Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Greene, Vernon Van Atta.
Title:	Vernon Greene Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1922-1966
Quantity:	42.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Proofs and tear sheets from a wide variety of comic strips, original drawings, sketches, correspondence, biographical material, published material and taped interviews.
Language:	English, Spanish, French, and Turkish
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Vernon Van Atta Greene (1908-1965) was an American cartoonist and illustrator, most noted for his work as George McManus' successor on the comic strip Bringing Up Father.

Greene was born in Battle Ground, Washington in 1908, one of seven children. Greene spent much of his early career doing sports and editorial cartoons for various newspapers, including the Portland (Ore.) Telegram (1927-1929), the Toledo Blade (1930-1932) and the New York Mirror (1934-1937). During this time, Greene was also an active freelance illustrator, creating advertising cartoons and illustrations for books and magazines, working on Street and Smith publications like the Shadow and the Masked Lady, and ghosting for many years on the daily version of Cliff Sterrett's comic strip Polly and Her Pals.

During WWII, Greene found himself with the medical division of the Air Corps as a photographer at Kearns Air Base in Utah. After the war was active in traveling USO tours with other cartoonists. He attended Toledo University in the 1930s and following World War II, Columbia University.

In 1954, Greene took over the long-running classic comic strip Bringing Up Father after the death of the strip's creator George McManus. He carried on with the strip, maintaining it very much in McManus' signature style, until his own death in 1965.

In addition to his prolific artistic output, Greene also served as host of the WRVR syndicated radio show The Cartoonist's Art, and was an active member of the National Cartoonists Society, serving two years as Vice President. In 1964, Greene was awarded the NCS Silver T-Square award for his service to his profession.

Vernon Greene died in 1965.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The vast majority of the Vernon Greene Papers consists of proofs and tear sheets from a large diversity of daily and Sunday comic strips—hundreds of different titles and artists, ranging primarily through the 1930s and 1940s. The collection also contains a substantial amount of material related specifically to Vernon Greene, including original artworks and sketches done by Greene, published samples of his cartoon and illustration work, correspondence, biographical material and a tape recorded interview.

Correspondence (1929-1966) contains seven boxes of incoming correspondence addressed to Greene and later to his widow. Much of the correspondence is from other cartoonists and there is also fan mail. The holiday cards often feature cartoon designs and detailed correspondence from their senders. Later correspondence deals with Greene's hospitalization towards the end of his life in 1965. Among the letters of encouragement Greene received is a letter from Charles Schulz.

Personal files contains material related to Greene's family, property in New Jersey and student work from his time at Columbia University.

Photos consists primarily of news photos on a variety topics. Present are many news service photographs, almost exclusively from the International News Service, a unit of King Features. These photographs have been sorted and arranged by broad topics including Animals, Accidents/Disasters/Crime, Military, International Affairs, Sports, Labor Strikes (including the General Electric strike and Hollywood studio strikes) and New York City. The majority are contain the tag line, "Watch Your Credit". Attached to photos are typed summaries of what is depicted and datelines. War photos include combat manuevers in specific countries, individual soldiers, and items depicting social effects of the war. Imagery includes prisoners of war, civilian life, aftermath of battles and troops. Of particular interest is a photograph of Charles De Gaulle. A large set of images about the U.S. homefront is also contained in this series, particular images related to brides and returning veterans facing a housing shortage as well as a handful of images about rationing. Also of interest are photos of famous political figures and celebrities, including Albert Einstein, Humphrey Bogart, Dwight Eisenhower, Harry Truman, and images of a young Lucille Ball.

Another large area are photos of crime, accidents and disasters. These include crime scene photos (often graphic), women accused of committing violent crime, crimes against children, transportation accidents and fires. Sports contains images, particularly baseball, including the New York Yankees, as well as college basketball including Syracuse University and horse racing.

The Professional files series contains material related to Greene's involvement in the National Cartoonists Society and the Newspaper Comics Council. The NCS subseries contains correspondence, publications as well as audio recordings. The organization's newsletters have been cataloged and transferred to Rare Books. The Newspaper Comics Council subseries includes meeting minutes and membership lists. Worth noting is material on the topic of H.R. 7927 regarding postal rate increases.

Published and printed material contains biographical material about other cartoonists, various clippings related to Greene and promotional material. Of interest are Jim Ivey's "Report on European Political Cartooning" and advertising sales information for Puck, the Comic Weekly.

Reference files contains material amassed by Greene on a variety of topics. Included is typically printed and published material, clippings, photographs and occasionally correspondence. Of interest may be a Little Scouts Comic book in the Scouts file. Much Reference File material stamped with name Donald Beck

Works by Greene covers Greene's professional career as a cartoonist and illustrator. Items include material related to Greene's work on comic strips and commercial advertising artwork. The bulk of the comic strip related works pertains to Bringing Up Father. A large portion of proofs for Bringing Up Father were arranged by Greene by subject.

Works by others comprises the bulk of this collection. This series contains primarily proofs of comic strips from the 1930s and 1940s as well as tearsheets. Many of the proofs are full color.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Materials from the same comic strip are at times not housed together because of their varying specific dimensions. Tape recordings appearing in several series have been numbered.

Return to top

Other Finding Aids

A set of index cards listing correspondents and dates is located in Box 6. However, the inclusiveness of this cross reference has not been verified.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

The collection cannot be reproduced in whole or in part without the written permission of Mrs. Greene or her heirs.

Return to top

Related Material

Al Posen material has been transferred to the Alvah Posen Collection. Newsletters of the Newspaper Comics Council have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Special Collections Research Center has collections of more than 150 cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Additional The Heart of Juliet Jones cartoons are located in the Stan Drake Papers.

Additional material by Roy Crane is located in the Roy Crane Papers.

Additional "Cap" Stubbs and Tippie, Tippie and Brick Bradford proofs are located in the C. D. Russell Cartoons.

Additional Moon Mullins cartoons are located in the Frank Willard Cartoons.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Vernon Greene Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Barbara Greene.

Original artwork for Cherry and the Colonel, gift of Karl H. Schadow, 2013.

One 1960 correspondence item, gift of Alan Dedrick, 2015.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: –
Date: 1984
Revision history: 23 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 14 May 2009 - revised (MD); 10 Sep 2010 - detailed inventory added (SK); 23 Mar 2011 - added items to inventory (AM); 27 Apr 2011 - rehoused negatives; added related item links; edited scope (AM); 5 Oct 2011 - corrected boxes 21/22 (MRC); 7 May 2013 - added Cherry and the Colonel artwork (MRC); 10 Sep 2013 - added "Blue and Gold" (MRC); 17 Sep 2015 - added M14-116 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		[Chronological] 1926 Apr, 1929 May-Nov , 1930-1935 (9 folders)
Box 2		[Chronological] 1936 Jan-1944 Jan, 1945 Mar-1952 Dec (4 folders)
Box 3		[Chronological] 1953 Jan-1957 Nov, 1958 Jan-1959 Dec (4 folders)
Box 4		[Chronological] 1960-1963 (5 folders)
			Signed greeting card dated 1960, gift of Alan Dedrick.
Box 5		[Chronological] 1964, 1965 Jan-1966 May (3 folders)
Box 7		Christmas greetings 1936-1966, (2 folders)
Box 7		Christmas greetings, A-W undated (3 folders)
Box 7		Christmas greetings, unidentified undated
Box 6		A-G undated
Box 6		Greene family undated
Box 6		H-Y, unidentified undated (2 folders)
Box 6		Index by correspondent Undated - set of index cards for correspondents with dates of correspondence

