Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Frishmuth, Harriet Whitney, 1880-1980
Title:	Harriet Whitney Frishmuth Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1825-2002
Quantity:	32.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American sculptor, including original artwork and reproductions, correspondence and memorabilia as well as some family history of both Frishmuth and her longtime companion Ruth Talcott.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Harriet W. Frishmuth (1880-1980) was an American sculptor. Born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, on September 17, 1880, she studied art in Paris under Rodin and Injalbert, in Berlin under Euchteitz and at the Art Students' League under Borglum and McNeil, where she was awarded the St. Gaudens first prize. Her work has been exhibited at the National Academy of Design, the Academy of Fine Arts in Philadelphia, the Salon in Paris, the San Francisco Exposition (1939-1940) and the National Association of Women Painters and Sculptors.

Frishmuth received several awards from the National Academy of Design, a prize from the Grand Central Art Galleries, an honorable mention from the San Francisco Exposition and the Joan of Arc Silver Medal from the National Association of Women Painters and Sculptors.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harriet Whitney Frishmuth Papers consists of artwork originals and reproductions, audiovisual material, biographical material, correspondence subject files, financial and legal material, memorabilia and writings.

Artwork originals includes plaster and bronze models of her sculpture as well as sketches and paintings.

Artwork reproductions consists of a fairly complete photographic record of Ms. Frishmuth's work.

Audiovisual material includes audiotapes and a transcript of reminiscences compiled for an article in The Courier (1971) and amateur films of vacation trips.

Biographical material is some short biographical sketches and obituaries.

Correspondence-subject files include both personal and business correspondence as well as information on various galleries and organizations with which Ms. Frishmuth was associated.

Financial and legal material includes records of sales and foundry orders as well as copyright certificates and tax returns.

Memorabilia includes a caricature of Harriet Frishmuth by Matias Santoyo, awards and certficates, catalogs of shows and galleries, clipppings, photographs, postcards from vacations, printed material scrapbooks of family history and Ms. Frishmuth's sculpture and miscellaneous souvenirs.

Writings contains two vacation diaries and an essay.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The Harriet Whitney Frishmuth Papers are arranged by category of material and alphabetically within each category.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Nothing in the round (i.e. three-dimensional) may be reproduced. This includes medals.

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A few books have been removed from the collection and transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging.

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of more than 60 sculptors, including Anna Hyatt Huntington, James Earle Fraser and his wife Laura Gardin Fraser, and Brenda Putnam. Please see the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harriet Whitney Frishmuth Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Majority of collection gift of Harriet Frishmuth, 1967-1980.

Some memorabilia gift of Ruth Talcott, 1985.

"Dorothea" bronze relief and plaster relief, and plaster bust of infant gift of Bettina Huffman, 2010.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Aug 1967
Revision history: 14 Sep 1979 - accession (CAK); 14 Apr 1980 - accession (DW); 23 May 1980 - added Huntington Award (-); 29 Sep 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 18 Dec 2007 - added transcript (MRC); 12 Jul 2010 - artwork added (MRC); 14 Jul 2014 - corrected audiotape information (MRC); 18 Oct 2016 - audiorecording inventory added (PJM) ; 12 Dec 2018 - all accessions combined and entire collection processed and rehoused (PRB) ; 2 Dec 2022 - Vine photograph container information corrected (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Artwork originals
Oversize 3		Bas relief portrait plaster cast undated
Oversize 2		Child bust plaster undated
Oversize 2		Dancing Fawn bronze undated
Oversize 2		Desha bust plaster 1921
Oversize 9		Engraving original for copper plate undated
Box 1		Etchings, prints and copper plates undated
Oversize 1		Figure of woman plaster undated
Oversize 3		Frishmuth, Dorothea portrait relief undated (2 plaster, 1 bronze)
Box 1		Frishmuth Louise B. portrait relief bronze undated
Box 1		Garden Club of America medal bronze undated
Box 1		Jack portrait relief bronze undated
Oversize 3		Jack portrait relief wax casting undated
Box 1		Joy of the Waters template of base undated
Box 1		Maison Beaufait Abbott Children’s Home medal bronze undated
Box 1		Morton Memorial sketches undated
Box 1		Norfolk Tribute sketches undated
Oversize 10		Oil painting undated
Oversize 11		Pencil sketches 1936
Box 1		Playdays sketches undated
Box 1		Sketch book undated
Box 1		Sketches, miscellaneous undated
Box 1		Stanhope Memorial sketches undated
Oversize 10		Watercolors Lake Pleasant undated
Box 1		Wilcox Memorial sketches undated
Box 1		Woman’s head relief bronze undated

