our Times 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_009)

Oversize 9

"Laying Down the Law" - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 6; running time 28:36 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_093)

Oversize 9

"Laying Down the Law" - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 6; running time 28:36 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_094)

Oversize 7

"Legend of the Long House" (A Study in Authority) 07/03/1952 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 9 - "The Constituted Power"; running time 27:08 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_069)

Oversize 7

"Legend of the Long House" (A Study in Authority) 07/03/1952 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 9 - "The Constituted Power"; running time 27:08 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_070)

Oversize 4

The Liberal Arts and the Government of Men by President Arthur Flemming 02/25/1958 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_034)

Oversize 4

The Liberal Arts and the Government of Men by President Arthur Flemming 02/26/1958 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_035)

Oversize 4

The Liberal Arts and the Government of Men by President Arthur Flemming 02/27/1958 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_036)

Oversize 2

"Light and Liberty" - From Program 3 "Scientific Freedom"; Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_012)

Oversize 9

"Lion Bites Man" - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 4: "The Quality of Justice"; running time 29:22 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_089)

Oversize 9

"Lion Bites Man" - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 4: "The Quality of Justice"; running time 29:22 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_090)

Oversize 3

"The Living Declaration" 04/04/1952 - Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_020)

Oversize 5

Lowell Institute Cooperative Broadcasting Council: American Literature 07/04/1952 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_037)

Oversize 5

Lowell Institute Cooperative Broadcasting Council: Anthology (1 of 2) 07/11/1952 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_038)

Oversize 6

Milton Katz 05/22/1953 - running time 28:20 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_053)

Oversize 8

"Museum of Man" (A Study in Society) 07/11/1952 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 13; running time 26:22 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_080)

Oversize 8

"Museum of Man" (A Study in Society) 07/11/1952 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 13; running time 26:22 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_081)

Oversize 8

"Museum of Man" (A Study in Society) 07/11/1952 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 13; running time 26:22 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_082)

Oversize 2

Music for "Humanities" Groupe 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_006)

Oversize 2

Music for Humanities Unit VI and VII 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_007)

Oversize 2

Musical Selections No. 1 - running time 10:59 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_004)

Oversize 2

Musical Selections Record No. 2 09/06/1955 - Crucifixus; 2nd Fuge; Mozart Aonata; Chopin Prelude #6; Chopin Prelude #13; running time 14:16 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_002)

Oversize 2

Musical Terms Record 08/27/1955 - running time 10:59 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_003)

Oversize 3

"Nature's Most Precious Gifts" - From Program 10 "Leadership in a Free Society"; Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_019)

Oversize 5

People Under Communism: "Drama to Order" (1 of 2) 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_045)

Oversize 5

People Under Communism: "Drama to Order" (2 of 2) 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_046)

Oversize 5

People Under Communism: "Literature to Order" (1 of 2) 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_047)

Oversize 5

People Under Communism: "Literature to Order" (2 of 2) 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_048)

Oversize 5

People Under Communism: "Music to Order" (1 of 2) 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_041)

Oversize 5

People Under Communism: "Music to Order" (2 of 2) 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_042)

Oversize 6

People Under Communism: "Pattern of World Conflict" (1 of 2) 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_049)

Oversize 6

People Under Communism: "Pattern of World Conflict" (2 of 2) 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_050)

Oversize 5

People Under Communism: "Terror as a System of Power" (1 of 2) 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_039)

Oversize 5

People Under Communism: "Terror as a System of Power" (2 of 2) 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_040)

Oversize 5

People Under Communism: "The Men Who Make the Migs" (1 of 2) 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_043)

Oversize 5

People Under Communism: "The Men Who Make the Migs" (2 of 2) 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_044)

Oversize 6

People Under Communism: "The Music and the Dream" (1 of 2) 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_051)

Oversize 6

People Under Communism: "The Music and the Dream" (2 of 2) 06/05/1962 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_052)

Oversize 4

Randall Lectures: Lecture 1 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_031)

Oversize 4

Randall Lectures: Lecture 2 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_032)

Oversize 4

Randall Lectures: Lecture 3 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_033)

Oversize 4

Reason and Discontent - Part of the Bryson Lectureship; Dr. Lyman; Program 1 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_028)

Oversize 4

Reason and Discontent - Part of the Bryson Lectureship; Dr. Lyman; Program 2 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_029)

Oversize 4

Reason and Discontent - Part of the Bryson Lectureship; Dr. Lyman; Program 3 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_030)

Oversize 9

"The Repentant Horse Thief " 06/30/1953 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 3 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_087)

Oversize 9

"The Repentant Horse Thief " 06/30/1953 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 3 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_088)