	Personal files
Box 20		Army discharge certificate Sep 28 1945
Box 20		Awards and certificates 1954-1959
Box 20		Biographical material circa 1950s-1960s
Oversize 5		Calendars 1937-1941, 1949, 1954, 1958-1959, 1961-1962
		Columbia University
Box 20			Class papers and notes circa 1948-1955 (4 folders)
Box 20			Class papers, philosophy and social science circa 1948-1955
Box 21			Notebook 1954
Box 21			Records 1948-1949 undated
Box 21		Greene, Jill circa 1950s - coloring book
Box 21		Greene, Vernon's mother undated
Box 21		Personal notes as a cartoonist undated
Box 21		Personal notes (notebook pages) undated
Box 21		Photos, Columbia University undated
Box 21		Photos, family undated
Box 21		Property records 1952-1958, 1960 - information about house, mortgage and tax payments (2 folders)
Box 22		Sketches by Greene's children 1950s-1960s,
Box 22		Sketchbooks undated
Box 22		Station Hospital Book (Kearns, Utah) circa 1940s
Box 22		Toledo University Blockhouse Book 1932
Box 22		Toledo University Records 1932
Box 21		Valentine's Day card undated

	Photos
		News service photos
Box 36			Airplanes
Box 36			American Indians
Box 36			Animals
Box 36			Cartoonists and comic book artists
Box 36			Celebrities and fashion (2 folders)
Box 36			Celebrities and fashion, Lucille Ball
Box 36			Chiang Kai-Shek
Box 36			China
Box 36			Crime, accidents and disasters (4 folders)
Box 37			Israel and Palestine (2 folders)
Box 37			Johnson, Lyndon B.
Box 37			Korea
Box 37			Labor strikes (3 folders)
Box 38			New York City and New York State (2 folders)
Box 38			Politics, political and business leaders (3 folders)
Box 38			Religion
Box 39			Sports (3 folders)
Box 39			Truman, Harry S.
Box 39			United Nations Monetary & Financial Conference
Box 39			World War II, Britain
Box 39			World War II, France
Box 39			World War II, general (3 folders)
Box 40			World War II, Germany (2 folders)
Box 40			World War II, homefront (2 folders)
Box 40			World War II, Italy
Box 40			World War II, Japan
Box 40			Miscellaneous (3 folders)
Box 40			Unidentified
		Subject files
Box 33			110th Street Community Center 1948, undated - also includes some printed material
Box 33			Arrow Service Club circa 1940s
Box 33			Circus show circa 1940s - photos of a circus show on television. Photos of a television show (3 folders)
Box 33			Dot and Gus 1952
Box 33			Europe, contact sheets 1956
Box 34			Female figure undated (3 folders)
Box 34			Greene, Vernon undated (2 folders)
Box 34			King Features Syndicate dinners and outings undated
Box 34			Professional stars and models 1932-1934, undated
Box 34			TAU undated - mostly children in a parade
Box 34			United States Carswell Air Force Base, Fort Worth, Texas 1951
Box 35			USO show circa 1953-1954
Box 35			USO show, Anchorage, Alaska 1954
Box 35			USO camp show, Caribbean 1964
Box 35			USO show, Japan 1953
Box 35			Miscellaneous undated (7 folders)
Oversize 29			Miscellaneous undated - large print of Greene at drawing board with seven men, possibly other cartoonists, note on back (1 item)
		Negatives
Box 44			Cartoonist European Shots for Stars & Stripes 1953
Box 44			Family Christmas cards 1957, undated
Box 44			Greene and family undated
				Includes one photo.
Box 44			Japan 1953, 1955 - includes contact sheets (2 folders)
Box 44			Japan, Cape Cod, Gracie 1957
Box 44			Official Navy images 1964 Mar, undated
Box 44			Proofs of artwork undated
Box 44			Unidentified and West Coast 1963 Jan
Box 44			Unidentified undated (3 folders)

	Professional files
		National Cartoonists Society
			Activities
Box 8				American Newspaper Publishers Association Annual Meeting 1963
Box 8				Annual Billy DeBeck Award dinner 1952, 1954, 1958
Box 8				Annual Luncheon for the benefit of the Milt Gross Fund 1963
Box 8				Annual Reuben Awards Dinner correspondence 1960-1964
Box 8				Annual Reuben Awards Dinner published material 1955, 1959-1965
Box 8				Board of Governors 1958, 1963
Box 8				Boy Scouts of America undated
Box 8				Camp Shows Committee 1956, 1964
Box 8				Cartoonists' Night 1963
Box 8				Constitution Committee circa 1960s
Box 9				Dinner Committee 1964
Box 9				Dinner, Overseas Press Club 1964
Box 9				Elections undated
Box 9				Eulogy for Al Posen undated, 1960
Box 9				Goldberg, Rube 1963 - 80th birthday luncheon
Box 9				Hands and Faces promotional material undated
Box 9				International cartoonists convention tour 1961
Box 9				International golf tournament 1959-1962
Box 9				Itineraries 1949, undated
Box 9				Itinerary for cartoonists unit undated
Box 9				Meeting minutes undated
Box 9				New directions dinner 1963
Box 9				Nominating committee 1960
Box 9				Nominating committee, Greene's nomination 1960
Box 9				Notes by Greene undated
Box 9				President's report 1959, 1961-1962
Box 9				Projects undated
Box 9				Reuben Awards notices 1958-1965
Box 9				Roth, Ben undated
Box 9				Rosters 1949, 1952-1954, 1960 1963
Box 9				Shows 1961-1962, 1964
Box 9				Statement on H.R. 7927 1962 Jul
Box 9				U.S. Savings Bonds 1961-1962
			Correspondence
Box 8				Correspondence 1951 Oct, 1952 Feb-Mar , Sep 13 1952, 1953-1959 (4 folders)
Box 8				Correspondence with Al Posen 1959
Box 8				Correspondence 1960-1962, 1963 Feb-Jul, Jun 3 1964 (3 folders)
Box 8				Correspondence undated
			Publications
Box 9				Annual report 1961
Box 9				Comic Art undated
Box 9				Editor and Publisher 1963, undated - clippings from
				Newsletters
					Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
Box 9				New York Cartoon News Oct 1 1953
Box 9				Placement service bulletins 1958-1964
Box 9				This is a Must Magazine circa 1960s
Oversize 25			Recordings - tapes have multiple handwritten titles and notations, therefore the titles listed below may not completely reflect what is on each recording. (35 items)
				1: Abner, Dean, 1963 2: Lewis, Boyd- NEA, undated 3: Caniff, Milt, World's Fair, 1964 4: Capp, Al, undated 5: Career night / Al Posen and Rube Goldberg, 1959 / censorship / Russian history / Cartoon show Paramus 6: Clark AFB- Al Posen, Vern Greene and others, undated 7: Crawford, William: Banshees, undated 8: Editor's Night, 1959 9: Editorial, April 22, 1963 10: Erwin, Rae; Fowler, Virginia; Troup, Millie and others, undated 11: Feiffer, Jules; Shepherd, Gene and others, 1959 12: Gag Cartoonists Discuss Their Ways of Working, undated 13: Goldberg, Rube, tribute to Ed Valtman, 1962 / NCS Banquet / HR 2729 14: Greene, Vernon and Harmon, Fred, undated 15: Hershfield, Al interviewed by Patricia Marx, 1963 16: Hodgkins, A., undated 17: NCS Meetings, 1958 18: NCS Meeting, undated 19: Nomination of Officers, Hotel Astor, 1963 20: Nomination speeches, Jan 1959 21: Nomination speeches, 1960 22: Nomination speeches, 1963 / Roy Crane April 2, 1964 23: Shoptalk, undated 24: Overseas Press Club, Oct 23, 1963 / Jimmy Hatlo / Shop Talk- Sol Stein 25: Pulitzer Prize cartoonist, undated 26: The Political Cartoon: Walt Kelly; Dan Dowling; Jules Feiffer, 1963 / Herblock, talk by the cartoonist 27: Russian cartoonists / Sound of humor Frankel, undated 28: Shop Talk / J. Robinson, undated 29: NCS meeting / Lee Cass, undated 30: Sutherland, Joan, undated 31: What's So Funny, Mort Sahl, Jules Feiffer and others / Krazy Kat- recreation of comic strip / Ross Lews by Bill Crawford / Chester Gould, undated 32: Herblock and Crawford / Harry Hershfield / Al Capp, undated 33: Meeting, 1958 / NCS dinner 34: Nomination speeches, 1963 35: Unidentified, 1963 55. Unidentified, undated.
		Newspaper Comics Council
Box 10			Addresses 1959
Box 10			Agendas 1958-1962
Box 10			Annual comics contest 1958-1959
Box 10			Bulletins 1958-1964
Box 10			Cartoonists Committee undated
Box 10			Comics pages for American Newspaper Publishers' Association 1960s
Oversize			Comics page- "Duke Handy" Philip Morris Cigarette Ad 1957
Box 10			Correspondence 1956-1964
Oversize 23			"Duke Handy"- Phillip Morris cigarette advertising 1957 - color
Box 10			Editorials 1958, 1962 - reprints
Box 10			Exchange proposal- U.S. & U.S.S.R. 1958
Box 10			Gould, Chester (published material about Dick Tracy's creator) 1958
Box 10			Humor in cartoon art 1958 - published material written by Al Capp and Milt Caniff
Oversize 23			House Cleaning with the Gold Dust Twins 1932 - color advertising proof for Gold Dust Scouring Powder
Box 10			International newspaper comics contest reports 1957-1958, 1960
Box 10			List of publications undated
Box 10			Meeting minutes 1958-1963
Box 10			Membership lists 1956-1962 - also includes one issue of Madison Avenue magazine, Sep 1960
Box 10			Metro Sunday comics network contest undated
Box 10			News releases 1958, 1962-1963
Box 11			New York World's Fair 1964
Box 11			Notes by Greene undated
Box 11			Panel Discussion "Is this strip necessary?" promotional material undated
Box 11			Programs undated
Box 11			Public Relations reports 1958-1962
Box 11			Publicity 1959-1960
Box 11			Report of activities 1955-1957
Box 11			Speech by White, David M. (co-editor) 1959 Jan
Box 11			Survey of newspaper reading among children "How Kids Read Comics" 1960
			Survey of reader values in terms of the life cycle 1958
				titled A Fourth Dimension in Print Media Evaluation, removed and in Rare Books