	Artwork reproductions
Box 2		Allegra, photographs undated
Box 2		Angel of Consolation photographs undated
Box 2		Ardmore Fountain photographs undated
Box 2		Aspiration photographs undated
Box 2		Baker, Ella K. Memorial photographs undated
Box 2		Benjamin, William E. Memorial photographs undated
Box 2		Berens, T. Passmore Memorial photographs undated
Oversize 11		Beyond photographs undated
Box 2		Boy with Urn photographs undated
Box 2		The Bubble photographs undated
Box 2		Bull Dog photographs undated
Box 2		Call of the Sea photographs undated
Box 2		Campbell Memorial photographs undated
Box 2		Caprice photographs undated
Box 2		Cathalene photographs undated
Box 2		The Christ photographs undated
Box 2		Cooper, Dorothea photographs undated
Box 2		Courtney, Frederick Memorial photographs undated
Box 2		Crest of the Wave photographs undated
Box 2		The Dancers photographs undated
Box 2		Dancing Fawn photographs undated
Box 2		Day Dreams photographs undated
Box 2		Desha – full figure photographs undated
Box 2		Desha – head portrait photographs undated
Box 2		Desha- head portrait copper engraving undated
Box 2		Diana photographs undated
Box 2		Dill Memorial The Beyond photographs undated
Box 2		Dreams photographs undated
Oversize 11		Dryad in Bronze photographs undated
Box 2		Eagle Radiator Cap photographs undated
Box 2		Extase photographs undated
Box 2		Flower Holder photographs undated
Box 2		Fokine’s Thunderbird photographs undated
Box 3		Fountains photographs undated
Box 3		The Garden Club of America photographs undated
Box 3		Gay, Janet photographs undated
Box 3		Globe Sundial photographs undated
Box 3		Goddard Memorial photographs undated
Box 3		Goddess of Happiness photographs undated
Box 3		Gorham Co. Sculpture Exhibition pieces photographs undated
Box 3		Grand Central Art Gallery photographs undated
Box 3		Hogan, Frank J. photographs undated
Box 3		Humoresque photographs undated
Box 3		The Hunt photographs undated
Box 3		Joy of the Waters photographs undated
Box 3		Knickerbocker, William H. photographs undated
Box 3		Knox, Henry D. photographs undated
Box 3		Laughing Waters photographs undated
Box 3		Laughing Waters copper undated
Box 3		Longing photographs undated
Box 3		McCullough Memorial photographs undated
Box 3		Meteor photographs undated
Box 3		Morton Memorial photographs undated
Box 3		New York Academy of Medicine Medal photographs undated
Box 3		Norfolk Tribute photographs undated
Box 3		Papillon photographs undated
Box 3		Peter Pan photographs undated
Box 3		Peter Pan copper engraving undated
Box 3		The Pioneer Mother photographs undated
Box 3		Playdays photographs 1925
Box 3		Reflection photographs 1930
Oversize 11		Reflection photographs 1930
Box 5		Reflection copper engraving undated
Box 6		Reflection copper engraving undated
Box 3		Revolt photographs undated
Box 3		Rhapsody photographs undated
Box 4		Roses of Yesterday photographs undated
Box 4		Saki Sundial photographs undated
Box 4		Scherzo photographs undated
Box 4		Siren’s Call photographs undated
Box 4		Slavonic Dancer photographs undated
Box 4		Speed photographs 1925
Box 4		Spring Voices photographs undated
Oversize 10		The Star photograph undated
Box 4		Sundials photographs undated
Box 4		Sweet Grapes photographs undated
Box 6		Sweet Grapes copper engraving undated
Box 4		The Trio fountain photographs undated
Box 4		Valentine, Lila Meade Memorial photographs undated
Oversize 9		The Vine photographs undated
Box 6		The Vine copper engraving undated
Box 4		Wilcox Memorial photographs undated
Box 4		Wilson, Woodrow photographs undated
Box 6		Wilson, Woodrow copper undated
Box 4		Woman and Frog photographs undated
Box 4		Miscellaneous unidentified works undated
Box 7		Miscellaneous unidentified glass plate negatives undated
Box 8		Miscellaneous unidentified glass plate negatives undated
Box 9		Miscellaneous unidentified glass plate negatives undated
Box 10		Miscellaneous unidentified glass plate negatives undated
Box 11		Miscellaneous unidentified glass plate negatives undated

