Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Table of Contents

Overview of the Collection

Biographical History

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Arrangement of the Collection

Restrictions

Subject and Genre Headings

Related Material

Administrative Information

Index to cartoons

Inventory

Cartoons, Brockton (Mass.) Enterprise

Cartoons, Brockton (Mass.) Enterprise

printer friendly version

Eddie Germano Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection
Creator: Germano, Eddie.
Title: Eddie Germano Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1964-1987
Bulk Dates: 1964-1968
Quantity: 1.75 linear ft.
Abstract: Original editorial cartoons from 1964-1987
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Eddie Germano (1924- ) is an American editorial and sports cartoonist.

Eddie Germano was born in Boston on November 15, 1924. At age 16, he started working in the office at the Boston Post. After serving in the Army and landing his first full-time cartooning job in 1948, Germano worked at several Florida and Massachusetts newspapers. In 1963 he joined the staff of the Brockton Enterprise where he created sports and editorial cartoons. At age 66, Germano left the Enterprise to pursue freelance work.

In addition to his newspaper cartoons, Germano worked on other various cartoon projects. Germano produced a cartoon television show for three years and beginning in 1971, Germano contributed special sports features to the Boston Globe. Around this time he also drew a daily sports feature for Columbia in New York. During the 1990s, Germano worked with Tom McCormick on Mr. Speaker, a strip that was never published.

Germano is particularly well known for his cartoons featuring Boston's sports teams. In 1989 his book Red Sox Drawing Board was published and Germano won an award for his cartoon series about heavyweight boxer Rocky Marciano who was raised in Brockton. Some of his cartoons have also been exhibited at the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York.

Germano is a member of the National Cartoonists Society which recognized Germano with its 1981 and 1992 sports cartoon awards.

Eddie Germano continues to draw privately commissioned cartoons.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eddie Germano Cartoons contain original editorial cartoons published in the Brockton (Mass.) Enterprise. The bulk appeared between 1964 and 1968, but there are also three that were published during the 1980s. The cartoons are drawn with ink and graphite on illustration board. Four are accompanied by Germano's explanatory comments.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The bulk of the cartoons are arranged in chronological order. Four cartoons acquired in a later donation are placed at the end.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Germano, Eddie.

Corporate Bodies

The Enterprise (Brockton, Mass)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- Massachusetts.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Political cartoons.
Taxation -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

Massachusetts -- Politics and government -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eddie Germano Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Majority gift of Eddie Germano, 1968.

Four items gift of Susan L. Biel, 2017.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 17 Nov 2008
Revision history: 17 Nov 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 23 Sep 2009 - added inventory and index (SK); 10 Jul 2017 - additions (MRC); 6 may 2024 - some items rehoused into OS 3 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons, Brockton (Mass.) Enterprise
See below for an index to the cartoons.
Gift of Eddie Germano, 1968.
Oversize 1, Folder 1 Cartoons 1964 Jul (1 item)
Oversize 1, Folder 2 Cartoons 1965 Jan-Feb (2 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 3 Cartoons 1966 Jan-Mar (10 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 4 Cartoons 1966 Apr-Jul (10 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 5 Cartoons 1966 Aug, Oct-Dec (12 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 1 Cartoons 1967 Jan, Mar-Apr (10 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 2 Cartoons 1967 May (9 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 3 Cartoons 1967 Jun-Aug (12 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 4 Cartoons 1967 Sep-Oct (15 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 5 Cartoons 1967 Nov-Dec (8 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 6 Cartoons 1968 Jun (1 item)
Oversize 2, Folder 7 Cartoons undated (11 items)
Cartoons, Brockton (Mass.) Enterprise
Gift of Susan L. Biel, 2017.
Oversize 3 Cartoons 1964, 1983, 1986-1987 - accompanied by the cartoonist's typeset descriptions (4 items)

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may appear under an alternative term.

B= Box, MC=Map Case, F= Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1, MC1 = Map Case, Folder 1.

Return to top