	Published and printed material
		About Greene
Box 11			Newspaper clippings 1933-1965 (4 folders)
Box 11			Publications by title C-Y 1935, 1942, 1946, 1953, 1956-1957, 1960-1964 (2 folders)
		Biographical Material - includes typed biographies, miscellaneous artwork, photographs of cartoonists
Box 14			A-Z 1950s (4 folders)
		About and by others
Box 11			About the cartoonists 1938-1965 (2 folders)
				Nurse Nellie's Waiting Room Reader, Cartoon Humor, Here's How America's Cartoonists Help to sell U.S. Savings Bonds, The Famous Artists Cartoon Course
Box 11			Cartoonist's Guild of America circa 1936-1939
Box 11			Hayes, Jeff undated
Box 16			Kingsman, Don, "All American" 1954
Box 16			King Features Syndicate 1957, 1960-1961, undated - promotional material for various comic strips, Sales Bulletin
Box 16			Metropolitan Group Comics Calendar 1949, 1951-1955 - promotional material for various comic strips
Box 16			Patterson, Russell "The Last Word in Humorous Illustration" undated
Box 16			Red Ryder round up 1961
Box 16			Report on European Political Cartooning by Jim Ivey 1959, 1962
Box 16			Puck, the Comic Weekly 1949, 1953-1954, 1956-1958 - advertising sales reports and assorted promotional material
Box 16			The Walls Have Ears 1942 - promotional material

	Reference files
Box 23		Accidents-Automobiles 1926, 1931-1933, 1936 1946, 1958, 1961-1962, 1964, undated - writings, clippings, photographs, printed material, as well as some correspondence
			Accidents, Action, Advertising Club of Baltimore, Aeronautics (including U.S. Army and United Airlines), Aged, Aid Refugee Chinese intellectuals, Albany Institute of History and Art, Anatomy (male), Animals (domestic), Animals (wild), Army Gripes, Automobiles, Automobiles (Races)
Box 24		Babies-Chalk Talks 1928, 1931-1936, 1940, 1945, 1949, 1952, 1962, 1964 undated - writings, sketches, clippings, photographs, sketches, printed material, as well as some correspondence
			Babies, Birds, Birds Eye View, Boats, Buildings, Bunyan (drawings), Business Cartoon service catalog (1927), Carnivals, Cartoon capers, Cartoonists Guild of America (general correspondence 1954), Cartoonists Show for U.S. Savings Bonds (newspaper clippings 1949), Celebrities, Celebrities (outdated), Chalk Talks
Box 25		Characters-Color 1928-1935, 1946-1948, 1957-1960, undated - sketches, clippings, photographs, printed material, correspondence
			Characters, Children, Children's Home Society of New Jersey (correspondence and printed material 1957-1960), Chinese Students Club (photos 1948), Classical, Color (includes watercolor artwork)
Box 26		Comic Art-Eisenhower 1932-1936, 1938, 1940-1941, 1943-1949, 1952-1953, 1963, undated - sketches, printed material, published material, clippings, photos, Association of American Editorial Cartoonists news
			Comic Art: An Occupation, Information and Career Guide, Comics Book Controversy (published material), Comics in the Classroom, Connolly, Joseph, Cops, Crowds, Current News Figures-Celebrities (photos), Dairy, Dance, Dressing, Drybrush, Eating, Editorial Cartoons (1963), Eisenhower (photos)
Box 27		Expressions-Horses 1930-1934, 1936-1937, 1945-1946, 1951, 1955, 1957, 1959, 1962-1963, undated - notes, typed material, sketches, printed material, published material, clippings, photos,
			Expressions, Fishing (photos), Foreign Students, Girls (Glamour), Guns, Hands and Feet, A History of the Air Proving Ground- Eglin Air Force Base (proofs), History of Comics, Holidays (Armistice Day, Christmas, Easter, Female Figure, Fourth of July, Labor Day, Lincoln's birthday, Memorial Day, New Year's, Thanksgiving, Valentine's Day, Washington's birthday, Hollywood, Hornet's Nest (script)
Box 28		Hospital-News 1934, 1946, 1955-1958, 1960-1962, undated - photos, clippings, published material, sketches, letter from the Red Cross, NCS, writings
			Hospital, Humor, Ideas, Illustrations (Johnstone and Cushing promotional material), Inspiration, Japan Society, Kingman, Don, Kuekes, Edward (signed promotional material), Labor (photos, sketches), Leigh, W. Colston- Bureau of Lectures and Entertainment (correspondence), Lincoln School PTO, Living Library, Men Smiling (sketch), Metro Sunday Comics- Readership of Editorial Comics, Models from All Angles, Moods (sketch), Music, New York (photos), News Pictures (of Greene)
Box 29		Nudism-Press Photographers' Association of New York 1932-1933, 1936-1939, 1946, 1952, 1957, 1960-1964, undated - photos, published and printed material, clippings, correspondence, sketches
			Nudism, Office, Ohio University (correspondence and printed material) , Ohio and Columbia University, Orient, Parades, Past Interviews-WRVR, Pearl Harbor, Portland Symphony Ball Manhattan West, Portraits, Press Photographers' Association of New York
Box 30		Production Ideas-Sports (Track) 1930, 1932-1933, 1938-1939, 1945-1946, 1949, 1954-1956, 1962-1964, undated - sketches, typed material, clippings, photos, catalogs
			Production of Ideas for A.G.I. Variety Show, Publicity, Rusty- All the Family, RCA at the World's Fair, Regional Members, Riverside Church, Scouts, Ships (photos), Smiling, Smoking, Social Problems, Sports (General), Sports (Baseball), Sports (Boxing and Wrestling), Sports (Football), Sports (Track)
Box 31		Stadiums-World War II 1930, 1932-1933, 1935-1936, 1938-1939, 1941, 1951-1952, 1961, 1963-1964 undated - photos, sketches, clippings, printed material, correspondence
			Stadiums, Statues, Sudden Exit Fire, Telephones, Television and Radio, United Nations- U.S. Committee for UNICEF, War (Army, Navy), War (Korea), War (World War II)
Box 15		Woman's-Young 1950, 1961-1964, undated - correspondence, Woman Bowler magazine, printed material, sketches, clippings, photographs
			Woman's International Bowling Congress, Inc., World Federalists, Wyckoff politics, Young, Loretta