	Audiovisual material
		Audio tapes
Box 14			[Gutzon] Borglum, [Karl] Bitter ; Purchase Sniffen Court ; First Commissions ; Meeting Desha (3 of 12) 1964 - Series of tape recordings made by Miss Frishmuth, accompanied by The Courier 9.1 (1971) article: "Harriet Whitney Frishmuth, American Sculptor". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_003)
Box 14			[Ruth] Talcott childhood, North Dakota State Penitentiary (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_014)
Box 14			[Untitled] - Side No. 1 and No. 2 are indicated on the cassette. (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_015)
Box 14			Army tape - Most likely the content of the audio recording refers to Ruth Talcott's army life. (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_013)
Box 14			Aspiration ; Beyond ; Garden Club Medal (11 of 12) 1964 - Series of tape recordings made by Miss Frishmuth, accompanied by The Courier 9.1 (1971) article: "Harriet Whitney Frishmuth, American Sculptor". Additional note on the tape box reads: "Portrait and Memories. Relief done direct in metal etchings". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_011)
Box 14			Childhood and Education (1 of 12) 1964 - Series of tape recordings made by Miss Frishmuth, accompanied by The Courier 9.1 (1971) article: "Harriet Whitney Frishmuth, American Sculptor". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_001)
Box 14			Desha ; Philadelphia ; Moved to New York (4 of 12) 1964 - Series of tape recordings made by Miss Frishmuth, accompanied by The Courier 9.1 (1971) article: "Harriet Whitney Frishmuth, American Sculptor". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_004)
Box 14			Education ; Early Studies ; Rodin Class (2 of 12) 1964 - Series of tape recordings made by Miss Frishmuth, accompanied by The Courier 9.1 (1971) article: "Harriet Whitney Frishmuth, American Sculptor". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_002)
Box 14			Large Bronzes ; Notes on Works ; Vine (6 of 12) 1964 - Series of tape recordings made by Miss Frishmuth, accompanied by The Courier 9.1 (1971) article: "Harriet Whitney Frishmuth, American Sculptor". Additional note on the tape box reads: "Large Bronzes". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_006)
Box 14			New York ; [Reminiscences] ; Silver Mine ; Syracuse (5 of 12) 1964 - Series of tape recordings made by Miss Frishmuth, accompanied by The Courier 9.1 (1971) article: "Harriet Whitney Frishmuth, American Sculptor". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_005)
Box 14			Papillon to Peter Pan to Poo-Poo (8 of 12) 1964 - Series of tape recordings made by Miss Frishmuth, accompanied by The Courier 9.1 (1971) article: "Harriet Whitney Frishmuth, American Sculptor". Additional note on the tape box reads: "Book marked". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_008)
Box 14			Plaster Casts shipped Syracuse (12 of 12) 12-14-1964 - Series of tape recordings made by Miss Frishmuth, accompanied by The Courier 9.1 (1971) article: "Harriet Whitney Frishmuth, American Sculptor". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_012)
Box 14			Portraits and Memorials (9 of 12) 1964 - Series of tape recordings made by Miss Frishmuth, accompanied by The Courier 9.1 (1971) article: "Harriet Whitney Frishmuth, American Sculptor". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_009)
Box 14			Portraits and Memorials ; President Wilson ; The Christ (10 of 12) 1964 - Series of tape recordings made by Miss Frishmuth, accompanied by The Courier 9.1 (1971) article: "Harriet Whitney Frishmuth, American Sculptor". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_010)
Box 14			Vine ; Call of Sea ; Crest of Wave ; Play Days ; Goddess of Happiness ; Papillon (7 of 12) 1964 - Series of tape recordings made by Miss Frishmuth, accompanied by The Courier 9.1 (1971) article: "Harriet Whitney Frishmuth, American Sculptor". Additional note on the tape box reads: "Large Bronzes". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_007)
Box 14		Transcript of tapes 2002
		Computer media
Box 14			Master CD (1 of 2) - unknown content (CD) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_016)
Box 14			Master CD (2 of 2) - unknown content (CD) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_017)
		Films
			3 French destroyers in Stockholm Harbor; Helsinki Rug washing, Mannerheim Memorial [?] (7 of 13) - Part of series of amateur films of Miss Frishmuth's trip around Europe. Scenes from trips in Stockholm, Sweden and Helsinki, Finland, also depicts Alexander II (Romanov) monument on the Senate Square in Helsinki, other statues and a graveyard. Accompanied by a piece of a Kodakchrome box with handwritten labels on it. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_025)
			Åndalsnes to Meråker via Geirangerfjord (3 of 13) - Part of series of amateur films of Miss Frishmuth's trip around Europe. Scenes from trips in Norway. Accompanied by a piece of a Kodakchrome box with handwritten labels on it, some illegible, or faded text. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_021)
			Curacao; Jamaica - An amateur film of Miss Frishmuth's trips to Curacao and Jamaica. Depicts street views, harbors, markets, landscape, Miss Frishmuth in various scenes, sailors, boats. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_033)
