Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Frederick Fell Publishers, Inc.
Title:	Frederick Fell Publishers, Inc. Records
Inclusive Dates:	1930-1967
Quantity:	31 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American publishing firm, including correspondence (1944-1966); general files, typescript manuscripts, production records, promotional material, books, and newspaper clippings.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

First established in 1943, Frederick Fell Publishers, Inc., is a trade independent book publisher in the United States, particularly strong in self-help and how-to titles.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frederick Fell Publishers, Inc. Records is arranged in eight categories.

Correspondence is made up of letters both to and from Fell concerning business. General files is comprised of his business associates. Clippings and Advertising contain promotional material. Published material -- Other and Published material are composed of books, transcripts, and rough drafts of books. Memorabilia is composed of such items as address books, photographs, and a gag award. Business records and apparatus contains corporate stock ledgers and Fell's corporate seal.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is in chronological order. General files are in alphabetical order. The remaining material is in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the records of several important American publishers, including Grove Press and Street and Smith. Please refer to the the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frederick Fell Publishers, Inc. Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Frederick Fell, 1967-1986.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MPK
Date: Dec 1978
Revision history: 25 Apr 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		1944-1949
Box 1		1950-1959
Box 1		1960
Box 1		1961 (2 folders)
Box 1		1962 (2 folders)
Box 1		1963-1966
Box 1		Lelord Kordel
Box 1		Writer's Digest

	General files
Box 1		Miscellaneous (11 folders)
Box 2		Miscellaneous (6 folders)
Box 2		Joey Adams
Box 2		Advertising
Box 2		John Alan Appleman
Box 2		A.C. Appler
Box 2		Applications for Employment
Box 2		Evelyn Barkins
Box 2		Barnes Management Library
Box 2		Fred Benham
Box 2		Millard Bennett (2 folders)
Box 2		Patricia Benton
Box 2		Carl Breihan
Box 2		Roger Brook
Box 2		Albert Castel
Box 2		Catalogs
Box 2		Cha Cha Cha
Box 2		Glen Clairmonte
Box 2		Carlton Cole
Box 2		Copyrights
Box 2		Current Books
Box 3		Eddie Davis
Box 3		Dictation
Box 3		Dikty and Bleiler
Box 3		Editorial Services
Box 3		George Feldman
Box 3		Robert Franklyn
Box 3		Vic Frederickr (2 folders)
Box 3		Walter Gibson
Box 3		Leonard Green
Box 3		Corrine Griffith
Box 3		E. Wayne Hull
Box 3		Jacket Material
Box 3		William H. Jacobs
Box 3		Ralph A. Jason
Box 3		Harold Kahn
Box 3		Ronald Kirkbride
Box 3		Legal Material
Box 3		Letterheads
Box 3		Harry Lorayne
Box 3		Mail Order Material
Box 3		Edna Malcoskey
Box 3		Conty Marlowe
Box 3		Meadow Lane Co.
Box 3		M.S. Michel
Box 3		Harold Miller
Box 3		Marsh Morrison
Box 3		Names, Inc.
Box 3		Bergen F. Newell
Box 3		Notes
Box 3		Dr. Miklos Nyiszli
Box 3		Marjorie O'Shaughnessy
Box 3		Paul Parker
Box 3		Perfettes Manufacturing Company
Box 3		Personal (2 folders)
Box 4		Dr. Frederick Price
Box 4		Projects 52-53
Box 4		Prize Novel Award 1945
Box 4		Receipts
Box 4		Rejects (4 folders)
Box 4		Rock 'n' Roll
Box 4		Lillian Roth (2 folders)
Box 4		Martin Rywell
Box 4		Jerry Siegel
Box 4		E.W. Smith
Box 4		Social Security
Box 4		Nan Shipley
Box 4		Peter J. Steinchrow
Box 4		F.B. Streeter
Box 4		Turfmaster
Box 4		University of Oregon
Box 4		Irving Wallace
Box 4		Western Americana
Box 4		A.M. Winchester
Box 4		Thyra Samter Wilson
Box 4		John Worby