	Works by Greene
		Drawings, sketches and paintings
Oversize 7			At the Circus undated
Oversize 32			Color paintings and drawings undated
Drawer 100			Extra large drawings and sketches Undated - marker, pencil, some crayon, several are smaller, maybe likely done during live cartooning performances (36 items) 40" x 40"
Oversize 32			Figure sketches undated
Box 12			Life sketches undated
Box 12			Paintings Aug 24 1931, undated - includes a painting of Lake Louise (2 items)
Oversize 6			The Red Cardinal undated
Oversize 6			Sketchbooks and drawings Undated
Oversize 6			Sketches undated (2 folders)
Oversize 7			Sketches undated
Box 12			Sketches undated
Box 12			Sketchbooks and drawings undated
Oversize 32			Sketchpad Undated
		Comics and cartoons
			Beatrice Fairfax
Oversize 8				Captions undated
Box 32				Comic books 1950-1951 (4 items)
Oversize 8				Drawings and sketches undated
Oversize 8				Photographs undated (2 folders)
Oversize 8				Proofs undated
Oversize 15				Proofs 1940s - primarily reverse negative proofs; also 2 positive proofs (64 items)
			Bible Bee
Box 17				Correspondence 1947-1949
Box 17				Clippings 1947, 1950, undated
Box 17				Drawings undated
Box 17				Photographs undated
Box 17				Proofs 1947-1951, undated (3 folders)
Box 17				Publicity 1947, undated
Box 17				Research material 1940s undated
Box 17				Title Proofs undated
			Bringing Up Father
				Some material likely produced by George McManus. See George McManus work in the Works by Others series.
Oversize 29				Artwork 1949, 1952, 1958, undated
Box 18				Captions 1947-1960, undated
Oversize 4				Clippings (color Sunday) 1933, 1935-1944, 1947, 1949-1956
Box 18				Clippings about the strip 1960-1963, undated
Box 18				Drawings and sketches undated
Oversize 29				Foreign language clippings (color) 1952, 1954-1955, undated
					FrenchSpanishTurkish
Oversize 2				Proofs (daily and Sunday) 1955-1958
Oversize 3				Proofs (daily and Sunday) 1959-1963, 1964 Jan-Oct
Box 15				Proofs (daily) 1961 Sep (1 sheet)
Box 47				Proofs 1957-1964
				Proofs by subject 1954-1963
Box 41					Accidents-Autos
Box 41					Backviews-Butlers
Box 41					Carrying-Cats
Box 41					Characters-Cooking
Box 41					Cops-Crying
Box 41					Dance-Dinty
Box 41					Dishes-Dressing
Box 41					Eating-Fur Coats
Box 41					Gambling-Groups
Box 42					Hair-Knitting
Box 42					Laborers-Music
Box 42					Laborers-Music
Box 42					Negligee-Peering
Box 42					Phones-Pushing
Box 42					Rain-Running
Box 42					Safes-Sitting
Box 43					Slacks-Swimming Pool
Box 43					Takes-Visiting
Box 43					Waiting-Writing
Box 15				Promotional Material 1950s
Box 18				Slides and negatives undated
			Charlie the Conscript
Box 18				Clippings 1941-1943
Box 18				Drawings and sketches undated
			Cherry and the Colonel
Oversize 29				Original artwork undated
					Gift of Karl H. Schadow, 2013.
			Little Phil Ossifer
Box 19				Clippings and miscellaneous 1949-1950, undated - from the General View, newspaper of Columbia University
			Love and Marriage
Box 19				Clippings 1935
			Mac the Medic
Box 19				Clippings 1943
			Mickey McDougal
Box 19				Clippings and proofs 1937
			Perry Mason
Oversize 29				Drawings and sketches undated (3 items)
Oversize 29				Proofs and negatives undated (41 items)
			The Shadow
Box 19				Assignment and note from Street & Smith 1940
Box 19				Captions undated
Oversize 28				Clippings (comic strips) undated
Box 19				Drawings and sketches undated - includes one engraver's mat
Oversize				Proofs
Oversize				Proofs 1940s
Oversize 28				Proofs for comic book undated
Oversize 28				Proofs for comic strip (daily) 1940s (169 sheets)
Oversize 28				Proofs for comic strip 1940s - miscellaneous
Oversize 28				Publicity 1940s
Box 19				Research material undated
				Scripts
					xxxxx scripts for The Shadow can be located in the Street and Smith xxxx . The listing below are scripts that were located in the Vernon Greene Papers
					Assignment with Murder Dragon’s Tongue Murders The Hoodoo Shop The Devil’s Hour The Terror by Night The Organ Played at Midnight The Case of the Priceless Pompano
Box 19				Shadow Magazine covers 1939-1940
			Miscellaneous
Box 19				Memories of Blue and Gold, containing "Bringing Up Father" cartoon 1964 - high school yearbook for Dillsboro High School, includes cartoon drawn by Greene for the yearbook staff (p. 48)
Oversize 24				Printed material Nov 1942, 1950, undated - Issue of U.S. Camera, The Little Red Book and Bible Game
Oversize 24				Proofs undated - negative proofs, some only partial, some with circus theme, appear to be for Street and Smith Trail Blazers Comics, unsure if all are by Greene, (5 items)
Oversize 29				Proofs undated
		Commercial art
Oversize 29			Chesebrough Manufacturing Co- Rusty and Dusty 1949-1951 - color proofs
Box 19			Chiclets undated - drawings and proofs
Oversize 28			Dentyne chewing gum undated - proofs and promotional material
Box 19			Dick's Adventures in Defense of New York 1951 - correspondence and proofs
Box 19			Eddy and Teddy, the Scout Twins undated - drawings and proofs
Box 19			Shower Fun undated - photographs and clippings
Box 19			USAF Recruiting Service Commander's program 1961 - illustrated by Greene
		Newspaper illustrations, editorial and sports cartoons
Box 18			Clipping from Kuryer Codzienny (Polish Daily Courier) Nov 11 1937
Box 18			Clippings 1936-1944, 1961
Box 18			Engraver's mats undated (2 folders)
Box 18			Proofs by date 1933-1942
Box 18			Proofs by caption undated
Box 18			Portraits (proofs) undated - includes sports figures
Box 19			"Board of Trade" - proof for editorial cartoon
Oversize 29			"Expansion and Subtraction" undated - artwork for the Daily Mirror
Oversize 28			"Love's Litany" 1935 - proofs for serialized story illustrated by Greene (13 items)
Box 19			Nudism in Chicago illustration Jul 1933 - proof for article on nudism in Chicago, illustrated by Green
Box 19			Ojibway article engraving plate and clipping circa 1932
		Recordings - audiotapes
			Speeches
Box 45				#46 Korea undated
Box				#47 Drawing Children and miscellaneous radio, music and talk undated
Box 45				#48 Vernon Greene- interview for Children's World- tells of his life and work undated
Box 45				#49 Untitled 1960
Box 45				#50 Untitled / Group Therapy WBAM Macbeth undated
			Radio and television
Box 46				#42 "Can Comics Change our Culture" 1963 - includes correspondence
Box 46				The Cartoonist's Art WRVR, WAMU 1961-1964 - correspondence and printed material
Box 45				#43 Cartoonists at Large undated - television show hosted by Greene
Box 45				#44 and #45 History of Comics undated - includes a set of slides
Box 45				#36 Interview on CBS News, Vernon Greene and daughter Bonnie 1962
Box 45				#37 Interview on CFPL TV 1961
Box 46				#38 Interview with Far East Network, U.S. Army Element 1957 - includes correspondence
Box 46				#39 Interview on "Monitor"- NBC Radio 1959 - includes correspondence
Box 45				#40 Interview on the "Today" show 1963
			Miscellaneous
Box 45				#41 Phone conversation with Charles Schulz in California undated
		Scrapbooks
Box 15			Scrapbook 1932-1942 - editorial cartoons
				due to its condition, the scrapbook has been taken apart and most items have been removed from their pages and foldered
Oversize 31			Scrapbook 1940s-1950s
Oversize 30			Scrapbooks 1932-1934 - editorial and sports cartoons (2 items)
				due to its condition, one scrapbook has been taken apart and most items have been removed from their pages and foldered