			Delft Holland: Market; Edam cheese 80K; Poultry plant; Dum hang hare [?]; Bagpipers; Dasein - Tumth [?]; Luncheon train; Hilversum (12 of 13) - Part of series of amateur films of Miss Frishmuth's trip around Europe. Depicts scenes from Netherlands cities, Royal Palace, buildings, landscape. Illegible text on the label. Accompanied by a piece of a Kodakchrome box with handwritten labels on it. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_030)
			Denmark: Elsinor [sic]; Fredensborg; Countryside (5 of 13) - Part of series of amateur films of Miss Frishmuth's trip around Europe. Scenes from trips in Denmark, Kronborg castle, Fredensborg Palace, buildings. Accompanied by a piece of a Kodakchrome box with handwritten labels on it. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_023)
			Denmark: Island of Bornholm; Østerlars round church; Iced hjecu [?] smoked herring (6 of 13) - Part of series of amateur films of Miss Frishmuth's trip around Europe. Scenes from trips in Denmark, depicting windmills, the Little Mermaid statue, street market, clay crafting, buildings architecture. Accompanied by a piece of a Kodakchrome box with handwritten labels on it. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_024)
			Hamburg City; Residential; Harbor and Piers; leaving Hamburg (11 of 13) - Part of series of amateur films of Miss Frishmuth's trip around Europe. Depicts scenes from Hamburg, Germany, monuments, buildings, city streets. Accompanied by a piece of a Kodakchrome box with handwritten labels on it. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_029)
			Harriet W. Frishmuth, N. A. (1935) 1935; 1936 - Film reel, depicting scenes of Miss Frishmuth in front of various sculptures; Miss Frishmuth knitting, accompanied by her dog; Miss Frishmuth looking at a book; Miss Frishmuth writing on her desk. The film is accompanied by an old label and a typed note. The note reads: "This movie was taken in 1936 in Miss Frishmuth's studio in Sniffen Court in New York City". (Film: 16mm) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_018)
			Ireland: Killarney; Halse Country [?]; Exit from Glasgow [?] (13 of 13) - Part of series of amateur films of Miss Frishmuth's trip around Europe. Depicts scenes from Ireland, England and Scotland trips, pigs on a street, various carriages, horse riding demonstrations, trip on a boat. Illegible text on the label. Accompanied by a piece of a Kodakchrome box with handwritten labels on it. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_031)
			Leningrad (8 of 13) - Part of series of amateur films of Miss Frishmuth's trip around Europe. Depicts scenes from Leningrad, Russia, city architecture, St. Isaac's Cathedral, Hermitage Museum, General Staff Building. Accompanied by a piece of a Kodakchrome box with handwritten labels on it. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_026)
			Leningrad of Pier; Kiev Council House [?]; Lock -[?] being locked in (10 of 13) - Part of series of amateur films of Miss Frishmuth's trip around Europe. Depicts scenes from Leningrad, harbors, sailing ships, helicopter, pier. The label has illegible notes. Accompanied by a piece of a Kodakchrome box with handwritten labels on it. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_028)
			Leningrad; Pushkin; Valentine (9 of 13) - Part of series of amateur films of Miss Frishmuth's trip around Europe. Depicts scenes from Leningrad, Pushkin,city architecture, outdoor stadium. Accompanied by a piece of a Kodakchrome box with handwritten labels on it. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_027)
			Lippazaneur [sic] Horses May 28, 1964 - An amateur film of a Lipizzans demonstration, Spanish Riding School in a closed arena. Accompanied by a piece of a Kodakchrome box with handwritten labels on it. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_032)
			Man [diving] - An amateur film depicting a man diving from a boat, street views, people working on a field, harbors. (Might be an additional film related to the trip to Curacao and Jamaica). (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_034)
			Midnight Scene; Lofoten Islands; Svartisen glacier; Train trip Rondalsbekken [?] (2 of 13) - Part of series of amateur films of Miss Frishmuth's trip around Europe. Scenes from trips on a boat or with a train in Norway. Accompanied by a piece of a Kodakchrome box with handwritten labels on it. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_020)
			NYC - Silvermine; Reykjavik Harbor, Iceland; Hammerfest [Norway]; Scenery to North Cape [Norway]; Bird nest; Birds nesting (1 of 13) - Part of series of amateur films of Miss Frishmuth's trip around Europe. Accompanied by a piece of a Kodakchrome box with handwritten labels on it. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_019)
			Oslo Harbor; Stockholm Harbor (4 of 13) - Part of series of amateur films of Miss Frishmuth's trip around Europe. Scenes from trips around Norway and Sweden. Accompanied by a piece of a Kodakchrome box with handwritten labels on it. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_022)
			[Untitled] - An amateur film depicting a shore view, landscape, boats, buildings, Miss Frishmuth by a bird house with a dog. (Film: 8mm; running time 04:00) (ID#: frishmuth_hw_035)