	Clippings
Box 5, 6, 7		Miscellaneous

	Advertising
Box 8		Miscellaneous

	Published material - other
		Books
Box 9			Eat, Think and Be Slender 1954 (10 volumes)
Box 9			The Power of Inspired Salesmanship 1960 (2 volumes)
Box 9			How to Use Tact and Skill in Handling People 1960 (2 volumes)
Box 9			Jeg Genauer Mine Tarer 1956
Box 9			Wollen Sie Länger Leben, Herr Direktor? 1962 (2 volumes)
Box 9			Tamiko 1959, 1964 (2 volumes each, total 4 volumes)
Box 9			Alaskadokturn
Box 9			How to Live to be 100 1963 (2 volumes)
Box 9			Auschwitz 1960 (3 volumes)
Box 9			Calendar Model 1958
Box 9			The Devil's Agent 1959 (2 volumes)
Box 10			Astounding Science Fiction 1957
Box 10			I Romanzi di Urania 1953 (7 volumes)
Box 10			How to Make Psychology Work for You 1957 (3 volumes)
Box 10			A Man Divided 1950
Box 10			Les Rois des Etoiles undated
Box 10			I Morgen Kan Jeg Grate 1958
Box 10			Possess Me Not 1948
Box 10			The Sins of Philip Fleming 1959 (2 volumes)
Box 10			Memory of Love 1943
Box 10			Como Adquirir una Super Memoria 1959
Box 10			Jaggrater I Morgon 1954
Box 10			What Today's Woman Should Know About Marriage 1948
Box 10			Grammar Self-Taught 1963 (2 volumes)
Box 10			Broken Melody 1942
Box 10			As He Saw It 1946
Box 10			Look To The Sun 1947
Box 10			Painless Rectal Surgery 1951
Box 10			The Yogurt Cookbook 1967
Oversize 5			Die Malerei Des Barock 1940
		Catalogs and Magazines
Box 10			Miscellaneous (16 volumes)