	Works by others
		All in the Family by R.M. Brinkerhoff
Oversize 15			Proofs (color) Feb 2 1935
		Ambassador by Otto Soglow
Oversize 20			Clippings (color Sunday) 1933 (1 item)
		America's Greatest Comic Weekly
Oversize 9			Clippings (color Sunday) 1936-1941 - complete and incomplete newspaper comics sections
		Ayer Lane by Dale Ulrey
Oversize 29			Proofs (daily) 1947 Apr (2 sheets)
		Barney Google by Billy DeBeck
Oversize 21			Proofs (daily) 1935-1937
Oversize 21			Proofs (Sunday) Nov-Dec 1935, Jan 1936, Mar-Sep 1936
		Ben Webster's Page by Edwin Alger
Oversize 18			Proofs (color Sunday) Feb 2 1935, Feb 24 1935, Mar 3 1935
		Berry's Babes by Michael Berry
Box 13			Proofs, clippings, postcards 1956
		Bible Stories by Dan Smith
Oversize 26			Proofs 1934
		Billy Make Believe by H. Homan
Oversize 18			Proofs (color) 1935
		Bozo by Foxo Reardon
Oversize 29			Proofs (daily) 1947 May (2 sheets)
		Brenda Starr Reporter by Dale Messick
Box 13			Proofs (color Sunday) Feb 7 1954 (1 item)
		Brick Bradford by William Ritt and Clarence Gray
Oversize 19			Proofs (daily) 1933 Aug-Oct , 1934 Jan , 1934 Apr-May , 1948 Jul-Aug
Oversize 19			Proofs (promotional material) 1933 - announcing start of the strip (2 items)
Oversize 19			Proofs (Sunday) 1948 Mar-Aug (24 items)
Oversize 11			Tearsheets (color Sunday) 1935 Feb, 1935 Sep, 1935 Nov-Dec, 1936 Jan-1938 Jan
		Bringing Up Father by George McManus -
Oversize 32			Proofs (daily and Sunday) 1938, 1941-1943, 1952 Nov-Dec, 1953 Aug-Sep, 1954 Jan-Dec - includes 2 color proofs (4 folders)
Oversize 1			Proofs (daily and Sunday) 1935-1938, 1940 Mar-Dec, 1941 Jan-Dec, 1943 Dec, 1944, 1946 Jan-1948 Jan, 1948 Nov, 1949 Jun-Dec, 1950 Jan-Aug (13 folders)
Box 47			Proofs (daily) 1946, 1954, 1964
				Proofs from 1964 also include work by Bill Kavanagh.
Oversize 34			Proofs (daily) 1948-1954, 1965, 1966
				Proofs also include work from Greene, Bill Kavanagh, Hal "Camp" Campagna and Frank Fletcher.
		Broncho Bill by Harry O'Neill
Oversize 10			Proofs (color) Feb 2 1935 (1 item)
Oversize 11			Tearsheets (color) 1935 Feb, 1935 Jul-Aug , 1935 Nov , 1936 Mar-Jun (11 items)
		Brutus by Johnny Gruelle
Oversize 11			Clippings (color) 1935-1938
				1935- Oct 13, Nov 17 1936- Mar 22, Apr 5, Jun 14, Jul 12, 26, Aug 2, 16, Sep 6, Nov 8, 15, 22, Dec 6, 13 1937- Jan 31, Feb 7, Apr 18, May 2, 9, 16, 25, 30 Jun 6, 13, 20, 27, Jul 11, 25, Aug 1, 22, Sep 5, 12, 17, Oct 3, 10, 17, 31, Nov 28, Dec 5 1938- Jan 9, 13
		Bungle Family by H.J. Tuthill
Oversize 20			Clippings (color Sunday) 1935 Jun, 1936 Feb , 1937 Feb-Jun, 1937 Oct-Nov, 1938 Jan (19 items)
		Buzz Sawyer and Buzz Sawyer's Pal Sweeney by Roy Crane
Oversize 18			Proofs 1948 Mar-Dec (40 items)
Oversize 27			Proofs (daily) 1948
Oversize 27			Sketches undated
		"Cap" Stubbs and Tippie by Edwina (Dumm)
Oversize 19			Proofs (daily) circa 1930s (18 items)
		Chicago Tribune New York News syndicate
Oversize 29			Proofs of promotional material 1933-1934, undated - some color
		Countess and the Cowboy, Carolyn's Cadet and Vacation Varieties of 1936 by Russell Patterson
Oversize 19			Clippings (color) Sep 11 1932, Jan 22 1933, 1936 - newspaper feature and serialized stories
		Crack-Ups by Ed Nofziger
Oversize 29			Proofs (daily) 1947 Apr (2 sheets)
		Curly Harper by Lyman Young
Oversize 19			Proofs (Sunday) 1934-1938 (47 items)
		Cuties by E. Simms Campbell
Oversize 24			Proofs (daily) May 13-25 1940, Jun 3-8 1940, Feb7-12 1955 (4 sheets)
		Dan Flagg by Don Sherwood
Oversize 10			Sample book (color) 1963
		Detroit Sunday Mirror Comic Section
Oversize 16			Full sections 1931 Oct-Dec , 1932 Feb-May , Jun 4 1932, Aug 6 1932 - many are incomplete
		Dick Tracy by Chester Gould
Oversize 11			Clippings (color Sunday) 1935, 1936 Nov-Dec , 1937 Jan-May, 1937 Sep-Dec 1938 Jan-Feb , 1939 Oct, 1939 Dec, 1940 Apr, 1948 Jul (39 items)
		Dick's Adventures in Dreamland by Neil O'Keefe and Max Trell
Oversize 23			Proofs (color Sunday) 1951 Feb-May (9 items)
Oversize 27			Proofs (Sunday) 1947-1950 (4 folders)
		Dingelhoofer und His Dog by J. Knerr
Oversize 20			Clippings (color Sunday) 1936 Jul, 1936 Nov-Dec, 1937 Jan-Apr, 1937 Jun-Jul, 1937 Sep-Nov, 1938 Jan (32 items)
		Dixie Dugan by J.P. McEvoy and J.H. Striebel
Oversize 18			Proofs (color Sunday) 1935 Feb-Mar (9 items)
		Doctor Bill by Jack Tippit
Oversize 29			Proofs 1960 1 sheet
		Dr. Bobbs by Elliot and McArdle
Oversize 16			Proofs (daily) 1941 Nov-1942 Feb (16 items)
		Drift Marlo by I. M. Levitt, Phil Evans and Tom Cooke
Oversize 23			Promotional material undated (1 item)
		Editorial cartoons
Oversize 24			Proofs of Chamberlain 1935-1937 (51 sheets)
Oversize 24			Proofs of Wud 1935-1936 - King Features Syndicate (53 sheets)
Box 13			Clippings circa 1930s-1950s - Carlisle, Corley, Herblock, Hutton, Kelen, Messner, Shoemaker
		Ella Cinders by Bill Conselman and Charlie Plumb
Oversize 11			Tearsheets (color Sunday) Dec 10 1935, Jul 26 1936, Aug 2 1936, Aug 16 1936, Aug 15 1937 (5 items)
		Etta Kett by Paul Robinson
			1935 items also contain Robinson's The Love Birds.
Oversize 11			Proofs and tearsheets 1933 Jan, 1936 - daily proofs, color Sunday tearsheets (4 sheets)