	Biographical material
Box 12		Brief biography with descriptions of early sculpture undated
Box 12		National Cyclopedia of Biography 1927
Box 12		Obituaries 1980

	Correspondence-subject files
Box 12		General correspondence A-N 1919-1980 (12 folders)
Box 13		General correspondence O-Z, illegible or incomplete name 1919-1980 (8 folders)
Box 13		Abbate, Paolo S. 1928, 1931
Box 13		Allentown Art Museum 1972
Box 13		The Allied Architects Association of Los Angeles 1923-1924
Box 13		Alpert, Sidney 1973-1979
Box 13		The American Institute of Steel Construction, Inc. 1929
Box 13		American Liberty League 1935
Box 13		American Numismatic Association 1975-1979
Box 13		American Red Cross 1945
Box 13		Anderson, Geneste Marie 1965-1972
Box 15		Anderson, Geneste Marie 1973-1979
Box 15		Antiques 1974-1978
Box 15		The Architectural League of New York 1934
Box 15		Aristos: The Journal of Esthetics 1983-1984
Box 15		Aronson, Charles N. 1958-1972 (3 folders)
Box 15		Art Alliance of America 1929
Box 15		Art in Public Places in the United States 1972-1974
Box 15		Art Workers’ Club for Women 1929-1931
Box 15		Baldrey, Haynsworth 1933
Box 15		The Webb C. Ball Company 1947-1953
Box 15		Barté, Leon 1928
Box 15		Beech-Nut Packing Company Canajoharie, New York 1930-1931
Box 15		Bendan Art Galleries Baltimore, Maryland 1947-1959
Box 16		Berens, Bernard 1929
Box 16		Berry-Hill Galleries 1984
Box 16		Black, Starr and Gorham, Inc. 1945-1955
Box 16		Blackstone- Shelburne 1967
Box 16		Blodgett, Glen Walton 1929
Box 16		Borglum, Gutzon 1907, 1910, undated
Box 16		Boyce, R. C. 1970, 1974-1975
Box 16		The F.H. Bressler Company Milwaukee, Wisconsin 1947-1954
Box 16		Brookgreen Gardens 1936-1939, 1942, 1966, 1972
Box 16		Brooklyn Botanic Garden 1936, 1938, 1976
Box 16		Brown, Harold X. 1977
Box 16		Browne, George Elmer 1929
Box 16		Brownell, Herbert 1934
Box 16		W. S. Budworth & Son 1949, 1960, 1969, 1970
Box 16		The Buffalo Fine Arts Academy Buffalo, New York 1924
Box 16		Bush, Martin H. 1971
Box 16		Cahn, Joshua Binion 1949-1950
Box 16		Caldwell, Henry Bryan 1965-1973
Box 16		J. E. Caldwell and Company 1947-1955
Box 16		Chamberlain, Dorothy J. 1967-1968
Box 16		Chekow, Arnold 1974
Box 16		Chicago World’s Fair 1933
Box 16		Christie, Manson & Woods International, Inc. 1981
Box 16		Chrysler, Walter P., Jr. 1965-1973
Box 16		Clark, William Price 1970
Box 16		Cloud, Maxine (Mrs. John K. Cloud) 1965-1972
Box 16		Collens, Charles 1940 1949
Box 16		Columbus Museum of Arts and Crafts, Inc. Columbus, Georgia 1969
Box 16		The Corcoran Gallery of Art 1931
Box 16		Corn Products Refining Company 1947-1948
Box 16		Council of American Artist Societies, Inc. 1966
Box 16		Craig, Frank R. 1935-1937
Box 16		Crane, Bruce undated
Box 16		Curran, Charles C. 1936
Box 16		Dallas Art Association 1927
Box 16		Daly, Sue and Joe 1972-1974
Box 16		Davey, Mildred 1942, 1946, undated
Box 16		Dayton, Ruth Woods 1961, 1965
Box 16		Delbos, Julian undated
Box 16		Delteil, Desha and DeLue, Donald 1963, 1966
Box 16		Dibrell Brothers, Inc 1957
Box 16		Diehl, Isaac 1951
Box 17		Dill, Colby and Elsie DeLamarter 1929, 1930, 1935, undated
Box 17		Dodd, Loring Holmes 1933
Box 17		Drake, William J. 1945-1959
Box 17		Duco Color Advisory Service 1927
Box 17		Emergency Relief Bureau City of New York 1935
Box 17		Erkins Studios, Inc. 1953-1973 (4 folders)
Box 17		Estopinal, Albert 1930
Box 17		Fairchild, F. Leslie 1944
Box 17		Feldman, Sam 1967, 1974, 1978
Box 17		Festival of Arts Laguna Beach California 1974, 1978-1979
Box 17		Findlay Galleries New York 1969-1974
Box 17		Fine Arts Foundation 1933-1934
Box 17		Flanagan, John 1934
Box 17		Flint, William Russell 1929
Box 17		The Florentine Craftsman, Inc. 1970
Box 17		Forest Lawn Memorial Parks and Mortuary, Glendale, California 1966-1967
Box 17		Foshay, Wilbur B. 1926-1933