Oversize 6

"Stand in for Murder" and "Design for Living" - running time 29:12 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_060)

Oversize 6

"Stand in for Murder": A Study in Culture - Ways of Mankind Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_058)

Oversize 7

"Sticks and Stones" (A Study in Religion) 01/18/1953 - Ways of Mankind Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_068)

Oversize 8

"Survival" (A Study in Technology) 01/02/1953 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 11; running time 29:30 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_077)

Oversize 8

"Survival" (A Study in Technology) 01/02/1953 - Ways of Mankind Series: Program 11; running time 29:30 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_078)

Oversize 4

"To Secure These Rights" and "Nature's Most Precious Gifts" - Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series; Programs 11-12 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_026)

Oversize 3

"University of the U.S." - From Program 9 "Men's Right to Learn"; Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_018)

Oversize 4

"What the Jeffersonian Heritage Means Today" - Part of the "Jeffersonian Heritage" Series; Programs 13 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_027)

Oversize 6

"Word in Your Ear" or "Watch Your Language" - Ways of Mankind Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_059)

Oversize 6

"Word in Your Ear" - "Worth Your Language"; "Ways of Mankind" 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_056)

Oversize 6

"Word in Your Ear" - "Watch Your Language"; running time 30:25 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_057)

Oversize 7

"You Are Not Alone" (A Study in Groups) 01/04/1953 - Ways of Mankind Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_071)

Oversize 7

"You Are Not Alone" (A Study in Groups) 01/04/1953 - Ways of Mankind Series 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_072)

Oversize 9

The Years Between 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_095)

Oversize 9

What's With Music - Krasner Sessions 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_096)

Oversize 7

When Greek Meets Greek: Program 7 "What's Important to You?" 01/25/1955 - Ways of Mankind Series; running time 29:44 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_064)

Oversize 7

When Greek Meets Greek: Program 7 "What's Important to You?" 01/25/1955 - Ways of Mankind Series; running time 29:44 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_066)

Oversize 6

[Untitled Fund for Adult Education Tape #1] 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_055)

Oversize 10

[Untitled Fund for Adult Education Tape #2] 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_098)

Oversize 10

[Untitled Fund for Adult Education Tape #3] 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_099)

Oversize 10

[Untitled Fund for Adult Education Tape #4] 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_100)

Oversize 10

[Untitled Fund for Adult Education Tape #5] 12/08/1952 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_101)

Oversize 10

[Untitled Fund for Adult Education Tape #6] 12/08/1952 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_102)

Oversize 10

[Untitled Fund for Adult Education Tape #7] 12/08/1952 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_103)

Oversize 10

[Untitled Fund for Adult Education Tape #8] 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: fae_104)

Audio/film sets

These presentations, also known as slide/films, consisted of a silent 35mm film and a phonodisc intended to be played as the film was viewed.

Box 99

Committee for Economic Development Presents "America’s Secret Weapon" Film: 35mm (ID#: fae_119)

Committee for Economic Development Presents "America’s Secret Weapon" VinylDisc (ID#: fae_125)

Box 99

Committee for Economic Development Presents "The Last Three Feet" Film: 35mm (ID#: fae_114)

Committee for Economic Development Presents "The Last Three Feet" VinylDisc (ID#: fae_122)

Box 99

CED Slidefilm "Mobilizing Main Street" Part 1 Film: 35mm (ID#: fae_115)

Box 99

CED Slidefilm "Mobilizing Main Street" Part 2 Film: 35mm (ID#: fae_116)

Committee For Economic Development Presents "Mobilizing Main Street" (Executive Secretary, Industry, Commerce, Agriculture) Parts 1 and 2 VinylDisc (ID#: fae_123)

Box 99

CED Slidefilm "Mobilizing Main Street" Part 3 Film: 35mm (ID#: fae_117)

Box 99

CED Slidefilm "Mobilizing Main Street" Part 4 Film: 35mm (ID#: fae_118)

Committee for Economic Development Presents "Mobilizing Main Street" (Executive Secretary, Industry, Commerce, Agriculture) Parts 3 and 4 VinylDisc (ID#: fae_124)

Box 99

CED Slidefilm "Now Is The Time" Film: 35mm (ID#: fae_112)

Committee for Economic Development Presents "Now Is The Time" VinylDisc (ID#: fae_120)

Box 99

Committee for Economic Development Presents "Target for Peace" and "The Grass Roots Approach" Film: 35mm (ID#: fae_113)

Committee for Economic Development Presents "Target for Peace" and "The Grass Roots Approach" VinylDisc (ID#: fae_121)

Return to top

Collection inventory

Table of Contents