Oversize 11			Tearsheets (color Sunday) 1935 Feb, 1935 Oct, 1936 Feb-May, 1936 Jul-Dec, 1937 Apr-May, 1937 Sep, 1937 Nov, 1938 Mar, 1938 Aug
		Flash Gordon by Dan Barry
Oversize 16			Proofs (daily) Sep 4-9 1961 (1 sheet)
		Gabby by Joe King and William Ritt
Oversize 22			Proofs (daily) 1935 Sep-Oct (2 sheets)
		Gags and Gals by Jefferson Machamer
Oversize 20			Clippings (color) Nov 7 1937 (1 item)
Oversize 10			Proofs 1936 (1 item)
		Gasoline Alley by Frank King
Box 13			Proofs (color Sunday) Feb 7 1954 (1 item)
Oversize 16			Tearsheets 1936-1937 (96 items)
		Glamour Girls by Don Flowers
Oversize 18			Pencil sketch undated (1 item)
Oversize 18			Proofs (daily) Jan 10-Feb 12 1955, 1953 Jan, 1953 May-1954 Dec (75 sheets)
Oversize 18			Proofs (Sunday) Sep 5 1948, Sep 12 1948, 1949 Jul-Oct, Jul 15 1951, Feb 24 1952, Dec 27 1953 (18 items)
		Grandma by Harris
Oversize 29			Promotional material 1947 (3 items)
		Harold Teen by Carl Ed
Box 13			Proofs (color Sunday) Feb 14 1954, Feb 21 1954, Feb 28 1954 (3 items)
Oversize 16			Tearsheets 1936-1938 (92 items)
		Hejji by Dr. Suess
Oversize 18			Proofs (color Sunday) Apr 21-Jun 23 1935 (10 items)
		Heart of Juliet Jones by Stan Drake
Oversize 19			Proofs (daily) 1953-1954, 1961 (52 sheets)
Oversize 19			Proofs (color Sunday) Dec 16 1962, Dec 30 1962, Jan 6 1963, Jan 27 1963, Jul 14 1963
		Henry by Carl Anderson
Oversize 11			Tearsheets (color Sunday) 1935 Jul-Aug, 1935 Oct-Dec, 1936 Feb-Oct, 1937 Jan-Mar, 1938 Oct-Feb
		Holly of Hollywood by Pop Momand
Oversize 18			Proofs (color Sunday) 1935 (8 items)
				Feb 3, 10, 17 Mar 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
		Home Sweet Home by Jack Callahan
Oversize 12			Tearsheets (color Sunday) 1935-1938 - majority are numbered
		Hopalong Cassidy by Dan Spiegle
Oversize 18			Proofs (Sunday) 1951 May-Nov (25 items)
		Illustrations by Hammon
Oversize 21			Proofs circa 1930s - appeared with serialized stories distributed by King Features Syndicate including More Money, Czarina's Rubies, Knave's Girl, Cast Into Eden, Caroline (105 sheets)
		Inspector Wade by Edgar Wallace
Oversize 21			Proofs (daily) 1938 Jun-Oct 1, 1940 Apr (18 sheets)
		Jeanie by Selma Diamond and Gill Fox
Oversize 24			Original artwork Mar 3 1952, Mar 7 1952 (2 items)
		Jane Arden by Monte Barrett and Russell E. Ross
Oversize 18			Proofs (color Sunday) Feb 10-Mar 3 1935, Apr 8 1935 (5 items)
		Judge cartoons
Box 13			Clippings 1923-1930 - Harry Grant Dart, Charles Forbell, R.B. Fuller, covers by John Held Jr. and other miscellaneous cartoonists (4 folders)
		Kass Nova and Mox Nix by Jim Malone
Map-Case 1, Drawer 100			Artwork undated
		Life magazine
Box 13			Clippings of comic strips and magazine covers 1922-1931 - work of W. Heath Robinson, John Held Jr. and other miscellaneous cartoonists (3 folders)
		Miss Chuckie by Yukio Sugiura
Oversize 29			Comic strip (printed material) 1961 - printed on rice paper
		New York Journal American
Oversize 11			Saturday evening comics section Nov 3 1935, Mar 12 1938, Mar 19 1938 (3 items)
		Newspaper illustrations by Nell Brinkley
Box 13			Clippings and proofs 1935 (2 folders)
		Kid Sister/Tim Tyler's Luck by Lyman Young
Oversize 19			Proofs (Sunday) 1934 (13 items)
				Feb 4, 11, 18 Mar 11, 18 Apr 1, 8, 15, 22, 29 May 6, 13, 27
		King Features Syndicate Comics Page
			Proofs 1933, 1935-1936, 1939, 1941
		Krazy Kat by George Herriman
Oversize 21			Proofs (daily) 1936 Jul-Sep (12 sheets)
Oversize 12			Tearsheets (color Sunday) 1936 May, 1936 Sep-Nov, 1937 Jan, 1937 Jun, 1937 Sep-Oct
		Little Joe by Leffingwell
Oversize 11			Tearsheets (color Sunday) Feb 28 1937, Apr 4 1937, Feb 6 1938 (3 items)
		Little King by Otto Soglow
Oversize 20			Clippings 1936-1938 (33 items)
		Little Miss Muffet by Fanny Y. Cory
Oversize 19			Pencil drawing undated (1 item)
Oversize 19			Proofs 1936, 1947 Nov-1948 May, 1948 Jul (32 items)
		Little Nemo in Slumberland by Windsor McKay
Oversize 18			Promotional Material 1947 - from the Richardson Feature Syndicate announcing the availability of Little Nemo starting March 2, 1937, features 4 color strips (1 item)
		Little Orphan Annie by Harold Gray
Oversize 12			Clippings (color Sunday) 1935-1938
Box 13			Proofs (color Sunday) Jan 31 1954, Feb 28 1954 (2 items)
		Lone Ranger by Fran Striker
Oversize 10			Proofs 1948 Jan-Aug, 1951 Jun-Nov (56 items)
		Lovebyrds
Oversize			Clippings 1935-1937
		Magnificent Hoax by E. Phillips Oppenheim and Mathieu
Oversize 19			Proofs 1935 - serialized story (9 items)
		Mandrake the Magician by Lee Felk
Oversize 21			Proofs (daily) 1935-1936, 1939-1940 (34 sheets)
Oversize 21			Proofs (Sunday) 1935 Mar-Dec, 1936 Jan-Apr, 1951 Jun-Oct (64 items)
		Merry Menagerie by Walt Disney
Oversize B2			Proofs (daily) 1954 Jan-Nov (50 sheets)
		Mickey Finn by Lank Leonard
Oversize 29			Proofs (daily) 1960
		Moon Mullins by Frank Willard
Box 13			Proofs (color Sunday) Feb 14 1954, Feb 21 1954 (2 items)
Oversize 16			Tearsheets (color Sunday) 1935-1938, 1940, 1951-1954 (103 items)
		Mr. and Mrs. by Arthur Falwell and King Pratt
Oversize 20			Clippings 1933, 1935-1938 (77 items)
		Mutt and Jeff by Al Smith
Oversize 23			Proofs (color Sunday) 1961, May 31 1964 (2 items)