Box 17		Foster, Walter T. 1961-1962, 1974
Box 17		Fraley, Angela E. 1973-1975
Box 17		French, Daniel Chester 1930
Box 17		Frisch, Victor 1929
Box 18		Frishmuth, Louise B. undated
Box 18		Fry, Homer l. 1949-1956
Box 18		The Gage Galleries Cleveland, Ohio 1927
Box 18		The Garden Club of America 1928-1931
Box 18		The Garden Magazine 1923
Box 18		Gardiner, William Tudor 1930
Box 18		Gartz, Gloria 1969-1974
Box 18		Gaskill, C. W. 1930
Box 18		General Federation of Women’s Clubs 1929
Box 18		Gerard, Elizabeth 1969
Box 18		Glinsky, Vincent and Cleo Hartwig 1973, 1975
Box 18		The Gorham Company Bronze Division 1923-1945 (7 folders)
Box 19		The Gorham Company Bronze Division 1946-1960, undated (8 folders)
Box 19		James Graham & Sons 1947-1959
Box 19		Grand Central Art Galleries 1926-1939, 1940-1946, 1964,1973 (2 folders)
Box 19		Grasso, Ella T. 1971
Box 19		Gregory, Julian A. 1965-1970
Box 19		The Grogan Company 1947
Box 19		Grotas, Joseph 1975
Box 20		Hall, Margaret D. 1975-1976
Box 20		Hamlin, Genevieve undated
Box 20		Hammaker, Frank Ensor 1946-1954
Box 20		Hammaker, Paul 1975
Box 20		Hammond, Irene Fenton 1928-1929
Box 20		Hancock, Walker 1935
Box 20		John Hanna, Incorporated 1950-1955
Box 20		Harkness, Mary Stillman 1935
Box 20		Hartley, Joan 1931
Box 20		Hatcher, O. Latham 1932
Box 20		Herman, Leonora Owsley 1934
Box 20		The hermitage Foundation 1951, 1970-1973
Box 20		Hirsch, Maurice 1976-1977
Box 20		Hogan, Frank J. 1925
Box 20		Huntington, Anna Hyatt 1966-1973
Box 20		Ingraham, Dudley S. 1969
Box 20		International Exhibition of Art and History Rome, Italy 1911
Box 20		J. B. Hudson Company 1947-1952, undated
Box 20		J. H. Small and Sons 1921-1931, 1938, 1950
Box 20		James Whitcomb Riley Memorial Association 1931-1932, undated
Box 20		Janowsky, Bela 1934
Box 20		The Joan of Arc Statue Committee of the City of New York 1924-1925
Box 20		John Levy Galleries, Inc. 1951
Box 20		Johnson, Robert Underwood 1914
Box 20		Jones, Francis Arthur 1924, 1928, 1934
Box 20		Keystone View Company, Inc. 1942
Box 20		Knickerbocker, Mrs. William H. 1938-1940
Box 20		Knowlton, Frederic K. 1927
Box 20		Knox, Henry D. 1931-1932
Box 20		Kroll, Leon 1937
Box 20		Lampkin, Lucy 1932-1934
Box 20		Lathrop, Gertrude 1930
Box 20		Leonard, Arthur G. 1928
Box 21		Library of Congress Copyright Office 1921
Box 21		The Lila Meade Valentine Memorial Association 1928-1936
Box 21		The Little Gallery New York 1931
Box 21		Liturgical Arts Society, Inc. 1941-1942
Box 21		Lober, Georg undated
Box 21		Look 1969
Box 21		The Loring Andrews Company 1947
Box 21		Luisi, Jerry 1969-1973
Box 21		Lundquist, Louis 1936
Box 21		MacLeary, Bonnie 1930
Box 21		Maloof, Waleed, G. 1970, 1976-1977
Box 21		Mark of the Phoenix Gallery New York 1966-1967
Box 21		Mason, Roy M. 1961
Box 21		Mayo Clinic 1927
Box 21		McDonough, John J. 1968-1970
Box 21		Medallic Art Company 1928-1929, 1948, 1970
Box 21		Meier, Nellie S. 1930-1935
Box 21		Mercersburg Academy Mercersburg, Pennsylvania 1931-1933
Box 21		Metropolitan Museum of Art New York, New York 1926-1927, 1966-1970, 1980
Box 21		The Milch Galleries 1928
Box 21		Military Census and Inventory of 1917 State of New York 1917
Box 21		Milwaukee Art Institute 1925
Box 21		Moll, Leo Zeimssen 1931
Box 21		Morice, Mary H. 1930
Box 21		Morris, V. C. 1951
Box 21		Morton, Willie T. 1926-1928
Box 21		Mullen, John Kernan 1926-1927
Box 21		The Municipal Art Society 1930
Box 21		Murphree Memorial University of Florida 1928
Box 21		Murray Hill Association, Inc. 1931
Box 21		National Academy of Design 1914, 1923-1935, 1965-1983, undated
Box 22		National Academy School of Fine Arts 1967-1968, 1983-1984
Box 22		National Arts Club 1924-1936, 1970-1973
Box 22		The National Education Association of the United States 1933
Box 22		National Institute of Social Sciences 1926-1928