	Published material
		Books
Box 11			Still the Heart Sings 1950 (9 volumes)
Box 11			A Letter to the Man Who Killed My Dog 1956 (5 volumes)
Box 11			Everyman's History of the Jews 1948 (5 volumes)
Box 11			Off Limits 1957 (3 volumes)
Box 11			All Dogs Go To Heaven 1943 (5 volumes)
Box 12			Heads You Lose 1950 (24 volumes)
Box 12			Beyond My Worth 1958 (4 volumes)
Box 12			The One Eyed Poacher and the Maine Woods 1955
Box 13			Marriage, Morals and War 1943 (11 volumes)
Box 13			Mark It With a Stone 1949 (9 volumes)
Box 13			Georgie May 1928 (3 volumes)
Box 13			Inside Tin Pan Alley 1948
Box 13			Virtuous Girl 1949
Box 13			How to Be Sexcessful 1958
Box 13			City At World's End 1952 (6 volumes)
Box 13			Behind These Walls 1957 (4 volumes)
Box 13			For Doctors Only 1948 (2 volumes)
Box 13			Secrets of a Professional Coin Dealer 1966
Box 14			I Vostri Piedi 1956 (4 volumes)
Box 14			Your Feet Are Killing You 1953 (3 volumes)
Box 14			The Bedside Bonanza 1944 (6 volumes)
Box 14			The Star Kings 1949 (3 volumes)
Box 14			Stjernefyrstens Sonn 1951
Box 14			Out of My Darkness 1957 (3 volumes)
Box 14			Jack the Ripper 1960 (2 volumes)
Box 14			Four-Sided Triangle 1951 (4 volumes)
Box 14			Planets for Sale 1954 (3 volumes)
Box 14			A Treasury of Doctor's Stories 1946
Box 14			Father Meany 1944
Box 14			The 14-Karat Trailer 1955
Box 15			Love Me Sailor 1950 (7 volumes)
Box 15			Bridges to the Unknown 1956 (3 volumes)
Box 15			How to Lose Weight The Doctor's Way 1959
Box 15			The Freeze and Please Home Freezer Cookbook 1963 (2 volumes)
Box 15			Jest What the Doctor Ordered 1949 (3 volumes)
Box 15			The Murder of Me 1961 (2 volumes)
Box 15			Psychiatry for the Millions (4 volumes)
Box 15			Bed Manners and Better Bed Manners 1941
Box 15			Four Children for the Doctor 1955 (3 volumes)
Box 15			President Eisenhower's Cartoon Book 1956 (2 volumes)
Box 15			Are These Our Doctors? 1952 (2 volumes)
Box 15			Laugh, You Sinners 1955 (2 volumes)
Box 16			The "GUV" 1947 (9 volumes)
Box 16			Health The Easy Way
Box 16			Why Seapower Will Win the War 1944 (7 volumes)
Box 16			Gentlemen for Rent 1955 (5 volumes)
			The Best Science Fiction Stories
Box 16				1949 (6 volumes)
Box 17				1950 (2 volumes)
Box 17				1951 (missing as of 6/4/08) (2 volumes)
Box 17				1952 (2 volumes)
Box 17				1953(missing as of 6/4/08) (2 volumes)
Box 17				1954 (3 volumes)
Box 17				1955 (2 volumes)
Box 17			Science Fiction Omnibus 1949 (2 volumes)
Box 17			Year's Best Science Fiction Novels 1952, 1953, 1955
Box 17			Fellow Citizens 1950 (4 volumes)
Box 17			Developing Bosom Beauty 1959
Box 17			I'll Cry Tomorrow 1955 (2 volumes)
Box 17			Winds Blow Gently 1945 (2 volumes)
Box 18			Fatu's Experiences 1953 (8 volumes)
Box 18			The Trial of Dr. DeKaplany 1965 (2 volumes)
Box 18			El Jukio del Dr. DeKaplany 1967 (3 volumes)
Box 18			The Wild West Joke Book 1956 (2 volumes)
Box 18			Jacob and the Angel 1961
Box 18			Fell's United States Coin Book 1955 (2 volumes)
Box 18			My Father-My Son 1958
Box 18			Day Unto Day 1943
Box 18			The Scarlet Lily 1959
Box 18			In The Footsteps of Sherlock Holmes 1960
Box 18			The Family Problems Handbook 1952
Box 18			Bist Du Normal 1951
Box 18			A Friend is for Always 1963
Box 18			Hospital Happy 1959
Box 18			Taxation With Representation or Your Money Went That-A-Way 1962
Box 18			Know Your Hay Fever 1943
Box 18			The Curtain Never Falls 1949
Box 18			For Maine Only 1959
Box 18			My Friend Ike 1956
Box 18			Naked on Roller Skates 1930
Box 18			Fell's Guide to the Secrets of Self Hypnosis 1964
		Typescripts
Box 19			Joy for Daily Living
Box 19			I'm Lucky at Cards
Box 19			This You Won't Believe
Box 19			The Diabetic Cookbook
Box 19			Face Language
Box 19			Al Kelly s Double Life
Box 19			More Life More Years
Box 19			How to Win Sweepstakes Prizes
Box 19			Decisions and the Furies
Box 19			The Condominium Buyer's Guide
Box 19			Writing for Juveniles
Box 19			The Cheskin System for Business Success
Box 19			How to Use the Power of Enthusiasm
Box 19			Fell's Guide to Winning Backgammon
Box 19			Firefly Moments