		Nancy by Ernie Bushmiller
Box 13			Proofs (for Periquita) Nov 25 1956, Dec 30 1956, Feb 3 1957, Feb 17 1957, Feb 24 1957, Mar 17 1957, Mar 24 1957, May 26 1957, Jul 7 1957
				Spanish
Box 13			Proofs (Sunday) Mar-Jul 1955 (15 items)
Box 13			Sketches undated
		Newspaper Enterprise Association (NEA) Comic Page
Oversize 19			Proofs Sep-Nov 1953
		NEA Service Weekly
Oversize 10			Proofs 1953 Jul-Oct
		(New Adventures of) Flossy Frills by Carolyn Wells and Russell Patterson
Oversize 20			Clippings (color) 1939-1942 (12 items)
				1939: Nov 12, 26; Dec 3 1940: Jan 7, 14, 21 1941: Feb 9; Mar 2, 9 1942: May 3, 10, 31
		On Our Block by Jack Welch
Oversize 21			Proofs (daily) 1937, 1938 Jan, (22 sheets)
		Oregonian Comics
Oversize 20			Clippings (color Sunday) 1941 Jun-Aug (10 items)
		Our Bill by Harry Haenigsen
Oversize 12			Clippings 1948, 1950-1954 (9 items)
		Out of the Ink Well by Max Fleischer
Oversize 18			Proofs (color Sunday) Nov 25 1934, Dec 1 1934, Dec 15 1934
		Out Our Way by J.R. Williams
Box 13			Clippings 1932
		Pa's Son-in-Law by Wellington
Oversize 20			Clippings (color) Nov 1933, 1937 Sep-Nov (6 items)
		Peanuts (Carlitos) by Charles M. Schulz
Box 13			Proofs (Sunday) Jul 7 1957 (1 item)
				Spanish
		Penny by Harry Haenigsen
Oversize 12			Clippings (color Sunday) 1948, 1951-1954, 1957
		Perry Mason by Erie Stanley Garner
Oversize 15			Proofs (daily)` Jul 23 1951 -Oct 6 1951 (11 sheets)
		Pete the Tramp by C.D. Russell
Oversize 26			Proofs (daily) 1935
Oversize 12			Tearsheets (color Sunday) Sep 1935, Nov-Dec 1935, Jan-Sep 1936, Nov 1936-Feb 1937, Apr 1937-Jan 1938
		Peter Piltdown by Mal Eaton
Oversize 12			Clippings (color Sunday) 1935-1938
		Polly and Her Pals by Cliff Sterrett
Oversize 16			Clippings (color Sunday) 1936 Jan-1937 May, 1937 Sep, 1937 Nov-1938 Jan (55 items)
Oversize 35			Proofs (daily) 1935-1940
Oversize 23			Proofs (Sunday) 1934, 1937-1940 - includes 2 in color (191 items)
		Priscella's Pop by Al Vermeer
Oversize 24			Promotional material and sketch circa 1950s, undated (8 items)
Oversize 24			Proofs (Sunday) 1952 Jun-Jul , 1953 Jul-Oct (22 items)
Oversize 24			Proofs (daily) 1953 (97 items)
Oversize 24			Tearsheets and clippings (color Sunday) 1953 Sep-1954 Mar - also includes one black and white daily (15 items)
		Professor Phumble by Bill Yates
Oversize 17			Proofs (daily) Sep 4-9 1961, Nov 11-25 1961 (2 items)
		Pussycat Princess by Ed Anthony, Grace Dayton and Ruth Carroll
Oversize 13			Tearsheets (color Sunday) 1935 Nov-1938 Jan
		Red Ryder by Fred Harman
Box 13			Drawings 1965, undated
Box 13			Postcards undated
		Reg'lar Fellows by Gene Byrnes
Oversize 18			Proofs (color Sunday) 1935 Feb-Mar (8 items)
		Regular Folks by Jefferson Machamer
Oversize 15			Proofs 1933, undated - magazine advertising for Ex-Lax (9 items)
		Rex Morgan, M.D. by Dal Curtis
Oversize 24			Clippings 1949 (9 items)
		Rick Kane, Space Marshal by Walter Gibson and E.C. Stoner
Oversize 19			Proofs 1951
		Right Around Home by Dudley Fisher
Oversize 19			Proofs (Sunday) May 1 1938
		Rivets by George Sixta
Oversize 10			Proofs (daily) 1953 Mar-1956 Nov - includes 3 color proofs (179 items)
Oversize 29			Proofs (daily) 1953-1956 (2 folders)
		Rosie's Beau by George McManus
Oversize 13			Proofs Feb 2 1938
Oversize 13			Clippings (color Sunday) 1933-1938, 1939 Jan-Apr, 1939 Jul-Nov, 1940 Jan-Jul , 1940 Sep-1942 May, 1942 Sep, Sep 12 1943, Mar 12 1944 (2 folders)
		Roy Rodgers by Al McKimson
Oversize 15			Proofs (daily and Sunday) 1950-1951 (73 sheets)
		Rusty Riley by Frank Godwin
Oversize 10			Proofs 1951 May-Nov
		S'atter Pop by Charles Payne
Box 13			Proofs undated
		Secret Agent X9
Oversize 21			Proofs (daily) by Robert Storm 1939 Jun, 1940 Jan-Jun (26 sheets)
Oversize 21			Proofs for El Agente Secreto X-9 by Dashiell Hammett Oct 7-12 1935, Oct 21-26 1935 (2 sheets)
				Spanish
		Sentinel Louie
Oversize 20			Clippings 1936-1937 (11 items)
		Sister Susie by Alice Harvey
Oversize 13			Tearsheets (color Sunday) 1936 (18 items)
		Newspaper Enterprise Association
Oversize 30			"Six Days with NEA" Promotional book 1952
		Skippy by Percy Crosby
Oversize 20			Clippings (color Sunday) May 4 1929, May 28 1933, Jun 23 1935, 1936, 1937 Jan, 1937 Jun-Jul - 1929 strip is in black and white
Oversize 21			Proofs (daily) 1937 (21 sheets)
		Smilin' Jack by Jack Mosley
Box 13			Proofs (color Sunday) Feb 7 1954 (1 item)
		Smitty by Walter Berndt
Box 13			Proofs (color Sunday) Feb 28 1954
Oversize 14			Tearsheets (color Sunday) 1934-1938
		Smokey Stover by Bill Holman
Oversize 14			Clippings 1936-1938
				1936: May 3, 31, Jun 7, 21, 28, Jul 26, Aug 2, 9, 16, Oct 25, 1937: Apr 25, May 16, Jun 6, Jul 25, Aug 22, Sep 12, Oct 10, 31, Dec 5, 26 1938: Jan 9, Feb 6
Oversize 23			Proofs (color Sunday) 1956, 1958-1959 - on same sheet as other cartoons- often Rick O'Shay, Teenie Weenies, Sweeney and Son (102 items)
Box 13			Proofs (color Sunday) Jan 24 1954, Jan 31 1954
		Snookums by George McManus
Oversize 10			Proofs (Sunday) Sep 1 1946, Jun 22 1947, Nov 2 1947, Dec 18 1949, Feb 21 1954, Apr 18 1954, May 23 1954, Oct 24 1954, Nov 7 1954, Dec 12 1954 (10 items)
Box 13			Proofs (Sunday) 1946-1954