Box 22		National Portrait Gallery 1963-1972
Box 21		National Sculpture Society 1913-1929
Box 22		National Sculpture Society 1930-1933, 1934-1946, 1948, 1951-1957, 1966, 1971, 1976, 1979 undated (3 folders)
Box 22		National Small Sculpture Committee 1928-1930
Box 22		National Society of American Art undated
Box 22		National War Work Council of the YMCA 1919
Box 22		Neilson, Raymond 1926
Box 22		Nelson, Gary Boone 1977-1979
Box 22		The New Britain Museum of American Art 1970-1984
Box 22		New York Academy of Medicine Medal 1930-1931
Box 22		New York University Hall of Fame 1950-1951, 1956
Box 22		New York World’s Fair 1939 1938-1940
Box 22		Newall, Joseph 1940
Box 22		Newbold, Sara Glenwood 1939
Box 22		Newman Galleries 1965, 1970
Box 22		Nickerson, Ruth 1978-1979
Box 22		The Norfolk Foundation 1927, 1951-1952
Box 22		Norfolk Museum of Arts and Sciences 1934-1935, 1966-1970
Box 22		O’Brien’s Art Emporium Scottsdale, Arizona 1958-1967
Box 22		Oertel, C. W. 1930
Box 22		Olympic Games Los Angeles 1932 1932
Box 22		Paige Detroit Motorcar Co. 1927
Box 22		The Park Gallery 1931
Box 22		Peck, Maxine 1950-1952
Box 23		Pen and Brush, Inc. 1948, 1967-1977
Box 23		Perrine, Alden J. 1959-1964
Box 23		Philbrook Art Center 1962
Box 23		Phillips, Lee Eldas 1975
Box 23		Platt, Eleanor undated
Box 23		Plummer, A. Newton 1947
Box 23		Presby-Leland Studios 1927-1930
Box 23		Presby-Leland Studios 1931-1952 (2 folders)
Box 23		Pritchett, Margaret K. 1943
Box 23		Purdy, W. Frank 1921, 1928
Box 23		Putnam, Brenda 1921
Box 23		Quick, Armand J. 1928
Box 23		Rabbage, Lewis Hoyer 1982
Box 23		Rawcliffe Foundry 1953-1958
Box 23		Reitz, Edward R. 1928
Box 23		Reul, Alexander 1927-1942, undated
Box 23		Richard, Betti 1972
Box 23		Roerich, Nicholas 1930
Box 23		Roman Bronze Works, Inc. 1948-1973 (4 folders)
Box 24		Ross, Percy N. 1972
Box 24		Rubloff, Arthur 1966-1978
Box 24		Ruskin, Sofia 1939
Box 24		Sektberg, Willard 1977
Box 24		Sesquicentennial Exposition Philadelphia 1926
Box 24		Shabby Shoppe, Inc. Houston, Texas 1947-1958
Box 24		Sirovich, William I. 1935
Box 24		Skoog, Karl F. 1929
Box 24		Sloane, Florence (Mrs. William) 1931, 1948-1951, undated
Box 24		Société Des Artiste Français 1930
Box 24		The Society of Medalists 1929-1939, 1971-1974, undated
Box 24		Squier, Socrates 1825, 1826, 1878, undated
Box 24		Stern, Loren J. 1977-1980
Box 24		Stillman, Charlotte 1918
Box 24		Swiss Cottage studio 1926, 1937-1951, undated
Box 24		Syracuse University 1964-1971, 1974
Box 24		Taggart, Lucy 1929-1934, undated
Box 24		Talcott, Ruth undated - childhood reminiscences
Box 24		Talcott, Ruth 1939, 1943, undated - family history
Box 24		Talcott, Ruth 1942-1954, undated - Women’s Army Corps
Box 25		Treasury Department Section of Painting and Sculpting 1935
Box 25		Trent, D. Leonard 1980
Box 25		United Galvano Art Company 1938
Box 25		United States Trust Company of New York 1939
Box 25		Vandersteel, William 1975-1978
Box 25		Van Deventer, Robert P. 1961-1968, 1971
Box 25		Vandever, V. Vincent 1956-1966
Box 25		The Virginia Museum of Fine Arts 1935
Box 25		Wagel, Francine 1940
Box 25		Walden, Eleanor B. and Madeline K. 1923-1928, 1946
Box 25		Ward, DeWitt 1936
Box 25		Watson, Thomas J. undated
Box 25		Weinman, Adolph Alexander 1921, 1937
Box 25		Welling, Richard 1937
Box 25		West Laurel Hill Cemetery Co. Bala-Cynwyd. Pennsylvania 1936-1937
Box 25		James T. White & Company 1926-1927
Box 25		Whittemore, Frances Davis 1934
Box 25		W. A. Wilde Publishers 1931
Box 25		Wilson, Edith Bolling 1931-1935, undated (2 folders)
Box 25		Winthrop, Emily 1921
Box 25		W. H. Wise & Company, Inc. 1939
Box 26		Catherine Lorillard Wolfe Art Club, Inc. 1965-1980 (2 folders)
Box 26		Woman’s International Exposition Detroit, Michigan 1929
Box 26		Zeier, John and Dorothy 1946
Box 26		Zork, David 1948