Box 19			The Famous and the Infamous
Box 20			I Dive for Treasure
Box 20			Scientific Man
Box 20			Our Murdered Presidents
Box 20			How to Develop Your ESP Power
Box 20			Does Your Mother Know
Box 20			Common Stock for the Uncommon Man
Box 20			How to Finance a Growing Business
Box 20			How to Improve Your Speaking Voice
Box 20			Mail Order Business
Box 20			Momma and Me Plus Three
Box 20			Fell's Guide to Hand Puppets
Box 20			Appointment With Success
Box 20			It Happened On Rush Street
Box 20			El Vendedor Mas Grande
Box 20			By Way of Introduction
Box 21			Investing in Natural Resources
Box 21			How to Develop Power and Confidence in Selling Real Estate
Box 21			Your Success Through Psycho-Cybernetics
Box 21			Cooking With Health Foods
Box 21			I Can Heal Myself and I Will
Box 21			The Greatest Miracle in the World How to Manage Yourself
Box 21			How to Earn $25,000 a Year or More Typing at Home
Box 21			The Encyclopedia of Little Known, Highly Profitable Business Opportunities
Box 21			The New Encyclopedia of Little Known Highly Profitable Business Opportunities
Box 21			How to Profit from the Coming Land Boom in the Caribbean Islands and Latin America
Box 22			Born in April (2 folders)
Box 22			Building Sales Confidence
Box 22			I'll Cry Tomorrow
Box 22			The Trial of Dr. DeKaplany
Box 22			The Golden Children
Box 22			It's Never Too Late (2 folders)
Box 22			The Escapades of Frank and Jesse James
Box 22			The Incompleat Man (2 folders)
Box 22			The Boston Police Diet and Maintenance Program (2 folders)
Box 23			The Complete Guide to Acupuncture (2 folders)
Box 23			Fell's Complete Guide to Buried Treasure, Land and Sea (3 folders)
Box 23			The Schoolteachers
Box 23			Techniques for Discovering Hidden Value Stocks (2 folders)
Box 23			A Philosophy of Self Management (2 folders)
Box 23			Winds Blow Gently
Box 23			Arizona
Box 24			Uncle Sam as Your Information Finder
Box 24			From Gags to Riches
Box 24			Fell's Official Stamp Guide (3 folders)
Box 24			Crackers in Bed
Box 24			Great Science Fiction Stories About Mars
Box 24			A Grandparent's Garden of Verses
Box 24			How to Double Your Child's Power to Read
Box 24			Cooking With Yogurt
Box 24			The Greatest Secret in the World
Box 24			The Drug Plague
Box 24			Kick the Habit
Box 24			Untitled (John A. O'Brien)
Box 25			Short Cuts Math (3 folders)
		Short stories
Box 25			Miscellaneous
		Galleys
Box 25			How to Develop Power and Confidence in Selling Real Estate
Box 25			From Gags to Riches
Box 25			By Way of Introduction
Box 25			The Schoolteachers
Box 25			I Can Heal Myself and I Will
Box 25			A Philosophy of Self Management
Box 25			How to Use the Power of Enthusiasm
Box 26			Secrets of Self Hypnosis
Box 26			Writing for Juveniles
Box 26			Fell's Guide to Buried Treasure, Land and Sea
Box 26			Great Science Fiction Stories About Mars
Box 26			Whistle on the Wind
Box 26			Of the Heart's Own Telling
Box 26			Mail Order
Box 26			Untitled (Robert N. Newcomb)
Box 26			Never too Late to Be Young
Box 26			Untitled (?)
		Cartoons
Box 26			Miscellaneous
Oversize 4			Miscellaneous, oversize
		Photographs
Box 26			Joe Di Maggio
Box 26			Lillian Roth
Box 26			Religious
Box 26			Porcelain Art
Box 26			The Old West
Box 26			Miscellaneous
Box 26			Illustration Plates (3 folders)
		Lay Outs
Box 27			Fatu's Experiences
Box 27			F.D.R. Picture Story
Box 27			Hospital Happy
Box 27			Developing the Bosom
Box 27			Food Values
Box 27			Can You
Box 27			President Eisenhower's Cartoon Book
Box 27			Unknown title (Benge Stock Book)
Oversize 2			Miscellaneous
Oversize 3			Salty The Seahorse
Oversize 3			Can You
Oversize 3			Fellow Citizens
Oversize 4			Super Memory Power
Oversize 4			LBJ's Texas Laughs
Oversize 4			War and Peace

	Memorabilia
Box 27		Photographs
Box 27		Award
Box 27		Phonograph record
Box 27		Address books (13 volumes)
Oversize 1		Scrapbooks (5 volumes)

	Business records and apparatus
Box 27		Stock certificates ledger
Box 27		Stock and transfer ledger
Box 27		Minutes book
Box 27		Corporate seal
Box 28		Printer plates (6 plates)

Return to top