Box 24			Clippings (color Sunday) Sep 9 1951, 1951 (2 items)
		Steve Canyon by Milt Caniff
Box 13			Proofs for promotional material undated
		Sunday Mirror Comic Section
Oversize 14			Clippings (color) Aug 1937, 1938 Feb-May
		Sunflower Street by Tom Little
Oversize 19			Proofs (daily) Aug 23-Sep 4 1937 (2 sheets)
				See the C.D. Russell Cartoons.
		Sweeney and Son, Jinglet, Them Days Are Gone Forever by Al Posen
Oversize 31			Scrapbooks 1933 Oct-1935 Aug, 1945 Jan-1946 Dec - color Sunday clippings and proofs (2 items)
		Take it Easy Pop by Charles Payne
Oversize 24			Artwork and proofs undated
Oversize 24			Scrapbook undated
		Ted Towers Animal Master by Joe King and Frank Buck
Oversize 15			Proofs (Sunday) 1935 Jun-Jul, 1935 Sep, 1935 Nov-1936 May
Oversize 17			Tearsheets (color Sunday) 1935 Sep, 1935 Nov-Dec, 1936-1937, 1938 Jan
		Teena by Hilda Terry
Oversize 14			Clippings (color Sunday) 1957 (11 items)
				Jan 13, Mar 3, 17, 24, 31, Apr 14, 28, Jun 9, Sep 8, 22, Oct 13
		Teenie Weenies by William Donahey
Box 13			Proofs (color Sunday) Jan 24 1954, Jan 31 1954 (2 items)
		Terry and the Pirates by Milton Caniff
Box 32			Comic books circa 1936, circa 1938 - Large Feature Comic No. 27 and unnumbered (2 items)
Box 13			Engraving mats 1961 (2 items)
Oversize 21			Proofs 1936 Aug 28-Sep 7 1961 (3 sheets)
Oversize 17			Tearsheets (color Sunday) 1935-1941 (160 items)
		That's My Pop and Count Screwloose by Milt Gross
Oversize 14			Tearsheets (color Sunday) 1935-1937 (17 items)
				1935- Feb 10, 17; Mar 7, Oct 6, Nov 24, Dec 5, 29 1936- Mar 29, Apr 5; May 31, Jun 28, Jul 14 1937- Jan 3, 10, 30, May 23, Oct 10
		Tillie the Toiler by Russ Westover
Oversize 26			Clippings (color Sunday) 1933-1937
Oversize 26			Proofs (Sunday) 1936-1937
		Timid Soul by H.T. Webster
Oversize 20			Clippings (color Sunday) 1935 Oct-Nov, 1936 Mar-Apr, 1936 Jun-Aug (8 items)
Oversize 14			Clippings (color Sunday) Aug 28 1949, Sep 11 1949, Sep 25 1949 (3 items)
		Tiny Tim by Stanley Link
Oversize 14			Clippings (color Sunday) 1936-1938 (8 items)
Box 13			Proofs (color Sunday) Jan 24 1954, Feb 14 1954, Feb 21 1954 (3 items)
		Tippie by Edwina
Oversize 17			Tearsheets May 18 1935, Sep 14 1935, 1935 Nov-1938 Jan (99 items)
		Toodles by the Baers
Oversize 29			Proofs and Tearsheets (daily) 1947
		Toonerville Folks by Fontaine Fox
Oversize 14			Clippings (color Sunday) 1935-1938 (16 items)
				1935- Dec 29 1936- Jun 28; Jul 12, 26, Aug 2, 9, 16, Sep 13, Oct 4 1937- Jan 3, May 23, Aug 15, Nov 7, Dec 12 1938- Jan 2, Feb 20
		Torchy Togs by Jackie Ormes
Box 13			Proofs 1951 - paper doll cut outs; also includes a sheet of Torchy in Heartbeats (2 items)
		U.S. Savings Bonds
Oversize 29			Proof 1949
		Wall Street Wife by G.R.S. , Russell Patterson, Everett Shimm
Oversize 19			Proofs circa 1920s-1930s, - serialized story (17 items)
		Young Woman by Carmen Barnes and R. Van Buren
Oversize 19			Proofs 1935 - serialized story (19 items)
		Miscellaneous
			Cartoons, illustrations and artwork
Oversize 33				Comic strip clippings and proofs undated - includes Porky and Daffy
Oversize 24				Newspaper Enterprise Association Award Nominee proofs undated - different category contained on each sheet
Box 13				Original artwork
					Bruce Hyslop "Congratulations, It's a Boy Michael Della Penta Michael Berry Tracing of Jimmy Hatlo "Little Iodine" by a 6 year old Irwin Hasen Ben Roth "Girls" R.A. Lewis "The Way to a man's heart" Tony Scarfino "Snuffy Smith" Jim Malone "Mox Nix" Jay "Ding" Darling watercolor inscribed to Al Posen "Joy and Gloom" General foods ltd, Coburg, Ontario "Roving Cartoonist Wrapped Up in his work! drawing by L.D. Warren
Oversize 24				Proof by Joe King undated (1 item)
Box Oversize 13 24				Sketches and proof sheet by Russell Patterson undated 1933 Nov, circa 1940s
Box 13				Miscellaneous Proofs undated
Oversize 23				Proofs of paintings by William A. Smith undated
			Sound recordings
Box 45				#51 "The Art of Laughter" by John Mason Brown undated
Oversize 33				#52 H.R. 7927 Statement by John K. Herbert circa ????
Oversize 33				#53 Memorial service for Greene, eulogy by Rube Goldberg, Riverside Church circa 1965
Box 15				#54 "Missing Links" by Ira Skutch with Greene 1963 - includes two pieces of correspondence
			Writings
Box 13				Address by Myra Bennett May 29 1962 - topic is journalism education; mimeographed copy (14 pages)
Box 13				Short story "Friends of the Family" by S.M. Smith circa 1936 - mimeographed copy (14 pages)
Box 13				Statement on H.R. 7927 by John K. Herbert 1962 (31 pages)
Box 13				Synopsis of comic strip "Hollie Wood" by William A. Smith undated
Box 13				Synopsis of "Santa Claus & Company" by Max Trell circa 1937 - includes letter from King Features to Paul Fung
Box 15				True Romance story "Leap Year Bride!" by Miriam Hecht 1951 (1 page)
Box 15				Miscellaneous writings by unidentified authors
					A Story of Comic and Adventure Stripes and Pages and the National Background of Some of America's Leading Artists; Saturday Adventure Audition II; Stuyvesant Town; (Train Gags); History of Comics Section III- The Popularity of Comics; Polly and her Pals Daily; Ted Towers; untitled miscellaneous

Return to top