	Financial and legal records
Box 26		Copyright and Patent certificates 1910-1927
Box 26		Gorham Company transactions 1935-1941
Box 26		Passports 1937, 1951, 1955, 1961
Box 27		Sculpture orders ledger 1917-1948
Box 26		Sculpture sold 1910-1951
Box 26		Sculpture sold ledger 1958-1991
Box 26		Social Security card 1950
Box 26		Student accounts notebook undated
Box 26		Tax documents 1935-1937

	Memorabilia
		Artwork by others
Box 27			Caricature of Harriet Frishmuth by Matias Santoyo undated
		Awards and certificates
Box 28			Allied Artists of America, Inc. 13th Annual Exhibition Medal 1925
Box 28			Catherine Lorillard Wolfe Art Club Medal for Sculpture 1922
Box 28			Elizabeth Watrous Medal for Sculpture undated
Box 28			Festival of Arts Lifetime Membership undated
Oversize 9			National Academy of Design 1926, 1929
Oversize 10			National Sculpture Society Fellow 1958
Box 28			National Sculpture Society medal undated
Oversize 10			Pan-Pacific International Exposition Honorable Mention 1915
Box 28			Miscellaneous certificates 1927, 1963, 1972, 1975
		Catalogs
Box 29			Catherine Lorillard Wolfe Art Club 1966
Box 29			Christie’s 1981-1984 (5 folders)
Box 29			Grand Central Art Galleries 1928
Box 29			Phillips 1982
Box 29			Sloan’s 1983
Box 29			Schwartz 1971
Box 29			Sotheby’s 1982
		Clippings
Box 29			Miscellaneous 1922, 1936-1969 (2 folders)
Box 30			Miscellaneous 1970-1984 (2 folders)
		Photographs
Box 30			Adirondacks, New Haven, Provincetown undated
Box 30			Barte, Leon undated
Box 30			Bermuda, Gaspe undated
Box 30			Delteil, Desha undated
Box 30			Delteil, Desha and Leja 1962
Box 30			Delteil, Desha, Jean and Leon Barte undated
Box 30			Europe 1955
Box 30			France 1955, undated (5 folders)
Box 30			Frishmuth, Harriet undated (2 folders)
Box 31			Frishmuth, Harriet undated
Box 31			Frishmuth family undated
Box 31			Gorham Factory undated
Box 31			Heritage Village undated
Box 31			Knox Estate 1927
Box 31			Langeloth Estate undated
Box 31			Metropolitan Museum of Art Christmas undated
Box 31			Muray, Nikolas and Leya undated
Box 31			North Cape cruise, Ireland, Belgium undated
Box 31			Sculpture by others undated
Box 31			Silvermine Avenue house and garden 1956
Box 31			Swiss Cottage 1959, 1964, undated
Box 31			Switzerland 1955
Box 31			Talcott, Ruth undated
Box 31			Unveiling of Scherzo for the Foshay Tower undated
Box 31			Vacation cruise to Caracas 1964
Box 31			Vacations Philadelphia, Mystic 1958
Box 31			Vacations Washington, Canada, Vermont 1956
Box 31			Valentine, Lila Meade undated
Box 31			World’s Fair, Frishmuth’s The Vine 1964
Box 31			Miscellaneous undated
Box 31			Miscellaneous 1942, undated
Box 32			Miscellaneous glass plate negatives undated
		Postcards
Box 33			Alaska 1945
Box 33			St Bertrand-De-Comminges undated
Box 33			Miscellaneous undated
		Printed material
Box 33			Festival of Arts and Pageant of the Masters 1964, 1965, 1976
Box 33			Heritage Villager 1970, 1971, 1974, 1977
Box 33			National Sculpture Society 1968 -1969, 1980
Box 33			Valeria House Oscawana, New York undated
Box 33			Miscellaneous 1917-1919, 1964, 1966, 1971, 1973, undated
Oversize 5			Miscellaneous undated
		Scrapbooks
Box 33			Scrapbook 1924-1928 (2 folders)
Box 34			Scrapbook 1928-1936
Box 34			Sculpture 1910-1928 (2 folders)
Oversize 4			Sculpture 1911-1924
Oversize 7			Sculpture undated
Oversize 9			Sculpture undated
Oversize 10			Talcott, Ruth W.A.A.C. Training Center 1942
Oversize 5			Talcott Family History undated
		Miscellaneous
Box 34			Address cards undated
Box 35			Brass plate from 6 Sniffen Road Harriet Frishmuth Studio undated
Box 35			Crest of the Waves theft from Foster Art Service office 1974
Box 35			Eiffel Tower souvenir medal undated
Box 35			Fortune telling cards undated
Box 35			Map of Paris undated
Box 35			National Sculpture Society Fiftieth Anniversary Medal 1943
Box 35			Red Cross insignia 1918
Box 35			The Seventh Sister by Edward E. Reitz undated
Oversize 9			Sketch of setting for Frishmuth statue undated
Box 35			Talcott, Ruth diary 1962

	Writings
Box 35		Vacation diary 1935
Box 35		Vacation diary 1965
Box 35		Why a Sundial Shows Us the Correct Time undated

Return to top